Opening a go-kart/dex/drift track in trinidad? your views

Re: Opening a go-kart/dex/drift track in trinidad? your view

Postby Rooki3 » September 11th, 2010, 7:11 pm

i stand by my statement, don't have to be a racer to know that, just a realist, i'm not sayin a FEW wouldn't put, BTW having someone pay 1000 for a yr to race on a well track is not wise, esp from a commercial stand point, that is way too cheap!!!!

this track could be build easy, jus motgage the land, bank would be more than happy to give you the money!!!

LEEding-Edge28

Postby LEEding-Edge28 » September 11th, 2010, 7:45 pm

the problem is to many people are looking at this as hobby. asking people to put up $ here n there is not gonna cut it unfortunately. It will be too many cooks in one pot. No offense to the guy who started this topic, i actually support what he is trying to do, but im not gonna give him my money just going off of an idea that he has. Again im not bringing this person down. But people who like movies didnt go and put in $1,000 to the guy who built movietown before any prints were even drawn up. People need to look at this as a business. You secure the land and your financial investors and build it. Once it is up you will make back your money (like a business). You sell corners and walls to companies like billboards. You cant expect everyone who has a kart or bike or dex car to just start pitching in money. And it is not as simple as its my land and i can build what i want otherwise the fella who was building a track in tobago would have never been shutdown

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 12th, 2010, 11:53 am

TK! wrote:2" asphalt alone will not stand up long to cars.

roads are usually paved like this locally:
- fill - overburnden (sand/dirt filler)
- foundation 1 - pitchron (gravel/dirt)
- foundation 2 - limestone (aka bluemetal)
- asphalt - 4inches to 6 inches

somehow these roads do not stand up very well. i would investigate concrete then a think 1" or 2" layer of concrete. it's a heck of a lot easier to patch a road like this yourself.

I always thought about concrete.. Would the price differ by much ?? If you could find out for me lemme know..
The knowledge never stops .. I learnt a lot since I posted this topic.. There were so much variables it wasn't funny.. Now its just to do it.. I really hope i get through with this..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 12th, 2010, 12:37 pm

LEEding-Edge28 wrote:well seems like you have everything going for you but im sure ur gonna spend a lot more than u think especially on paving. When the karting club looked at adding a 3" layer to ARC (jus the circuit layout, not the entire parking lot) the cost was over $1,000,000 ttd. I used to work at a track in miami when i was in school and will highly recommend buying a fleet of specific rental chassis from a well established kart company such as birel. we had chassis from kart mini out of brazil and they lasted a hell of a long time. most of ur clients will be 1st time karters and WILL crash heavily, even the experienced karters will crash and bounce each other. We had 5hp honda engines that required simple maintenence and started 95% of the time. You should have at least 15 karts ready to run but only run 10 at a time and you get tyres specific for rentals, those will also last a long time. You dont want the rental karts doing over 35 mph because again, there will be inexperienced drivers. dont worry about rain tyres, for safety reasons dont run the rentals while it is raining. putting drifting on the same track will be difficult because it tears up the surface and makes it very bumpy for the karts. the moto x is good but be careful not to let the trail join the circuit where karts will be passing. consession and food and all that is a great idea but focus more on the track for now. all this is a great idea but im sure there is a lot more to it then i touched on. the part that scares me is if it is sounding so easy why hasn't some other businessman invested money into it, especially seeing that there is nothing else like it in tnt its more reason for someone to do it

good points.......
but i've noticed that the 3 main things you pointed out happens at Adam's i.e. drifting, dirt section for supermoto racing enters and exits on the track(check the vids i posted earlier), and the track is definitely less than 30' wide at most points...........

to the OP: adam's has good management, hence they run a kart school, drifting bike-racing etc ........so the track has to be properly maintained to enable all aspects to enjoy the track...........you should look at maintenance of that track as well........the long run costs should not be neglected.............

atlas1

Postby atlas1 » September 26th, 2010, 2:55 pm

anyone knows where I can get a go kart frame for sale? Also how much.

LEEding-Edge28

Postby LEEding-Edge28 » September 26th, 2010, 3:29 pm

u want to race or do u want for fun?

atlas1

Postby atlas1 » September 26th, 2010, 3:41 pm

for my engineering project, you can say for fun.

Postby Rooki3 » September 26th, 2010, 4:19 pm

LEEding-Edge28 wrote:the fella who was building a track in tobago would have never been shutdown

umm whut??? :|

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 27th, 2010, 12:37 am

Bezman wrote:
well any karting track with a straight longer than 1500 meters is considered a track suitable for shifter kart racing.. one acre is about ~4000sq/m so 2 acres would be more than enough once you configure the track to suit the land.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kart_circuits

patna when I read this i got totally confused, its a good thing I read your reference :roll:

Postby pete » September 27th, 2010, 6:08 am

I think he meant 150

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 27th, 2010, 1:24 pm

No what he meant to say was an Overall track length of 1500m

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 28th, 2010, 9:47 am

I think so too ^^^ ..
im barely on tuner these days .. but i am still working on this to make it a reality... i made a little progress with designs and relevant quotes etc.. i wish i could do this now.. but i have to take my time...

nes123

Postby nes123 » August 14th, 2011, 3:23 pm

Any Update on this?

Postby Country_Bookie » November 6th, 2015, 2:48 pm

4 year bump!
How's it goink?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 1st, 2016, 4:26 pm

Is there any place where u can go and pay and race ???

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 1st, 2016, 4:30 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:Is there any place where u can go and pay and race ???

Saturday and Sunday in the Eddie Hart Savannah car park, people rent out karts for various age groups. I think for adults it's $75 for 5 laps around the track and $140 for 10 laps.

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2016, 4:51 pm

Ent have some so in Siparia I think?

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2016, 5:05 pm

Yeah by Daisy Voisin Hub, hosted by Evolution Go Karting Club.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 2nd, 2016, 5:40 pm

thanks guys! :D i gotta get some fun this year =D