Manning apologises to the country

Re: Manning apologises to the country

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2011, 7:28 am

ah yes that church issue,it just takes one serious issue to forget about something else in Trinidad..

similar to a murder: for example when the farmer from Central was murdered you heard that story for a week or so,afterwards another murder takes place and that one is just a stat,up to now no1 has any idea of who killed the man.....

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 30th, 2011, 8:27 am

Patriiiiick... We steppin up witchuuuuuu

Postby bushwakka » October 30th, 2011, 1:44 pm

the funny thing is.....to be a successful politician, u hav to be involved in skullduggery....no question abt it......with that in mind.....jail should lie at the end of every good politicians career

Postby S_2NR » October 30th, 2011, 1:47 pm

He can't be serious. The amount of sheit he do to this country but then again the PP aint much different. All politicians are the same in trinidad.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » October 30th, 2011, 6:54 pm

if the "masses " in this country actually believe him it shall just further concrete the fact that they are ALL complete faking idiots who have absolutely no brains and love nothing better than being the receipants of handouts..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2011, 8:00 pm

is everybody facking up manning yes; dooks said diwali gave him a divine inspiration so he decided to do that,then jack said he sound like ah comedian and that apology 16mths late..

TriP

Postby TriP » October 30th, 2011, 9:30 pm

i wah buy the blimp..i wah make a air-tour-bus over TnT!!

Postby sMASH » October 31st, 2011, 5:23 am

wait, can his apology, be taken as a confession........

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 11:22 am

I guess you all would want him to apologise for this too:

TT is a developed country
By ARTHUR SNELL Monday, October 31 2011

The most important month in the history of Trinidad and Tobago is just coming to an end.

I imagine you’re wondering what on earth prompts me to write this. Lots of other months in Trinidad and Tobago’s history have witnessed much more drama and global attention. You could argue that the most important month was August 1962 when Trinidad and Tobago got its independence. Or April 1970 and the Black Power tumults. Or July 1990 and the Muslimeen coup attempt.

Everybody knows those dates as key milestones in the history of this country. But October 2011? What’s so important about that?

Before I answer that I wanted to ask another question – is Trinidad and Tobago a developed country? This is one that, rightly, matters to people here. The achievement of developed country status has been an objective of the government of Trinidad and Tobago for some years. Vision 2020 was a major national campaign to reach that aim. And like any ambition, you have to have a way of knowing when you’ve got there.

Which brings me back to October 2011. It all comes down to something called the OECD DAC list. The OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, is an international economic organisation based in Paris. It has 34 member countries, including the UK as well as most of the countries of the EU, Japan, Australia and North America. The OECD, among other things, plays an important role in co-ordinating the aid policies of the world’s biggest donor countries. This includes the definition of which are actually developing countries – the so-called DAC list – that qualify for aid money from the biggest donors, whether it’s the USA, Japan or major European countries.

In October 2011 the DAC list was updated. For the first time, Trinidad and Tobago is no longer on that list, reflecting a sustained period of economic growth and relatively high per capita income. This means that the premier international organisation that makes a judgement on such matters considers TT to be a developed country. Of course, it would be simplistic to suggest that being a developed country is the same as a country in which everyone has access to development.

All countries, whether officially regarded as developed or developing, are in a state of development and change. This goes for the UK as much as for TT. And for some purposes, being a developed country may seem a disadvantage – TT might no longer qualify for certain types of aid or funding.

But there has to be a point in time when the consensus of opinion regards a change as having taken place. In the case of Trinidad and Tobago, that point was October of this year: you made it. You are now a developed country. I’ve not seen this achievement noted anywhere in the press or by the government. Surely this is the most important moment in your history?

Arthur Snell is the British High Commissioner in Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,149813.html

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2011, 12:34 pm

So what?...Apologies for misdeeds that greatly exceed his good deeds is the least he could have done.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 31st, 2011, 12:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:I guess you all would want him to apologise for this too:

TT is a developed country
By ARTHUR SNELL Monday, October 31 2011

The most important month in the history of Trinidad and Tobago is just coming to an end.

I imagine you’re wondering what on earth prompts me to write this. Lots of other months in Trinidad and Tobago’s history have witnessed much more drama and global attention. You could argue that the most important month was August 1962 when Trinidad and Tobago got its independence. Or April 1970 and the Black Power tumults. Or July 1990 and the Muslimeen coup attempt.

Everybody knows those dates as key milestones in the history of this country. But October 2011? What’s so important about that?

Before I answer that I wanted to ask another question – is Trinidad and Tobago a developed country? This is one that, rightly, matters to people here. The achievement of developed country status has been an objective of the government of Trinidad and Tobago for some years. Vision 2020 was a major national campaign to reach that aim. And like any ambition, you have to have a way of knowing when you’ve got there.

Which brings me back to October 2011. It all comes down to something called the OECD DAC list. The OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, is an international economic organisation based in Paris. It has 34 member countries, including the UK as well as most of the countries of the EU, Japan, Australia and North America. The OECD, among other things, plays an important role in co-ordinating the aid policies of the world’s biggest donor countries. This includes the definition of which are actually developing countries – the so-called DAC list – that qualify for aid money from the biggest donors, whether it’s the USA, Japan or major European countries.

In October 2011 the DAC list was updated. For the first time, Trinidad and Tobago is no longer on that list, reflecting a sustained period of economic growth and relatively high per capita income. This means that the premier international organisation that makes a judgement on such matters considers TT to be a developed country. Of course, it would be simplistic to suggest that being a developed country is the same as a country in which everyone has access to development.

All countries, whether officially regarded as developed or developing, are in a state of development and change. This goes for the UK as much as for TT. And for some purposes, being a developed country may seem a disadvantage – TT might no longer qualify for certain types of aid or funding.

But there has to be a point in time when the consensus of opinion regards a change as having taken place. In the case of Trinidad and Tobago, that point was October of this year: you made it. You are now a developed country. I’ve not seen this achievement noted anywhere in the press or by the government. Surely this is the most important moment in your history?

Arthur Snell is the British High Commissioner in Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,149813.html

And what exactly has he done there that's so fantastic? As I recall that's what he was put there for. He just built on the hard work of the administration that was there before him. In fact that previous administration also had to clean up the mess that he left the country in just as the PP has to do now.

:evilbat:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » October 31st, 2011, 1:47 pm

trinidad could NEVER be considered developed until the masses mindset are changed.

We are still backward and a majority of state owned enterprises are still NOT computerized.

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 1:57 pm

When the current PM in an interview expressed her biggest mistake as PM was putting Reshmi Ramnarine to head a major national security agency she never apologised, neither did I see any of you calling for her to apologise. Love him or hate him, as you continue to look through the two P's in front your eyes, he has done many things to make us proud, together with his mistakes. And if you think otherwise please hand back to the government of T&T your GATE tuition and sit down and enjoy the ride this current government is carrying us on with the same mistakes worthy of apology, only difference being that we are making less money.

Postby 16 cycles » October 31st, 2011, 2:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:When the current PM in an interview expressed her biggest mistake as PM was putting Reshmi Ramnarine to head a major national security agency she never apologised, neither did I see any of you calling for her to apologise. Love him or hate him, as you continue to look through the two P's in front your eyes, he has done many things to make us proud, together with his mistakes. And if you think otherwise please hand back to the government of T&T your GATE tuition and sit down and enjoy the ride this current government is carrying us on with the same mistakes worthy of apology, only difference being that we are making less money.

history is usually written by the victorious.....

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 31st, 2011, 2:32 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Habit7 wrote:When the current PM in an interview expressed her biggest mistake as PM was putting Reshmi Ramnarine to head a major national security agency she never apologised, neither did I see any of you calling for her to apologise. Love him or hate him, as you continue to look through the two P's in front your eyes, he has done many things to make us proud, together with his mistakes. And if you think otherwise please hand back to the government of T&T your GATE tuition and sit down and enjoy the ride this current government is carrying us on with the same mistakes worthy of apology, only difference being that we are making less money.

history is usually written by the victorious.....

i was pre-gate...even pre-dollar for dollar...i could fack up manning from a side then?

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 2:36 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:i was pre-gate...even pre-dollar for dollar...i could fack up manning from a side then?

You don't have to explain, continue to write, we can tell.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 31st, 2011, 2:56 pm

I understand what you're trying to say but I must respectfully disagree.

The fact that we have less money is because of Patrick Manning and his government's policies. And what exactly has he done to make us proud? I would really like to know, please name 3 if you could. No matter how you look at it the man failed twice!

Postby Country_Bookie » October 31st, 2011, 2:59 pm

Habit7,

For the first time, Trinidad and Tobago is no longer on that list, reflecting a sustained period of economic growth and relatively high per capita income.

That’s the criteria they use to judge whether a country is a “developed” country or not? Our economic growth was due to soaring energy prices and hardly as a result of Manning’s economic policies. And all that economic growth did not filter down to the average citizen, most remained concentrated in the hands of the Calder Harts and Ken Juliens.

Most economists nowadays realize the folly of just using economic growth to evaluate development. They instead use a number of quality of life indicators. Under Manning, all of the following would have deteriorated:

Crime
Gov’t inefficiency and bureaucracy
Traffic congestion
Inflation
Corruption
Food security
Health services

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2011, 3:00 pm

And I do not dispute that under Manning good things happened. But given the amount of money available to the State at that point in time to do less would be criminal.

You keep mentioning the economy but Manning presided over an energy boom for which the Government had no control over the high prices and hence revenues made from natural gas, methanol and ammonia and petroleum. All the PNM and Manning did was allow for more industries that extracted and depleted our reserves faster to open up. GDP was never generated from non oil and gas sources.

So ok the economy was good but the true measure is not governing in plenty but in little.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 31st, 2011, 3:12 pm

^^^^^ x 2

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 3:14 pm

toyota 2nr I am not going to try to convince you or those who are like minded to see what was evident to everyone outside of T&T while we choose to engage in backyard party politics. But while we may see Manning's apology as the highlight of his press conference, no one is paying attention to his claim that member of a state board is suspected in bringing in a container of drugs. Why is it that after 70+ days of SoE there has been no detention of crime financiers or facilitators?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2011, 3:30 pm

Wait wait wait....the man who knew but never revealed who Mr. Big is now talking of arrests in the drug trade?
I not apologizing for any party but Manning is the last person should be talking bout crime.

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 3:30 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:That’s the criteria they use to judge whether a country is a “developed” country or not? Our economic growth was due to soaring energy prices and hardly as a result of Manning’s economic policies. And all that economic growth did not filter down to the average citizen, most remained concentrated in the hands of the Calder Harts and Ken Juliens.

Dizzy28 wrote:You keep mentioning the economy but Manning presided over an energy boom for which the Government had no control over the high prices and hence revenues made from natural gas, methanol and ammonia and petroleum. All the PNM and Manning did was allow for more industries that extracted and depleted our reserves faster to open up. GDP was never generated from non oil and gas sources.

The way you simplify our economy boom would make one think that Venezuela (now in possession of the world largest energy reserves) would have a higher growth rate than China.

T&T didn't win a lottery, it was carefully strategised plan that allow us to be properly position for the windfall. A plan that is now the case study for other developing nations that have come into new oil reserves. It allowed us to improve many of our infrastructure and did reduce our poverty, illiteracy, debt and unemployment levels, with record monetary reserves in tact.

Was there waste, yes, was the corruption, yes. But don't be so myopic to think that it stopped on May 24 2010 and we are now riding into the sunset.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 31st, 2011, 3:31 pm

How much is it you get paid by the PNM to post either pro-PNM or anti-PP propaganda on this board?
I sure hope however much they’re paying you it’s more than RASC.

Postby Habit7 » October 31st, 2011, 3:43 pm

I'm getting $20 Digicredit (although I have a bmobile...on post paid) for every post and Marsha said that I'm in line to get a 1st generation Form 1 laptop (refurbished).

Postby Country_Bookie » October 31st, 2011, 3:52 pm

Well I hope u can at least sell those Digicredits for cash……can’t imagine u have any friends to call

Postby eliteauto » October 31st, 2011, 10:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:I'm getting $20 Digicredit (although I have a bmobile...on post paid) for every post and Marsha said that I'm in line to get a 1st generation Form 1 laptop (refurbished).

that comment will fly over the head of most here so lemme simplify..

the above is what the PP pays UWI students to write anti-PNM comments on websites and blogs

Postby sliderz1 » October 31st, 2011, 10:30 pm

if he didnt apologise nobody wouldnt have said anything, now that he did everybody want answers

Patrick > Keith

Postby 16 cycles » October 31st, 2011, 10:51 pm

Postby Country_Bookie » October 31st, 2011, 11:25 pm

Straight from the jackass' mouth:

Colm Imbert You all should be careful about gving too much credence to this alleged or so-called 'report' on our level of development. According to the June 2011 Human Development index (HDI) Report, published by the UNDP, Trinidad and Tobago is ranked... No. 61 out of 172 countries and is still classified as a developing country. While we are in the middle of the high human development category, having moved up 5 places in 2010, as compared to 2009, we are still not in the very high human development category, which is the threshold for a developing country.See More
56 minutes ago · 2 peoplePNM Abroad and Michael Archangel like this.