Ministry of Agriculture buying Porsche vehicles

Re: Ministry of Agriculture buying Porsche vehicles

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Straight ballin, yo.
Glad to see my tax dollars spent wisely and not squandered.

*two thumbs up*

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 18th, 2012, 6:37 pm

man say the porsche and tttl prado was the only 2 bonded vehicles at the time and for that price he gone wid it ... i feel dooks really talk him outta it after his camry break down on the side of the road late last yr.

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2012, 6:43 pm

$400k?

Nice, I driving one of this soon.

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 6:43 pm

you mean..."only" $400k

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2012, 6:47 pm

well we request one of those retired summit vehicles & didnt get any, we paying pound & a crown to service / maintain the xtrail but get approx $400k to buy a new van....Porsche it is.
I'll blink the lights & thing for you when I see you down the road pios 2wink.

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 6:51 pm

50% sale on porsche vehicles

in

trinidad

Postby skylinechild » January 18th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Crackpot wrote:
Bezman wrote:no one seems to have any probs with the dozens upon dozens of prados, land cruisers and pajeros rolling around that cost about the same ;)

Land Cruiser Prado VX
$712,000.00 3.0 TD

Land Cruiser
$1,000,000.00 5.7 V8

Pajero
$581,000.00

all the ministries have lots of these... if the dealer gave them a discount and they paid no taxes etc and they get them at a competitive price compared to the mitsubishi and toyota SUV's.. whats to stop them??? 400k for a cayenne is a really good price for a top quality vehicle with awesome reliability and service..

i aint defending anyone.. but i always used to watch these ministry workers driving around these half million/million dollar SUV's and wonder why they needed em...

just my 2ç

Porsche is just more expensive to maintain than a Toyota/Mitsubishi so arguments for are invalid.

Also if they get a Ferrari or a Lambo cheaper than a Mercedes or a Audi will they buy that as well :roll:

There is something that comes with public office called SUBTELETY......just enough to not make the everyday man feel that politicians are not some sort of rockstar.

Thats why most official vehicles are black with stock rims. They can be how expensive, the intention is not to flash or alienate the average man too much.

But somebody else will try to shoot down logic with love for this admin so go right ahead.

If waz me though I was putting Status 24's and playing stupid too yes. :mrgreen:

too easy...must resist the urge to troll... :lol:

MLD RENTALS&SERVICES

Postby MLD RENTALS&SERVICES » January 18th, 2012, 7:33 pm

why these fools did not make a fuss when Marlene"flotilla" McDonald bought a Q7 during her tenure..

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 7:40 pm

oh boy look de "how come when..." crew jump out :roll:

risley93

Postby risley93 » January 18th, 2012, 7:50 pm

pioneer wrote:oh boy look de "how come when..." crew jump out :roll:

ROFL!!!!

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 18th, 2012, 7:58 pm

SR wrote:yup when the pnm was in power i eh hear yuh complain about the countless high end suv's bought to be used across ministries

no government should be buying high end suvs for public service work

PERIOD

i am sure a sgv or a tuscon would have been suffice

and fit them with cng

BINGO!

Ent d gov't wants to push CNG? (we must be the only country so backward that wer'e still trying to move to CNG, when larger markets are using hybrid cars instead...but anyway)....

...then let them set the example!

But nooooooooo :|

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Actually i know of a ministry that converted a vehicle to CNG, on getting it back the vehicle randomly cuts off.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 18th, 2012, 8:11 pm

^^They should have bought hybrid Porsches.

But wait! Nahhhh.....that wouldn't be lavish enough.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 18th, 2012, 8:17 pm

d norm vehicle is ah prado not so ? , for what 350k or so right ? so d man get something a lil more prestigious a cayenne for ah 50k more

best we did tell dem to buy d tuner special : ah bling out B14 .... :lol:

bess laff so far is in d article when rowley say they chastise manning for ah jet yet look wah dey doing - man comparing 400k against a 14mil or how much ever it was jet .... :lol: :lol: :lol:

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2012, 8:36 pm

MLD RENTALS&SERVICES wrote:why these fools did not make a fuss when Marlene"flotilla" McDonald bought a Q7 during her tenure..

I dunno maybe because it was her personal ride ...and not the Ministry's...yuh point would make sense if u had proper facts...jus sayin

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2012, 8:38 pm

Intelligent bunch, arent they?

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2012, 8:40 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:d norm vehicle is ah prado not so ? , for what 350k or so right ? so d man get something a lil more prestigious a cayenne for ah 50k more

bess laff so far is in d article when rowley say they chastise manning for ah jet yet look wah dey doing - man comparing 400k against a 14mil or how much ever it was jet .... :lol: :lol: :lol:

ah that explains it. It's ok to actually squander money, just not as much "would have been potientially" squandered. Dookenomics 2012 manifesto update.
Last edited by wagonrunner on January 18th, 2012, 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2012, 8:40 pm

where/how was it ever determined that a Prado was the gold standard on which govt honchos choose a car ?

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 8:56 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:d norm vehicle is ah prado not so ? , for what 350k or so right ? so d man get something a lil more prestigious a cayenne for ah 50k more

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 9:16 pm

pugboy wrote:where/how was it ever determined that a Prado was the gold standard on which govt honchos choose a car ?

last administration determined this, the Prado was the choice of SUV, no matter what it was needed for - to drive around doing errands, or going to areas with bad roads, or buying it just to park up and look grand... they bought it for any use.

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 9:40 pm

vehicle of choice in panday days was de pajero

most still in service actually

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2012, 9:42 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
pugboy wrote:where/how was it ever determined that a Prado was the gold standard on which govt honchos choose a car ?

last administration determined this, the Prado was the choice of SUV, no matter what it was needed for - to drive around doing errands, or going to areas with bad roads, or buying it just to park up and look grand... they bought it for any use.

for non-MP's too right?
cause ent the current PM own "geh tief" before she tun PM?
and maybe ia m being selective, but I can't recall any past MP rolling their prado 3 times, as a matter of fact, when "the sheriff" bounce the concrete median in marabella, what was he driving?

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 9:42 pm

In the 2001-2004 era the Nissan Patrol was the Agri Minister's ride

I guess they don't like the pathfinder?

Most directors and perm secs use pathfinder now

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 9:53 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:

for non-MP's too right?
cause ent the current PM own "geh tief" before she tun PM?
and maybe ia m being selective, but I can't recall any past MP rolling their prado 3 times, as a matter of fact, when "the sheriff" bounce the concrete median in marabella, what was he driving?

for everybody... and past admin did mash up their vehicles. if you went VMCOTT yard in Laventille from time to time you would have seen them.

and look at the MOW yard in Broadway (Lady Hailes Ave., opposite the cemetery), two white PBL Pajeros parked up rottening away at the moment.

point of the matter is the precedent for expensive vehicles with lavish taste were set by the PNM Government, not bashing any party, but just stating the facts. the vehicles i'm talking about are not only for the main people in the ministry such as ministers, PS, heads of departments, but the drivers and caddy boys.

one such example - one gold 2004 PBS Prado that belongs to NALIS.

Postby Bizzare » January 18th, 2012, 10:13 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:jeez people like to oversensitize everything *facepalm* Rowley knows the average Trinidadian is an idiot, and knows when they hear the word "Porsche" ppl would go apeshit.

but on the other hand, why are they buying expensive ass cars to share out hampers? where the fleet of cars that was bought for the summit 3(?) years ago?

Exactly.

LOL... Scoobert make out a group of ppl then put himself in the same bracket oui.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » January 18th, 2012, 10:24 pm

Ah hear ah man say when he liming on a friday he feels somewhat inferior if not average when pulling up in his A4 when he has to pass a black Porsche on the way in to the watering hole... and it have 2-piece carbon fibre rims on it too eh :lol:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » January 18th, 2012, 10:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:
MLD RENTALS&SERVICES wrote:why these fools did not make a fuss when Marlene"flotilla" McDonald bought a Q7 during her tenure..

I dunno maybe because it was her personal ride ...and not the Ministry's...yuh point would make sense if u had proper facts...jus sayin

you should get your info in order.... she doesn't own it

that vehicle was handed over to ministry of national security...how I know that?

because I used it during the SOE!

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2012, 10:39 pm

bluespeed wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

you should get your info in order.... she doesn't own it

that vehicle was handed over to ministry of national security...how I know that?

because I used it during the SOE!

Not gonna get into the he said ,she said.....but a friend of mine actually drives her vehicle...her personal vehicle...if the Ministry owns a Q7 fine...no prob..but I know she sold the Q7 she bought to someone I know.
The point is to often ppl bunch irrelevant pieces of info together to prop their point... If the Cayenne only cost $400k...who really cares?
If the issue is that it isn't a wise choice for some other reason..well then let's deal with that.
PPl here quotin the price John Public pays for a Prado/Cayenne like if that's the price Gov't pays...more irrelevant misinformation.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2012, 10:43 pm

she probably made a nice profit since she would have charged a price between her notax and dealer full tax

ministers should be made to keep the notax cars 5 years minimum

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2012, 10:44 pm

^ true