Container Apartments - UWI

Re: Container Apartments - UWI

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 6th, 2010, 10:50 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Allyuh talking out allyuh asses..
This is how it goes in Curepe/St. Augustine area for Rental Properties.
Rooms - no a/c, furnished, toilet and bath in room, shared kitchen starts at $1600
Studio - A/c, Furnished, cable starts at $2500
(studio apts don't come any less because they come with full ammenities)
1 Bdrm Apt - No a/c, unfurnished, no cable starts at $2000
1 Bdrm Apt - a/c, semi-furnisehed, cable starts at $2500
(there are some landlords whole will want to charge an arm and leg because they have tiled floors or they have a piper that does "stand guard in the night", but it generally starts at $2500)
2 Bdrm Apt - no a/c, unfurnished, no cable starts at $2500
2 Bdrm Apt - a/c, furnished, cable, internet and security go sell yuh kidney..

These do get higher depending on how close to UWI they are.

Sounds about right.

Postby teems1 » July 6th, 2010, 11:37 am

my bro has a 1 bedroom studio, no ac, no cable, furnished, tiled. could literally roll to uwi south gate cuz it so close...

$1450 per month

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2010, 11:43 am

those rates include ttec ?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 6th, 2010, 3:49 pm

Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:hmm imagine how loud a uwi beat out go sound echoin in there

UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH!

YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH!

Something like that I suppose. Not too pleasant for the other tenants.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 6th, 2010, 5:48 pm

Couple unveils container apartments
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/97827729.html

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2010, 7:23 pm

tunupuna regional honcho shut them down
later the same person advises people to vote for pnm in local elections.........

kevcam

Postby kevcam » July 6th, 2010, 7:24 pm

Just heard on the news that they getting shut down. No T&C approval.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2010, 7:24 pm

Solution to housing shortage....

Lol...........

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 6th, 2010, 8:29 pm

pioneer wrote:excellent...indian time tuh eatta food

um. the husband is white.... fail :lol:

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 6th, 2010, 8:30 pm

kevcam wrote:Just heard on the news that they getting shut down. No T&C approval.

that good for them foreign mc. hear them annoying accent nah ^^^

Postby SR » July 6th, 2010, 8:31 pm

pugboy wrote:tunupuna regional honcho shut them down
later the same person advises people to vote for pnm in local elections.........

other than the town and country approval i feel there is more to it for shutting them down and telling them they have to break down the structure or they will take neccesary measures

when last the tunapuna regional corporation check on the buildings south of the eastern main road from hi lo st augustine heading east

see if any of them have any approval from town and country or evn own the land between the main rd and the bus route

Postby SR » July 6th, 2010, 8:47 pm

yet they target the couple because they found an easier affordable way to construct apartments
while yes they do need town and country approval why make them destroy the structure but instead request to stop further development until they have approval as its obvious they do have proper plans on thier project

i think its a good idea and dont see any issues for development once building and safety codes of this country are followed ( we all know this aint much anyway)

Postby SR » July 6th, 2010, 8:48 pm

besides it looks much stronger and reliable than an HDC house built with styrotex mixed into the concrete as filler

Postby noshownogo » July 6th, 2010, 8:58 pm

I think a certain segment of the business community a bit upset that they can't capitalize or lay claim to the idea...

I agree that it should be T&C approved but breaking it down and then seeking approval seems a bit counterproductive at this point.

Postby SR » July 6th, 2010, 9:12 pm

but what about docs engineering option isnt it similar

Postby UML » July 6th, 2010, 9:29 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
UML wrote:
eliteauto wrote:ppl who talking about the price, what is the current cost of off-campus accommodation in that area?

for that price you getting a bess apartment....the most expensive apartment is less than $3000

the most expensive apartment is around $10,000.

hole in the ground apartments are $1200-$1500(no aircondition,shared facilities)

Nice apartments are $3000 and up

where u renting Holiday Express?!!! :shock:

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Allyuh talking out allyuh asses..
This is how it goes in Curepe/St. Augustine area for Rental Properties.
Rooms - no a/c, furnished, toilet and bath in room, shared kitchen starts at $1600
Studio - A/c, Furnished, cable starts at $2500
(studio apts don't come any less because they come with full ammenities)
1 Bdrm Apt - No a/c, unfurnished, no cable starts at $2000
1 Bdrm Apt - a/c, semi-furnisehed, cable starts at $2500
(there are some landlords whole will want to charge an arm and leg because they have tiled floors or they have a piper that does "stand guard in the night", but it generally starts at $2500)
2 Bdrm Apt - no a/c, unfurnished, no cable starts at $2500
2 Bdrm Apt - a/c, furnished, cable, internet and security go sell yuh kidney..

These do get higher depending on how close to UWI they are.

UML wrote:
eliteauto wrote:ppl who talking about the price, what is the current cost of off-campus accommodation in that area?

for that price you getting a bess apartment....the most expensive apartment is less than $3000

sooooooo i was right then?????? :?

d spike

Postby d spike » July 6th, 2010, 10:36 pm

If they will have to demolish their structure (I hope they don't, and instead get approval to complete - I think it's a great idea) I wonder how much they will be selling each container for...
How much for one of those, anyway?

Postby foss » July 6th, 2010, 10:58 pm

d spike wrote:If they will have to demolish their structure (I hope they don't, and instead get approval to complete - I think it's a great idea) I wonder how much they will be selling each container for...
How much for one of those, anyway?

containers are pretty expensive.. 20grand + (i think)
yet it have 100's in point lisas rotting away :?

Postby wagonrunner » July 6th, 2010, 11:40 pm

accurate enough on both counts.

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2010, 1:27 am

$11,000 for a 20 ft container if you buy it from a shipping company that has brought down goods for you in said container.

I saw someone selling 20 ft containers for $11,000 in express classifieds also

xtech

Postby xtech » July 7th, 2010, 4:53 am

I think he might really paid $20,000 for each one, he was begging the shipping companies to sell him top condition recently built units in use units from 2005 an up not retiring units from the 90's.
Top units calls for top price. $10k-$12k for 10 years an older. Also when stationary in our humid climate the steel would not last long an would rust out in about 10 years. My oldest office units look like sheit an you can punch holes though it with your spit. But i guess after 10 years each small apartment would have made him $360,000.

I sure the reason why he did not try to get town an country approval is because this falls under temporary structure so he try a smart man thing on we system. But it is so obvious he not taking it down or moving it any time soon. So he needs to submit everything just like a regular building. But don't worry he just have to pass a little money under the table to get it passed when the story out of the news.

I also don't like his foundation he should have spent his money on a floor slab of 3500psi concrete which bolts the container to keep it down at each corner, one earthquake an it would hop of those legs or crush it under it fully loaded weight.

Aye you know you cant steal your neighbor WIFI from inside these things.

:shock: :shock:
The horror!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 7th, 2010, 5:59 am

xtech wrote:I think he might really paid $20,000 for each one, he was begging the shipping companies to sell him top condition recently built units in use units from 2005 an up not retiring units from the 90's.
Top units calls for top price. $10k-$12k for 10 years an older. Also when stationary in our humid climate the steel would not last long an would rust out in about 10 years. My oldest office units look like sheit an you can punch holes though it with your spit. But i guess after 10 years each small apartment would have made him $360,000.

I sure the reason why he did not try to get town an country approval is because this falls under temporary structure so he try a smart man thing on we system. But it is so obvious he not taking it down or moving it any time soon. So he needs to submit everything just like a regular building. But don't worry he just have to pass a little money under the table to get it passed when the story out of the news.

I also don't like his foundation he should have spent his money on a floor slab of 3500psi concrete which bolts the container to keep it down at each corner, one earthquake an it would hop of those legs or crush it under it fully loaded weight.

Aye you know you cant steal your neighbor WIFI from inside these things.

:shock: :shock:
The horror!!

Is the foundation really what it looks like? some concrete blocks?

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2010, 10:14 am

but they are temporary structures, just need a hiab/crane to move it at anytime.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » July 7th, 2010, 1:08 pm

pugboy wrote:those rates include ttec ?

You will mostly find the apts without a/c the Electricity is included in your rent.
The apts with a/c most of the times make you pay your own electricity.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 7th, 2010, 1:54 pm

but this time its a necessity more than a convenience like in the licensing office

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 7th, 2010, 6:56 pm

well, i see dey stop construction and they hav ppl checkin out the entire contruction daily...

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » July 8th, 2010, 7:24 am

Some people real dotish yuh know , it have government offices in those things, offshore accomadation, job site offices ,hurrycane proff for sure and i am 100% sure stronger than them government houses.
So fools leave your comment for the toilet and that is if yuh have one.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2010, 7:41 am

Correct, if oil companies with their OSHA rules could pass them for use
then who is town and country

07baracuda wrote:Some people real dotish yuh know , it have government offices in those things, offshore accomadation, job site offices ,hurrycane proff for sure and i am 100% sure stronger than them government houses.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 8th, 2010, 11:02 am

07baracuda wrote:Some people real dotish yuh know , it have government offices in those things, offshore accomadation, job site offices ,hurrycane proff for sure and i am 100% sure stronger than them government houses.

Your spelling should go in the toilet.

But yes, container caravans are used in industry with no concerns/riots/calling-for-someone's-head on the issue.

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » July 9th, 2010, 12:46 am

hmm I've looked at some cool home designs done with containers online this week..and at this point..I thinking that this may be a good option to look at for someone that young and just building up themselves.
right now i seriously thinking of getting a lot of land to build a house out of 4 or 6 containers