73%
NO
27%

Total votes: 60

Re: SHOULD TRUCKS OPERATE AT NIGHT ?

Postby RBphoto » June 16th, 2011, 4:02 pm

They should make a law for vigo jivers to drive at night only also.

Postby S_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 5:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:They should make a law for vigo jivers to drive at night only also.

but they would like that..get to show off the spaceship lights.. :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 16th, 2011, 5:44 pm

I know trucks can only enter the city limits from 10pm in India and must be out of there by 10 am....

Postby foss » June 16th, 2011, 7:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:They should make a law for vigo jivers to drive at night only also.

Co-Fackin signed.

Postby Stephon. » June 16th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2011, 8:32 pm

if they want a truck lane, they could start immediately with any highway which has 3 lanes
should have minimal disruption for them to complain about

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » June 16th, 2011, 10:10 pm

I totally agree with the proposal to have trucks operate at nights. I have had the unpleasant experience of having those heavy tanker wagons come barreling down at top speed behind unsuspecting motorists. They feel as if they own the road and that you need to get the fork out of their way. Some of those drivers will try their best to squeeze you if you're in a tight spot on the roadways. I say, let them drive at nights where they're free to drive like arses and kill themselves!!!

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 16th, 2011, 10:12 pm

12 voters are truck drivers.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 16th, 2011, 10:23 pm

There was one time I was slowing down to stop at a red light when suddenly I heard the nonstop blowing of a horn, when I peered into my rearview mirror there was this old red truck speeding down a good distance behind me with clearly enough room in my opinion to stop so I proceeded to continue slowing down. Lo and behold home boy cut off the driver in the next lane to get onto the shoulder to run through a red light.

And of course not to mention the countless times in broad daylight traffic trucks speeding behind and when you stop is when you hear their tires screeching. God bless my temperament because I swear if I was different I would have already been in jail for beating a truck driver senseless. Doh even get me started on dem friggin new model van men.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 17th, 2011, 2:06 am

pugboy wrote:if they want a truck lane, they could start immediately with any highway which has 3 lanes
should have minimal disruption for them to complain about

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 17th, 2011, 6:45 am

And what happens to the trucks in the truck lane when there is a backhoe or tractor running the length of the highway.
We really going backwards in this country. We can't fix the simple things, but yet they want to put first world laws into place.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2011, 7:11 am

you can't please everybody all of the time

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 17th, 2011, 7:19 am

yeah white but at least the man have ideas that he is willing to try.....for the benefit of motorist.....

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 17th, 2011, 7:59 am

White CZ4A wrote:And what happens to the trucks in the truck lane when there is a backhoe or tractor running the length of the highway.
We really going backwards in this country. We can't fix the simple things, but yet they want to put first world laws into place.

Let them implement it, they would suffer when prices are sky high, projects take longer to complete, government projects cost more....

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 17th, 2011, 9:43 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:yeah white but at least the man have ideas that he is willing to try.....for the benefit of motorist.....

and for that I agree with you 100%.
some of his ideas are good...just not this one.
They need to create two lanes for trucks/transport vehicles. He is making it seem like it's the truckers fault for this traffic situation. When really and truly it is a lack of proper infrastructure to blame.
Our roadways are never built with room for expansion. No forward thinking.

Either way, it won't work out. He will have a huge protest on his hands.

Postby wagonrunner » June 17th, 2011, 10:38 am

how about implementing a ban on the 60km/h street race?
that is, a truck is trying to attempting to overtake another, yet the time spent passing it exceeds 5mins. If the driver can't pass in a minute, let him chill he piggy behind the other truck nah.
Instead of creating the long ass queue they currently do.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 10:44 am

White CZ4A wrote:And what happens to the trucks in the truck lane when there is a backhoe or tractor running the length of the highway.
are tractors (wheeled or not) even allowed on the higway? should they be?

I see no reason why a backhoe should be allowed on the highway in the first place. Put it on a low boy and take it down the road. Granted that would prolly cost lot more.

I disagree with trucks only at night because this is impractical. But trucks in the left lane only I think can be implemented with minimal fall-out.

Postby foss » June 17th, 2011, 11:21 am

are tractors (wheeled or not) even allowed on the higway? should they be?

I see no reason why a backhoe should be allowed on the highway in the first place. Put it on a low boy and take it down the road. Granted that would prolly cost lot more.

I disagree with trucks only at night because this is impractical. But trucks in the left lane only I think can be implemented with minimal fall-out.

those backhoe and the other tractor type should be banned completely from all roadways.
Especially highways and those narrow two way streets. FACK MAN, them could make traffic :x

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 17th, 2011, 12:30 pm

If a law like that is implemented and the truck breaks down in the middle of the night sometimes is ketch-arse to get mechanics to come out to repair not to mention no parts place would be open that hour especially if the trucks has a specific time to reach its destiny...also in some cases when you dealing with oilfield oriented tranport there will be emergency situations when tools and equipment would be needed during the day....there are many reasons why they should not operate only in the night...I agree that there should be one designated lane for trucks if they want to implement any kinda truck law...

Postby foss » June 17th, 2011, 12:46 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:If a law like that is implemented and the truck breaks down in the middle of the night sometimes is ketch-arse to get mechanics to come out to repair not to mention no parts place would be open that hour especially if the trucks has a specific time to reach its destiny...also in some cases when you dealing with oilfield oriented tranport there will be emergency situations when tools and equipment would be needed during the day....there are many reasons why they should not operate only in the night...I agree that there should be one designated lane for trucks if they want to implement any kinda truck law...

you soundin like a man workin in the transport business. :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 1:02 pm

^ he making good sense though

Postby foss » June 17th, 2011, 1:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ he making good sense though

He is in the transport business.. just harassing him :lol:

Postby foss » June 17th, 2011, 1:06 pm

pioneer wrote:banana republic what u expect...we have farm equipment jivin down de highway normel...

dan dem using d shoulder. :|

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 17th, 2011, 5:44 pm

foss wrote:
pioneer wrote:banana republic what u expect...we have farm equipment jivin down de highway normel...

dan dem using d shoulder. :|

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 17th, 2011, 5:50 pm

you all remember the days of those big cane trucks..thats was pressure!!!

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 17th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Like it aint have no truck drivers on this thread?

I used to drive trucks for a certain company..from 3 tonne to 10 tonne vehicles...all hours on the roadway. I agree that what Jack propose is a good idea and somebody mentioned that the price of goods and services would be negatively affected; thanks the typical trini economics ( prices go up and stay up....to go up further). :roll:

Our company made it mandatory to be couteous to other users. I remember once I was assigned to drive a 10 tonne Hino to deliver stock at St. James: Pressure!!!!!! Water was in the diesel, white smoke for so and lack of power. It had a long line traffic behind me. Hear nah...I pull aside nearly ten times and wave the traffic to pass before I reach St. James. Some of them should practise that when they back up the road from Point to Sando. :|

Another thing is Maintenance....I fed up see some old arse defective trucks that could barely move, driving on them back roads. The drivers don't care less if they shut down & block everybody. :x

Police and the authorities should also make an example of them who does drive like if is car they driving. PTSC drivers eh backward either. :|

Postby Morpheus » June 17th, 2011, 10:38 pm

The only concern I have with the left lane only rule for trucks is for those people that need to get to the left filter lane or off-ramp. Damn imagine having to merge between them big trucks into the left lane and then to the off ramp. *wipes sweat from forehead.

I mean experienced drivers will be more comfortable doing that, but I fear for most women, new drivers and plain lame male drivers too.

But to me so far this idea seems like the easiest and quickest for more immediatechange/difference/improvement.

nere

Postby nere » June 18th, 2011, 1:32 am

[quote="noshownogo"]Those port trucks need to be off the road at peak hr traffic, cannot run between 4-6pm nor 6-8am, something like that, I think that's more realistic.

U know how hard it was for them to get port workers to start work at 6am so as to allow delivery on the port from that time.......

nere

Postby nere » June 18th, 2011, 1:36 am

matthewmazda wrote:
Shango_13 wrote:yessssss. n like in NY they should always be on the left lane (the slower lane), buses too. no reason for those mass vehicles should be speeding
now THIS can/should be implemented immediately - no T vehicles on the right lane!!!

I am sure that will cut down on congestion and carnage instantaneously!!!

true true

this could mainly happen when they remove all the triffic lights on the east/west corridor

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 18th, 2011, 1:42 am

nere wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Those port trucks need to be off the road at peak hr traffic, cannot run between 4-6pm nor 6-8am, something like that, I think that's more realistic.

U know how hard it was for them to get port workers to start work at 6am so as to allow delivery on the port from that time.......

port workers work shifts not so???