Foreign Used Tyres?

Re: Foreign Used Tyres?

Postby De Dragon » July 28th, 2011, 12:01 am

SUPAstarr wrote:I used foreign used tyre for 2 years on my hatch which I solodexed, I went through 2 pairs in the back and 4 pairs in front, mostly goodyear eagle F1s, they are the freakin bomb. Never had a blowout, an the tyres performed excellently on an off the course. Bought most of them from that place jus off couva flyover, can't remember the name. I always check manufacture date an for any cracks or embedded screws or previous repairs.

Use to swear by this place and those tyres when I had the Civic. Just know that you have to trawl through some good heaps ah tyre to get ah good set! :lol:

air wick

Postby air wick » July 28th, 2011, 1:10 pm

A set of FU Continental, Goodyear, Bridgestone or Dunlop tyres better than a set of new nexxens in my book... I buy FU tyres and i never had a blowout... I tried nexxens once and the walls started to crack and the traction was poor...

Postby pete » July 28th, 2011, 1:19 pm

Will be trying some Michelin Pilot Exalto F.U. this weekend. How much ya think one of those would be new?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2011, 3:48 pm

keep us posted bout the price pete....

Postby pete » July 30th, 2011, 11:15 pm

Well the F.U ones are 200 each for 205/45R16

Don't think you can get them new in Trinidad.

air wick

Postby air wick » August 3rd, 2011, 7:24 pm

Got a set of 225/45/17 91Y Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3 today for $1000

sleeper

Postby sleeper » August 5th, 2011, 3:59 pm

names and locations of best tyre shops for fu?

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2011, 4:11 pm

decent new tyres are becoming increasingly hard to find and they cost quite a few 100.00 bills
i'll roll on f.used till i can afford the new

doesnt have like a best place for f.used tires....its just your luck kinda thing
check any/everywhere that sells them

however, the places that stand out for me are
John's in couva
Chippy's in Chaguanas

Scoop

Postby Scoop » August 5th, 2011, 7:53 pm

got two michelin pilot exalto today in couva...so far so good..paid 250 each...205/50/ZR17

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 5th, 2011, 9:09 pm

X_Factor wrote:decent new tyres are becoming increasingly hard to find and they cost quite a few 100.00 bills
i'll roll on f.used till i can afford the new

doesnt have like a best place for f.used tires....its just your luck kinda thing
check any/everywhere that sells them

however, the places that stand out for me are
John's in couva
Chippy's in Chaguanas

Buying foreign used tyres from him like 10 yrs now , if I have a problem with any one he just exchanges them.

Postby toyolink » August 5th, 2011, 10:08 pm

I am of the view that people generally buy what they can afford and if FU used tyres are viable so be it.
When I attended UWI and had to rely on an old MARINA for transport I used to buy local used tyres at about $2-$5 each just to get around.My speed at which I drove rarely got over 30mph and I was just thankful about not having to tote a ton load of text and papers and fight for transport.
Yes,I had to buy tyres every week.
I must admit things were real bad and conditions helped to allow me to survive.
Today,is a real different story and I am not for a minute suggesting that others should follow what I did then.

William18

Postby William18 » August 8th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Looking for new tyres? 14" south location....

Postby X_Factor » August 12th, 2011, 5:19 pm

well i went by John's and they wanna charge 250.00 for a F.used 15" tyre
thats kinda ridiculous for me so i left

where else has a fairly decent stock of f.used tires?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 26th, 2011, 5:43 pm

William18 wrote:Looking for new tyres? 14" south location....

I bring tires by order now

PM Tire size and I can quote you

William18

Postby William18 » August 26th, 2011, 6:11 pm

Pm sent lets talk.........

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 18th, 2011, 9:25 pm

So after 3 months I finally decided I couldn't handle the noise from the BCT's i had. Mind you, they were new tyres I got with the rims I bought in debe. I checked a few places and 215/45-17, and worse yet 205/45-17 were really hard to get but I called Rattansingh's on Montrose Main Rd and they had so I checked them, got 2 Continentals and 2 Dunlop Sport 3000 for $200 each. I out the Continentals up front. Now the car is silent as ever and the tyres perform very well in both wet and dry. At this price i hav absolutely no complaints, especially as all four tyres hav around 50% life

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 11:24 pm

Once I buy brand new. Other than that is FU. Only bought brand new for my new(local used) Mitsubishi. All the foreign used I have bought and dealt with, I had no problems. I am from the west and I have bought tyres from Diego to Curepe.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 9th, 2013, 6:15 pm

Looking for a Tyre Shop that sells good Foreign Used tyres in the East please.
Anywhere from St. Joseph to Arouca.

Thanks

Postby X_Factor » January 9th, 2013, 6:52 pm

^it doh work so, you have to visit everyone see exactly what they have
and make ur choice

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 15th, 2013, 1:06 am

So chippy's is still the place to go? do they also do alignment and balancing? need to get in the morning! thanks!

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 15th, 2013, 2:12 am

Responses appreciated before morning thanks!

air wick

Postby air wick » May 28th, 2013, 5:46 am

Anyone has a number for John's in Couva? Wanna call first to find out if they got my size first.

air wick

Postby air wick » May 28th, 2013, 9:03 am

Well I got the number, putting it here for anyone who wants it, didn't think that they were listed :

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1369746208.721639.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 9:33 am

i used foreign used tyres years ago...used to go to a tyre shop up santa cruz (on the bend) to get for when i had 17s. also used to go by deans in diego martin.

honestly i find they dont last and prefer buying new ones. they were good eh but i find i would only get a few months out of them while with new tyres i get years. so it come up almost the same in cost. you also have to worry about getting faulty tyres.

the quality may have changed since...because more ppl bringing it in now. but i still prefer buying new.

but i believe singhs tyre shop in couva supplies most of tnt so u could check them

xtech

Postby xtech » May 28th, 2013, 9:40 am

brought a set of 18inch winter tires to use during the rainy season.

$200 each

Gool

Postby Gool » May 28th, 2013, 9:55 am

winter tyres? um.. so if u hit a patch of water on d highway n go sdeways doh blame d rain or d road eh lol!
:D

Gool

Postby Gool » May 28th, 2013, 9:58 am

FU tyres that are actual brand name wayyy better than new, low quality tyres... which is mostly what we have here in trinidad.

i have been buying tyres from Chippy's since 2001. D prob there is if you want top condition ones you hadda go upstairs in d moutain of tyres and search yourself.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 28th, 2013, 10:01 am

True that I never let them choose for me

Most people just don't have time to do search themselves an end up with 45-50% life tires.

I always search out sets with 80-90% life.

winter tires aquaplane?

Worked very good yesterday on the hi way in very heavy rain better than summer tires or even aqua thread tires. U need to take a good look at them when u get a chance

Brought a set of these pirelli winter tyres with 90% life left
Last edited by xtech on May 28th, 2013, 10:05 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby crazybalhead » May 28th, 2013, 10:02 am

Used to run foreign used. Ain't nobady gat time fo dat this rounds.

Postby honda hoe » May 28th, 2013, 10:08 am

Gool wrote:winter tyres? um.. so if u hit a patch of water on d highway n go sdeways doh blame d rain or d road eh lol!
:D