::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

d spike

Re: Emperor Haile Selassie I's birthday

Postby d spike » September 18th, 2011, 11:19 am

pioneer wrote:Well selassie sent his people into a war knowing they would be slaughtered...just so he could gain sympathy from the international community

Wha kinda sh1t was that?

What do you mean "Wha kinda sh1t was that?"
Anyone who has studied this man and his history (apart from those who are blinded by religious fervour/weed smoke) will tell you that this was just par for the course... a la Selassie style. In Trini parlance, he was a "user". He did many things to attract and gain Western influence - and never bothered much about the cost.

I am always amazed at how blind or forgetful people can be. The man was a monarch who inveigled and clawed his way to the throne (can't blame him for this, as this was considered standard nobility behaviour in that region) and so had to ensure his grip on the crown. He did this by two things: pandering to the nobility, and by attracting the eye of the West. The latter strengthened the international acceptance of him as monarch, the former entrenched that identity. Unfortunately the peasants suffered as a result of both methods... and it was the frustration born of this suffering that finally resulted in him getting booted out. It is ironic that it was the results of his own efforts and actions that at first acquired the throne, ultimately lost it.

Those that see him as a god will never see him as he really was... just a man.
His endeavours and failings are mentioned in a book by Tirfe Mamoo. Will look for it...

d spike

Postby d spike » September 18th, 2011, 11:55 am

d spike wrote:Those that see him as a god will never see him as he really was... just a man.
His endeavours and failings are mentioned in a book by Tirfe Mamoo. Will look for it...

Oops. :oops: :oops: De man ain't nobody's mamoo. His name is Tirfe Mammo. His book (1999) is called "The paradox of Africa's poverty" (ISBN 1-56902-048-5).
Here are some excerpts...
(Some parts seem horribly familiar... those that forget the mistakes of history are doomed to repeat them)
In the latter period of his reign (1941 - 1960) the emperor undertook harsh measures against peasants who opposed his grant of lands to warlords and new land taxes. These and other unpopular measures resulted in an abortive military coup in 1960...

...the last period of his reign between 1960 and 1974... was marked by extensive opposition by the people and which resulted in a revolution that displaced him from power.

...After the 1960's his regime appeared to be a retarding factor to further social development...

The turning point of his regime from progressive to retrogressive appeared to occur when land became increasingly the property of the crown and the nobility, and when general rights were gradually revoked in favour of the privileges of the selected few.

...the Haile Selassie government failed to by-pass the feudal lords and establish a state-peasant relationship and in doing so curtail the rights of landlords over peasants. Haile Selassie failed to create a peasant-state relationship because he built his power on the landlords and their netch-lebash i.e. paramilitary forces, to control the peasants...

After winning the palace intrigue (he was not a "legitimate successor" to the crown by birth and thus needed to win support of the nobility against his archenemies, Zeweditu and Iyassu - both "legitimate successors" of Emperor Menelik) Haile Selassie himself appeared to support the old system. This becomes clear when we examine both the Constitution of 1931 and the Revised Constitution of 1955, which imposed the indisputable power of the monarch, and benefits for the warlords at the expense of the peasants. The constitution, parliament, the judicial system and many similar public institutions became, more or less, window dressing to attract Western influence. The parliament could debate on certain issues for years, the judicial system could undertake measures in compliance with the constitution but this activity came to nothing. What mattered was the emperor's personal approval through his palace court (called chilot) - a situation where there was a government within a government.

He may have been a great man, but he certainly wasn't altruistic.

I recall a friend of my uncle, who was a staunch supporter of the "modern black monarch"... until he made the mistake of making a trip to Ethiopia... and saw the starving and ignored folk leaning up against the walls of the palace...
Reality sank in and he returned home a sadder, but wiser man - a little bitter from the experience... but some folks seem to learn only when pain is inflicted...

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 1:00 pm

Praise HIM.
Respect all religions and cultures. Wam alyuh different ah wa? Anybody in here does sheit in ah bucket, put it in the deepfreeze and call it ice cream? None of us are different. Just different backgrounds, cultures and religions. So come on na man...

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 1:16 pm

yea bai...u report d man fuh wa

Postby AllTrac » September 18th, 2011, 1:32 pm

i dont know much about Selassie, all i know is that he has a couple good songs

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 1:37 pm

rfari wrote:i reported ur posts eh

Why?

You chose to be in denial of facts?

Report all you want, still doesn't negate the fact you can't seem to debate the facts about what selassie really did, and the tyrant megalomaniacal leader he was.

not that i can't debate on ur topic (i say ur topic because u straying from the original topic of the post) i just choose not too. if u want, u can start a new ched and we can talk about the league of nations, italy and selassie but in the meantime while u in this ched, if u eh have a ganja/rastaman chune to contribute, buss out.

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 1:44 pm

oaaarrr! pios yuh up-to-de-times man. buh doh be on anthony b and kalongi eh fadda. right.

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 1:46 pm

Ah feeling to go up in the spring ah take ah fresh yes.

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2011, 1:46 pm

Rahtid wrote:

No hoss :|

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 2:05 pm

pioneer wrote:Man wha talk bout black history roots an culture buh wha talk bout sizzla :lol:

boy rock so eh

just go wid the flow nah boy. we just building a vibration herebaifadda. if u wha talk about sellassie so bad, go here viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 2:45 pm

AllTrac wrote:i dont know much about Selassie, all i know is that he has a couple good songs

Saw Selassie by Citygate this morning, asked him what he up to?
He replied "I man waiting for an I bus."

So ah cuff im in he eye.

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 3:43 pm

Wha rastas does drive? Hi-locks. Oaaarrrr!!!

Postby A172 » September 18th, 2011, 4:20 pm

steups :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Damien » September 18th, 2011, 4:34 pm

salt and fresh salt and fresh

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 4:38 pm

A Rasta man was recently arrested under suspicion of stealing a famous dog.

The man's apartment was raided by the police, but the dog was not found.

However, a suitcase containing £500,000 was discovered underneath his bed.

The police interviewed the Rasta man:

"Where did you get the money? We know that guys like you don't just get half a million pounds saved up for a rainy day, in a suitcase under the bed", asked the detective.

The Rasta man replied "Me nah tell you nutt'n!"

The detective said "Look, rasta. I'm gonna ask you one more time. Someone who fits your description was seen stealing a famous dog last night. Where did you get the money?"

The Rasta said nothing.

The police detective punched the Rasta guy in the face, pushed him off his chair, kicked him in the nuts, grabbed him by the dreadlocks and threw him up against the wall.

"WHERE DID YOU GET THE GOD DAMNED MONEY?!"

The Rasta could take no more. "Ok, ok mon, me tell you where me get de money!"

"Where?" The police detective shouted, angrily.

The Rasta man replied "... Me highly sell Lassie"

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 4:49 pm

pioneer wrote:notreallyfunny.jpg

:fist:

Postby Damien » September 18th, 2011, 4:52 pm

rastaman favorite fruit

Jahmoon

Postby Damien » September 18th, 2011, 4:55 pm

oh goar :|

Re: ::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Wdmc is dis? Allyuh feel is ah comedy tent orrr? Run some dreadlock chune nah.

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 6:30 pm

^ Stop begging.

Postby shogun » September 18th, 2011, 6:54 pm

Postby AllTrac » September 18th, 2011, 7:00 pm

seriosuly tho, I hope TTPS is watching this thread and some how find rfari and give him ah rub down, i does feel ansy around rastas.

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 7:09 pm

^ do you know the difference between trolling and spamming?

Either way was an error, was converting those youtube vids to mp3 to be in the game for de xmas, mus have paste the wrong video code.

Buh for spite i eh friggin removing it :?

edit:

frig u pios :lol:

Wanted to embed this actually.

Last edited by rollingstock on September 18th, 2011, 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » September 18th, 2011, 7:30 pm

Time to make this page lag in loading :twisted:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 18th, 2011, 9:40 pm

ganja thread?

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 10:29 pm

AllTrac wrote:seriosuly tho, I hope TTPS is watching this thread and some how find rfari and give him ah rub down, i does feel ansy around rastas.

0X

guess_wh0

Postby guess_wh0 » September 23rd, 2011, 8:28 pm

eddie phillip wrote:one is one
strenght and powers
rastafari liveth

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2011, 9:01 pm