Re: Bis Ram at Sweet Lime

Postby r3iXmann » December 12th, 2011, 7:24 pm

the poster is real

Postby pioneer » December 12th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Devourment wrote:Despite the supposed apology in the above post, I know one of the persons in this story and their entire night was traumatizing and embarrassing. What was supposed to be a celebratory occasion ended up being one where she felt her life was threatened. She is very traumatized after this incident.

I am encouraging her to sue the establishment.

A very similar thing happened to my group of friends in another POS restaurant where we found drinks and food (worth $700+) on our bill that we did not order nor receive.

We ended up being the last guests to leave and the management locked the doors until we paid for all the items on our bill. Letters were wrote right after and the owner quickly met with us and refunded us our money plus gave us a certificate for $1000 at his restaurant. He was pleasant enough and as it was his manager not him who locked us in, we took no further action.

Hmmm we shoulda do this de time feuners decided to duck their very expensive tab at TGI chaguanas

Postby equipped2ripp » December 12th, 2011, 7:58 pm

:popcorn:

Postby SR » December 12th, 2011, 8:03 pm

Sweet Lime Restaurant wrote:Mac Ward and I own Sweetlime. We were absolutely wrong and apologise for the way Mr. Bisram was treated. We have no excuse and have apologised to him and will be making a full refund. We unreservedly apologise to him and his guests and sincerely hope they will give us a second chance. We thank him for putting his comments on Facebook as this is the only way we would have known about our error. We welcome all comments that will help us build an better experience for our customers and staff.

John Wallis

OK

too late shall be the cry

how can this be the only way you would have know of your error

are you saying the owners were not aware of what took place in thier own rest?

Postby S_2NR » December 12th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Sweet Lime Restaurant wrote:Mac Ward and I own Sweetlime. We were absolutely wrong and apologise for the way Mr. Bisram was treated. We have no excuse and have apologised to him and will be making a full refund. We unreservedly apologise to him and his guests and sincerely hope they will give us a second chance. We thank him for putting his comments on Facebook as this is the only way we would have known about our error. We welcome all comments that will help us build an better experience for our customers and staff.

John Wallis

prevention is better than cure

Postby pioneer » December 12th, 2011, 8:46 pm

tell shango that

Postby Bizzare » December 12th, 2011, 8:50 pm

shango is no more Image

Postby S_2NR » December 12th, 2011, 8:51 pm

allyu not easy

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » December 12th, 2011, 9:02 pm

So the sweetlime user is really them?

They could have paid for the twelve plates, and pack it to take home,,talk done,,

Postby sharkman121 » December 12th, 2011, 9:13 pm

well yess..... interesting.

Postby cinco » December 12th, 2011, 9:19 pm

damage already done
dont matter trinis does just kyak and will return

Postby S_2NR » December 12th, 2011, 9:21 pm

i've never been to or had any interest in sweet lime.
after hearing about this i am definitely not going now and i would suggest my family and friends do the same.

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2011, 9:38 pm

by next week this will be forgotten.

Postby cinco » December 12th, 2011, 9:45 pm

eh matter they food eh all dat anyway and the ambience not worth it

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 12th, 2011, 10:13 pm

cinco wrote:damage already done
dont matter trinis does just kyak and will return

Not really eh...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 12th, 2011, 10:17 pm

Sweet Lime is gross...
For such a large Reservation the dude should have settled his attendance a day or 2 before and informed the restaurant...
And sad case... if he had to pay for all 12 meals then he should have asked for the 7 extra meals take away...
All in all... sad

Postby Cjruckus » December 12th, 2011, 10:23 pm

SR wrote:

John Wallis

OK

too late shall be the cry

how can this be the only way you would have know of your error

are you saying the owners were not aware of what took place in thier own rest?

At the end of the day does it really matter?

Sweet Lime did the right thing.
This guys reservation could be similar to a Prank call almost.

someone has to pay for the wrong doing and wasted effort. Plus most large reservations should be made in Person so that you can assure you have proper seating, as well as well trained staff. A true professional would have even made a downpayment or left a CC on file, so that on the night, who ever doesnt show is still covered.

Bis Ram trying to be a shotta, but his JOhn D ed-u-ma-cation left him without the proper skills on how to properly conduct a business meeting/shindig at a restaurant.

Postby pioneer » December 12th, 2011, 11:03 pm

So what company bisram works for, some tuner powerselling computer parts feel he big?

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » December 12th, 2011, 11:07 pm

Third world business owner!! They choose to make the customer pay for a meal that was not consumed or ordered but simply reserved. A customer has the right to cancel or change his reservation at anytime( that is the privilege of being the consumer) if you do not want to adhere to this, do not be business man or provide a service.....

reservation [ˌrɛzəˈveɪʃən]n
1. the act or an instance of reserving
2. something reserved, esp hotel accommodation, a seat on an aeroplane, in a theatre, etc.
3. (often plural) a stated or unstated qualification of opinion that prevents one's wholehearted acceptance of a proposal, claim, statement, etc.

A reservation is in NO form a contract!!! It is a service provided by an establishment to ensure availability for consumers.

I.E... If i reserve a hotel room or restaurant and i do not show. The hotel can not charge me for it. the only charge i may have is a reservation fee(if applicable) which is suppose to be established at the time of reservation.

To the tuner who said the consumer is wrong (pioneer), please go back under the rock you were living, i would love to see you win with argument in an unbiased court of law.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 12th, 2011, 11:09 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

John Wallis

Takes a big man to own up and kudos for that, but it also sounds like you need to train your staff in cust service - if in fact this event happened as described.

here's another possibility:

client: "hi, i'd like to reserve 40 seats"
sweet lime: "sorry sir, we have a party of 12 coming, and that leaves us with only 30 seats"
client: "ok thanks, we will look elsewhere"
sweat lime: "thank you for understanding."

xmas parties etc must be strict RSVP so that proper seating and food catering can be done. the restaurant would usually have to prepare a lot of the dishes (or ingredients) well before your scheduled dining time.

i dont agree with Bis Ram's grouse. as for the restaurant's alleged response... what would you do in their position?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 12th, 2011, 11:10 pm

A Phonecall from Mr. John Wallis, Co-Owner of Sweet Lime Restaurant
by Bis Ram on Monday, December 12, 2011 at 9:27pm

At exactly 1:23 PM on Monday, December 12, 2011 I received a called on my mobile phone. The person identified himself as Mr. John Wallis, Owner of Ma Pau and co-owner of Sweet Lime Restaurant. I was livid and utterly speechless not anticipating what the conversation was going to be like. I was very silent on the phone but Mr. Wallis proceeded to speak. He apologized on behalf of his restaurant and offered some form of re-dress to the situation. I responded very guardedly that a refund to the tune of the 7 extra meals be paid to which he responded in the negative. Instead he indicated that a full refund would be made. At first, I indicated my hesitance to do such but Mr. Wallis is a professional. He understood my viewpoint and was very sympathetic about the outcome of the incident. He re-iterated that on behalf of his establishment how apologetic he was for the turn of events.
Earlier this afternoon, around 5.20 PM, a full refund to the tune of $3038 was paid to me. I am satisfied that through it all that the owners were very professional and did the right thing. But here is a suggestion from which we can all learn:
On the part of the Restaurants – take it upon yourselves to establish a properly publicized reservation policy and ensure that managers implement it. If it was known that I would have been financially liable for the 12 meals things would have been much easier.
I would like to thank my closer FB friends JD, VOR, TOP, SSA who encouraged me to make public what started off as a personal status update for my FB friends only. I would also like to thank Mr. John Wallis, co-owner of Sweet Lime for his speedy resolution of the matter. And the biggest thanks go to YOU, the FB community, who shared my pains of the last 36-48 hours and really took the time to read and repost. Through it all, Trinidad and Tobago is truly a magical place filled with magical people. I never thought that my simple note would have gone so viral that a matter, which I thought was dead, would have been resolved this quickly…

Compliments of the Season and Merry Christmas to each and every one of you.
Regards,
Bis Ram

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 12th, 2011, 11:20 pm

Comment to follow :/

Sweet Lime and the Sour Lime
by Denith McNicolls on Monday, December 12, 2011 at 9:42pm
Sweet Lime is a Sour Lime

I don't want to make any accusations about the character of Bisram R who wrote about an alleged experience at the Sweet Lime restaurant on Ariapita Avenue, but I would like to raise some concerns as well as ask people who read the article to consider a few things.

The story shows one perspective, from one individual.
As far as I know, no one has corroborated the story.
Anybody talk to anybody from Sweet Lime to find out how the system works?
These are some serious, serious allegations - against both Sweet Lime and the Police.
With almost 800 shares at the time of writing this, I felt somewhat disturbed by the willingness of persons to write off Sweet Lime and say they ‘never going there again’. Allyuh doh find it odd? At all?

Personally, I eh going Sweet Lime because I find the food for the money eh worth it, but I digress. So, here are my concerns:

“As you all know, there are numerous restaurants offering a Christmas Menu this season. I made a seating RESERVATION for 12 persons, however, last night only 5 persons showed up for the Christmas Dinner at Sweet Lime”
Was it specifically a reservation of plates, or a reservation of seats? If the meals were specially prepared, I’m to believe that he had to have told them how many of a particular meal he wanted beforehand, no?

“I again re-iterated that I am willing to pay for the meals we ate and that I am in no way financially able to pay for 12 meals.” “In the end we were made to pay a bill of more than $3300 to Sweet Lime before being escorted out. No dessert, no food packaged to go, nothing.”
The contradiction is there. Secondly, if the meals were prepared, did you claim the food, or did you just leave it and ride out?

“In addition to which the police took all our info: names, addresses and phone contacts, which I am inclined to believe is in the possession of Sweet Lime Restaurant.” “I am of a strong morale belief. While this event is most unfortunate and unfair, I cannot compromise the security and well being of my co-workers who I hold dearly to me for a couple hundred dollars."
So, the best way to keep your friends safe is to post a facebook article that incites the masses, includes the specific event in detail, and your name? Doesn’t Sweet Lime allegedly have the information anyway, so they could pass and deal with yuh norms anyhow? You “may” go on the radio and talk bout it, but that not going to bring attention at all… sigh.
Something smelling fishier than the fish in Sweet Lime logo.

SO, I call Sweet Lime! The same one on the Avenue in fact, to find out specifically if you can pre-order a meal, so I asked “[…] can I order food, and just come and sit down and have it waiting for me?”. The person on the phone told me what she recommends is that I come in, and order after I’d been seated. So I asked again, “if like 5 people coming, and I call for food for 5, then show up, can I do that?”

Effectively, she ended up getting confused when I asked if I had to pay for seats if I reserved a table for 6 and only 3 show up. She said “I honestly don’t know what you’re talking about”. I said “someone says if they reserved for 12 people, and only 5 people showed up, but they still had to pay for the 12 meals. I honestly expected her to know about the thing, and if it did happen, wouldn't all the workers have some idea of what's going on?
Then she says “Maybe they ordered from the Christmas Menu, we have a Christmas Menu now if you have a group over a certain size […] with those you have to tell us how many people you expect and we prepare the meals to cater.” Then she went on to add “if the size of the party changing, you obviously have to let us know in advance, because is a special meal the kitchen prepares and they have to adjust”

To which she went on to add “But I think the best thing to do would still be to come in and order when everybody reach, because people does drop out last minute and you don’t want a set of extra food”. Draw thine own conclusions. In titling this note, I realize the man traumatized and still come up with a bess title - he should write for the Express!STUDY, however, nobody WTFing at the fact that you feeding TWELVE people for $3300. TWELVE.People going to boycott Sweet Lime because they may have wile up a man to pay for food, but not because the prices wile? Shake mah damned head. No, seriously, you recognize the BESS lime you could have with that kinda money?

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » December 12th, 2011, 11:27 pm

I'm happy to know that we have profound business men in our tiny country, who is able to understand that this unfortunate circumstance is a regular occurrence around the world and the consumer should not be forced to pay for services ("goods" in this case a meal) not provided to them. If i can expect this sort of business tenureship i will be happy to give my hard earned dollars to this establishment.

Postby Cjruckus » December 13th, 2011, 12:25 am

but didn't he say the man was in Mafia?

Postby A172 » December 13th, 2011, 12:53 am

Bis Raj shuda keep he kant in Caroni

mad

Postby mad » December 13th, 2011, 12:59 am

Sweet lime have the worst food in south. Period.
Hope nobody waste their time to go there and buy food.

Postby pioneer » December 13th, 2011, 5:49 am

mad wrote:Sweet lime have the worst food in south. Period.

You always this good at reading & understanding?

Postby SR » December 13th, 2011, 6:18 am

trinidad needs more people to publicly complain about poor service

only then will establishments get the message and fix themselves

Postby cinco » December 13th, 2011, 7:05 am

mad wrote:Sweet lime have the worst food in south. Period.