Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby gt4tified » July 3rd, 2011, 12:35 am

On the mention of Serato, how many of you guys use it?

Personally I’ve never touched the thing (as in owned it)....I don’t even like the whole laptop-based DJ’ing thing. Call me old-fashioned but I learnt to spin on 1200’s (oh lard I sure some of them done open up a new browser page googling what 1200’s are :lol: ) and because of that I’ve stayed true to the vinyl feel, even with CD’s on my DN-S5000’s.

After looking at traktor, which was looking pretty darn decent, I got a notice from MAudio that they were launching their own virtual software called Torq. I downloaded the trial and liked it. What I liked even more was that it was half the price of Serato (on ebay of course!). Timecodes are timecodes...they all do the same thing, the quality of the control vinyl and cd’s is an important factor. I am yet to use the vinyl controllers on my 1200’s...have no room nor time to pull out and set them up.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 3rd, 2011, 10:01 am

gt4tified wrote:On the mention of Serato, how many of you guys use it?

Call me old-fashioned but I learnt to spin on 1200’s

Me 2.

you should use them with timecode vinyls, had a chance once..i felt a nostalgia rush..

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 3rd, 2011, 10:28 am

By chance, anyone has a Phase Linear 700 Series II amplifier?

I just need the number for the ICs in the back

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 3rd, 2011, 11:29 am

Gots sum stuff to sell for a padna. Will be in the Miscellaneous Classifieds.
Last edited by Kasey on July 3rd, 2011, 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 3rd, 2011, 11:39 am

I just started to use Serato Itch with my denon hc 5000, it's alright but serato itch 2.0 is coming out sometime in the next 2 months and it's looking really good.

what do you guys think about the new JBL Eon 515XL? a bit pricy but I'm hearing nothing but good things.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 3rd, 2011, 3:48 pm

^^I had the rare opportunity of comparing the 515XL to my RCF ART325. Art 325 has a bit more high end, but both have literally the same output on a side by side comparison.

I feel the distintive high end on the RCF's are due to the compression driver being a 2" driver whereas the JBL has a 1" driver. The JBL has a slightly more 'midsy' tone than the RCF.

Overall, I love the JBL 515xt, but I'll stick with my RCF art 325.

Postby gt4tified » July 3rd, 2011, 3:50 pm

mojosodope, the new EON's are waaaay overpriced for their performance. You could easily spend less and get more from brands like wharfdale, or vorax. But the thing is, Trini's like to hang wid de crowd nah. So if one sound system who could afford it, buy JBL and rate it up on f/b, well everybody MUST get dat too.

I personally doh ascribe to dat mentality.
Last edited by gt4tified on July 4th, 2011, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 3rd, 2011, 6:03 pm

@Kasey how much did you pay for your RCF ART325, I was thinking of buying the JBL 515XT coupled with the 518S,

Yeah the 2'' driver on the RCF just looks intense.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 3rd, 2011, 6:07 pm

ok Ralph, please delete ur comment, I'll delete mine.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 3rd, 2011, 6:15 pm

gt4tified wrote:
mojosodope, the new EON's are waaaay overpriced for their performance. You could easily spend less and get more from brands like wharfdale, or vorax. But the thing is, Trini's like to hang wid de crowd nah. So if one sound system who could afford it, buy JBL and rate it up on f/b, well everybody MUST get dat too.

I personally doh ascribe to dat mentality.

I get what you're saying but that social aspect has absolutely no merit in my decision in whether or not I buy this. I know they're overpriced if you measure it up with what you're getting but I was getting a sweet deal on them if I bundled so that wasn't the issue. What I do want to know was the quality.
Last edited by mojosodope on July 3rd, 2011, 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 3rd, 2011, 10:15 pm

Any experiences with digital turntables?

Like this one...

http://www.panasonic.com/consumer_elect ... dz1200.asp

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 7:33 am

Spoke to a DJ yesterday and he advised against the Gemini GVX series and stated that the best thing to start with in self powered is JBL.

Anyone?

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 4th, 2011, 7:44 am

^^ only if yuh rich...
you could look for a used pair but its still gonna cost you.

I've heard the powered 18's already and they actually sound ok, decent bang for the buck and worthy of mention of you're now starting out. I've never heard the powered monitors though.

whatever you do don't but the Elegance powered monitors, they cheap, but the built in amps clip waaay to early. if you could afford the behringers yuh orn!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 7:51 am

Well the thing is I rather invest in good stuff one time.

Even though I've been labelled "DJ Q" for years now I've never once used a turn table. Just my laptop w/Virtual DJ. Still mashup in some parties though :D

I want to go pro now so I'm trying to do it right the first time. Was thinking of getting two powered monitors (with stands), mixer and two cd/mp3/midi machines then eventually two powered subs.

So far I WAS looking at the Gemini GVX series, but after hearing those JBL's yesterday... I've been looking online at the new EONs

What's the going price for one of those and who sells it?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 8:07 am

Ok just called Rent-A-Amp

EON 515 - $6,500
EON 518S - $6,500
Tripod - $850
Pole - $350
Pair Denon DN-S1200, Mixer + Case - $16,500

Thanks to virtual DJ's software, I only need the two monitors to start.

Currently I use a USB headset for the Cue and Line out on the laptop for the Live Mix.

Very effective and cheap.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 8:08 am

^^ First to begin with, BE CAREFUL who you take advice from. Anyone who tells you things like:
"this is the best"
"that is the worst"
"I know everything bout music"

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THEM.

Most powered boxes sound ok with the right processing. Volume (SPL) is the problem. Gemini makes ok powered monitors these days that sound pretty good IMHO. It is less than half the price of the JBL 515XT, and for that, they decent.

I saw a JBL 515 (not the XT, the lesser version), in Gopauls for $9000 for one, so the XT will be more. But Gopauls always selling too expensive. Realistically you may get the JBL 515XT for around $14000 for the pair.

Compare $5000 for a pair of GVX Gemini and see how many more boxes u can buy with the cash remain.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 8:52 am

Hey Kasey thanks for the advice.

As you know I've been involved in car audio for many years now so I know the whole deal when it comes to listening to people. That's actually the reason I brought it here, to get all of your opinions.

Secondly, I agree that most boxes can and will sound good using the right processing, but not all will withstand the test of time and if it's one thing I know about JBL is that they last. I'm not a brand whore but I'm just looking to start right without that need to "Upgrade" what I have.... just add.

$5000 for a pair of gemini gvx sounds very good honestly, but I rather go Rent-A-Amp and pay the $6,500 each for the 515

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 9:24 am

^just clarify which model bro. Is it the 515XT, or the 515?? They are two different boxes eh. Doesnt make sense buying the normal 515 if u spending that much. One is 450 watts (515) and one is 625watts (515XT)!!!!!!!!!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 9:59 am

As I said, it's the 515 not the 515XT
They didn't have the XT in stock but he said they should be getting very soon.

Was just working with the prices that I had already.

Can someone explain something to me please... I was looking at the Denon DN-X500 Mixer and I don't understand something about mixers generally. How is it it has an 8 channel input, 4 channels to adjust, but only 2 channels to crossfade?? How does that work?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 10:40 am

^^there is an 'Assign' button for each end of the Crossfader (CF). tHE MIXER HAS 8 INPUTS, BUT The crossfade can mix two at a time, which is determined by the position of the assignment switches.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 11:05 am

Kasey wrote:^^there is an 'Assign' button for each end of the Crossfader (CF). tHE MIXER HAS 8 INPUTS, BUT The crossfade can mix two at a time, which is determined by the position of the assignment switches.

So It's possible to run an acapella on an instrumental in two separate channels both assigned to A then mix in another tune?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 11:17 am

I would call rent-a-amp to make reconfirm that pricing, I called the other day and I got quoted for the 515xt and she said $5200 and offered for me to pay for it now and I'll get it when their shipment comes in next month, obviously I'm not going to do that but the price she quoted was real good and it was for the 515XT

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 11:22 am

DJ Q wrote:
Kasey wrote:^^there is an 'Assign' button for each end of the Crossfader (CF). tHE MIXER HAS 8 INPUTS, BUT The crossfade can mix two at a time, which is determined by the position of the assignment switches.

So It's possible to run an acapella on an instrumental in two separate channels both assigned to A then mix in another tune?

I just upgraded to the dn x500 from my numark c1, still waiting on some cords and my driverack px to complete the setup but by friday everything would be complete and running. I know what you're saying but I think you'll only be able to mix the two separate channels and you can switch between the input or cross fader assign accordingly.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 4th, 2011, 11:56 am

mojosodope wrote:
DJ Q wrote:

I just upgraded to the dn x500 from my numark c1, still waiting on some cords and my driverack px to complete the setup but by friday everything would be complete and running. I know what you're saying but I think you'll only be able to mix the two separate channels and you can switch between the input or cross fader assign accordingly.

Hmmm... I'm thinking of something like the Denon HS5500 where it's two decks in one. So you can have the first machine going to channels one and two (Assigned to A) and the second machine go on channels 3 and 4 (Assigned to B). So basically rather than mixing two channels you can actually be mixing and remixing on the fly with up to four different channels.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 1:40 pm

yeah if you want to go all in one that's a good bet. I like having my 19 inch rack to travel with so I'm going to use the dn x 500 with the hc 5000. Should work really good. I was looking at the dn x900 but for the price range and what I needed it just wasn't worth the extra cash.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 3:35 pm

mojosodope wrote:I would call rent-a-amp to make reconfirm that pricing, I called the other day and I got quoted for the 515xt and she said $5200 and offered for me to pay for it now and I'll get it when their shipment comes in next month, obviously I'm not going to do that but the price she quoted was real good and it was for the 515XT

I really think this was a mistake. The 515XT is a pretty expensive box. I was checkin to land some myself, but it was working up bout $6200 a box and thats in bulk order.

I simply cannot believ rent-a-amp would sell a JBL 515XT for $5200.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » July 4th, 2011, 3:58 pm

My system is little old needs a refresh but sill works well. We actually played in Aura this Friday gone. I own a pair of Pioneer 1000's and a serato SSL Rane Mixer. I switched from Denon's since Pioneer is the industry standard.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Yeah it was definitely a mistake. I called back today and they said they didn't even have a pricing yet. Smh. If you're interested in the 515xt's I can beat that price.

Pioneer is awesome but way out of my price range and practicality. Denon is a good holding point for me for now.
Last edited by mojosodope on July 4th, 2011, 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 4th, 2011, 4:14 pm

I have a small system too i have a complete 4x4 RCF system powered with 3 American Audio V3000s and for bass i using a VZ5000. It sounds pretty good for what it is! We have a DBX PA for processing (which i need help to program if anybody willing to do it for a price) we have a CDN-95. I also use a Mixtrack Pro with my laptop!

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 4:25 pm

Shooter_boy_J wrote: We have a DBX PA for processing (which i need help to program if anybody willing to do it for a price)

save your money

your system will most likely be using custom presets but it's not that hard, you can find the manual and supporting documents online if you don't already have them and if you have a magicjack or skype calling etc, just call dbx support and they'll help you for free.