moving agriculture sector forward.....

Re: moving agriculture sector forward.....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 16th, 2012, 7:51 pm

UML wrote:small onion big onion man.....i know u havent realised it as yet....cause PNMites slow like that...but ppl buy small onion because it cheaper than big onion....price determines what ppl buy....hence the reason the UNC promoting local production and local planting SO THE PRICE WILL GO DOWN!!!! so we can all afford the BIG onion.

Clearly all the slaps to your skull affected your thinking, all you could yap about is onion and onion, like you stuffing onions up your ass so that's all you can think about

Postby UML » March 16th, 2012, 8:12 pm

we all know which size u like :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 8:51 pm

UML, gtfo nah, go hook up with banzai for some clout.

Anyways, shakes ent you do some farming & might know some farmers from uwi in this project thing you in? I get the all clear to do my thesis on utilizing grey water systems on farms for irrigation purposes to see if its a good idea, can I have some people for interviewing (you included)? Serious talk here.
Implementation of a system to recycle water for irrigation purposes to cut down on the demands from the distribution grid, save taxpayers $$$, save the farmers time, give them a readily available supply so in times of "drought" we will have more water available to us for drinking, cooking etc while recycled water can go to the crops.
yay or nay? pm me.

Postby UML » March 16th, 2012, 9:39 pm

clearly u havent been on the bodybuilding thread :roll:

even banzai has returned to his silence with me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

axe

Postby axe » March 16th, 2012, 9:50 pm

I submitted a proposal for food security to the Min of Agric and ASTT....if you want I can send you a copy...if you really serious send me your email address

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2012, 10:06 pm

nervewrecker wrote:UML, gtfo nah, go hook up with banzai for some clout.

Anyways, shakes ent you do some farming & might know some farmers from uwi in this project thing you in? I get the all clear to do my thesis on utilizing grey water systems on farms for irrigation purposes to see if its a good idea, can I have some people for interviewing (you included)? Serious talk here.
Implementation of a system to recycle water for irrigation purposes to cut down on the demands from the distribution grid, save taxpayers $$$, save the farmers time, give them a readily available supply so in times of "drought" we will have more water available to us for drinking, cooking etc while recycled water can go to the crops.
yay or nay? pm me.

its not a problem,but who are you targeting? farmers or students..I would assure you,you will not find students who are farmers,very few...but it's not a problem...what you doing your masters in though?

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Targeting farmers, lets see if it makes sense to do this.

check pm.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2012, 10:22 pm

asking farmers about implementing such a system is going to be difficult.especially if you have to break down your info for them to understand..also what is your sample size? project sounding interesting though.how much is it going to cost to do such a system.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 10:35 pm

I just want to know what their water demand is like & irrigation habits, I not really there to offer advice (unless they willing to take it) or try to change them. Also costs (water wise). I know water cheap but how regular is their supply.
I honestly didnt check the price of systems (will get into that this week) but lets see if it make sense to implement these systems, if it does maybe it might make sense to subsidize the cost of them in the name of providing incentives for farming (if someone high up shares my opinion).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2012, 10:54 pm

I think the first answer is,the government recently dug ponds for us,so water nice..we use ah regular pump and we good to go...
in other stories what are your opinions on the waste mgmt system at Beetham which failed and is currently causing harmful effects to the ecological system at the Caroni Swamp.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 11:04 pm

Ponds will suffice on some of those bigger farms like what it have all tabaquite side?

You mean the Beetham wastewater plant or the landfill? That aint even supposed to be there if is the landfill you talking bout. It just happen, there aint even any lining material of a low hydraulic conductivity (like clay) so the leachate is a problem....esp if there are extraction wells close by like I donno maybe ferna...ummm or ummm...angus...ummm...know what, I dont have court clothes.
With respect to the caroni swamp, I never really pay attention to how close in proximity it is to the swamp but if it is then it stands a risk of pollution from not only baseflow from the landfill but also surface runoff carrying leachate from eeet!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2012, 11:12 pm

the wastewater plant...hoss the students did a research on that entire thing and found out from the guides at the swamp that all the debris in the Beetham constantly coming into the swamp...just the relevant ministries doing sheit bout it...but say wa...

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 11:13 pm

I know waste like car batts containing lead are supposed to be disposed of in the forres park landfill where there is a section with iirc a concrete lining. I willing to bet there are car batts & busted fluorescent bulbs in there cuz the waste is not sorted prior to duping it there. There are guys in there that sort for scrap metal though (but that was like 6 years ago when I went).
Lead & mercury in animals = bio accumulation, it passes from animal to animal up the food chain. The higher up you are the more you have & well....the side effects of such...psht!

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 11:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the wastewater plant...hoss the students did a research on that entire thing and found out from the guides at the swamp that all the debris in the Beetham constantly coming into the swamp...just the relevant ministries doing sheit bout it...but say wa...

you mean the removed grit / dewatered sludge? yea, there is no plan for it buttttt:

surprise:

It may be able to be used in the agricultural sector. A study might have to be done to see all what it has & dosent have though. I think smartmen collect such from a south plant & sell it as manure :lol:

Beetham plant wukkin though :drinking: If you know how bad I wanna work there eh :fadein:

edit

On another note, thats why I would like to see the increased use of grey water systems, recycling water = less water to that plant to treat so less of everything at the end of the day. win - win situation.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2012, 11:25 pm

^^^ well said...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 17th, 2012, 9:48 am

nerve, for the survey the best thing to do is contact the county offices and ask for the Agriculture Officer or Assistant and they would point you toward the best suited farmers for interview.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2012, 8:22 pm

another thing nerve,how come you not looking at a particular county or area?

Postby rfari » March 18th, 2012, 3:17 am

UML wrote:clearly u havent been on the bodybuilding thread :roll:

even banzai has returned to his silence with me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

you still a phaggot. a strong phaggot at that.
homo + 6 pack = homo

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the wastewater plant...hoss the students did a research on that entire thing and found out from the guides at the swamp that all the debris in the Beetham constantly coming into the swamp...just the relevant ministries doing sheit bout it...but say wa...

i can vouch for the beetham plant. as nerve said, it copacetic. there are 5 or 6 streams between the dry river and the barataria roundabout that carry alot of refuse into the swamp. can't remember the names offhand.

nervewrecker wrote:Trinidad seems to be focused on developing the petrochemical sector & not the agri so as to stimulate inter-island trade with respect to agri products.

Has anyone ever considered utilising grit removed from the grit chambers in watsewater treatment plants for argiculture? A lot of it seems to be comprised of fertile materials that can be plugged back into the agricultural sector.

grit maybe. because of its pre-treatment nature will contain alot of contaminants and harmful bacteria. if treated properly, it can be used to improve soil structure. dewatered sludge on the other hand is more than suitable for agriculture purposes. its just public acceptance would be the problem.

IMO, agriculture efficiency needs to be improved. most of it has been discussed in the ched already but personally, i would like to see better utilisation of resources that are available mixed with economically viable innovation.
great ched here fellas. excellent ideas being discussed.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 18th, 2012, 3:44 am

very interesting discussions here....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 8:30 am

also fellas seeing that we have the soil and land,what about improving the citrus industry.because we produce good fruits along with mangoes..maybe we could look into exporting.( although that's a long shot because we would have to take SPS agreement and HACCP principles into account) but it's an idea..I think.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 18th, 2012, 9:27 am

Citrus have plenty potential, I know ECIAF was doing a citrus project, I not sure where that reach now. We used to go on an estate in Talparo and pick and sell for $25 for a bag of 100 but since the guy got senile and my dad died that venture collapsed. It would be great if oranges, portugals and tangelos become cheaper that imported plums and apples.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 11:02 am

very few people know about tangelos,grapefruit and orange selling at good prices these days.sold grapefruit for $80 ah 100 last week.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 1:48 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:nerve, for the survey the best thing to do is contact the county offices and ask for the Agriculture Officer or Assistant and they would point you toward the best suited farmers for interview.

I will try that, much thanks.

shakes, different areas have different soil types, looking a water demands in various areas with various crops on farms of various sizes.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 1:52 pm

btw this talk bout grapefruit after a sunday lunch....eff 2 ah allyuh!!!!!!! I will sell my left testicle for a glass of fresh grapefruit juice right about now, a little more again the drool will get into the keyboard. Fruta drinkers who know 'fresh juice' have yet to wake up yes.

A good navel orange too....oh god! I remember climbing the tree for my grandpa & throwing them down from him to catch. oh yes, bring back them days.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 18th, 2012, 1:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:also fellas seeing that we have the soil and land,what about improving the citrus industry.because we produce good fruits along with mangoes..maybe we could look into exporting.( although that's a long shot because we would have to take SPS agreement and HACCP principles into account) but it's an idea..I think.

Shame this gov't has no idea of which direction they wanna go shakes.... palmiste in chag has acres and acres of established orange fieldsby the caroni 1975 diversification project... about 1-2 weeks ago they were all bulldozed in favour of houses.. now u can tell me there are areas where the soil is barren and build houses there.They could have given out the fields to private farmers who could have actually produced oranges .

BTW tangelos and ortnick (sp) can u hook me up with some ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 3:50 pm

MonsterPower wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:also fellas seeing that we have the soil and land,what about improving the citrus industry.because we produce good fruits along with mangoes..maybe we could look into exporting.( although that's a long shot because we would have to take SPS agreement and HACCP principles into account) but it's an idea..I think.

Shame this gov't has no idea of which direction they wanna go shakes.... palmiste in chag has acres and acres of established orange fieldsby the caroni 1975 diversification project... about 1-2 weeks ago they were all bulldozed in favour of houses.. now u can tell me there are areas where the soil is barren and build houses there.They could have given out the fields to private farmers who could have actually produced oranges .

BTW tangelos and ortnick (sp) can u hook me up with some ...

only place I know that has a nice citrus set up is in the Cumuto area,also up Mathura side.
as for the tangelos,I'm going up in the land this evening to check my trees(doh relly give ah away :lol: :lol: I wud try n hook u up once I have 8-) as for ortnick,that is very hard to get these days,to much rain falling.
@nerve...hard luck hoss :lol: living in the country does have its perks eh.

Postby shogun » March 18th, 2012, 3:54 pm

Good stuff fellas....ah readin' and learnin'.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 4:30 pm

I really think the minister should reconsider that 2billion dollar figure,he wants to cut...I'm numerous advertisements with this projection all over now..it's ah bit unrealistic..btw any of you in here have any further news on the new taxes that are to paid for land.as far as I understand this month end is when all farmers would be visited by the relevant authorities concerning increased land taxes.

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 4:38 pm

whase this btw?
1803201211511.jpg

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 18th, 2012, 4:42 pm

shakes is a kool scene if i hadda pay a small amount not dat cut rate dem pple in de market selling at ...

cant wait for my trees to start bearing to get my own ... till then i hadda beg/buy /borrow