Soca Monarch prediction thread...

Swisha

Re: Soca Monarch prediction thread...

Postby Swisha » March 5th, 2011, 8:38 am

this might be d first time somebody take 1st and 2nd for Road March?

Advantage & Illegal :lol:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » March 5th, 2011, 8:41 am

Road march was never the question boy trac, he win dat since de song release, the only fight he had was last night, now that over, he could cruise.

spanish

Postby spanish » March 5th, 2011, 11:27 am

mitch wrote:this might be d first time somebody take 1st and 2nd for Road March?

Advantage & Illegal :lol:

Actually, no. David Rudder already did that in 1986 (not to mention copping the Young King and Calypso Monarch titles also)

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 5th, 2011, 12:17 pm

uncle sam wrote:
DuAL StaR wrote:IT IS GOING TO BE THE SAME TXTING SAME RESULTS

POWER.... MACHEL

BENJI/ Kes FOR GROOVY

I WAS RIGHT!!!!! :drinking: :wiggle:

achillies

Postby achillies » March 5th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Machel got boo'd during his performance, people shouting IWER when Machel performing, How machel win this one, I have no clue

Postby shogun » March 5th, 2011, 3:19 pm

The man had a virtual campaign with shows hyping his "return" and saturated the airwaves with promos and endorsements...no one else stood a chance really.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 5th, 2011, 3:22 pm

lol.... most people believe the final & main decision is the crowds reaction :lol:

sss

Postby sss » March 5th, 2011, 3:40 pm

am not a machel fan but i loved his stratergy in starting a bacchannal to get the under performers after him to concerntrate on getting back at him hence not stuydying performing there song it work

Postby shogun » March 5th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Yeah? well, i didn't like that "strategy" because it seems to be a pattern with Machel.
I kinda liked how everyone else tried to rise above the childishness. but this is "Trini" so i wouldn't expect anyhing less.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 5th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Well when it have real Machel fans who were there saying that Iwer deserved it because his performance was better, attention needs to payed to that, its all opinion eh, but i dont think a performer in a competition could get boo'd and the crowd chanting a rival name during his performance would equal that said performer winning the competition, especially taking into consideration my mom happen to overhear some big sewattees talking a few days before saying that arrangements have been made for the Chutney soca monarch and the international soca monarch to have specific winners. and then to see it play out, that was noice, i really believe that could only happen in Trinidad

My 2 cents

achillies

Postby achillies » March 5th, 2011, 4:00 pm

I just hope the rumours i hearing about arresting CroCro is not true, that will be to much

Postby shogun » March 5th, 2011, 4:05 pm

Arresting CroCro?

silvyrsurfyr

Postby silvyrsurfyr » March 5th, 2011, 5:22 pm

steups! dey shud pay MACHEL in single $$$$ :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 5th, 2011, 5:36 pm

how much money dey win? 2million each?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 5th, 2011, 6:12 pm

good results,,,

machel is d boss

kes deserved it

Postby shogun » March 5th, 2011, 6:14 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:how much money dey win? 2million each?

I heard Machel won $2M and Kes won $500k

Postby AllTrac » March 6th, 2011, 10:19 am

take dat in allyuh jhaaatttt

Postby pete » March 6th, 2011, 10:23 am

CNC3 really brought back memories.. of how horrible these competitions looked on TV like 10 years ago. Hope next year whoever broadcasts it has better equipment :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 6th, 2011, 10:28 am

cnc3 broadcast was infinitely better than cnmg's coverage of the chutney soca....that was sheit (both ways)...........

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2011, 10:40 am

machel took a back seat a few years ago to give bunji and destra a chance.....they coulda never beat him........even faye ann father superblue said machel is the future.....

bunji them really think they coulda beat machel????

oh please........

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2011, 11:06 am

^Why not. was Machels song some masterpiece? is he any more a performer than say Iwer?
Some of allyuh just buy the hype that Machel is some golden child, but thats not the case, he just knows how to market himself way better than any of the others have figured out yet. It's the same way he could sing a huge turd like "Big Truck" and everyone fall over themselves loving it.
I do agree though that some of them stood no chance beating Machel on THAT night though.... like Destra who was lackluster and Faye Anne, who seemed to be trying too hard.
Not to mention the unprofessionalism showed by some presenters on cnc3 boldly showing bias for Machel and dissing some of the other performers.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 6th, 2011, 11:11 am

wow the performance was quite exciting!!!!!

Humes

Postby Humes » March 6th, 2011, 1:51 pm

shogun wrote:It's the same way he could sing a huge turd like "Big Truck" and everyone fall over themselves loving it.

You hadda be crazy.

Big Truck was a true game changer. Marketing had nutten to do with that. What marketing it had goin on back in dem days? Machel wasn't even Machel yet, and the soca mafia we know today had not been established.

Big Truck was huge because it seemed like no tune had ever pushed the genre that hard or far. According to Rubadiri Victor, it marked a generational shift in Carnival...a young person with a new sound for young people that older heads could never keep up with. It catered directly to the energy and tastes of younger people and made Carnival theirs.

Carnival was never the same after that. For better or for worse, Big Truck was the tune that defined the type of soca that Super Blue pioneered. Almost every Road March contender since then (with a few notable exceptions) has been copying it either literally or spiritually.

Is okay if yuh doh like de tune, but doh twist the reality and history behind it.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 6th, 2011, 2:01 pm

shogun wrote:Some of allyuh just buy the hype that Machel is some golden child

He is, though. Hype has little to do with it. The first people who were calling him that back in the mid 1980s are people who'd be in their 50s and 60s today.

Bunji and all dem others know their place because without Machel and Xtatic, they wouldn't even exist as they do today.

That eh no hype...that is reality.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 6th, 2011, 2:07 pm

achillies wrote:Machel got boo'd during his performance, people shouting IWER when Machel performing, How machel win this one, I have no clue

Alyuh does take that crowd way too seriously. A small group of diehards from Morvant could bawl "Bunji! Bunji!" anyday. They are nothing compared to the entire generation for whom Machel virtually symbolises Carnival.

And I questioning how many of you actually watched that performance. The same crew who was bawlin Bunji end up bawling Machel by the time he had done his picong.

And all that talk about Machel campaigning during "his shows"...alyuh answering the question right dey. Who else could throw their own shows, or could claim a show was theirs just by virtue of performing?

Alyuh in too much denial. Machel win outright.

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2011, 2:11 pm

^I rest my case....... Just say you like the song and be done with it....because numerous Dj's, people in the industry claimed the song was too "simplistic" and lacked any thought. And to me it began a counter "Machel" culture where people were arguing that the song only gained "notoriety" because of Machels burgeoning reputation. And because Rubadiri says so, i'm supposed to forget the sentiments being voiced in the industry at that time? seems you didn't read what i said. I realize the song was widely loved by the masses, which was why i chose that song as the example, that was the fcuking point. truth is, the song itself wasn't very good and this isn't just me saying that....basically it was the point where soca got even more "watered down."

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Humes wrote:And all that talk about Machel campaigning during "his shows"...alyuh answering the question right dey. Who else could throw their own shows . Machel win outright.

I think you heping my argument... :|
And if he won "outright" as you say, there wouldn't be any controversy over the results, now would there.

And one more thing, i have no vested interest in Machel or soca on the whole, i barely listen to either.

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2011, 2:42 pm

Humes wrote:
shogun wrote:Some of allyuh just buy the hype that Machel is some golden child

He is, though. Hype has little to do with it. The first people who were calling him that back in the mid 1980s are people who'd be in their 50s and 60s today.

Bunji and all dem others know their place because without Machel and Xtatic, they wouldn't even exist as they do today.

That eh no hype...that is reality.

I wouldn't be too sure of this either. Surely Machel has had the public watching his every move since he was a child in the business and that would certainly garner support and respect. But i'd argue that it was people like Superblue, who infact were the pioneers and Machel simply took what they did and made it more relevant to younger generations. So, to say there'd be no Bunji, Faye Anne,etc...i think is a bit unfair...like you have pictures of Machel on yuh wall?
I really didn't like how he (Machel) felt it necessary to disrespect Bunji and Fay Anne. The other piccong was fine, but that "Fay Anne is the man, Bunji is the woman" thing was going a lil too low. Why would a "golden child" have to sink to such levels any way, if he knew he was going to be the outright winner?

It's attitudes like this that have Machel feeling he could do/walk over, anyone he wants, when he wants, with no consequence.
Last edited by shogun on March 6th, 2011, 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 6th, 2011, 2:45 pm

shogun wrote:^I rest my case....... Just say you like the song and be done with it....because numerous Dj's, people in the industry claimed the song was too "simplistic" and lacked any thought. And to me it began a counter "Machel" culture where people were arguing that the song only gained "notoriety" because of Machels burgeoning reputation. And because Rubadiri says so, i'm supposed to forget the sentiments being voiced in the industry at that time? seems you didn't read what i said. I realize the song was widely loved by the masses, which was why i chose that song as the example, that was the fcuking point. truth is, the song itself wasn't very good and this isn't just me saying that....basically it was the point where soca got even more "watered down."

Rubadiri's statement doesn't make any judgments regarding the quality of the tune. Even I wrote "for better and for worse" because the tune's underemphasis on lyrics (and the trend it started) can't be denied. But the song is brilliant for what it is: a road march dance soca.

Your mileage may vary depending on your taste. The song was embraced by way more than the masses, by the way. Many purists hailed it. Many older heads were pleasantly amused. And some were mildly shocked, but not against it. It was only years after, when the trend had taken root and the older generation began to feel alienated, that it really became a target of criticism.

What I was contending is your claim that the song was only popular because of marketing and hype. That is rubbish.

Machel enjoyed hype in the years after, but even during those years he was breaking new ground with tunes like Music Farm.

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Humes wrote:What I was contending is your claim that the song was only popular because of marketing and hype. That is rubbish.

You keep contradicting yourself. you admit that machel had been a local icon way before "big truck" came along?
And by this time he had made a considerable name for himself?
Yet you don't think that it took Machel singing this song to make it a hit.
You think if ANY other artist sang that song, it would have been the hit that it was?
It took the right song, by the right artist, at the right time...that's right! it took the hype surrounding Machel and his "name" to make the song what it apparently is.

Humes wrote: Many older heads were pleasantly amused. And some were mildly shocked, but not against it.

That's not entirely true....and i'm not talking only of older heads. DJ's, songwriters, people in the industry. Hell there was even a debate about it on radio and tele.