Re: South woman challenges 'cellphone' charge

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 8:52 am

$1,500 for cell talk

By AZARD ALI Wednesday, September 14 2011

A HOUSEWIFE who decided to forego paying a fixed fine of $1,000 and decided to challenge, in court, a charge of speaking on a cellular phone while driving, was yesterday found guilty by a San Fernando magistrate and ordered to pay a fine of $1,500.

Magistrate Indira Misir-Gosine told Joanne Bidassie Samaroo that she was minded to disqualify her from driving because she had not been forthright with the court. It was the first case challenged under the new legislation banning motorists from using a mobile device while driving.

Samaroo, 39, of Harmony Hall, Marabella was issued the $1,000 ticket by PC Ray Deffentaller while driving into Jarvis Street at about 3.30 pm on April 12. She did not pay the ticket and appeared before Misir-Gosine in court on August 12 and pleaded not guilty.

Misir-Gosine, in fixing a date for trial, urged Samaroo to retain an attorney but she repeatedly refused. When Deffentaller gave evidence about the incident, he said Samaroo told him she was speaking on her cellphone to her son in the United States. Samaroo continued to represent herself in the trial, but when asked by Misir-Gosine to cross-examine the police officer, Samaroo told the magistrate she needed to retain an attorney.

Yesterday, attorney Sascha Singh represented Samaroo and cross-examined Deffentaller about him being able to actually see Samaroo speaking on the mobile device, through the tinted window of the car door. Samaroo then testified saying neither of her two children, aged six and ten, were in the US at the time she was charged.

In denying the charge, Samaroo said her cellular phone was on the car seat while she was driving into Jarvis Street. After submissions by attorney Singh and court prosecutor Sgt Dianath Haricharran, Misir-Gosine retired to her chambers saying she wanted to consider the cellphone legislation. She returned and informed Samaroo that she was guilty as charged.

Misir-Gosine said that Samaroo was less than honest with the court.

After imposing the $1,500 fine, the magistrate asked Singh to plead on Samaroo’s behalf on why the court should not suspend Samaroo’s driving licence. The attorney pleaded for leniency, saying Samaroo and her children would be inconvenienced, because her husband, a businessman, often visits the US.

Misir-Gosine agreed to only impose the fine but ordered that it be paid within a week.

Re: South woman PAYS $1,500 TTD 'cellphone' charge

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 8:55 am

Excellent work...she got off light...

Driving is a previlege and NOT a right eh ppl

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 8:58 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wom ... 76988.html
By Innis Francis innis.francis@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 13, 2011 at 11:59 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 13, 2011 at 11:59 PM ECT

Mother of two Joanne Bedassie-Samaroo was fined $1,500 yesterday after being convicted of using her cellphone while driving a vehicle.

Bedassie-Samaroo, 39, of Harmony Hall, Marabella, was represented by attorney Sasha Singh when she appeared before San Fernando Third Court Magistrate Indira Misir-Gosine.

Both police constable Ray Dieffenthaller and Bedassie-Samaroo gave evidence in the case.

Dieffenthaller said on April 5, Samaroo was in her Mazda motor vehicle when she turned onto Jarvis Street, Vistabella, from the Point-a-Pierre Road, and was seen talking on a mobile device.

But Bedassie-Samaroo said she was not guilty and denied that she told constable Dieffenthaller she was speaking on the phone with her son who was in the United States.

Bedassie-Samaroo said she is a housewife and a mother of two children—a boy, ten, and a girl, six years old.

However, Magistrate Misir-Gosine said the woman lied and had wasted the court's time. The magistrate said she was contemplating reasons why Bedassie-Samaroo should not be disqualified from driving, and fined.

Singh asked Misir-Gosine to be lenient with the mother because she was the only person who could pick up and drop off her children at school. Singh said Bedassie-Samaroo's husband is a businessman and is frequently out of the country. She said he also suffers with an illness and his wife had no immediate family to assist with transporting the children.

Singh said, "She (Bedassie-Samaroo) does the most driving and I am asking that you not disqualify her licence."

Misir-Gosine agreed and imposed a $1,500 fine, giving Bedassie-Samaroo one week to pay, or serve three months' simple imprisonment.

shoud have been 3000 TTD :|

Postby Kenjo » September 14th, 2011, 9:00 am

she pregnant????she could have rested the cell phone on that shelf of a belly and heard her conversation on the phone very well!!

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 9:03 am

Ah want the police to charge MORE people who continue to BREAK this law on a DAILY basis.

Ah fed up ah these rectal hairs keeping back the smooth flow on the nations roads.

Postby RBphoto » September 14th, 2011, 9:08 am

Soooo.... the husband outa de country too?

Postby Bizzare » September 14th, 2011, 9:10 am

:pwned:

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 14th, 2011, 9:11 am

doubt is she child after seeing her pic, she probably was calling in a food order...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 14th, 2011, 9:35 am

GREAT, it doesnt matter who youre talking too, thats NO excuse for breaking the LAW!

trinis aint play they ignoran, wrong and strong yes

Postby K74T » September 14th, 2011, 9:37 am

Soundwave wrote:doubt is she child after seeing her pic, she probably was calling in a food order...

Postby Stephon. » September 14th, 2011, 10:08 am

Soundwave wrote:doubt is she child after seeing her pic, she probably was calling in a food order...

:rofl: you're terrible

Thanks for the topic edit whoever did it 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 14th, 2011, 10:32 am

she could of just paid the $1000 and call it off there,she know she wrong and now she have to pay more....

Postby Dizzy28 » September 14th, 2011, 10:36 am

Greypatch wrote:Excellent work...she got off light...

Driving is a privilege and NOT a right eh ppl

Sigh.....wish more people realized this.

Postby bushwakka » September 14th, 2011, 10:55 am

good!!! damn good!

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 11:10 am

Stephon. wrote:

:rofl: you're terrible

Thanks for the topic edit whoever did it 8-)

The peoples moderator at work.

Re: South woman challenges 'cellphone' charge

Postby BrotherHood » September 14th, 2011, 11:31 am

Mark! wrote:Who ever gets charge for driving and using the phone deserves it, cuz if u on the phone and driving and did not see a police looking at you, you obviously wasnt paying attention to the road :lol:

Very true. Ah mean come on, yuh must see the police.

Postby rfari » September 14th, 2011, 11:45 am

she ah nice lil dumpling...

Postby Bizzare » September 14th, 2011, 11:53 am

daz clean miss piggy dey lol

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 14th, 2011, 5:28 pm

...it good fuh she, now she have to pay the fine and Lawyer fees.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 14th, 2011, 6:25 pm

FS: Bluetooth Headset = $250.00. pm me.

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 6:41 pm

saw to many drivers using cellphones this evening...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 14th, 2011, 6:48 pm

Greypatch wrote:saw to many drivers using cellphones this evening...

Begs the question: WHERE ARE THE TRAFFIC WARDENS?

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2011, 6:56 pm

^^ sleeping

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 14th, 2011, 7:33 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Greypatch wrote:saw to many drivers using cellphones this evening...

Begs the question: WHERE ARE THE TRAFFIC WARDENS?

Shows people's contempt and disregard for the laws of the land!

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 8:26 pm

it good.
i always use a headset.

but i find adjusting music while driving much more distracting than talking on cell phone.

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2011, 8:46 pm

Maybe it's just me,but any of allyuh find she looking like she bright?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 14th, 2011, 9:12 pm

rspann wrote:Maybe it's just me,but any of allyuh find she looking like she bright?

I find she looking lil autistic :|

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2011, 9:18 pm

seeing the pic, the whole story makes sense now.

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2011, 9:27 pm

I agree with hustla but I wouldn't Insult autistic people.As somebody talk about Traffic Wardens Iremember a good joke,I going down Wrightson road yesterday in my X6,Traffic warden make a sign for me that my lights on,I didn't take her on so she jump in front the car and stop me,"ah tell you yuh lite orn""pull orn de side"I tell her that is how the vehicle is,it's called running lights.She said "well yuh go have tuh do sumting bout dat,talk to de officer"The officer(Drakes) said I'm sorry but I fed up trying to teach them,go on.

Postby K74T » September 14th, 2011, 9:36 pm

rspann wrote:I agree with hustla but I wouldn't Insult autistic people.As somebody talk about Traffic Wardens Iremember a good joke,I going down Wrightson road yesterday in my X6,Traffic warden make a sign for me that my lights on,I didn't take her on so she jump in front the car and stop me,"ah tell you yuh lite orn""pull orn de side"I tell her that is how the vehicle is,it's called running lights.She said "well yuh go have tuh do sumting bout dat,talk to de officer"The officer(Drakes) said I'm sorry but I fed up trying to teach them,go on.

STEUPS ALL DA JUSS TUH SAY U HA AH X6?! :roll: