Minister of Sport announces TT$1.4B Motor Racing Facility

trini mk5

Re: Minister of Sport announces TT$1.4B Motor Racing Facilit

Postby trini mk5 » September 30th, 2011, 9:09 am

southside crew wrote:WE all to lazy... we have (a gimme)/ ( I want) syndrome... I personally won't blame the minister ( even tho I was disappointed with no wallerfield again..) but I don't think if any of you was in his position would spend millions on something that has no proper management ....

^^that

Postby SR » September 30th, 2011, 9:24 am

if only one group of people will learn to play ball instead of wanting it all

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2011, 5:41 pm

southside crew wrote:WE all to lazy... we have (a gimme)/ ( I want) syndrome... I personally won't blame the minister ( even tho I was disappointed with no wallerfield again..) but I don't think if any of you was in his position would spend millions on something that has no proper management ....
but karting events, rally events, the 4x4 event last week, drag + time attack, solodex (bago dex was last week), San Fernando Grand Prix etc etc all had great management.

Postby wagonrunner » October 3rd, 2011, 6:21 pm

southside crew wrote:I to lazy... I have (a gimme)/ ( I want) syndrome... I personally won't blame the minister ( even tho I was disappointed with no wallerfield again..) but I don't think if any of you was in his position would spend millions on something that has no proper management ....
but karting events, rally events, the 4x4 event last week, drag + time attack, solodex (bago dex was last week), San Fernando Grand Prix etc etc all had great management.

clearly by WE, he meant HE.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » October 3rd, 2011, 11:59 pm

TTASA & NSO status..........

everytime I asked about why nothing has been done that short *phrase* above always came up.. and if they can't get their house in order well we would not have anything to look forward to from government..

LOL @ wagonrunner you really made my night .. thanks man... :).

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » October 4th, 2011, 10:03 am

IMHO instead of kicking us out of wallerfield to start a project that has been on hold for a while...they could have turned that ENTIRE facility into a motorsports heaven. that facility could have hosted Drag racing, Circuit, Drift, Rally....like moti said...i'll beleive it when i see it...

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 4th, 2011, 12:41 pm

1.4B this better be a F1 circuit like the one in Abu Dhabi...straights for a drag strip and inner smaller circuits for track days :D

Postby Damien » October 4th, 2011, 6:23 pm

why bobots aint hhmc

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 4th, 2011, 9:31 pm

if anyone see Anil.. tell him like Crazy would "Paul yuh mudda come" hahahaha

Seriously, they can't pave roads or airport runways properly... The prospects for them constructing a proper racetrack are rather bleak..
Wallerfield was only what it was because it wasnt build by incompetent locals..

I hate to sound like the arch-pessimist, but the gov't is too busy chasing its own tail to ever move to a capital project of this size.. 1.4 Billion? ie. 3% off the total budget (before bobol and cost over-runs).. The non-racing people in the population (majority) will take that with a whole bucket of salt..

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » October 5th, 2011, 7:24 am

Sanctifier and CD4Accord, very good point...
sad but so very true...

we really in need of good leaders on both ends

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 5th, 2011, 8:11 am

People does still anticipate a racing facility from government? :lol:

Postby tr1ad » October 5th, 2011, 8:52 am

well it's a "government owe we" attitude... not sure where it came from

notsoloud

Postby notsoloud » October 8th, 2011, 9:09 pm

is he building another brain lara stadium!!!

Postby sliderz1 » October 8th, 2011, 9:59 pm

Rensh wrote:Image

8-)

priceless! :lol: :lol:

i hope this supports a facility that caters for circuit, drag etc etc

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 10th, 2011, 7:45 pm

1.4 B to build an FIA approved racecircuit is very conservative. But that is if you going professional from the start and intend to bring down FIA sanctioned events.

I dont think we need all ah dat to get motoracing started again in this country. Wallerfield was far from up to international standards but we had a helluva lot of fun up there. Why cant we start with something simpler, a good track with basic amenities. The ministry should be involved in the management of the facility and profits from events should be plowed back into the facility to bring it totally up to spec. Nobody here ent looking for no F1 facility, cuz realistically, F1 never coming here.

Nobody should be allowed to profiteer off the facility, hell, i willing to manage it for them if they want.

Lets say start with 200M,start the racing, make some money from gates and put it back into the facility to complete it. Hell, the amount of money that was made in wallerfield over the years it was active, it could have been a worldclass facility today if there was some people there who cared about the sport. That money vaporised.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 10th, 2011, 7:56 pm

BTW, anybody else notice there was nothing in the budget for motor sport ??

Postby wagonrunner » October 10th, 2011, 9:03 pm

djaggs wrote:Hell, the amount of money that was made in wallerfield over the years it was active, it could have been a worldclass facility today if there was some people there who cared about the sport. That money vaporised.

like it just launched into outer space.
djaggs wrote:BTW, anybody else notice there was nothing in the budget for motor sport ??

no surprise there.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 10th, 2011, 9:43 pm

NOOO motorsports....allyuh take dat!!

Postby SR » October 10th, 2011, 10:26 pm

djaggs wrote:Hell, the amount of money that was made in wallerfield over the years it was active, it could have been a worldclass facility today if there was some people there who cared about the sport. That money vaporised.

like it just launched into outer space.
djaggs wrote:BTW, anybody else notice there was nothing in the budget for motor sport ??

no surprise there.

Postby cinco » October 11th, 2011, 8:11 am

no surprise there.

as usual hot air
hence why i said to delete this useless thread

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 11th, 2011, 12:06 pm

The least they cudda do was put in a lil token something nah, just to show they thinking bout we. Even a 500,000 wudda be something. But ZERO ???

Oh gorsh man.

moti

Postby moti » October 11th, 2011, 12:10 pm

moti wrote:i'll beleive it when i see it.........................

Postby cinco » October 11th, 2011, 12:29 pm

cinco wrote:foot in mouth disease is rampant
best you delete this yes Daren or archive it to a hard drive somewhere
so in 40 years when we get somewhere to race you can say
Ha! i told you so!

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 11th, 2011, 6:50 pm

Duane, please remove this post!!

nitromethane

Postby nitromethane » October 11th, 2011, 9:40 pm

i eh hear abt dis in d budget? .... hmn

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 12th, 2011, 7:34 am

thread has been shifted down into The Pit, sh1ts and giggles time...

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2011, 7:36 am

expected he does nothing but talk

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 12th, 2011, 11:33 am

He probably felt pressured the day of the drag and wind event and just said it to make himself look good.
I would have felt bad to even attend the event. And I'd feel pretty used if I gave him my car to drive on top of that.

what a waste of time and space....cluttering up the global topics on tuner!

Postby wagonrunner » October 12th, 2011, 12:54 pm

White CZ4A wrote:what a waste of time and space....cluttering up the global topics on tuner!

yuh leff out seat, and racing time at ARC. :|

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2011, 12:55 pm

had we watchin him putter around ARC for nought