mitch wrote:devrat wrote:mitch wrote:could someone kindly remind me of what the PNM's crime plan was?
thanks.
Steal as much as possible and try not to get caught
ah ok.
thought it was "Operation: Remove Tint"
pioneer wrote:doc123 wrote:Cjruckus wrote:Give them time. They aren't seasoned politicians like the pnm. Just a bunch of jokers.
Ok then....how did the pnm politicians become seasoned? were they born so? or did they not rule in this country for around 40 years and still have everything from the police to healthcare to utilities to basic public service so dysfunctional after all their experience?
Why are you inisinuating that only pnm has the right to govern or "become seasoned" at the expense of our country?
After all you witnessed in terms of Crime and Calder hart...those two issues alone for that matter, you stiull say you support the pnm....not even abstain or vote against them till they cleaned up their act? you and even rowley for that matter stain your finger in support of Manning. Imbert and all their dictatorial tendencies fully well knowing that the PNM is impotent to change Manning as leader with the present NO one man one vote internal system?
You all just show that pnm and its' agendas are more important to you than your country. A party in power for so long...with 2 oil booms and this country not developed as yet..roads, water, basic healthcare, food security and police protection and people like you still support that party? it doesn't make sense at all except fanaticism.
Where's the "120 day crime plan"?
Or ministers and their kids still on shopping sprees with state funds?
pioneer wrote:*lagoon crapaud whistling*
Sky wrote:pioneer wrote:*lagoon crapaud whistling*
POOOONKANATT!!!
ken swaratsingh- used to be a preacher, joined the pnm and all of a sudden has a $6mil house, 2 suvs each worth over half million off $33k a month salary? right, now that is seasoning.
pioneer wrote:I guess it better for Runwidwemoneysingh to go river with 50k in he pocket (how all da fit?) an bawl tha money lorse cuz bandit hold dem up
eliteauto wrote:ken swaratsingh- used to be a preacher, joined the pnm and all of a sudden has a $6mil house, 2 suvs each worth over half million off $33k a month salary? right, now that is seasoning.
if you can't achieve that off that salary and your MP perks re taxes and loans well than you're just sh!tty..don't hate or tote
eliteauto wrote:ken swaratsingh- used to be a preacher, joined the pnm and all of a sudden has a $6mil house, 2 suvs each worth over half million off $33k a month salary? right, now that is seasoning.
if you can't achieve that off that salary and your MP perks re taxes and loans well than you're just sh!tty..don't hate or tote
crash dummy wrote:rollingstock wrote:Cjruckus u's a kant or wha? What kind of idiotic statement is that!
Brazil ftw
Oh plz a set of mickey mouse teams they playing and beating up. They have yet to face a formidable opponent in this WC.
Argentina/Spain FTW!!!!
AllTrac wrote:i dont care about cleanups, i dont care about jack warner and his pearl necklace, i dont care about singing Bryan Adams songs for the PM, i want the crime plan initiated now, even if its not ready at least update the public on its progress, show us and the criminals you have balls of steel and you going to take them head on, strike some fear into these animals. I want to see improvement works undergoing in the health sector. I understand the new CoP is to take up office in September, is that when the UNCOP plans to roll out their crime plan? Then how long for him to get settled in before he actually takes action. I need to see some REAL governing. Thats what i voted for. The PM has been in opposition too long to act as if she needs noob time to learn the ropes. She knows the links, she knows who is behind what, she knows the coverups. This is not a new party, all the politicians have warmed those chairs in parliament for years.
nismoid wrote:^^ so howcome he didnt have any of the luxuries back then?
the salary of the HR manager for HILO is $25k before taxes, the maths still dont add up,
and a catholic priest? even worse, arent priests supposed to be people of the 'cloth'?
eliteauto wrote:whist many of you wish to castigate CJ, Pios and RASC, exactly how long is the "well PNM was dey" excuse gonna last? Apparently some members of Parliament (like the AG) still think they are in opposition or are simply not aware that they are in Gov't and thus are responsible for getting the job done. After an overwhelming landslide at the polls the new Prime Minister stated there would be no honeymoon period yet stiil I have seen no decisive action being done to address pressing issues of crime, inflation(which has risen since the PP's tenure) etc. granted I expect there will be reviews and Ministers must be brought up to speed so they can begin working but almost all State enterprises are operating without boards.
It appears the PP were the least prepared to win so now they are shell shocked, wake up ppl there is no more "blame PNM" excuses it's PP time now and the onus rests squarely on their shoulders.
PPl voted for change not exchange
i dont care about cleanups, i dont care about jack warner and his pearl necklace, i dont care about singing Bryan Adams songs for the PM, i want the crime plan initiated now, even if its not ready at least update the public on its progress, show us and the criminals you have balls of steel and you going to take them head on, strike some fear into these animals. I want to see improvement works undergoing in the health sector. I understand the new CoP is to take up office in September, is that when the UNCOP plans to roll out their crime plan? Then how long for him to get settled in before he actually takes action. I need to see some REAL governing. Thats what i voted for. The PM has been in opposition too long to act as if she needs noob time to learn the ropes. She knows the links, she knows who is behind what, she knows the coverups. This is not a new party, all the politicians have warmed those chairs in parliament for years.
as far as policies being implemented, i think uncop is focusing on local elections coming up before starting to do major things, i remember hearing kamla saying she wanted the ppl to be represented before laws started being passed...
Bezman wrote:in short Kamla (uncop) did us all a HUGE favor by getting rid of manning and panday and bringing in new faces on both sides..
as far as policies being implemented, i think uncop is focusing on local elections coming up before starting to do major things, i remember hearing kamla saying she wanted the ppl to be represented before laws started being passed...
Jason45 wrote:Bezman wrote:in short Kamla (uncop) did us all a HUGE favor by getting rid of manning and panday and bringing in new faces on both sides..
So we will have to wait until local government elections done to see some action being done about crime,food prices and inflation and other key issues I know RASC does over do it sometimes butPNM is no more,PP have a majority,the people voted for change,while they sit and plan their strategy food prices rising,crime rising and inflation rising is that the meaning for "we will rise".For years KamJack sat in opposition waiting for a moment like May 24th to make a difference and finally they got what they wanted.Pathos say he wanted to ketch dem with their pants down,but apparently he really did,cause they won, got into office and like they dont have a clue what is going on or where to start.
So for all the years they sat in opposition they didnt have a plan for PNM's dotishness.What about all the plans in campaign,its looks like they just wrote something on a piece of paper and dont know how d hell to start to implement it.The minister of education want to buy 17000 laptops for all SEA children,which i personally think is madness.17000 laptops for children = 17000 new facebook accounts and dont even start with porn,we all know we were all children and like to experiment.Dont talk about dem petty thief who will be targeting school children because they know these children now have laptops.They should put a desktop on the children's desks so they will have access to it when they come to school and be supervised of its use.
Face it PNM is no more,PP is in power now,so we have to support them for the next 5 years whether we are supporters or not,but for the last month they only constantly criticize everything the PNM did,thats y we put them there to make a difference,we elected a new government not a set of investigators and critics.TIME TO GET TO WORK PP.
A $15 MILLION blimp will be used for sky patrols of the Priority Bus Route (PBR), between Port-of-Spain and Arima, starting from 4 am today. The blimp’s use to monitor the flow of traffic on the PBR, which opens today to private vehicles, on a three-month trial run was arranged by Minister of National Security John Sandy after a request from Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner.
The blimp, purchased by the former PNM government for the Special Anti-Crime Unit (SAUTT) began aerial patrols in October 2006. It was the last of three purchased by the previous administration and there have been questions surrounding its use. The first two are no longer in operation.
While in opposition, the UNC accused the PNM of using the blimp for spying. On the election campaign trail in May, the UNC promised there would be no more blimps once the People’s Partnership came to power.
Sandy, during an early inspection of SAUTT facilities in Cumuto, assured the blimp was not being used to “macco” (spy on) citizens and said a decision would be made about SAUTT and the blimp.
In the interim, the blimp goes to work today on air traffic patrol as part of Warner’s initiative to ease congestion on the East/West Corridor. Warner was due to declare the PBR open to the public at a ceremony at Curepe Junction at 4 am, at which time private vehicles will be free to use the roadway until 6 am, and again between 8.30 am and 2.30 pm. The blimp, which has infra-red cameras and accommodates up to five officers, will provide surveillance from above and the crew is expected to communicate with police and licensing officers on the ground about the movement of the traffic.
The PBR will only be open to the public Monday to Friday, for vehicles with a minimum of three occupants. there will be no blimp patrols on the weekend. “The use of the airship for the PBR patrol is in keeping with SAUTT’s motto of “Power Through Partnership”, so this is just one more way in which SAUTT is utilising its capabilities, in this instance, its aerial platform to assist the Ministry of Works and Transport, and Trinidad and Tobago Police Service in this project,” SAUTT Media Relations Officer/Brand Manager Ucill Cambridge said yesterday.
Warner also confirmed the blimp’s role in the trial run.
“I am so advised that the Special Anti-Crime Unit has already been informed of their new role in carrying out the blimp patrols at the Priority Bus Route,” he said yesterday. Warner described opening the PBR as a “progressive move”, that is part of a long term plan for the East/West Corridor. “It is an attempt to relieve the traffic problems on the East/West Corridor in the short term, and, in the long term we have to remove the traffic lights on the highways from Port-of-Spain to Arima, put overpasses, and of course, extend the highway from Arima to Wallerfield,” he said. Warner said, after three months, the Government will decide whether opening the PBR should be “continued, extended or curtailed.”
Today’s trial run will be coordinated by Snr Supt Earl Gonzales and ASP Dianand Naipaul.Transport Commissioner Reuben Cato yesterday said the Transport Division has been “beefed up” with additional officers to ensure a smooth transition to the widened usage of the PBR.
Cato said the Police Service and Transit Police will be working in one coordinated effort. Sources said about 47 officers are to be deployed along the PBR. The trial run ends on October 1. President of the Route Two Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said operators were prepared for “a little more traffic jam” today.
“We still have to look at school closing, so the traffic will generally be lighter, but we are open to change. The true test for this is when school reopens in September. Right now we just have to wait and see.”
It was certainly no secret to the People’s Partnership administration that Trinidad and Tobago recorded a $7.4 billion budget deficit in the 2009 fiscal year and the initial projections were for a similar deficit in 2010 fiscal year. In the 2010 budget, it was stated clearly that based on an oil price of US$55 a barrel and a natural gas price of US$2.75 per million cubic feet, the forecast for total revenue in 2010 was $36.6 billion and the total budgeted expenditure was projected at $44.4 billion—after adjusting for the repayment of capital and contributions to the Sinking Fund.
So, despite the fact that the People’s Partnership must have known the country’s economic situation before last month, its manifesto contains absolutely no references to revenue-raising measures. The word “revenue” is used twice in the manifesto: once to refer to the Board of Inland Revenue and the other time a proposal that the Economic Development Board would make recommendations for the fair and equitable distribution of national revenue among Central Government, Tobago and local government bodies.
logoThe manifesto contains four references to taxes or taxation, one of which is the categorical statement in the 120-day plan: “We will rescind the property tax.” No reference there to abolishing the property tax only for homeowners! It’s almost as though none of the economists in the People’s Partnership realised before the general election that money is the medium of exchange in modern economies and that governments need to levy taxes in order to pay for trifles like health and education, security and road maintenance.
A paper presented by Minister of Finance, Winston Dookeran, on June 11 entitled “The state of our finances and initiatives for future action,” at least indicates that the coalition in government acknowledges the importance of revenues to run the country. In that document, in which revenue is referred to 11 times, refers to the budget deficits for 2009 and 2010: “This trend towards fiscal deficits contributes significantly to the country’s indebtedness and if it is not reversed urgently could result in the virtual mortgaging of several generations to come.”
The document also points out that in the current fiscal year, the country’s deficit between recurrent expenditure and recurrent revenue “poses tremendous downside risks for fiscal sustainability and debt management in the future.” There is also a reference to the fact that the total Government cash balances declined from $17.7 billion at the end of the 2008 fiscal year (September 30, 2008) to $5.43 billion as at June, 2010. “In simple terms, the Government’s balances in the Treasury declined substantially over the last two years as the previous administration sought to maintain its high expenditure levels in the face of drastically falling revenues.”
All of this suggests an acknowledgment by the Government that the balance between T&T’s expenditure and revenues needs to be redressed or our economic future could be threatened. While there is useful, if incomplete, analysis of the current financial situation, the Dookeran document contains no proposals, no projections and no plan about how the Government intends to go about increasing T&T’s tax revenue and/or reducing its expenditure during the 2011 fiscal year.
There is no indication in either the manifesto or the report on the state of T&T’s finances that the new Government’s economic team, comprising Mr Dookeran, Mary King, Prof Patrick Watson and others, has a clear notion about how T&T is going to reduce the budget deficit in the 2011 and 2012 budgets. In trying to get the balance right, will Mr Dookeran and his team put the focus more on reducing expenditure, following the recent European model, or on increasing taxes? Does Mr Dookeran agree with the position articulated by the UK’s Chancellor of the Exchequer, George Osborne, delivering their budget on June 22 that that coalition government “believes that the bulk of the reduction must come from lower spending rather than higher taxes?”
Does Mr Dookeran agree with Osborne, that the international evidence, from the IMF, the OECD and others, found that “consolidations delivered through lower spending are more effective at correcting deficits and boosting growth than consolidations delivered through tax increases.” And if he agrees with Osborne’s 80/20 balance between cutting expenditure and raising taxes, where does Mr Dookeran propose to reduce spending if half of the 2010 budget ($22.1 billion out of $44.3 billion) was allocated to transfers and subsidies?
Previous administrations in this country have used transfers and subsidies—which include everything from the provision of free drugs and affordable inter-island transport to GATE and the sale of gasoline at below the cost of production—to ensure that the wealth from T&T’s natural resources trickled down to the mass of the population. Will Mr Dookeran turn his back on the well-established policy of transferring wealth to and providing subsidies for the population? Or is he leaning towards the approach of Princeton University Professor Paul Krugman who has repeatedly argued in his New York Times column, that countries which cut spending and stimulus before economies are fully revived run the risk of damaging their countries?
Krugman wrote on Sunday: We are now, I fear, in the early stages of a third depression…..And this third depression will be primarily a failure of policy. Around the world — most recently at last weekend’s deeply discouraging G-20 meeting — governments are obsessing about inflation when the real threat is deflation, preaching the need for belt-tightening when the real problem is inadequate spending.”
Does Mr Dookeran follow Osborne or Krugman?
Jason45 wrote:17000 laptops for children = 17000 new trinituner accounts