Re: State board appointments: The best family business

Postby r3iXmann » April 13th, 2011, 10:13 am

SR wrote:why was it moved back

i moved it back

someone brought it to my attention that it was removed and i decided to investigate

i got nothing against the parties involved but this is a matter that concerns all of us as citizens and i saw no libelous statements being made

how is this thread different from any jack/kamla/reshmi thread?

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2011, 10:27 am

Nothing surprises me with these people again.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 13th, 2011, 11:34 am

Qualifications for top govt positions are as follows..
very brown nose
indo
forgot the rest gotta get the document.....

Postby 16 cycles » April 13th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Another conflict issue shows up with member of Govt
By Darryl Heeralal dheeralal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Mar 22, 2009 ECT

Story Updated: Feb 6, 2011 at 7:05 PM ECT

A NEW conflict of interest issue has emerged around yet another member of the Manning administration.

Ni Leung Hypolite, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Works who held the CEPEP portfolio until the recent reshuffle, himself owns a company which has been awarded to one of the larger CEPEP contracts. Hypolite and his wife, Lisa, are the owners of Hylite Services Ltd which has been operating the contract for several years.

Hypolite was also a director of the company but resigned on October 15, 2007, shortly before last November's general election when he was elected MP for Laventille West. His wife resigned as a director on November 23, 2007, shortly after the general election.

Their resignations are reported in the company's annual returns to the Registrar General's department. The documents filed by Hylite Services, however, show no evidence of Hypolite having divested himself of any shareholding in the company.

The Sunday Express has learnt that Hylite Services was awarded what is described in CEPEP terms as a "high end contract".

Contracts in this range are said to earn around $468,000 a year, based on fortnightly payments of $18,000 which go directly to the contractor. Payment to CEPEP workers, said to be around 60 in the case of Hylite Services, is a direct transaction between Cepep Company Ltd and workers.

Hylite's contract is for works done in the Laventille West constituency, which Hypolite represents in Parliament as MP for the area. The company's Articles of Incorporation state that Hylite Services Ltd has a maximum number of 50,000 common shares.

Contacted for comment on his involvement in the company, Hypolite told the Sunday Express:

"It is public knowledge that before the elections I gave up my CEPEP contract. It was at the pleasure of the Prime Minister to appoint me Parliamentary Secretary."

In a follow-up telephone interview, Hypolite explained that what he had given up was his directorship of Hylite.

Questioned about a possible conflict of interest in holding the CEPEP portfolio while he remained a shareholder in a company operating a CEPEP contract, Hypolite said he had "no statements to make on that" and repeated his previous position.

Hypolite's line minister, Colm Imbert, who holds the Works and Transport portfolio, declined comment on the matter, referring all questions to Hypolite.

Hylite was among the first companies to get a CEPEP contract when the programme began in the second half of 2002. In its early years, CEPEP was managed by the Solid Waste Management Company Ltd (SWMCOL) which fell under the Ministry of Public Utilities and the Environment, headed by Penelope Beckles.

In the run-up to the 2007 general elections CEPEP came under Opposition criticism when it was publicised that Beckles' father was a CEPEP contractor.

After the elections, ministerial responsibility for SWMCOL was re-assigned to Housing, Planning and Environment.

Last year, CEPEP Company Ltd assumed management of the programme and the newly-formed company was given to Hypolite and the Works Ministry.

Two weeks ago, Hypolite was relieved of his CEPEP responsibility by Prime Minister Patrick Manning who transferred it to Mariano Browne in the Finance Ministry.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ano ... 40489.html

this stuff is make papers eh so make sure the story straight...

tool-band

Postby tool-band » April 13th, 2011, 1:15 pm

civicman wrote:better man who qualified get the wuk i say
Last rounds i hear man wukkin as engineer in sport company
holding certifications in Landscaping :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Just to clear things up (once its the same person we talking about and i think it is)

the person is
1. a former Olympian representing Trinidad and Tobago.
2. coach of a Trinidad and Tobago Olympic medal holder
3.head coach of a sports club
so he has i would saw a small idea about the needs of sports in trinidad

ps he has a MBA Land Use Planning not landscaping. :shock:

Postby AllTrac » April 13th, 2011, 1:28 pm

i fully support this appointment!

make us proud 2aa.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 13th, 2011, 4:17 pm

Honestly, this kind of thing was always expected.

However, I have a HUGE problem with the newly acquired massive egos of these newly appointed board members.

I can't believe the f*cking arrogance some of these members I have to deal with on a daily basis.

Honestly, I was A LOT happier with the previous PNM board Members, at least they had respect.....what is it with f*cking south indians and having a lil bit of power go to their heads.

Can't believe a man try to talk down to me yesterday on a technical issue, I have my BSc (UWI First Class) and MSc (Cambridge,UK) in Elec Eng and get paid at least 5 times what you make..........what the f*ck do you have? An SBCS Associate Degree in IT

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 13th, 2011, 4:21 pm

^^ is the same with the new ministers :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 13th, 2011, 4:32 pm

Smokey wrote:Honestly, this kind of thing was always expected.

However, I have a HUGE problem with the newly acquired massive egos of these newly appointed board members.

I can't believe the f*cking arrogance some of these members I have to deal with on a daily basis.

Honestly, I was A LOT happier with the previous PNM board Members, at least they had respect.....what is it with f*cking south indians and having a lil bit of power go to their heads.

Can't believe a man try to talk down to me yesterday on a technical issue, I have my BSc (UWI First Class) and MSc (Cambridge,UK) in Elec Eng and get paid at least 5 times what you make..........what the f*ck do you have? An SBCS Associate Degree in IT

Usually it's a UTT associate degree; and nowadays a SITAL 1 year MBA.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 13th, 2011, 4:33 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:^^ is the same with the new ministers :lol:

Nah man, I met a couple of the new ministers already, most except (Suruj, Tim and Stacy) are tolerable and semi-intelligent.

But you would swear some of them new board members feel they just became the new Prime Minister.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 13th, 2011, 4:34 pm

And uncle Jack has the biggest ego of them all....

Postby tr1ad » April 14th, 2011, 12:53 pm

what is different with this thread compared to the reshmi thread?
why keep moving it

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 14th, 2011, 12:57 pm

reshmi asked for her thread to be moved?

Postby AllTrac » April 14th, 2011, 12:59 pm

cause i is ah wakka man.

Postby tr1ad » April 14th, 2011, 12:59 pm

so when appointed to state board or otherwise public office you cannot be up for discussion?

Postby TRAE » April 14th, 2011, 1:03 pm

i woulda do it too if it was up to me yes...

Postby eliteauto » April 14th, 2011, 1:21 pm

hypocrisy FTL do the 2 appointees have something to hide if not who is requesting the thread be moved and on what grounds?

Postby crazybalhead » April 14th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Surprised ministers children havent come home for the big jobs yet.

Yunno, Patrick made MASSSSS with this. And this PP Gov't seem to think it's their birthdright to do the same damn thing.

STEUPS.

Postby K74T » April 14th, 2011, 1:37 pm

I hear 6fr get appointed secretary :lol:

slick

Postby slick » April 14th, 2011, 1:48 pm

crazychinee wrote:
Smokey wrote:Honestly, this kind of thing was always expected.

Usually it's a UTT associate degree; and nowadays a SITAL 1 year MBA.

If they do have that SITAL 1 year MBA, then they are better off than most MBA students that come out of UWI and SBCS.

Postby Greypatch » April 14th, 2011, 2:37 pm

ah see the tabaquite tiger aka paradigm still in the mix..

State boards are used as payback for friends, supporters etc,.

It have ah ole retired meter reader from T&TEC who now sits on the NFM board.

so is current in yuh flour...
makes me sick.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 14th, 2011, 3:18 pm

wait nah a tuner got app to a state board? lol ok.....

Postby SR » April 14th, 2011, 3:23 pm

good going to them

do us proud

get your facts first before following the misinformation posted by some

Postby AllTrac » April 14th, 2011, 4:31 pm

which state board aaron?

Postby brams112 » April 14th, 2011, 5:43 pm

op like he now get up from stupor orr what?

Postby Damien » April 14th, 2011, 6:26 pm

aaron time now, what board dan i looking for a wok

Postby AllTrac » April 14th, 2011, 9:26 pm

aaron what email address do i send my resume to?

who do i put it attention to? "THE SECRETARIAT 6fr" ?

:lol: fadsy ah hear u get ah fwd to :lol:

Postby Cjruckus » April 15th, 2011, 12:44 am

I still want to hear COPs position on this whole house hold of appointees.

With Duane's permission i have posted this thread on PNMs FB page for discussion. feel free to check it out.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 15th, 2011, 12:48 am

^ wut..... :lol:

*Subscribes*

Link??

Postby nervewrecker » April 15th, 2011, 7:20 am

Cjruckus wrote:Before: