Re: Expect a DEFICIT Budget...2010

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 2:50 pm

RASC wrote:
noobie wrote:
RASC wrote:
The excuses keep on coming. Do you plan to use that for the remaining 5 years?
The gov't is running a deficit due to the fact that they have not created any avenues for income generation nor diversification of the account either.

PNM ran a deficit budget.
True. It was conceptualized as a surplus however. It was WAYYYY too close, thus it easily turned into a deficit. Poor miscalculations on their part. What this gov't is planning to do is start us off in the red and by some grace of god get us into the black.

LOL...Poppycock...:lol:

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 2:52 pm

noobie

Postby noobie » August 22nd, 2010, 2:53 pm

RASC wrote:True. It was conceptualized as a surplus however. It was WAYYYY too close, thus it easily turned into a deficit. Poor miscalculations on their part. What this gov't is planning to do is start us off in the red and by some grace of god get us into the black.

So you're admitting that the PNM screwed up in their previous budget.

But your issue is wondering what the present Government is going to do now that we are in this mess. Fair enough.

[color=#FF0000]Then they should fix it. Because every other surplus budget(which eventually turned into a deficit) has been met by another surplus plan the following year under PNM's tenure.

I beg to differ when one considers over 40 years of PNM rule.
You seem to be limiting your statements to the period of time during which :

A) Oil was at an all time high
B) The world financial markets were soaring and experiencing a bubble.

They found ways to absolve the run over (in this case 7 billion) and plans for more generation of income.

See above. A total jackass could see a country float through a period when Credit seems free, oil is skyrocketing and real estate investments are generating enough return to be flipped twice. The test comes in whether or not that Government could anticipate a decline, invest the money made, and be prepared for whatever lean times may come.

It exudes a certain amount of confidence in the business community and shows that the gov't is committed to continued growth.

The business community had no confidence in what was happening.
They voted too.

[color=#FF0000]Stupidly. One was not their fault:PNM did not campaign/address the property tax properly, the other was through their own ignorance...no smelter through some foolish thought that the environment would be at stake.

There has not been a single Smelter in the WORLD that did not have a disastrous effect on the environment around it.

NOT A SINGLE ONE.

Now you may believe that ALCOA was going to create the first ever Clean, Environmentally Friendly and Sustainable smelter in Trinidad and Tobago. You might believe that this one was going to be 'Different'.

But I don't.

And I didn't need any environmentalists to tell me that either.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 2:55 pm

pinks wrote:man tryin tuh BS he way out yes...RASC yuh initial question was "when was the last time we ran into financial deficit..if yuh did read yuh wuda get yuh answer an it was last year..wats d point yuh realy trying tuh prove :?:

I never said that.!!!!!!!

I said "when was the last time we had a deficit budget" NOT "when was the last time we ran into financial deficit"

:? Totally different.

We haven't had one for almost a decade.

I don't understand why Dooks doesn't just incorporate the debt into the budget and turn it into a surplus. Deficit budgets have their place, and now is NOT the time nor place to run one.

I would much rather have them run a surplus and overrun it into a deficit than play political niceties and say "well everything gone to hell so we cyar run no surplus" BS. Crunch the numbers again and make it happen. It's the only way to psychologically spur the nation forward. You run a deficit budget now and all it's gonna do is sway investors AWAY.

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2010, 2:58 pm

one of the most epic self pwnt thread.

:) :)

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 2:59 pm

Ok so I'm the bad guy here. Obviously. I say Dooks should run a surplus budget as a way of spurring confidence and foreign investors into entering the country.

You guys are saying NO...

But WHY...I want to know why you think Dooks should run a deficit budget for the upcoming year???

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 2:59 pm

DFC wrote:one of the most epic self pwnt thread.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 3:00 pm

DFC wrote:one of the most epic self pwnt thread.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 3:02 pm

RASC wrote:Ok so I'm the bad guy here. Obviously. I say Dooks should run a surplus budget as a way of spurring confidence and foreign investors into entering the country.

But WHY...I want to know why you think Dooks should run a deficit budget for the upcoming year???

LOL...Buh breds...yuh changing the question...again... :lol:

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 3:06 pm

hydroep wrote:
RASC wrote:Ok so I'm the bad guy here. Obviously. I say Dooks should run a surplus budget as a way of spurring confidence and foreign investors into entering the country.

It fits my initial question perfectly actually. It's not my fault you completely didn't understand it. So for those who actually know what I'm saying please feel free to chime in.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 3:10 pm

RASC wrote:
hydroep wrote:

It fits my initial question perfectly actually. It's not my fault you completely didn't understand it. So for those who actually know what I'm saying please feel free to chime in.

LOL...Borse seriously, yuh really think any of these attempts at deflection making yourself look like any less of an arse?...:lol:

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 3:10 pm

hydroep wrote:

d man so embarrassed he get confused!!!

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 3:12 pm

UML wrote:
hydroep wrote:

d man so embarrassed he get confused!!!

LOL...Boi hear nuh, desperation is a hell of a thing yunno...:lol:

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 3:14 pm

noobie

Postby noobie » August 22nd, 2010, 3:21 pm

The serious underlying issue in all of this is that our Economy is not in fantastic shape.

Everyone seems to realise that Government needs to do something to balance our budget. The efforts to balance the budget are most likely going to be measures that we would rather not see happen.

The two which people are most afraid of are an increase in taxes, or a devaluation of the dollar.

I don't think that we've really started to experience the hard times that are a result of squandermania and the massive international economic downturn yet. We could be very optimistic and think that it will all pass us by...but the concern and gloomy analysis comes from the Central Bank and economists, all the way to the perhaps unsophisticated observations of the man in the street.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 22nd, 2010, 3:22 pm

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 3:29 pm

Since you guys can't answer the question, due to your retardedness...and the person here who understood me here is being silent and laughing on MSN*coughpetecough* :lol: I will say this.

This is what Dooks is gonna do. He's gonna use the dept incurred by the previous administrations squandering as an EXCUSE to run a deficit budget in the upcoming year. It's all political, because he himself knows as an economist that he should run a SURPLUS budget to close the inflationary gap, absolve the debt, and spur confidence in the nation.

We haven't conceptualized a deficit budget in eons, sure there may have been overruns but the positive nature of the surplus budget spurred alot of enthusiasm in international and local investors alike.

I can almost guarantee this is what he plans to do. It's all of the sake of making the PNM look bad(which isn't hard to do given what they did with the last surplus budget...i.e. over shooting it and going into the red). The only possible reasoning behind this is to help unemployment by creating more jobs through large scale construction projects..WHICH THEY ARE NOT GOING TO DO!

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 3:32 pm

noobie wrote:The serious underlying issue in all of this is that our Economy is not in fantastic shape.

Everyone seems to realise that Government needs to do something to balance our budget. The efforts to balance the budget are most likely going to be measures that we would rather not see happen.

The two which people are most afraid of are an increase in taxes, or a devaluation of the dollar.

I don't think that we've really started to experience the hard times that are a result of squandermania and the massive international economic downturn yet. We could be very optimistic and think that it will all pass us by...but the concern and gloomy analysis comes from the Central Bank and economists, all the way to the perhaps unsophisticated observations of the man in the street.

So why hype up the debt? Why not show an air of confidence and say "despite the dept we have plans to run a surplus, absorb all those debts and push on with our development"

Instead you have Dooks to reports hyping up the debt and creating an air of doom and gloom in the coming months :? You see because its all political and NOT for the good will of the country. If Dooks had country first he wouldn't even hype the debt in such a manner, but assure the media that he had a plan to incorporate it into an upcoming surplus budget.

If he had done that, it'd be a totally different story right now. Why? Investors looking for new ventures, would perk up, they'd be like..."hmmm Trinidad is STILL making profits despite the slow global recovery...sounds like a great place to be" Instead we have Dook on record talking about the debt in a negative light. How is that gonna help ANYONE?
Last edited by RASC on August 22nd, 2010, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 3:34 pm

RASC wrote:Since you guys can't answer the question, due to your retardedness...and the person here who understood me here is being silent and laughing on MSN*coughpetecough* :lol: I will say this.

This is what Dooks is gonna do. He's gonna use the dept incurred by the previous administrations squandering as an EXCUSE to run a deficit budget in the upcoming year. It's all political, because he himself knows as an economist that he should run a SURPLUS budget to close the inflationary gap, absolve the debt, and spur confidence in the nation.

We haven't conceptualized a deficit budget in eons, sure there may have been overruns but the positive nature of the surplus budget spurred alot of enthusiasm in international and local investors alike.

I can almost guarantee this is what he plans to do. It's all of the sake of making the PNM look bad(which isn't hard to do given what they did with the last surplus budget...i.e. over shooting it and going into the red). The only possible reasoning behind this is to help unemployment by creating more jobs through large scale construction projects..WHICH THEY ARE NOT GOING TO DO!

LOL...O.K. RASC run along and play with your imaginary friend now...:lol:

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 3:38 pm

birds of a feather :roll:

noobie

Postby noobie » August 22nd, 2010, 3:53 pm

RASC wrote:Investors looking for new ventures, would perk up, they'd be like..."hmmm Trinidad is STILL making profits despite the slow global recovery...sounds like a great place to be"

do YOU know that to be true?

Because I know everyone has had enough of Ministers outright lying , or obfuscating the truth while in office.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 3:56 pm

noobie wrote:
RASC wrote:Investors looking for new ventures, would perk up, they'd be like..."hmmm Trinidad is STILL making profits despite the slow global recovery...sounds like a great place to be"

Because I know everyone has had enough of Ministers outright lying , or obfuscating the truth while in office.

Technically he won't be lying. He'll just be covering it for the sake of the greater good. If he were to acknowledge it, then announce plans to tackle it, plus make a surplus budget then THAT would be great news-especially in this type of upswing market.

What he's doing instead is playing politics.

"Yuh see wham dere, 7 Billion...yuh see what they do to allyuh I hadda come now and run deficit budget-I cyar do nuttin more, my hands tied"

That's basically what he's doing. He should be working on a plan to absorb the debt, AND still run a surplus budget. It was done before it can be done again! He's taking the easy way out.
Last edited by RASC on August 22nd, 2010, 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Cjruckus » August 22nd, 2010, 3:59 pm

noobie wrote:

like saying $3,000 pension at 60 with no restriction, Wallerfield by the end of June, Not moving into the palace, significantly reducing crime within the first 60 days of office.

Yes lies to get into office indeed.
You really expect me to believe the people who made me vote on this nonsense?

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2010, 3:59 pm

RASC CONGRATS BUDDY

Postby Damien » August 22nd, 2010, 4:04 pm

licks like peas yes lol

Postby Cjruckus » August 22nd, 2010, 4:05 pm

RASC wrote:
Expect 2010 budget deficit
Finance Minister Winston Dookeran says he expects a deficit in the upcoming 2010-2011 budget, the date of which he’s keeping close to his chest. “I think there will be (a deficit)... but not as large as we first anticipated.” Last year’s budget, Dookeran said, was approximately $45 billion. Last year’s deficit was $7.7 billion. “I am hoping we could at least get there as well,” was Dookeran’s response when probed about this year’s budget package. “We are still working on it. We will explain everything when the budget is read.”

When was the last time we had a deficit budget people? Not entirely sure...Anyone?

We've heard all this before:

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 4:06 pm

To show you how stupid this gov't is. They know there's a debt, instead of inspiring the people to get to work, fix the petrotrin issue, spur more foreign investment, spur more LOCAL investment...to not only fix the debt, but make even MORE money...they move in the opposite direction...fling up their collective arms and say : "Yuh see thas all we could do cause PNM amke it so bad"

Foolishness.

EVERY SINGLE YEAR after the surplus budget over ran its course in the last decade...the gov't found a way to conceptualize ANOTHER surplus and absorb the prior debt. We saw record breaking levels of growth as a result.

They are gonna now use the debt as an excuse, throw up their hands, say they cyar do nuttin more, blame the PNM and within this deficit budget not even TRY to get the country out of the hole. Mark my words expect an even slower economy than you guys have ever experienced.

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2010, 4:08 pm

RASC i really think you deserved it.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 4:10 pm

Dooks FAIL as a finance minister already. I'm seeing it. He KNOWS it's foolishness that he's doing by hyping up that debt talk and eluding to a deficit budget...that's only gonna make things WORSE. He knows this, but he's not gonna speak the truth cause he's been given his orders.

Postby Damien » August 22nd, 2010, 4:13 pm

RASC wrote:Dooks FAIL as a finance minister already. I'm seeing it. He KNOWS it's foolishness that he's doing by hyping up that debt talk and eluding to a deficit budget...that's only gonna make things WORSE. He knows this, but he's not gonna speak the truth cause he's been given his orders.