India trip question..re the govt's party

Re: India trip question..re the govt's party

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 9:32 am

16 cycles wrote:Would like to see an audit on the financials for funding of this trip.....

100K per person to fly to India first class????

Go to www.expedia.com book a first class flight from POS to DEL within the next 2 days for 2 weeks and see the price.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 11th, 2012, 9:46 am

^^it not adding up to 100k :?

Postby 16 cycles » January 11th, 2012, 9:50 am

working up to 14k USD - first class

10k USD - business

dios mio...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 11th, 2012, 9:53 am

DFC wrote:i attended PBD in 2010 !!!
and its a huge and expensive thing and as far as i know, the indian govt paying for everything...hotels, transport, plane tickets, even for some of your shopping. So i dunno if its the case again this year.

Secondly, our Prime Ministered is being honored in this PBD, she, being the focus...its a huge huge thing!
Congrats Madame Prime Minister on such a recognition.

As for Lara going with them....from personal experience i can tell you...Brian Lara is worshipped like God in India...

I used to tell them indians..."Yeah i living close to Brian Lara, we used to play cricket together !!"
And these guys used to respect me for that.

Check u r facts again Sir..... while u at it research what is the function of the Trinidad & Tobago Entertainment Company.

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 10:05 am

1 person at US$1=TT$6.39 is TT$95,896.64 2 persons is TT$191,793.28
POS to DEL.JPG

Postby 16 cycles » January 11th, 2012, 10:20 am

^site is that?

i used expedia as you suggested and it was 800USD less for first class

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 10:24 am

Expedia, I actually getting higher prices now, the prices will fluctuate throughout the day.

Postby Greypatch » January 11th, 2012, 10:28 am

But will not amount to the figure quoted in the article.

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 10:38 am

Well the reporter is embellishing a bit but I'm seeing fares "which averaged about TT$250,000" such as US$19,529 per person.

Postby UML » January 11th, 2012, 10:45 am

fashion scholarships
direct flights

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2012, 10:48 am

Would have been cheaper to pay for the 5 scholarships than the cost of this current trip.

Postby UML » January 11th, 2012, 10:53 am

if we cuda only have the event here...like the Summit of the Americas :roll:

first the complaint was no benefits.....now we seeing short term benefits and you still complain?

the govt partnering with Brazil, India and Nigeria....who benefitting?

yuh wah we partner with the blood sucking Grenada, St. Vincent, etc.?

Postby eliteauto » January 11th, 2012, 10:58 am

UML enlighten us on the short term benefits you speak of please

Postby crazybalhead » January 11th, 2012, 11:10 am

eliteauto wrote:UML enlighten us on the short term benefits you speak of please

Indeed.

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 11:14 am

crime reduction, Mittal Steel...reinstatement of Silk since 2006...how much is that, like five?

Postby eliteauto » January 11th, 2012, 11:33 am

say what?

Postby SR » January 11th, 2012, 3:25 pm

1US=6.43TT dunno where u gettin 6.39

Postby equipped2ripp » January 11th, 2012, 5:02 pm

And you got the wrong flight routes there btw!

Postby brams112 » January 11th, 2012, 8:39 pm

we get anything from manning summits yet and how much did it really cost?seem like wool in some people ears and still in they yampy eyes too,,,,,,,also who knew how much people the father of pee on them carried with him?short memory, refusing to admit you did not do better or was better is the pee on them,,,,,just ask the rot and he will only blow hot air from his stupid mouth,,,,,,,who in power still don't bother me just like to hear the stupid talk crap,,,

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2012, 9:02 pm

^^^ x2

Look at the billions Calder Hart thief, what wrong if Mary King and some other ppl thief a little money too. Ppl too bias, they allow it and didnt complain under the Pee on 'em let we give the Pee Pee a bligh.

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2012, 9:06 pm

brams112 wrote:we get anything from manning summits yet and how much did it really cost?seem like wool in some people ears and still in they yampy eyes too,,,,,,,also who knew how much people the father of pee on them carried with him?short memory, refusing to admit you did not do better or was better is the pee on them,,,,,just ask the rot and he will only blow hot air from his stupid mouth,,,,,,,who in power still don't bother me just like to hear the stupid talk crap,,,

So because the PNM did it, it automatically validates and justifies the PP doing it?

Didn't people vote for "change"?

Or is change reflected in the few cents left in the pockets of the proletariat at each month end?

Certain ministers on may 25th made numerous calls to Sterling and Toyota to inquire about new vehicles.

Yes, politicians care about people.

Postby wagonrunner » January 11th, 2012, 9:09 pm

some still willing to allow all in "dem do it too" chupidtiy

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Is time people take the government to task, hold them to THEIR words.

Make them accountable.

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » January 11th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:^ Well not exactly Becks and Jaggs.....but Cameron did carry all of these fcukers to India:

Ministers
David Cameron, prime minister; William Hague, foreign secretary; George Osborne, chancellor; Vince Cable, business secretary; Jeremy Hunt, culture secretary; David Willetts, universities minister; Gregory Barker, energy minister

Business

3i: Michael Queen, chief executive; Arup: Philip Dilley, global chairman; Agusta Westland: Graham Cole, managing director; Aviva: Andrew Moss, chief executive; Benoy: Graham Cartledge, chairman; Berg: Matt Webb, managing director; BAE Systems: Richard Olver, chairman; Balfour Beatty: Ian Tyler, chief executive; Barclays Group: John Varley, chief executive; B&Q and Kingfisher: Ian Cheshire, chief executive; CBI: Richard Lambert, director general; Clifford Chance: Stuart Popham, senior partner; Climate Change Capital: James Cameron, vice chairman; Deutsche Bank: Anshu Jain, chief executive; Freshminds: Caroline Plumb, chief executive; Green Investment Bank Commission: Bob Wigley, chairman and Yell group chairman; JCB: Philip Bouverat, director; Johnson Matthey: Sir John Banham, chairman; Institute of Directors: Miles Templeman, director general; KPMG: John Griffith-Jones, chairman; London Stock Exchange: Xavier Rolet, chief executive; Mott McDonald: Keith Howells, managing director; News Corporation: Matthew Anderson, group director; Nuclear Industry Association: Keith Parker, chief executive; Penguin Books: John Makinson, chairman and chief executive; picoChip: Nigel Toon, president and chief executive; Promethean: Graham Howe, chairman; Rolls-Royce: Miles Cowdry, director of global corporate development; SABMiller: Graham Mackay, chief executive; Solar Century: Jeremy Leggett, chairman; Smiths Detection: Stephen Phipson, group managing director; Standard Chartered: Peter Sands, group chief executive; Standard Life: Gerry Grimstone, chairman; UK India Business Council: Lord Bilimoria, president and Patricia Hewitt, chair; UK-India Round Table: Chris Patten; Mama Group: Stephen Budd, managing director; Vodafone: Vittorio Colao, chief executive; Xchanging: David Andrews, chief executive

Culture and sports

British Council: Vernon Ellis, chairman; British Library: Dame Lynne Brindley, chief executive; British Museum: Neil MacGregor, director; Victoria & Albert Museum: Sir Mark Jones, director; Premier League: Richard Scudamore, chief executive; London Organising Committee of Olympic Games: Lord Coe, chairman; Commonwealth Games England: Dame Kelly Holmes, president; Sir Steve Redgrave, Olympian.

Science and education

Cambridge University: Prof Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, chief executive, Medical Research Council and vice chancellor designate; Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council: Prof Robin Grimes, adviser civil nuclear research; Imperial College: Sir Keith O'Nions FRS, rector; Open University: Martin Bean, vice chancellor; University of Exeter: Prof Steve Smith, vice chancellor and president Universities UK; Wellcome Trust: Sir Mark Walport, director

Parliament

All-party parliamentary group: Jo Johnson MP

Local government

Royal borough of Windsor and Maidenhead: Liam Maxwell, councillor; Sutton council: Sean Brennan, leader of the council, chair of the executive; Upper Eden Community Plan: Alex Birtles, chairman of Upper Eden Futures

Technology

Harry Metcalfe, entrepreneur and web consultant; Edmund von der Burg, independent internet developer; Tim Green, independent website developer; David McCandless, independent author, creative director and information designer

hmmmm

Postby eliteauto » January 11th, 2012, 9:25 pm

if you're being fair and honest the benefits promised by the last PM re the summits did not materialise BUT.. there was still economic stimulus locally through the provision of goods and services then and the State still has resources from those summits that have been disbursed to various agencies, and we were featured albeit briefly in the world media. Compare that with the capital flight that exists through the myriad flights undertaken by the current PM which are yet to shrow any real economic benefit, at the end of the day this trip was about self-aggrandisement in the form of an award and visit to the motherland, but "oh by the way if we get some business in the mix well cool".

Then again as I've said before, there are many on this forum who will happily bash one party and claim to love this country but will happily allow the rape of the treasury if the face of the bandits is one they can relate to

btw Pios is not only Prados and E classes now, there are 2 Gov't Ministers, who saw it fit to use State funds via their ministries to purchase Porsche Cayennes as their official vehicle

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2012, 9:34 pm

Yupp I saw the cayennes myself n was wondering...

Then same govt turn around and cut budgets in all ministries and state agencies...I have proof where 4 persons share one stapler and one paper punch...yet ministers peltin money like is nuttin

What's really happening in this place?

Where would kamala n her merrymen visit?...mars?

Was Jack Warner included?...why not?...doesn't india have great infrastructure we should be mirin?

The mandate/purpose of the SOE was to take back our country from criminals, yet the PP is still in power.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 12th, 2012, 6:45 am

I am in agreement with the OP. Kamla flies "out" like it's a job requirement, and frankly, this trip is the same wasteful concept. Using office for personal gain - I guess she assmes that she won't be PM for the next term, so might as well use the money now :?

I do have a question though...G-patch....what's the point of posting this on 'tuner? Similarly with teh Thread about the Police officer's death and Roger Gaspard laying charges. MP's won't read it? Asking Gaspard on "what's the word".....on 'tuner...may not reach him or the masses who could do something about it? Have you considered writing an editorial/letter to the editor kinda thing in one of the dailies?

Might have more effect, and more of an audience. It's what I try to do.....it's good to get your voice out there.

TriP

Postby TriP » January 12th, 2012, 8:50 am

Kamal weeps at the O.K Corral... :lol:

"Your granddaughter has come here. I can see one hundred thousand people here to greet me." :rofl:

stupezz!!

snowman

Postby snowman » January 12th, 2012, 9:39 am

And my question is.... WHY? Giving speeches in Remote Villages? That benefits us how? Next thing she'll be in a Bollywood moving saying it's promoting our country. Your Granddaughter has come here? Really?

Postby crazybalhead » January 12th, 2012, 9:47 am

eliteauto wrote:if you're being fair and honest the benefits promised by the last PM re the summits did not materialise BUT.. there was still economic stimulus locally through the provision of goods and services then and the State still has resources from those summits that have been disbursed to various agencies, and we were featured albeit briefly in the world media. Compare that with the capital flight that exists through the myriad flights undertaken by the current PM which are yet to shrow any real economic benefit, at the end of the day this trip was about self-aggrandisement in the form of an award and visit to the motherland, but "oh by the way if we get some business in the mix well cool".Then again as I've said before, there are many on this forum who will happily bash one party and claim to love this country but will happily allow the rape of the treasury if the face of the bandits is one they can relate to

btw Pios is not only Prados and E classes now, there are 2 Gov't Ministers, who saw it fit to use State funds via their ministries to purchase Porsche Cayennes as their official vehicle

Ent. Steups.