Sponsor a child a meal.....Rip off?? or Legit??

toyota2nr

Re: Sponsor a child a meal.....Rip off?? or Legit??

Postby toyota2nr » January 3rd, 2011, 10:13 am

Nigson wrote:On this note have you all experienced the kids selling sticker books in price plaza.......Their dead beat father does be there sending them out to beg and collecting the money after to buy cigarettes.......

Those kids living in Endeavour on line. I know them well they always doing that. My mother used to sponsor them lunch for a couple christmas and after a while they start to show up by our gate regularly begging for charity. My father run them one day.

But their father is a real slacker, he does send them out to beg while he out liming and drinking. Is a real shame though.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 3rd, 2011, 10:34 am

put the stickers on the slyphy i mean the almera

Postby K74T » January 3rd, 2011, 10:39 am

pioneer wrote:good thing i never bought no damn sticker book

de hell i goin to do with a sticker book? :?

give it tuh Khemraj son :|

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2011, 10:39 am

Allyuh sponsor a 2nr nah? Ah hungreeeeee!

Postby gt4tified » January 3rd, 2011, 1:10 pm

rollingstock wrote:Allyuh sponsor a 2nr nah? Ah hungreeeeee!

By the looks of your Avatar, yeah I'd definitely say so! :lol:

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2011, 1:24 pm

Man come on i haven't had a fix in a while.

Which you rather? A man take your money buy drugs or rum or help out a poor starving child in a South American country. I only act as a conduit to get the money to the deserving mother's out there.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » January 3rd, 2011, 1:42 pm

Rocketraz1982 wrote:Sadly mate almost all charity these days are run just like a business 2% to a good cause 98% to back pocket... I aint giving a penny, doller, cent, euro to anyone.. I am more than happy though to give free time (And I have) to help other less fortunate but not to line someone else's pocket....

thats why I ask fpr clothes etc, I dont ask for money cuz ppl will wanna know how there money is spent, so to avoid all this, I just collect clothes,foodstuff etc, and distribute to ppl who I sure need it.

Postby RBphoto » January 3rd, 2011, 2:12 pm

Sadly, there are a lot of charity scams in T&T .....that I can attest to. I give almost any of them who ask me a $5.00 at least. I agree with rocket that giving of your time is 100% more effective, but the fact of the matter is that charities need the denero. I know a lot of people who want to donate 'Things' such as toys for Christmas, snacks for children etc. so they can "see where de money gone" Many of the more well run orphanages will say no, becuse you are interfereing with their upbringing of the child, and when people make a big jesture to ease their concience, they don't give anything meaningful ever again. Charities have people who are full time employees, electricity bills, water bills, television bills, internet bills, telephone bills and rent to be paid.

The best way to give to the soliciters, avoid scams and get more involved with charity is to find out who they are working for, and say you want to give directly to the head office. They should have no problem with this if they are legit.

For the people asking for operation etc, give at your own risk, as even the legit ones could be be fake. Many fakes start collections for popular cases like baby Hannah, never to be heard from again.

For people asking for a lil help, I direct them to social services and cepep.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 20th, 2011, 2:12 pm

havent seen them on the prowl as yet......this year.....hope someone caught up with them and the scam

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 20th, 2011, 2:26 pm

Standard Operating Procedure is always NO!

I looking to help out a family instead like my parents used to. At least you see the benefits of your goodwill and there is no administrative costs, they get everything you give them directly; clothes, books, appliances, whatever it may be.

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2011, 2:32 pm

Today a man come...he say he working with the rienzi office, he show me a OLDDD laminated document with something about hiv/aids donations from 2003....

so i say "u from reinzi?"
he say "yeahh u know where panday does be na"

he had a old clipboard, and a few tattered sheets of paper with figures written down on it like $10, $20, $5, $1 dollar

anyway..he picking up donations from businesses in the area for hiv/aids children, panday office send him (thats today eh)

i tell him it looking like a scam, he say okay thanks and he gone.

have a nex one doz swing by every now and then, he neice dying for the last 15 years.

TK!

Postby TK! » January 20th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Nigson wrote:Also a muslim lady in Hijab working for LIGHTHOUSE MINISTRIES??????

Hard to believe...!!!!

yup. true.

edit... true.. they are there, and do ask for money and it's for a christian organisation. i cannot say if the cause is real.