"Servicing at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary"

Re: "Servicing at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary"

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2012, 10:00 am

I think it would be better to buy RORO. Too many crap to take from dealers. Dealers need to step up and provide a better service that rather try to ripp you off. ANSA is worst when it comes service, they will never take blame for a defective product that they sell and always tell you that it was driver error that caused the damage. I spoken to alot of people that have then in court for different matters.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 27th, 2012, 10:18 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Indeed.

I tried purchasing some interior parts from tttl for a rav4, 2-door cards and 2 a-piller covers cost almost $10,000 landed and I had to wait 2weeks to a month. Thought it was a mistake but the guy on the phone was pretty sure.

Gonna need some suspention parts/steering rack soon, cant wait to hear the quotes :lol:

Anyone have experiences with sterling motors?

Can't you import the items out of the USA? Some items are not LHD/RHD specific such as interior trim. I use magauto.com to import my OEM stuff.

Honestly I was about to do some work and figured it would be more comforting to know I have a backup of the doorcards/piller covers. After getting the quote I just went about the work putting a little more care into it.

Steering parts would most likely come from the US through one of the rav4 forums.

Paying the price to have my car serviced is no problem ,rather diy but I dont have the tools required, pumps etc, but I dont want to drop the merc and be getting a 6 for a 9.

Postby pete » January 27th, 2012, 10:19 am

wagon r wrote:...only bad experience i ever had was when I now got the Ranger (2nd hand but still under warr.), marked the parts, carried it in, got the bill and then realised that 2 items paid for, weren't changed.

..but, i realised this IN their service dept...! when i went to pick it up, i pull out my front mat, grab my flashlight, and went over the van to see what was done. the service manager wasn't too happy and other owners couldn't believe what they were seeing....but when the issue was raised, parts were then changed.

about 2 days later, a nice lady called to ask about the service, when i told her what happened and that i will never come back, election promises were given out....but now i only go there to buy OEM parts. nothing else.

They should have offered to AT LEAST not charge for the labour, or give you a credit for the labour to try to get you to come back.

The service manager wasn't happy that you checked the van or wasn't happy that they didn't do what they were supposed to?

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2012, 10:23 am

:lol: service manager didn't expect a vehicle owner to know about his own vehicle...much less to make dem out in front of other customers hahahahaha

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2012, 10:25 am

ppl complaining about mats?? arent mats like $100???

Postby Bizzare » January 27th, 2012, 10:46 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:ppl complaining about mats?? arent mats like $100???

Dude, that's not the point. :?
Even if the mats cost $1.........

Postby pete » January 27th, 2012, 10:53 am

For mats to go bad something hadda be wrong. The mats in my car are 5 years old and just a little worn where my feet rest. And they look those cheap HS mats too :|

Postby Dizzy28 » January 27th, 2012, 10:56 am

Its the principle really. I haven't gone back for mats and just bought new ones but a company should take some pride in the quality they dispense.

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2012, 10:56 am

:lol: ENT?!

brudda, just a few mths ago, my sis sold a RORO Fielder that spent 3yrs on the road abroad before it landed here and then 4 years daily driving here and the mats were still like new at the time of sale with +130,000km on the clock

if I'm paying the stealership in excess of $100k for a brand new vehicle and allowing them to ass-rape me every 5000km just to keep my warranty, those factory mats better last at least three fackin years

Bobby~d

Postby Bobby~d » January 27th, 2012, 11:00 am

What i think wagon r used the mats for was to lie on the ground. In order to inspect under the van with his torchlight for items not changed but was charged for.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2012, 11:09 am

i understand the points made but i had my fair share of side of the road mechanics who came highly recommended from a lot of people only to see most of his ppl are trainees who can hardly use a spanner.....

I had two roro vehicles and both ran into head aches...

again it boils down to an individual....for peace of mind and know my warranty is intact, i will continue to go to the firm since i see the cost for work done is relatively economic....

a lot of the times when my vehicle go to service i stick around and see what they are doing etc.....

when i had my navara, it went in for a clutch replacement, everything was done free my nm because an upgraded clutch and fly wheel was sent my nissan for my model. took 2 days and i got a courtesy vehicle.....

civic went in to ansa to change engine mounts (again recall by honda) got a courtesy vehicle as well....

ranger, started hearing a screeching noise....joints just needed some grease....again courtesy vehicle.....

no issues with any of the other vehicles and all are registered to a business so for me it works out as the best option

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2012, 11:24 am

Great info in ched.

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2012, 11:30 am

My mats crumble in less than a month. And yes after paying 245 k cash for my vehicle, I want good mats. Diamond up for some serious public embarrassment frm me

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2012, 11:32 am

I dont think this ched is for you Aaron,that comment about mats proved it, you have money, so you will get champagne service. Us plebs dont have money to throw at problems or influence either, so the most we can do is demand that if we put out a lot of money (to us), that we get value for it. A simple issue of a mat crumbling is a clear indication of inferior materials used (my ten yr old Mazda 6 mats sill look great). You cant complain cause you can afford not to, we not really complaining but more demanding what we pay for. That oil filter complaint i have heard from almost every dealership.
Oh an not every mechanic who does not work at a dealership is a mango tree mech eh, despite your experience it really does have good ones out there, jus too many bad ones in between.

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2012, 11:33 am

Hook wrote::lol: service manager didn't expect a vehicle owner to know about his own vehicle...much less to make dem out in front of other customers hahahahaha

Correct is right..! ...and I in meh shirt and tie eh..!

Pete he wasn't too happy because I made them out, raised a stink and had other customers (both dropping and collecting vehicles), hearing about the complaint.

Aaron, one other reason you may get better service than most people in here is because as you pointed out, all were Company vehicles. Companies, as you know, like repeat business, so if I treat you better than the ave. off the street man, you will want to buy another car by me. More so to that your turnover of vehicles is higher than the ave. citizen. Maybe right, maybe wrong.

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2012, 11:48 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:when i had my navara, it went in for a clutch replacement, everything was done free my nm because an upgraded clutch and fly wheel was sent my nissan for my model. took 2 days and i got a courtesy vehicle.....

thought I was going crazy because I remember a horror story from you concerning N&M and your navara

oh..here it is,
seems im not crazy

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=236360&p=4316756&hilit=+fleet#p4316756

Aaron 2NR wrote:so hear this firetruck up sheit...

i have ah meeting with the director of NM south tomorrow...

had an appointment to service last week friday, got a call the thursday that they cant do it again because they were over booked so i got an appointment today...

dropped the truck last night......called this morning to ensure they start, the girl at the service desk said yes and ill get the truck at lunch time...
so called at lunch time, noone started working on it as yet....told they not sure ill get it back today....
around 4pm got a call, they complete, come pick up the truck....so i already pissed cuz this is the 3rd time this sheit happening...

so got down to massy at around 5pm.....looking for my truck, noone knows where it is...the service manager took 15mins to find it, claim its being washed, so i walked to the wash bay, it not there....apparently someone had an errand to run and took my vehicle...

so i left....btw my viper alarm stopped working and my truck has started smoking....

Postby r3iXmann » January 27th, 2012, 11:49 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i would just like to add in..firetruck diamond...

think that bad? :lol:

coworker bought a new lancer from them last yr..

paid $2xx,000 plus about $20k extra for some package with rain sensors and something else

he noticed something was amiss with his security system and then he noticed that when rain fell, the sensors did not come on

he went back and they told him that he needed to pay $800 to reprogram/repair the alarm and that the rain sensors (which he paid for) were not available so they didn't put them in

he ended up going online and researching how to fix the alarm..turns out they didnt set some initial code or the other (cant remember the details) and he repaired it himself

as for the extra $ that he paid, they told him that he can't be refunded so he'll have to use it to pay for regular servicing

Postby wagonrunner » January 27th, 2012, 11:55 am

now why that man had to demonstrate and prove that fella level of integrity and credibility? anyone? why?

Postby Bizzare » January 27th, 2012, 12:17 pm

So Aaron was telling only one side of the story for his own convenience huh? :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2012, 12:33 pm

When customers only remember the good times, the stealership wins. - © Emm 2012

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2012, 1:28 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:when i had my navara, it went in for a clutch replacement, everything was done free my nm because an upgraded clutch and fly wheel was sent my nissan for my model. took 2 days and i got a courtesy vehicle.....

thought I was going crazy because I remember a horror story from you concerning N&M and your navara

oh..here it is,
seems im not crazy

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=236360&p=4316756&hilit=+fleet#p4316756

Aaron 2NR wrote:so hear this firetruck up sheit...

i have ah meeting with the director of NM south tomorrow...

had an appointment to service last week friday, got a call the thursday that they cant do it again because they were over booked so i got an appointment today...

dropped the truck last night......called this morning to ensure they start, the girl at the service desk said yes and ill get the truck at lunch time...
so called at lunch time, noone started working on it as yet....told they not sure ill get it back today....
around 4pm got a call, they complete, come pick up the truck....so i already pissed cuz this is the 3rd time this sheit happening...

so got down to massy at around 5pm.....looking for my truck, noone knows where it is...the service manager took 15mins to find it, claim its being washed, so i walked to the wash bay, it not there....apparently someone had an errand to run and took my vehicle...

so i left....btw my viper alarm stopped working and my truck has started smoking....

notice there was an update in which a meeting between me and the service manager took place.....issues were sorted out......ended up never paying for labour to service the vehicle again....

at the said time my post was based on emotion......

we al have our horror stories that we see daily on the forum....with people having to take their vehicle from one mechanic to the next.....buying after market parts and getting stock parts installed instead......

reason i wud buy a new car over a RORO is for after sale service and warranty.....

anyways time to leave thread....let the bashing the firm continue

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2012, 1:51 pm

I fail to understand how recalling actual bad experiences, and factual statements about pricing could be "bashing".

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2012, 2:04 pm

^ good thing this is not about the government.... :neutral: ...

"Servicing at the dealership is stupid and unnecessary"

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2012, 2:10 pm

So why don't people give their experience at outside mechanics???

Re:

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2012, 2:14 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:So why don't people give their experience at outside mechanics???

good service, no complaints till this date.

same with the guys that sort out my car, no complaints.

well you asked eh, so I just replying :lol: :lol:

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2012, 2:31 pm

...A, name one mechanic you could buy a car/van from $200k - $800k, with a warranty and upgrades and still get bad service, worse when you complain about it.

You self complain about bad service in this country from firms, not just car dealers....the "mechanics" who "fix" the country as a prime example.

Postby pete » January 27th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:notice there was an update in which a meeting between me and the service manager took place.....issues were sorted out......ended up never paying for labour to service the vehicle again....

at the said time my post was based on emotion......

we al have our horror stories that we see daily on the forum....with people having to take their vehicle from one mechanic to the next.....buying after market parts and getting stock parts installed instead......

reason i wud buy a new car over a RORO is for after sale service and warranty.....

anyways time to leave thread....let the bashing the firm continue

The service manager took time to have a meeting with you there but in Wagon R's case all that happened in front the service manager and all he got was an "oh yeah we'll go and do that now, hard luck there".

What people are complaining about here is that SOME people at SOME dealerships abuse the ignorance of the public and lie about what work has been done, steal from them etc. You may have gotten free service out of it but many other people have been defrauded of money and the reliability of their vehicle.

Re:

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:So why don't people give their experience at outside mechanics???

that happens regularly on the forums, i went through 2 shitty mechs before Trac put me on that i can close my eye at.

Postby BrotherHood » January 27th, 2012, 2:56 pm

First car roro, present car foreign used. I buy OEM parts from Diamond. Noticed they are a big rip-off in price though.
I only use outside mechanics. No complaints at all! Outside mechanics ftw! :lol:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 27th, 2012, 3:25 pm

i service at two companies. Ford and massey,
i can tell you straight up massey service sucks..first time the stole my oil i brought outside (found this by actually walking in the bay and finding my labelled bottles on the ground, excuse was they forgot)
Second time my van came back with foot prints all inside (cream interior)
dealerships dont care about the average person, only on making money..i only service to keep my warranty
Any part that needs changing i buy outside and label it to ensure it is actually changed!!