Rainman wrote:
Sat: "I can't be racist, i know five black people"
bluespeed wrote:civic minded wrote:Truth is , sat is a known racist, and I honestly wish he was removed as secretary general of the sdms. That's why this story is so believable. You should of heard power102 yesterday - all the talkshows, preaching fire and brimstone on Sat and Hindus whole day.
well, who is to blame for that?...... If all Hindus don't unite and get rid of this arse, ALL INDIANS especially Hindus will be deemed racist by the illiterate black ppl of trinidad!and tobago.
Scoobert Bauce wrote:Sat is not for Indian ppl eh... He is for HINDUS, He dont give two shyts about an Indian Muslim, or an Indian anything that isnt Hindu... get alyuh facts straight
TriP wrote:yuh know what i cant understand ..all of us are human we carry the same red blood in our bodies an yet the color of our skin makes a difference to some people...i glad i mixup i cant be racial..!!
zoom rader wrote:Let us look at the facts,
The concordat law, allows the religious board to run the school. Goverment has no say in this.
The school is a Hindu one which was built and owned by the SDMS ( goverment does not own the school) Eric Williams and the PNM called it a cow shed back in 1952
The Concordat law allows the religious board to get rid of any teacher that does not follow the instructions of the Board. The goverment does not have any say in the this.
When Asja and pastor cuffe got rid of some teachers because they refused to comply with the religious instruction, where was the PNM to disappove with the uproar?
The principal refused the religious instructions by the board becuase her pastor did not allow this.This allows the board to get rid of her and the goverment has no say in this.
The OJT were told of a dress code but contined to wear their "tight panties" in school.
The principal was charging an admission fee baised on the parents background, This is breaking the law unless its a private school.
The tunapuna Hindu school is a mixed school and in an indo area, how many indos attend schools in Laventille?
Lendor Hindu school has 70% of non Indos attending that school, so sat is a racist
So Sat is racist because he follows the concordat law made by Eric Williams and the PNM?
AllTrac wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh do realize that Sat does hire only Hindus for obvious reasons.
FALSE.
FACT = i personally know 4 teachers at his school that are non hindus, I hanged out with 2 of them last night.
nemisis wrote:SR wrote:^^^^
this
try going to a catholic school an see if they give a sheit about non catholics
yuh eh hear nobody complainin bout dem ent
I assume you went an rc school? The rc school I went made provisions for other religious demographics, they had a separate teacher and class for RK and the entire school celebrated eid, divali etc pagents and all so I know why no one complaining....
Your comment have a few gaps in, fill them in please so I can make sense ofmyour point
lostboys crew wrote:How many tuner went to a school belonging to the SDM. Well i attended 2 of their primary schools and all had a mix of all the various races and religions and this was like over 20 years ago.
So after all those years in power PNM now doing survey and come to that conclusion...![]()
them always looking for ways to make the PP look like they are a racial party when in fact it is the other way around. Just because a PP minster and Sat is family,they trying make the PP look bad.
N.B. all the afro children in my class where the favorites of the all the teachers and among the smartest in class.
Me ain't no fan of Sat...but i loved his granddaughters. All of his grandchildren attended my school, and his daughter was one of my teacher.
~Vēġó~ wrote:sinistersam wrote:there is always two sides to the story, and fortunately i also happen to know the other side. if anyone visits the school they would obviously notice that the alegations that the principle was making wasn't true, cause there is indeed a mixture of ethnic groups that attend the school. from what i know the principle had alot of issues with the staff and the PTA, she conducted her duties there in a dictatorship style. the teachers made numerous complaints to the board and when the SDMS board realised what a mistake they made by placing her there as principle decided to move her to another school. this didn't go to well, as the principal didn't want to be moved, mainly cause this particular school was one of SDMS "prestigue" schools.
so she fabricated alot of her allegations to create a defence and gather sympathy from the public.
you forgot the part about the night time trists with the security guard....and the locked up resource materials, desks, tables etc......so yes, two sides to the story indeed....in addition to her conversion to pentecostal and having to consult with her pastor for approval of Hindu practices in the maha sabha school....ALLEGED!!!
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh do realize that Sat does hire only Hindus for obvious reasons. And as you know 99% of Africans are not Hindus.
While the man is an open racist the fact is this is very misleading.
This has more to do with religion than anything else it just appears racist because of the fact that 99% of Africans are not Hindus. You have a higher chance at an Indian being a Hindu than anyother race.
Dizzy28 wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh do realize that Sat does hire only Hindus for obvious reasons. And as you know 99% of Africans are not Hindus.
While the man is an open racist the fact is this is very misleading.
This has more to do with religion than anything else it just appears racist because of the fact that 99% of Africans are not Hindus. You have a higher chance at an Indian being a Hindu than anyother race.
There's a 1% black hindu population?![]()
Contacted yesterday, Maharaj declined to give an answer to the direct question of whether he had accompanied Sat Maharaj to the police station on October 25 to take action against the school principal and others. "I have asked for a copy of the Hansard (of McIntosh), which was just e-mailed to me by my staff. I am going to look through it and see if it was factual, and if it is not, I will take the appropriate action. But I wouldn't want to comment until I have read what she had to say," the minister said.
Transport Minister Devant Maharaj yesterday confirmed that he went to the Tunapuna Police Station on October 25 after receiving a call from Maha Sabha secretary general Sat Maharaj, but stressed he was not at all involved in any "form or fashion" in the impasse between the Maha Sabha and the principal of the Tunapuna Hindu School Sita Gajadharsingh-Nanga.
Maharaj was responding to statements by Dr Keith Rowley, who yesterday accused him of "prosecuting the illegal agenda of the Maha Sabha in attempting to prosecute and persecute the principal ... for admitting black children in the catchment area into the school".
In Parliament on Wednesday night Opposition MP Patricia McIntosh claimed that the minister had accompanied Maharaj to the police station to press charges against the principal, and two school supervisors, police and fire officers who assisted her in gaining entry to the school, in the face of a Maha Sabha board lockout.
But Maharaj said Rowley was a "stranger to the truth" on this issue.
"The secretary general of the Maha Sabha called me and told me there was an incident and he was at the police station and out of the abundance of concern that I have for him and given our long-standing relationship, I went to see if he was all right. And that was the extent of my involvement," Minister Maharaj said.
He stressed that his presence at the police station had nothing to do with any desire on his part to press charges against the principal, the fire and police officers and the school supervisors.
"I have no locus standi on this. I was never part of the Maha Sabha Education Board," he said.
"I am sure that if anybody has a close friend who calls and says they are in the police station and there is any difficulty (they would do the same) ... Because a few months ago he was in an accident and I also went down and I accompanied him to the hospital because he had some bruises. Because he is 80 years old and if I hear that he is involved in anything like hospital or police, I would go because we have a long history of working in the community together," the minister said.
He added he was not in the same room as Sat Maharaj at the police station, but remained in the hallway taking phone calls.
Speaking at a news conference, at the Opposition Leader's office, in Port of Spain earlier, Rowley called on the Prime Minister to state how she intended to deal with Devant Maharaj's "involvement" in the matter.
"I warned the Prime Minister about the potential for these kinds of things to develop or to grow when she appointed Devant Maharaj to the Cabinet. The chickens have come home to roost earlier than I expected the eggs to hatch," he said, adding: "This is an extremely offensive development and this country must provide the rebuff to all those who may advance to us this kind of development."
He called on the Minister of Education, Dr Tim Gopeesingh, to state unequivocally the Government's position in resisting this unsavoury development.
In a telephone interview yesterday Gopeesingh reiterated that the ministry had not abdicated its responsibility and had been communicating with the Teaching Service Commission on the matter.
"We stand in defence of equality in education, social stability and harmony. It is not a theocratic education system, it is a secular education system," he said, adding that he had been striving as much as possible to ensure this.
"This is not a ministry that is sleeping, it is a ministry that is active," he said. He added that he was due to receive a report from the ministry's supervisors yesterday on the matter and this would be sent to the Teaching Service Commission for a determination.
The TSC "will gave us guidance on the way forward", he said, since the ministry was functioning in the context of an independent Teaching Service Commission.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Devant__I_went_to_help_a_close_friend_in_need-133728443.html
Corn Bird wrote:nemisis wrote:SR wrote:^^^^
this
try going to a catholic school an see if they give a sheit about non catholics
yuh eh hear nobody complainin bout dem ent
I assume you went an rc school? The rc school I went made provisions for other religious demographics, they had a separate teacher and class for RK and the entire school celebrated eid, divali etc pagents and all so I know why no one complaining....
Your comment have a few gaps in, fill them in please so I can make sense ofmyour point
i (non-rc) went a rc high school. not once did i get any sort of discrimination from any rc teacher or principal. in particular, the irish brothers took their religion seriously, but in the classroom they didn't care at all what religion/race you were
SITA CLEARED
By Lara Pickford-Gordon Tuesday, December 13 2011
The Teaching Service Commission (TSC) has cleared principal of the Tunapuna Hindu Primary School Sita Gajadharsingh-Nanga of allegations made by the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) regarding her conduct.
The TSC found there was insufficient evidence against the principal and directed the Education Ministry to investigate the conduct of a teacher of the school and school supervisors.
The TSC met last Wednesday and considered a report from an investigation done by the ministry.
Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh yesterday said the TSC considered the contents of the report and sought legal advice.
Gopeesingh said the TSC concluded that there was “insufficient evidence to substantiate allegations made against Mrs Gajadharsingh-Nanga.”
However, the TSC has found there was sufficient grounds for the ministry to investigate “one of the teachers at the school.”
Gopeesingh did not disclose what was the allegation against the teacher.
He said the TSC has concerns about issues at the school which should have been addressed by school supervisors.
The TSC has directed the ministry to investigate whether the school supervisors were negligent in their duty and failed to address the issue of the allocation of resources from the ministry to the school and did not have proper oversight of the school.
Gopeesingh said he has given instructions for an investigating team to be established to urgently deal with matters related to the supervisors and a particular teacher identified by the TSC in its report.
Gajadharsingh-Nanga has spent most of the school term away from duty due to the rift with the SDMS and schools’ Parent Teachers’ Association (PTA).
She returned to work last Tuesday, just over two weeks after the Ministry of Education mediated an agreement between her and the SDMS on November 21.
On the issue of the transfer of Gajadharsingh-Nanga, the TSC advised that interviews would take place for principal I for primary schools, which were advertised, and Gajadharsingh Nanga would be invited to be interviewed. Gopeesingh said the ministry was “hamstrung” as it had to wait on the TSC to do interviews. Contacted for comment Gajadharsingh-Nanga said she had not heard anything about the TSC’s report yet and no one has contacted her. She told Newsday that she could not comment further because the teaching service regulations did not allow her to.
SDMS Secretary General Satnarayan Maharaj had no comment to make until he saw the report.
Peter Wilson, general secretary of the TT Unified Teachers’ Association (TTUTA) said he had no idea of what the report said but based on what he heard from Newsday, no action can be taken against the principal and it was up to the ministry to deal with the other matters highlighted.
Wilson said despite the agreement of November 21, Gajadharsingh-Nanga was still having problems at school. Private security guards hired by the SDMS, teaching staff and cleaners have refused to take directives from her.
The principal yesterday attempted to have a staff meeting but it did not happen. Wilson said the principal was responsible for the day-to-day management of the school and would be accountable for anything which happened. He said there seemed to be a deliberate attempt to subvert the agreement mediated by the Education Ministry between the principal and SDMS and the ministry was “aiding and abetting”. The school supervisors are supposed to ensure the principal was able to carry out her duties.
“Something as simple as keys. She can’t even have access to the area where office, equipment and stationary supplies are kept. It is as ridiculous as that,” said Wilson.
The atmosphere at the school has been tense for more than six months and there has been a strong lobby by the PTA and SDMS for the principal to be transferred.
The issues at the school became public when a letter written by Gajadharsingh-Nanga to the TSC requesting a transfer was publicised by a weekly newspaper in August.
In it she alleged that the SDMS Secretary General Satnarayan Maharaj threatened to lock her out of the school for admitting non-Indian children within the catchment area and not to admit black children. She said Maharaj was in an “uproar” because two of eight on-the-job trainees were non- Indian.”
Maharaj wrote the TSC August 10 and described Gajadharsingh-Nanga’s behaviour as disruptive and parents had expressed concern about confrontation.
The Director of Personnel Administration (DPA) wrote to the ministry on September 26 asking for the Permanent Secretary to ensure steps were taken to ensure the principal be allowed to carry out her duties.
Three weeks earlier the SDMS wrote to Gajadharsingh-Nanga telling her to report for duty at the St George East Education District. Maharaj wrote to the TSC on October 10 outlining the reasons the SDMS wanted the principal tranferred: Gajadharsingh-Nanga did not institute a programme for infants to learn prayers, she removed the dress code sign and attempted to frustrate efforts to complete a temple on the school compound, and failed to fulfill obligations to the board.
The DPA wrote the SDMS October 14 informing that unless Gajadharsingh-Nanga was transferred or otherwise directed by the TSC, the SDMS had no authority to debar her from reporting for work. Gajadharsingh-Nanga went to the school on October 24 accompanied by two school supervisors but they were not allowed entry. The police was called and fire service officers cut the locks on door. On November 9, excerpts from Gajadharsingh-Nanga’s letter were read by Port-of-Spain North/St Ann’s West Member of Parliament Patricia McIntosh during a sitting of the House of Representatives.
At a briefing on November 12, Maharaj provided data for the student population of the Tunapuna Hindu School which showed there were 22 children of African descent.
http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,152160.html
rfari wrote:i doh see the problem here
Habit7 wrote:^^^What?
I went a Anglican High School where there were monthly inter-religious services where there were Christian, Muslim and Hindu prayers with Dean Knolly Clarke delivering a nondescript sermon.
The Jehovah Witness were allowed to have a separate meeting in another location.
I and the majority of my class weren't Anglican.
Strauss wrote:As stated, it's not about race, it's about people not being HINDU.
He might have a problem with non-hindu's in his area of the world too even if they are indian.
Strauss wrote:As stated, it's not about race, it's about people not being HINDU.
He might have a problem with non-hindu's in his area of the world too even if they are indian.