***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2013, 4:59 pm

doo-bee-dan wrote:so guys what is the recipee/fertilizer for tomatoes & sweet pepper thinking starting with a 20 crate

info for success!

Thanks much

http://agriculture.gov.tt/hints-and-tip ... ppers.html

geodude

Postby geodude » April 27th, 2013, 5:27 pm

putting down some paw paw at the end of May, seedlings already ordered
trying the "red Lady" Variety
anyone know where has a bess price on drip hose? oo and i need ah pump,
thinking about buying a 1000 gallon tank and throwing a submersible pump in that :)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 27th, 2013, 5:51 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:grandfather said it have ole pig pens on them in d bk

dem dey easy to mind? i kno ppl pay a premium for pork

butchers make the money, not the farmers :wink:

ok did a lil asking around, u are so wrong sir, yes butchers make d most, but the farmers make alot also, they make a fair amt

That's Tobago maybe, different farmers different production methods and they prolly feeding their pigs crap, but carry on, pigs àre not cheap to rear especially when butchers buying from you at 12-15 a pound.

geodude

Postby geodude » April 27th, 2013, 6:11 pm

rabbits hoss, grow rabbits

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 27th, 2013, 6:21 pm

geodude wrote:rabbits hoss, grow rabbits

Sure, if you have a market for dem

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2013, 7:14 pm

geodude wrote:putting down some paw paw at the end of May, seedlings already ordered
thinking about buying a 1000 gallon tank and throwing a submersible pump in that :)

farfan for pumps.bought hose from them as well,but that was a few years ago.

geodude

Postby geodude » April 27th, 2013, 7:51 pm

thanks dude

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2013, 9:41 pm

dang man i just saw this thread .. thanks for the replies .. shakes i was taking pics of my lil 3-4 tomatoes and admiring it when i saw ur pics..

man yuh making meh shame .

BTW jramsarran i did the calcium granules and it worked .. the trees i have are producing a much better product..My wife cooked fry tomaoes and roti this eveinig ...in this rain you would not believe how tasty this went down ..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 27th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Good thread fellas .... Keep itvup

AdamB

Re: Any farmers in here??

Postby AdamB » April 27th, 2013, 10:45 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Any advise on what to use on some citrus and fruit trees that has some sort of disease. The leaves are getting yellow and dried.
Thanks.

Yellow and dried = insufficient water. It had been really dry the last 2-3 months.

A programme of fungicide and insecticide application coupled with foliar and granular fertilizer is the norm.

The ministry testing if diseased samples is the way to go, so you'll know exactly what is the cure.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 27th, 2013, 11:24 pm

marlener wrote:Shakes have a serious question,want to get into farming,I have 5 Acres available but it is an abandom cocoa and coffee estate.It is located in Biche and the water situation is a bit of a proble,the is a ravine passing through but it dry now.What would you recommend as good crop to plant.something that requires little water until the rainy season begins.Suggestions anyone?

Start with soil testing on various points by the Ministry. The extension officer in your county will order for you. When they visit to take the test, they'll know what to do. The results will tell you what you need to do before completing soil preparation like application of limestone if the soil is highly acidic. It will also tell you what is the nutrient content, so what crops will be best and what rates and type of fertilizer you will need to use. It will take a couple of months.

Register as a farmer to access the benefits like fencing, ponds, chemicals, vehicles, equipment, etc.

You should plan to control the farm, not let the farm activities control you because you did not do your homework wrt planting, fertilizing, chemicals, weed control, pest control, reaping, marketing and sales.

You need to decide what time and effort you will put into the farm. If it's once a week, then you may be better off with medium to long term crops where you can plan for weed control by tractor.

Medium term - Plantain and cassava don't require too much attention. cassava doesn't need too much water. Plantain does require water but not really "watering" and beginning of rainy season is time to plant. Peppers ( pimento and hot) last for over 6 months, just have to pick every 7-10 days.

Long term - Limes, other citrus, mangoes, breadfruit. Dwarf pommecythere is a really resistant crop, resistant to drought, insect pests, fungicide.

You should not plant too much variety because of different marketing and attention.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » April 28th, 2013, 8:26 am

Hey folks....Whats a good crop to grow in my lil back yard kitchen garden at this point in the year? Tried melongene and ochro already and I wanna try something else. Any ideas??

Postby Ted_v2 » April 28th, 2013, 8:29 am

what about seasonings?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 28th, 2013, 8:47 am

legoRB wrote:Hey folks....Whats a good crop to grow in my lil back yard kitchen garden at this point in the year? Tried melongene and ochro already and I wanna try something else. Any ideas??

Lots of things to plant man ,Sectioned off mines and planted tomatoes,melongene,scorpion pepper,pimento and lots of seasoning i.e shadon beni ,chives,spanish thyme,celery and lots of pudina(sp) these things grow unbelievable fast

Will throw up some pics later

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2013, 9:07 am

legoRB wrote:Hey folks....Whats a good crop to grow in my lil back yard kitchen garden at this point in the year? Tried melongene and ochro already and I wanna try something else. Any ideas??

can't go wrong with seasonings: time,chive,celery,pepper....very easy.I'd post some pics ah meh lil backyard time 8-)

Postby Chimera » April 28th, 2013, 9:14 am

geodude wrote:putting down some paw paw at the end of May, seedlings already ordered

southern chemicals in chaguanas
300 feet irrigation hose- $165-$185
they also usually have the "wp20" pump for $1500 or so
gas powered, 5.5 hp

1000 gallons does finish real fast eh.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » April 28th, 2013, 9:47 am

I have my lil Spanish Thyme and shadon beni in my lil half a drum dey...but I feel I may expand on my Thyme...and maybe try some sorrel or sumtin. Thanks for the ideas.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

put down ah lil 3 cucumber plants...can't go wrong.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » April 28th, 2013, 6:38 pm

e.g. 12:12:17+2 plus Trace Elements

what does "+2 plus Trace Elements mean"?

Postby X_Factor » April 28th, 2013, 7:02 pm

if i remember right from agri class in form 5, its the micro nutrients such as copper, boron, molybdenum

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » April 28th, 2013, 11:38 pm

doo-bee-dan wrote:e.g. 12:12:17+2 plus Trace Elements

what does "+2 plus Trace Elements mean"?

12(N):12(P2O5):17(K2O) +2 (Mg)

the +2 represents Magnesium

Trace Elements include the other, approximately 8 Micro Nutrients

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2013, 10:01 am

AdamB wrote:
marlener wrote:Shakes have a serious question,want to get into farming,I have 5 Acres available but it is an abandom cocoa and coffee estate.It is located in Biche and the water situation is a bit of a proble,the is a ravine passing through but it dry now.What would you recommend as good crop to plant.something that requires little water until the rainy season begins.Suggestions anyone?

Start with soil testing on various points by the Ministry. The extension officer in your county will order for you. When they visit to take the test, they'll know what to do. The results will tell you what you need to do before completing soil preparation like application of limestone if the soil is highly acidic. It will also tell you what is the nutrient content, so what crops will be best and what rates and type of fertilizer you will need to use. It will take a couple of months.

Register as a farmer to access the benefits like fencing, ponds, chemicals, vehicles, equipment, etc.

You should plan to control the farm, not let the farm activities control you because you did not do your homework wrt planting, fertilizing, chemicals, weed control, pest control, reaping, marketing and sales.

You need to decide what time and effort you will put into the farm. If it's once a week, then you may be better off with medium to long term crops where you can plan for weed control by tractor.

Medium term - Plantain and cassava don't require too much attention. cassava doesn't need too much water. Plantain does require water but not really "watering" and beginning of rainy season is time to plant. Peppers ( pimento and hot) last for over 6 months, just have to pick every 7-10 days.

Long term - Limes, other citrus, mangoes, breadfruit. Dwarf pommecythere is a really resistant crop, resistant to drought, insect pests, fungicide.

You should not plant too much variety because of different marketing and attention.

pepper and pimento are decent crops,but not as easy as they sound.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 29th, 2013, 10:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
AdamB wrote:

pepper and pimento are decent crops,but not as easy as they sound.

True, depends on the time and effort or whether you would be hiring labour ie just managing the farm. All of the logistics needs to worked out, from preparation to sale.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2013, 10:42 am

right now i trying to get some teak sticks in central area

only need 500

any ideas?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2013, 10:46 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:right now i trying to get some teak sticks in central area

only need 500

any ideas?

teak sticks? what for? pickets? it's for first for me,do explain.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2013, 10:48 am

pickets for my sweet pepper yea

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2013, 10:52 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:pickets for my sweet pepper yea

usually use mango wood.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2013, 10:54 am

how long does that last tho?

i would prefer teak because i dont want to have to purchase sticks again

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2013, 11:00 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:how long does that last tho?

i would prefer teak because i dont want to have to purchase sticks again

mango wood from the hog tree or the rose does last about 3-4 mths.

marlener

Postby marlener » April 29th, 2013, 11:06 am

https://imageshack.us/scaled/large/96/blackberry007.jpg
These are one of the spiders I have crawling around on the land,shake you were right. I planass a small one for a picture but there are quite a few around.Should I be concerned unnecessarily or are they the norm on gardens.