HOW TO BUILD A KITE

Conrad

Re: HOW TO BUILD A KITE

Postby Conrad » March 27th, 2014, 11:01 am

Right in the related vids of the previous vid posted.

THIS is how to make a madbull.

Dad didn't have the stick on top protruding so much though, it was cut right above the half hoop.

toybago

Postby toybago » March 27th, 2014, 2:22 pm

@ Conrad, "flex" is quite hardy eh. seen it used on fairly large kites with no problem

TriP

Postby TriP » March 27th, 2014, 6:47 pm

tis kite ched de bess..it win..

"everything u wanted to know bout making a kite"

8-)

Postby toyolink » March 27th, 2014, 8:22 pm

eliteauto wrote:must have a kite for Easter man toyolink, age is just a number :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yea, right!
Ego gone after last experience,now I only spectating and remembering the days past.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 3rd, 2014, 7:59 pm

Just put this together, took half an hour, and it flying. Made with cocoyea broom sticks and grocery bags
1396571360016.jpg

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2014, 8:12 pm

nicely

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 3rd, 2014, 8:29 pm

Postby Country_Bookie » April 17th, 2014, 5:05 pm

Anybody going to the Savannah on Easter Sunday for the Kite Flying Competition?

Details - 90.5FM's 15th Annual Easter Kite Flying Competition

Come celebrate 15 YEARS of Easter Kite Flying FUN with us!

Easter Sunday – April 20th at the Queens Park Savannah from 12 noon.

Register for FREE to win cash prizes in one of seven categories:

The Best Madbull

The Most Colourful Kite

The Best Box Kite

The Best Cheekie Chung

The Most Innovative

The Best 90.5 Kite

Or our newest category:
- The Best Flavorite Ice Cream Sandwich Kite
There will only be 25 contestants in this category and you must incorporate the Flavorite Ice Cream Sandwich logo or wrappers in some way in the design of the kite.

The numbers to call is 622-0451 or 622-0452 Mon-Friday 9am-4pm. Call now because REGISTRATION CLOSES ON April 11th.

If you’re not competing…
Read more
Come celebrate 15 YEARS of Easter Kite Flying FUN with us!

Easter Sunday – April 20th at the Queens Park Savannah from 12 noon.

Register for FREE to win cash prizes in one of seven categories:

The Best Madbull

The Most Colourful Kite

The Best Box Kite

The Best Cheekie Chung

The Most Innovative

The Best 90.5 Kite

Or our newest category:
- The Best Flavorite Ice Cream Sandwich Kite
There will only be 25 contestants in this category and you must incorporate the Flavorite Ice Cream Sandwich logo or wrappers in some way in the design of the kite.

The numbers to call is 622-0451 or 622-0452 Mon-Friday 9am-4pm. Call now because REGISTRATION CLOSES ON April 11th.

If you’re not competing come enjoy the live entertainment!

On stage FOR THE FIRST TIME AT A 90.5 EVENT – a FULL PEFORMANCE by Raymond Ramnarine and Dil-E-Nadan!

Followed by Ravi B … Nisha B … and the entire KARMA crew!

Dances by the Shiv Shakti Dancers and Xtreme Breakers!

Remember the on-stage show starts at 12 noon and you won’t want to miss a moment of Dil-e-Nadan so don’t be late!

For your safety and comfort, there will be heavy police patrol and security

NO ALCOHOL will be allowed in the area since this is a family oriented event.

If you are not competing we kindly ask that you stay out of the judging area when flying your kites for fun.

This event sponsored by:
Flavorite Ice Cream Sandwiches,
Blink / Bmobile
NLCB
Maggi, Carnation Milk, Klim (Nestle brands being used)
Solo for Aqua Water
Mario’s Pizzeria
Karibbean Flavours
Nutrimix Flour Mills and Country Pride Flour
T & TEC
And the Ministry of Energy

IMPORTANT NOTES FOR CONTESTANTS

- You must adhere to all rules and regulations as outlined.

- All kites must be made by you and must be able to fly.

- Absolutely no zwills, or any other devices that can “cut down” someone else’s kite

- Absolutely no steel or metal frames.

- You must stay within the designated judging area which will be pointed out on the day of the event.

- Failure to comply with these rules will result in disqualification.

- You must be at the site by 10:30am on the morning of the contest and go to the Registration Tent to collect your registration number which must be securely pinned to you in order to be judged. YOU (the person who registered) must collect the number.

If you have registered and have not received a copy of the rules via post or email please call.

Let’s all have a fair, safe competition and may the best kite win!

Good luck to all contestants and we’ll see you on Easter Sunday April 20th at the Queens Park Savannah for Radio 90.5’s 15th Annual Easter Kite Flying Contest!

Performers : Dil E Nadan, Ravi B and Karma

Added by : buzz

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » March 3rd, 2015, 4:31 pm

Folks, I am looking for someone to conduct a 3-4 hour session on making kites. If you also have contacts for any hobby groups, that would be appreciated. Thanks.

Omar 683-1173

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » March 4th, 2015, 5:16 pm

now start with a 12ft mad bull, first time going so big will try and post some pics as
build goes along, using a length of 12ft white pine for the frame, paid $35

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » March 4th, 2015, 7:27 pm

best easy to do one is the moonshine... its colorful and easy... OR d madbull... it makes RELL noise...
i was on de beach ah day and it RELL singing and thing and a pitbull heard it and run me down and at de same time de kite came lower and it jump and pull it dong and tear it up :( LOL

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2015, 8:00 pm

I feeling to make a kite now :(

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2015, 11:25 am

nervewrecker wrote:I feeling to make a kite now :(

come fly mine nuh 8-)

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » March 5th, 2015, 4:14 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I feeling to make a kite now :(

come fly mine nuh 8-)

allu leave that for the religion thread na

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2015, 8:16 pm

I like it rough eh...

Postby Mark! » March 10th, 2015, 7:17 am

A guy told me that there is an art in ducking your kite? I though is jus grab and pull back?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » March 14th, 2015, 8:22 pm

matthewmazda wrote:now start with a 12ft mad bull, first time going so big will try and post some pics as
build goes along, using a length of 12ft white pine for the frame, paid $35

used brown paper to paper, think i will have to put 2 layers
halfway done so far
IMG_20150314_121939.jpg
IMG_20150314_114332.jpg
IMG_20150314_105515.jpg

310Duration

Postby 310Duration » March 1st, 2016, 12:25 pm

Anyone ever built a madbull with a composite frame, like fibreglass or carbon fibre.

That 12' madbull took me back in time.
How did it do? I'm assuming the flex was insane.

Postby timelapse » March 1st, 2016, 1:28 pm

I tried it with short pieces a while back and made a 24" madbull using the fiberglass rods from in the middle of discarded fiber optic cable. The problem i had was that it was kinda rough and kept cutting the plastic i covered it with

310Duration

Postby 310Duration » April 18th, 2016, 11:33 am

OK word. Nice.

Started this project a week ago.

1460993379358.jpg

White pine 7' frame.

1460993427947.jpg

Bamboo nose.

1460993456509.jpg

The strut bar helps the lower arms support the weight of the tails.

1460993507359.jpg

Covering it with table plastic.

bluesclues

Re: RE: HOW TO BUILD A KITE

Postby bluesclues » April 18th, 2016, 12:09 pm

toyolink wrote:Many years now i have been trying to get information on the art of building kites.
My particular interest is in the local kites not the foreign high tech stuff.
Things i need to understand are the compass,the tail requirements etc.
Really is a kite building made simple solution i will be grateful for.
Would really like to surprise the kids for easter.

Trini culture loss boy. The amount of kite I build in my day.

The easy way

Get some cocea (coconut tree leaf spines)
Take 2 or 3 spines and join them together by wrapping thread all around from bottom to top. Then when u reach top join the thread back at the bottom to make a bow.. like in a bow and arrow.
Then u make a cross with 2 spines by tying them with a good few wraps of thread where they join in the middle.
Then u put the bow unto the cross and tie thread at where they joining to keep them there.

Now.. u just rest down that contraption on the paper u going to make the kite out of. Stick down the corners with any method u like.
Last, u going and sew some thread through the paper to stick it to the bow at the middle joint where cross meets bow and The left right and top corners. Them 4 points have to join to one point to hookup your kite flying line.

Finally u need a tail of cloth or paper. The tail is weight for stabilization. So if dancing too much and not flying straight just add more weight to the tail or use slightly heavier material. Bigger kites need more weight.. duh.

If yuh could get past dat ah go teach yuh how to make a ducker or a mad bull. Fly one in arima savannah about 2-3 metres of kite from left side to right side. Had to use a pickup to pull it and get enough draft for the lift lol. Many ppl running and holding the line did not work lol

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 31st, 2021, 3:49 pm

Anyone knows where I can get kite thread up North side to buy?

Postby timelapse » March 31st, 2021, 5:07 pm

How big of a kite?
Leslie Chang in curepe for small kites.
Samaroos carnival supplies for medium kites
Bhagwansinghs for macco sized kites.
d.d.s. wrote:Anyone knows where I can get kite thread up North side to buy?

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 31st, 2021, 6:20 pm

timelapse wrote:How big of a kite?
Leslie Chang in curepe for small kites.
Samaroos carnival supplies for medium kites
Bhagwansinghs for macco sized kites.
d.d.s. wrote:Anyone knows where I can get kite thread up North side to buy?
It's to make / fly a small kite.
I checked Samaroos already and no luck but thanks for the info. Will try the others.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 31st, 2021, 6:33 pm

You can use sewing thread for small kites.

Postby timelapse » March 31st, 2021, 7:35 pm

Upholstery thread real good too, a bit expensive, but strong

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 31st, 2021, 9:48 pm

Crochet thread good for medium sized kites.

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2021, 2:02 pm

Now you going to wild me up to make a kite.Thanks eh.I really needed to cut bamboo in the hot sun today.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » April 2nd, 2021, 7:44 am

End up using thread used to stitch jeans

Postby timelapse » April 4th, 2021, 7:08 am

Nice.I end up making two kites for the vene children over the road.Their dad took them to a field to fly