3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

jadakiss

Re: 3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 10:24 am

TK wrote:the video has a lot of factual info but the 5% of false info is used to paint a really negative picture of tha quran and muslims.

the quran is a revealed book. it wasnt written by any man. the order of the chapters, does not reflect the chronological order of the Quranic verses as implied in the video.

tho timeless, the quran has a lot of historical references. so it would be foolish to quote one line without looking at the context in which it is used.

similarly, one can quote from the bible:
"All who would not seek the LORD, the God of Israel, were to be put to death, whether small or great, man or woman." -(From the NIV Bible, 2 Chronicles 15:13)"

But you really need to read and understand what event is taking place for God to say such a thing. In the quran, it's usually against oppressors or aggressors that such language is used.

it's really simple. the quran is small and can be read in a day or two. read it yourself and ask a knowledgeable muslim to explain parts you dont understand.

^^ Simple and effective point.Well said.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 16th, 2011, 10:50 am

the bible says lots of things.... most persons who call themselves christians dont listen to them all... thats the point i was trying to make, not specifically linked to one thing or the other.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 16th, 2011, 11:22 am

Bizzare wrote:rodfarva, everything in the video is a fact. Even Muslims would agree. I know this. They believe in the execution of non-Muslims.
I worked in a Muslim environment on Munroe road for quite some time. So Its clear to me by now that the laws of Trinidad is the reason for suppression of some parts of their faith. Just as the video explains. I have Muslim padnas who believes that it is right to execute non believers. But is Trinidad and them muffler bearings aint gonna execute anyone and we know this. Hence the reason why we wouldn't take it seriously.

I used to work at a car place close to that Munroe road area and they employed a lot of muslims and when some of them find out I am a non-muslim they stop talking to me. Start to make comments. Some even went as far as outright saying Islam is superior and Christianity is rubbish. I totally agree and believe everything the author of that vid says. I have experienced it for myself.

Some time last year on his program Glenn Beck once said Islam is a militant organization and I totally agree with him. I have muslim friends and family and we get along great but somehow I guess you always have to be a little cautious. A cousin of mine came home by me and introduced me to his wife who was muslim, she refused to shake my hand saying that she is not allowed to touch a non-muslim. I shrugged it off but I got the idea of muslims think.

I wonder what Inshan Ishmael would say if he saw that vid.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » February 16th, 2011, 11:40 am

jadakiss wrote:
So what's the correlation between the mordern road and islam? are you suggesting that Islam is retrograde and needs to adjust its ideology to that of the 'superpowers' in order to be taken seriously?

Are you saying that oppressed people's in the middle east who"beyotchs and moans" need to just give in to the infrigement from the US and zionist forces? Last time i checked, only wore torn middle eastern countries were speaking out..not the typical arab , qatari persons who living large. Are these oppressed people(s) not justified to 'beyotch(s) and moan(s)' against the genocide committed by other nations to them?

Boy, if you delve into islam and its commentary u'd see that islam advocates the intellectual refinement of its worshippers thru science and technology. Alot of scientific, mathematical,medicinal, astro-physical references are contained within the passages.

Does this not invalidate your point..? Yes

i dont think you're understanding what i am trying to say. i did not mention anything about super powers taking them seriously... how did you deduce that?more along the lines of every nation for himself, to begin with they dont care they are decades ahead and have stable economy's for generations to come ultimately doing the best they can for even their unborn citizens.
we dont live in medeival times anymore where religion plays a significant role in the progress of a nation its quite the opposite in fact.i am not hating on any middle eastern nation and their religious beliefs just merely trying to say that times have changed and maybe as a nation focus should be spent on improving their quality of life for their people and ultimately their people to come in the near and distant future BUT its just my opinion, your welcomed to disagree however not worthy of a mutual qwerty keyboard debacle.

does that invalidate my point? ummm no
its not wore torn i dont think they are all wearing over used, raggedy clothes.

Postby RBphoto » February 16th, 2011, 1:10 pm

AllTrac wrote:how do i become a muslim? after seeing this vid I would like to become one, I would like to give up my brahmin lifestyle and live the life of a muslim.

Interfere with one ah dey gyul chirren..... you will be converted soon enough :|

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 1:54 pm

doc_tec wrote:i did not mention anything about super powers taking them seriously... how did you deduce that?

mihself wrote:So what's the correlation between the mordern road and islam? are you suggesting that Islam is retrograde and needs to adjust its ideology to that of the 'superpowers' in order to be taken seriously?

Hey friend, maybe u didn't read my point clearly. I never 'deduced' what ur alluding to in ur text above. I was simply enquiring if u feel that Islam/middle eastern countries shud have their values aligned to that embodied by the superpowers u referred to who were 'moving foward'...and only then this wud prevent they from being 'dismally thrown off the wayside...'

(I didn't realise I had to be so verbose jus to illustrate a point lol)

But i disagree that Islam is hampering the progress of these middle eastern countries..Islam is not flawed..people are..and unfortunately the islam practiced by alot of the middle eastern countries is very erroneous and that in itself is causing the social and econmic implosion experienced by many of such nations.

doc_tec wrote:we dont live in medeival times anymore where religion plays a significant role in the progress of a nation its quite the opposite in fact.

^^ totally disagree with u..whats ur metric for success and development? big buildings...large economy...little or no unemployment...well what about the flipside..alot of these asian and euro countries are God less and as a result they suffer from many social ills..don't get fooled by the guise of first world living...legalized prostitution, same sex marriages, liberal drug policy, liberal sexuality policies...u name it...are many of the ills of these so called 'developed countries'

Some how I think religion if practiced right would have helped fueled development at a much faster pace.

doc_tec wrote:just merely trying to say that times have changed and maybe as a nation focus should be spent on improving their quality of life for their people and ultimately their people

^^ somehow i tink quite a few of the middle eastern countries are doin a pretty good job w.r.t quality of life and development...after all literacy rates in Iran is much higher than the USA...that alone should say sumthing..

And to Toyota2nr..dude u confused yes...u interact with a few muslims and bam...u paint all ah them with the same brush.

I guess if u go beetham and lime with some of d residents u go bawl all african is murderers and bandits? U can castigate all africans based on what a misguided handful in certain areas do...similarly u can stereotype muslims based on ur negative experience

Oh and btw its not proper for a muslim female to touch a male stranger's hand...doesn't have to be confined to jus non-muslim alone...it includes muslim strangers as well..so ur family get her facts mix up dere

Islam is millitant you say...? Not sure where in d Qu'ran it say act as if a crazy dog bite u and go attack and kill non muslims....but thas jus MY opinion

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 16th, 2011, 3:12 pm

To jadakiss:

Is more than 'a few' muslims I interact with. As I said before I have muslim family and friends. I worked for and with muslims. So there is no question of castigating or stereotyping anyone but I am just stating what I have experienced with a lot of muslims. I used to be on the road with a muslim co-worker and a fridays he would go to mosque while I wait in the car for him. He used to get angry because I would not go in the mosque with him. I treat all people equally regardless of religion of race and yes I believe MOST not all people in beetham are murderers and bandits. That's MY personal opinion.

And to your last statement I have been told on many occasions by muslims that they are within their right and should kill non-muslims.

Postby TRAE » February 16th, 2011, 3:36 pm

so... i like sawine though eh

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 16th, 2011, 4:09 pm

http://www.islam-watch.org/
here has everything you need about the kind of religion islam. its a site made by former muslims that believe islam is not a religion

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2011, 5:07 pm

Silence!!! I Keel You!!!

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » February 16th, 2011, 5:26 pm

jadakiss wrote:
doc_tec wrote:i did not mention anything about super powers taking them seriously... how did you deduce that?

mihself wrote:So what's the correlation between the mordern road and islam? are you suggesting that Islam is retrograde and needs to adjust its ideology to that of the 'superpowers' in order to be taken seriously?

Hey friend, maybe u didn't read my point clearly. I never 'deduced' what ur alluding to in ur text above. I was simply enquiring if u feel that Islam/middle eastern countries shud have their values aligned to that embodied by the superpowers u referred to who were 'moving foward'...and only then this wud prevent they from being 'dismally thrown off the wayside...'

(I didn't realise I had to be so verbose jus to illustrate a point lol)

But i disagree that Islam is hampering the progress of these middle eastern countries..Islam is not flawed..people are..and unfortunately the islam practiced by alot of the middle eastern countries is very erroneous and that in itself is causing the social and econmic implosion experienced by many of such nations.

doc_tec wrote:we dont live in medeival times anymore where religion plays a significant role in the progress of a nation its quite the opposite in fact.

^^ totally disagree with u..whats ur metric for success and development? big buildings...large economy...little or no unemployment...well what about the flipside..alot of these asian and euro countries are God less and as a result they suffer from many social ills..don't get fooled by the guise of first world living...legalized prostitution, same sex marriages, liberal drug policy, liberal sexuality policies...u name it...are many of the ills of these so called 'developed countries'

Some how I think religion if practiced right would have helped fueled development at a much faster pace.

doc_tec wrote:just merely trying to say that times have changed and maybe as a nation focus should be spent on improving their quality of life for their people and ultimately their people

^^ somehow i tink quite a few of the middle eastern countries are doin a pretty good job w.r.t quality of life and development...after all literacy rates in Iran is much higher than the USA...that alone should say sumthing..

And to Toyota2nr..dude u confused yes...u interact with a few muslims and bam...u paint all ah them with the same brush.

I guess if u go beetham and lime with some of d residents u go bawl all african is murderers and bandits? U can castigate all africans based on what a misguided handful in certain areas do...similarly u can stereotype muslims based on ur negative experience

Oh and btw its not proper for a muslim female to touch a male stranger's hand...doesn't have to be confined to jus non-muslim alone...it includes muslim strangers as well..so ur family get her facts mix up dere

Islam is millitant you say...? Not sure where in d Qu'ran it say act as if a crazy dog bite u and go attack and kill non muslims....but thas jus MY opinion

hmmm word up. one thing though please dont dispute the awesomeness that is liberal drug policy. amsterdam, oaksterdam, cali. ftmfw

Postby Bizzare » February 16th, 2011, 5:29 pm

Just today ah Muslim down south cheten tuh kill meh cuz ah said a prayer in his midst. Swear, no lie.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 16th, 2011, 6:41 pm

To toyota2nr:

I interact with hundreds of muslims..yes hundreds I say. And maybe it's jus those couple hundred I know..but I've never heard any of them advocate violent crime against non muslims

From a statisical point of view ur sample size is quite small...doubt u can really extrapolate a view based on that and truly believe that this hate and malice is demonstrated by muslims

I really wonder what kinda muslims allyuh does meet yes lol

W2J

Postby W2J » February 16th, 2011, 6:51 pm

if if I become a muslim I could do want and not have to worry about the law of the land?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 16th, 2011, 9:09 pm

..... sigh ........ SMH

Postby Bizzare » February 16th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Yunno, Hindus forbid the partaking of cow heal soup.......

W2J

Postby W2J » February 16th, 2011, 9:32 pm

some of them also condone domestic violence I guess most religions are really alike

Postby Bizzare » February 16th, 2011, 9:36 pm

Yea they are.
But how can you forbid Cow Heal Soup? What about the sick and afflicted.......

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 16th, 2011, 9:37 pm

jadakiss wrote:To toyota2nr:

I interact with hundreds of muslims..yes hundreds I say. And maybe it's jus those couple hundred I know..but I've never heard any of them advocate violent crime against non muslims

From a statisical point of view ur sample size is quite small...doubt u can really extrapolate a view based on that and truly believe that this hate and malice is demonstrated by muslims

I really wonder what kinda muslims allyuh does meet yes lol

My friend I am not doubting that you interact with hundreds of muslims but maybe you are too close to some or a lot of muslims to see some of the things that a lot of them do. I suppose everyone's experience is different but I can testify that right now muslims force their religion on others. That is not in doubt.

Postby Bizzare » February 16th, 2011, 9:55 pm

Yea, was forced upon me. Failure to comply can lead to you being hated. I actually use to go to the mosque on Fridays for peace sake. At least that was and hour off from work :|

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 17th, 2011, 5:57 pm

man that vid just took verses out the Quran and used them out of context, in the place where hands are cut off or stoned for commiting adultery he left out the parts that lead to such acts whereby 5 ppl have to testify that they saw said couple doin the hunga hunga. man islam is not religion but a way of life, the Quran could have never been written by even the best scientist, researchers ect combined let alone muhammad (pbuh). there are tings in the Quran that scientist are now discovering and it was there in the Quran 1400 years ago, i suggest that whoever claims to cast judgement on this wonderful way of life that you read the Quran in its entirety, but be mindful that the true essence of it is the original arabic text due to the fact that the english language falls short in translating words of arabic. do some research before casting false accusations

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 17th, 2011, 6:34 pm

so you can read arabic text?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 17th, 2011, 6:35 pm

^^ well said brooo! islam is a way of life!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 17th, 2011, 9:08 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:so you can read arabic text?

for your information yes i can but not at a professional level but i can, i am in the process of taking classes to understand it and hopefully want to learn the language fluently

W2J

Postby W2J » February 17th, 2011, 10:08 pm

turbohead wrote:man that vid just took verses out the Quran and used them out of context, in the place where hands are cut off or stoned for commiting adultery he left out the parts that lead to such acts whereby 5 ppl have to testify that they saw said couple doin the hunga hunga. man islam is not religion but a way of life, the Quran could have never been written by even the best scientist, researchers ect combined let alone muhammad (pbuh). there are tings in the Quran that scientist are now discovering and it was there in the Quran 1400 years ago, i suggest that whoever claims to cast judgement on this wonderful way of life that you read the Quran in its entirety, but be mindful that the true essence of it is the original arabic text due to the fact that the english language falls short in translating words of arabic. do some research before casting false accusations

so who wrote it?

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » February 19th, 2011, 7:03 am

W2J wrote:so who wrote it?

It was revealed to the Prophet throughout his lifetime and penned by his companions.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2011, 7:40 am

we can try to defend islam against the propaganda all we want, what i have observed of those who seem to think that islam is bad is that their encounters of muslims tend to be negative.

just above, some one said that saying prayers garnered negative responses, or the fact that one was not a muslim was enough to be shunned.
this happens all over the world, and the example they see by muslims are negative.
it is yousef islam u said that he would not have become a muslim if he was to encounter the muslims he encounters.

just as this vid, like so many christians use selected phrases out of context designed to denigrate, so to muslim leaders do the same thing to their followers. we get muslims acting un-islamicaly. this act tends to be very violent, hateful, and to the non-muslim who does not know how islam is supposed to be, this is what they see and think it is so the a detracted. in effect, these leaders can be called kafirs because they them selves cover the truth from their followers.

i agree that islam is not just a 'religion'. it is far more encompassing, intricate, intimate and public at the same time. to practice islam as best it could be, every act, thought, even breath must be done with thought of god, through the guidelines of the book.

people do what they want to do, and oft do wrong. if u want to know what is supposed to be done, read it urself, and then get explanation if u need. and don't take what any one tells u, think for ur self if it make sense first.

this vid is misleading, but builds on the misdeeds of muslims ourselves.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 19th, 2011, 9:01 am

just as the vid in the op, they is jus how they use their bible, they are selective in what they want to believe and believe in some parts of the bible and say the rest in not necessary ie not important they will get a bly, however in islam it doesnt work like dat is either your in or your out, no-one is perfect but use the Quran and the sunnah to keep in track.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 19th, 2011, 9:02 am

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 14th, 2011, 5:20 pm

So dem takin the law in dey own hands den..?