Do you tip and if so how much?

Re: Do you tip and if so how much?

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2011, 8:39 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the fella in medford use to say "aye daddi put a $5 in d basket to buy a lil sweedrink na..eh...come na..a lil doubles self nah daddi....eh....aye...i jus wha buy a lil lunch daddi"

after all dat beg u eh bless up de man daddi?? :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 8:45 am

crazychinee wrote:I tip Trolly boys, and waitressess.
The restaurant tip depends on where I'm eating. Since I consider all Ruby tuesday/Fridays etc to buy like KFC ; and they charge service charge they get 0% Tip generally. If the person serving me did a fantastic job, I may consider leaving $30-$40 depending. I dont see how the value of my meal determines the tip. You still hadda bring the plate.

More expensive restaurants, I tip the same.

sorry, should have been clearer....I meant if there are many more people in the group which required more work on the part of the waiter/waitress, then the tip would be adjusted accordingly....the total value of the meal would be higher than if it were me alone.....that's what I meant when I stated "cost of meal".

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2011, 8:47 am

Bareback wrote: If yuh cyar ride the furry balls outt

Postby Damien » August 9th, 2011, 8:48 am

waitresses 20-40 according to the bill and their attitude
grocery 5-10
pump attendant only when wifey dey plus i does use credit card at the pump , and the broko man by gypsy does get a lil change

Postby SR » August 9th, 2011, 8:48 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:no not necessarily cheap.......they are being paid to do what they do...do it to the best of their ability!

this...........

especially if your bill reflects a service charge

however
there are some who still deserve a tip and will get it for outstanding service or patience

trinidadadians are not know for being customer service oriented

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 8:51 am

altec wrote:curious... people get paid to do a job... if they impress you with their personal service, you give them money... nothing happens if they are bad. it is almost to the point of being a requirement. Tips are coward tax for consumers :lol: Hope it doesnt reach to the point of sabotaged food etc if the peson does'nt "like" you.

Bareback wrote:Hear nah, if you getting paid to do a job why the furry balls I must tip you, that is your employer's job!! My clients don't tip me and they don't expect that I am looking for one. If I furry balls up on my job then no bonus for me, so do yuh damn job and do it well and get yuh recognition.

And if yuh boss furry ballsin up and not payin ah bonus then ride the furry balls out! If yuh cyar ride the furry balls out and that is all yuh could do then yuh have ah choice - stay or do sumting so yuh could get the furry balls out!

Bottom line is doh expect no tip from me if that is yuh job, especially if it have service charge on it!

EXACTLY!!!!!!!!!!

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 9th, 2011, 8:54 am

I got tipped already.
It was late at val park, saw an old lady standing next to her crv with a flat so my good heart kick in so I went and changed it for her ,when I was done she was handing me something but i say no but she insist and stuck it in my shirt pocket and then she said thanks and left .. when I reached by the lotto booth and check the pocket she gave me 100 us.lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 9th, 2011, 10:04 am

blue9266 wrote:If someone pump yuh gas.

Now first thing is I cheap and second I actually enjoy fulling my own tank so I really don't know.

But fulling up today, one attendant complaining how the other one "tief she tip" because everyone know that a certain driver does tip if you fill HIS gas for him.

And she start fulling for him but the other attendant run across to push she hand . . .

Real drama, dread.

So all this new to me.

I will tip if someone bring my grocery to the car especially if it is a certain grocery (cough food basket cough) because they get paid next to nothing and they depend on the odd $10.

I guess nobody getting rich pumping gas either.

pump my own gas,carry my own groceries,only tip waitresses,probably like ah $50 - $80 depending on how i feel

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2011, 10:27 am

Hmmm....I've never tipped a Gas Station Attendant.
Carry my own groceries and at restaurants always give a minimum $20 as a tip $30 if the service was good (I eh bling so my bills does be in the $300-$400 range)
What about the restaurant charging service charge on the total inclusive of VAT though? Anybody ever get this and is it right or wrong?

Postby noshownogo » August 9th, 2011, 10:41 am

As allyuh talking bout this, had a dinner at House of Chan with a group of over 12, this waitress taking orders and I watching her, but she not writing down a thing. I ask her "excuse, can you repeat what we ordered", swear this woman recalls everything in the order we called it out. All this while man changing mind and joking around :shock:

Then to top it off she brings scorching hot plates to the table but remembers that 3 kids also in the group, so she gives them room temperature plates.

This service impressed me because I've never received it locally. Needless to say, she was given a 20% cash tip for outstanding service after everyone pooled money.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » August 9th, 2011, 10:44 am

noshownogo wrote:As allyuh talking bout this, had a dinner at House of Chan with a group of over 12, this waitress taking orders and I watching her, but she not writing down a thing. I ask her "excuse, can you repeat what we ordered", swear this woman recalls everything in the order we called it out. All this while man changing mind and joking around :shock:

Then to top it off she brings scorching hot plates to the table but remembers that 3 kids also in the group, so she gives them room temperature plates.

This service impressed me because I've never received it locally. Needless to say, she was given a 20% cash tip for outstanding service after everyone pooled money.

Let me guess, as usual you was in de toilet when de bill reach, an dyse why she get de 20% :) :) :) :)
Last edited by Bareback on August 9th, 2011, 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rainman » August 9th, 2011, 10:50 am

I usually tip 10% at restaurants; nothing more, nothing less. If the service was extremely good I tell the manager with hopes that they will reward or recognize the employee. Service industry people have stressful lives, anything i can do to make it better.

I never tip sharkman when i visit KFC though because i believe that he helps himself to the day old chicken they were going to "throw away" :|

Postby sharkman121 » August 9th, 2011, 10:57 am

apple109

Postby apple109 » August 9th, 2011, 10:57 am

I never knew it was ok to tip pump attendants, I will start to do so. Its good to give.

Postby ismithx » August 9th, 2011, 11:04 am

cherrypopper wrote:I got tipped already.
It was late at val park, saw an old lady standing next to her crv with a flat so my good heart kick in so I went and changed it for her ,when I was done she was handing me something but i say no but she insist and stuck it in my shirt pocket and then she said thanks and left .. when I reached by the lotto booth and check the pocket she gave me 100 us.lol

:faint:

being a good samaritan always has its rewards.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 9th, 2011, 11:06 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
RapToR wrote:waiter $10

waitress $100

DISCRIMINAAAAAAAAAATION!!!!

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2011, 11:08 am

apple109 wrote:Its good to give.

x2.... Not only money, give of your time, your expertise, your help etc etc.... good things are always the results of giving. You always have something you can give :mrgreen:

Postby Gladiator » August 9th, 2011, 11:19 am

$2 - $5 for the pump attendant, $10-$20 at the resturant

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 11:30 am

Bizzare wrote:
apple109 wrote:Its good to give.

x2.... Not only money, give of your time, your expertise, your help etc etc.... good things are always the results of giving. You always have something you can give :mrgreen:

Well said!!! APPROVED!!!!!

silver

Postby silver » August 9th, 2011, 11:44 am

My Trinidad rules:
I usually use the 10% rule of thumb for tip at restaurants...regardless of the bill, but will not tip below $20 generally.
IF the service was atrocious I will put 3-5%, but complain either on the customer feedback form or to the manager or directly to the server. (i always give people the opportunity to improve)
If the service was excellent/amazing 20-25%. I'm difficult to impress so i'm sure its well deserved.
If the restaurant is a personal favorite and i've developed an informal relationship with the server/s and their service is great I will tip as much as 15%-20% regularly. I've found that this can be considered relationship building, and can make your dinning/liming experience better. Preferred seating, favorite drink arrives before you can order it, and even a freebie or extras, generous servings are all benefits.

Grocery boys will get a standard fiver. If it have plenty grocery plus dem 5 gallon blue water bottles dey will get a tenner.

No tip for NP attendants. I pump meh own damn gas, and i use d card swipe pumps FTW. I only used to tip pump attendants when they used to give meh windscreens a freshen, and offer to check oil. (dat was d good ole days). Plus I find some of dem attendants still trying smart ting, resetting the pump counter or cloning credit card etc...so i avoid pump attendants generally.

Barber: generally will get a 30-40% above standard price and a special bonus around christmas time. But this is purely relationship based, man trimmin meh over 15 years now.

My foreign rules:
Hotel bell boy USD$3-5 or Euro or Pounds depending. Once i made the mistake of tipping bell boy in india US$5. He look like he won d lottery..needless to say i received *eh-hem* amazing service from that hotel.

restaurants: USD10%, England has a "tip only if the service was good" policy, but it usually is so they will get a 5-10% unless d waitress is some eastern European number that make meh legs weak..then they get 5-10% and a call card... :roll: Otherwise standard trinidad rules apply for good service/bad service etc..

Cabbies: will get the fare rounded off plus a buck or two. If they hadda tote luggage add $5

I'm sure there are a few more, but will add as i remember

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 9th, 2011, 12:13 pm

Tiping pump operators???

Wait so they dont get paid by the gas station to do this job?

U mean they just run up to the pump and beg to full yur tank with the hope of making a couple dollars..

I always thought they were hired by the gas stations to do this job.......

So is piper man fulling meh tank......

But WTH,.......

they should be banned by gas station owners....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 9th, 2011, 12:17 pm

so if u guys tip workers at the restaurants....do u all still pay the service charge?

I mean thats what service charge is right?

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2011, 12:18 pm

I dont tip pump attendants.
I would tip the person loading up groceries in my car $5
Waitress, $20 and above depending on attitude, if their attitude stinks, i would leave a $1 on the table or if i have change, 25cents, its more of an insult im going for, telling the manager wont do sheit.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 9th, 2011, 12:30 pm

usually 10%-20% of the value is what we tip.. trolly boys etc get whatever spare $$ in the car/wallet..

i tipped a doubles man $5 the other day (was really amazing doubles by valencia pillars on the right by the big bar), people were in shock and a fella say, "let me move from here, white people giving away money, i bess move before i get lock up" :lol:

thought it was funny he called me white, been surfing so much these days it's only "red man" hahah :lol:

CBharath

Postby CBharath » August 9th, 2011, 12:38 pm

once somebody courteous i would think of tipping them . i definitly not tipping gas-pump attendants . they always fuggin up . i not tipping anybody who just pumps gas , yuh mad owa ? they already getting paid for that . if they greet me , pump my gas , clean the windscreen and ask to check oil for me , then they will get a tip . ppl that carry groceries will get a tip (the further the dstance the bigger the tip . in any establishment that you wish to eat again at , make sure and tip properly (never piss-off the ppl that handle your food )

silver

Postby silver » August 9th, 2011, 12:38 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:so if u guys tip workers at the restaurants....do u all still pay the service charge?

I mean thats what service charge is right?

The service charge is really restaurant profit and is usually a standard 10% at most establishments, it assists in paying the salaries of the wait staff but does not go directly to your server. They could wait 40 tables or 1 table, their remuneration would not differ.
A tip is gratuity for service rendered. It is optional.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 9th, 2011, 12:50 pm

ok silver......really thought that went to the specific worker...

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Bezman wrote:i tipped a doubles man $5 the other day (was really amazing doubles by valencia pillars on the right by the big bar

The doubles really that amazing?? If so I going there today and look for that man. Izza double enthusiast :P . The best doubles I ever taste in life and went back was a doubles woman on the highway turnoff to go into San'do. Not a south person, but I'd drive down there any day to for that. But she don't be there anymore :(

They just don't make it like they used to.....

qwerty

Postby qwerty » August 9th, 2011, 1:06 pm

i does tip my HAT at people who provide good service..be it pump attendants, trolley boys/girls, barbers etc...the HAT gets the tip...just one lil tip eh.. :D

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 9th, 2011, 1:10 pm

so what about a lil courtesy...

I tell them THANKS.....!!!! God bless......

Thats better than money......