Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Re: WTK Which firm offers the best credit card deal ?

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2011, 4:48 pm

You can also "top up" the card, as in add credit. So you wont be held back by a silly limit. That should save you from the paying interest I believe because you wont be owing the bank as you are drawing from your own funds.
Not sure how that holds up if the card is stolen.

I think (correct me if I'm wrong) some types can have some insurance coverage if you travel abroad? or is that just US based CC?

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2011, 5:04 pm

you can't "top up" the card for republic cards, you can do it for the others as shaneelal mentioned above

and i think if you buy flights/rent cars with your local card, you get medical and flight insurance, lost luggage insurance and stuff like that.

doesn't apply only to US based CC's

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Thanks for that ABA ;)

(RBL sox balls den)

Computerman

Postby Computerman » May 8th, 2011, 6:09 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:i own a republic credit card.i make all purchases that i can with this card so my miles right now are really high.never had any major problems.very quick and reliable service.i can also get a temporary increase to my exceeding limit when ever i want.all you have to do is know how to use the system and you can get gain a lot back from using your card.

some people just to ignorant of how useful this card can be, but then again some people just to stupid to know how to use this card.
Quite right.

I bought my new car with one of my CC's a couple weeks ago. Can't beat it for convenience.

Postby brams112 » May 8th, 2011, 9:19 pm

to my fellow tuner bashers how much money do you put out for free miles?ever check how much money you put out for bonus points,i was just saying in plain talk make sure you know about cc's before taking out one,most people feel a cc is permission to swipe,that is why some people are in debit way over their head,cc is a convience but watch how you spend is the motto

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 8th, 2011, 9:40 pm

crazychinee wrote:
shaneelal wrote:
I remember I was going to raise the limit on card to buy some tiles, the rep told me I could add money to the account to increase the limit for the purchase, this was a great convenience as it's very rare that I'd make large purchases exceeding my limit. Didn't check around, but couldn't this be done with other bank's CC?

As far as I know you can do it with all banks except republic bank.
You can't 'credit' your account.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you can't "top up" the card for republic cards, you can do it for the others as shaneelal mentioned above

Yes you can 'top up' with a RBL CC, did it already.

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2011, 9:45 pm

Quicksilver wrote:
crazychinee wrote:
shaneelal wrote:
I remember I was going to raise the limit on card to buy some tiles, the rep told me I could add money to the account to increase the limit for the purchase, this was a great convenience as it's very rare that I'd make large purchases exceeding my limit. Didn't check around, but couldn't this be done with other bank's CC?

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you can't "top up" the card for republic cards, you can do it for the others as shaneelal mentioned above

interesting

from RBL's website
rbl.jpg

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2011, 9:47 pm

brams112 wrote:to my fellow tuner bashers how much money do you put out for free miles?ever check how much money you put out for bonus points,i was just saying in plain talk make sure you know about cc's before taking out one,most people feel a cc is permission to swipe,that is why some people are in debit way over their head,cc is a convience but watch how you spend is the motto

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ "put out money for free miles"

you use your credit card to make transactions you were going to do anyway and instead of using cash to make payments, you use your credit card and then use the cash to pay back the credit card

understand? using the same cash, except you get the bonus points.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 8th, 2011, 9:54 pm

brams112 wrote:to my fellow tuner bashers how much money do you put out for free miles?ever check how much money you put out for bonus points,i was just saying in plain talk make sure you know about cc's before taking out one,most people feel a cc is permission to swipe,that is why some people are in debit way over their head,cc is a convience but watch how you spend is the motto

Thing is if you want a CC for the reward of miles and point then you might be heading the wrong direction.

A credit card is a loan that you only pay interest if you don't pay what was spent in the time given ( 30 - 50 days )
I would recommend a CC to anyone, it doesn't matter what bank they all provide good service.

Another thing that it really is good for is an emergency where you need money but instead of running down people to loan you the money and become enemy with them for not paying them back, just use you card and pay the bank what you can monthly until all is cleared...

Many reasons that a card can be good as much as bad if you don't control the spending.

I deal with Scotia, i never had one issue with them, i take the magna points and buy whatever my kids want at the cost of the points....

Ry an

Postby Ry an » May 9th, 2011, 8:55 am

Yeah that magna points does work out good.
For the last quarter i get back $1000.
I usually buy groceries with my cc and other purchases as well.
As stated before you just need to be careful how you spend and to repay before the due date so that you incur no interest.

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2011, 3:19 pm

Ry an wrote:Yeah that magna points does work out good.
For the last quarter i get back $1000.
I usually buy groceries with my cc and other purchases as well.
As stated before you just need to be careful how you spend and to repay before the due date so that you incur no interest.

:shock: $1000 like u spend $100k to get that- how much u does get for every $100 spent?

Postby brams112 » May 9th, 2011, 8:41 pm

same thing i want the points and miles men to answer red,they just don't understand,people who are not in the know will get fooled into thinking if they pay the minimum payment they are ok,then interest kicks their a$$,,,,oh yeah ryan how much you spend to get a gran back dred

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2011, 9:03 pm

btw m 2nr, these are the benefits of using a cc from republic's site

Free Travel Accident Insurance
Coverage of US$250,000 per person (maximum US$500,000 per family) is automatic when you use your card to purchase tickets on any commercial passenger carrier and remains in effect from the beginning of your air, sea or land trip until you arrive at your destination.

Worldwide Toll Free Assistance and Emergency services
No matter the hour or day, you can receive 24-hour assistance, 365 days a year! A toll free collect call puts you in direct contact with VISA Assistance Centre which offers a range of services including:

Emergency card replacement
Emergency cash delivery
Emergency medical assistance
Legal referral assistance
Emergency ticket replacement
Urgent document delivery
Lost luggage assistance
Pre-trip assistance
Emergency message service
Free VISA Auto Rental Insurance
VISA Auto Rental Insurance automatically covers, at no additional cost, the insurance for cars rented and operated within the United States or Canada. It provides coverage on a 24-hour basis for damage or theft up to the full value of the rented car. All you do is pay for the entire rental transaction with your Republic International VISA Gold and decline the auto rental company's Collision Damage Waiver (CDW/LDW) option.*

Republic Bonus Point Programme
There's no limit to the number of Bonus Points you can earn when you make purchases with your Republic Bank Credit Card. Earn (1) BONUS POINT for every TT$50.00/ US $15.00 spent. The more you use your Republic Credit Card the more BONUS POINTS you accumulate... the more BONUS POINTS you have, the more you save! You can redeem your BONUS POINTS for rebates and discounts at over 400 merchant locations for: Auto Parts Sales & Service, General & Motor Insurance, Supermarket Purchases, Travel, Hardware & General Merchandise, Furniture and Appliances, Medical Assistance & Supplies, Gym, Membership Warehouse Shopping, Utilities, Department Stores, Shoe Stores, Jewellery, Gifts, Perfumery.

Whether you're shopping for clothing, gifts, groceries, buying gas or just dining out, use your Republic Credit Cards and get great savings and rewards with the REPUBLIC BONUS POINTS PROGRAMME.

Pay with your Republic Bank Visa Gold Credit Card and enjoy exclusive hassel free admission and guaranteed discounts at the following Medcorp locations:

St Clair Medical Centre - #18 Elizabeth street St. Clair
Caribbean Heart Care Medcorp - #18 Elizabeth Street, St. Clair
Brian Lara Cancer Treatment Centre - GoodHealth Medical Centre, #7 Fitzblackman Drive Woodbrook
Doctor's Radiology - 70 Pembroke Street Port of Spain
Discount Schedule.

SERVICE
DISCOUNT

ICU Room
10%

Room
10%

Medical Supplies
5%

Medications
5%

CT Scan Diagnostics
10%

X-ray Diagnostics
10%

Antibiotics
5%

Cardiology Procedures
5%

Pharmacy (public)
5%

Accident & Emergency
10%

Medical Assessments
5%

Cancer Radiation Therapy
10%

Cancer Medical Oncology
5%

Services and Doctors’ Radiology Centre
10%

Services at St Clair MRI Centre
5%

Laboratory
5%

Balance Cover
BalanceCover gives you protection and peace of mind that your Credit Card balance will be taken care of in the unfortunate event of your disability or death. Your premiums are minimal and based on your outstanding balances at the date of billing. With BalanceCover you have the exact amount of protection just when you need it.

Hertz Discounts
Get up to 15% Discount on Hertz Rentals (Available in the US, Europe, Latin America, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, Middle East and Japan - Percent % Discount may vary per country).

thats points from november 2010 to feb 2011
227545_10150584091785182_511175181_18758264_4279718_n.jpg

Postby brams112 » May 9th, 2011, 9:13 pm

yuh working republic orr what?lol ,,,anyway how much do you spend is the question?i got mines for a trip but it does come in handy,,some people want to swipe for a few dollars just to earn miles,,,ever see someone with a cc and no money in their pockets?

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2011, 9:17 pm

December to February I spend around 120k

I spend 30k to 60k every month on my cc

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 9th, 2011, 9:45 pm

brams112 wrote:save ur money youth man,spend like a scrooge,because that stupid question you asked,,,,if you were to own a credit card you will have to work two jobs to pay back,,,,,money back ha!!!ur got to spend thousand to get back a few dollars....in points

i guess he has no CC

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 11th, 2011, 7:42 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Quicksilver wrote:
crazychinee wrote:
shaneelal wrote:

interesting

from RBL's website

:?

Ry an

Postby Ry an » May 11th, 2011, 8:26 am

@redmanjp -That was a special scotiabank had for christmas i think it was double or triple magna points when you swipe your card but normally i spend $2-$3K with my cc per month and for the quarter i get back between $400-$600.

kuchurV2

Credit Card

Postby kuchurV2 » July 19th, 2011, 6:43 am

So im for a renewal on my CCard.

I use my card basically for typical monthly expenses and the points come in handy.

What you guys recommend as the best option for a 5k limit .

Who gives bess points etc.

rossi

Re: Credit Card

Postby rossi » July 19th, 2011, 8:15 am

I'm a bit confused when you asked about points....if you're doing a renewal then obviously you will do it at the same bank not so?
Weren't you gaining points since last year?

trinibears

Postby trinibears » July 19th, 2011, 8:16 am

FCB Has the Best rewards Program, Quarterly Cheques That are as good as cash.

A 5k limit would generate a cheque for approx ~$150
But if you max it out and pay it off EVERY MONTH You could Make ~$600 worth in bonus point over a year Minus your $145 annual fee Thats ~$450 ish For yourself If youre Good at paying off your bill.

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » July 19th, 2011, 8:18 am

Rossi - Im up for a renewal.. Doesnt mean i will go with my current bank

trinibears - FCB is what i have in mind also.

rossi

Postby rossi » July 19th, 2011, 8:36 am

Oh....well in that case go with RBC.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 19th, 2011, 8:42 am

current limit is $60k and they recently asked whether I want it to go up to $100k....I tell dem is arrite I good....

Postby Damien » July 19th, 2011, 9:31 am

Vega wtf, I with fcb and does get a little cash back now and again, they always calling to raise the limit but I sticking to my 5k limit

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » July 19th, 2011, 10:21 am

Same here i quite ok with my 5k. RBTT raised my limit once to 10000 with out asking me. Well that was the fastest call i ever make when i realized that, Tell them take it back down one time. RBTT Mastercard the points i get are miles with CAL not bad i already have a 2 way ticket to US or caribbean.

Postby tr1ad » July 19th, 2011, 10:25 am

i might change my rbtt visa to the mastercard for the cal points, as the rbtt cash back always expire on me

Postby janfar » July 19th, 2011, 10:48 am

Im with scotia bank. My rewards are good. At the end of every month I get to have a conversation with a young lady with a sexy voice. Its tantalizing, even if its only to tell me my payments are late. You guys can keep your 450 from FCB

devrat

Postby devrat » July 19th, 2011, 10:54 am

janfar wrote:Im with scotia bank. My rewards are good. At the end of every month I get to have a conversation with a young lady with a sexy voice. Its tantalizing, even if its only to tell me my payments are late. You guys can keep your 450 from FCB

X2 and don't forget the Magna rewards usable only at selected retailers :|

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 19th, 2011, 11:07 am

I haven't heard anyone say anything yet about Republic bank credit cards. Are they that bad ?