Re: what you think about OJT students?

Postby Hook » June 19th, 2010, 9:39 am

Well said link.

Postby The_Honourable » October 21st, 2015, 10:04 am

According to the 2015 Budget, stipends for On the Job Trainees (OJTs) will be increased by 20 percent but Economist Roger Hosein stated that OJT is a "white collar CEPEP" program.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2015, 10:42 am

Are those new OJT salaries linked to any market rates??

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2015, 12:17 pm

How long these OJT contracts does be for? 1 year or they raise it now?

Postby The_Honourable » October 21st, 2015, 12:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How long these OJT contracts does be for? 1 year or they raise it now?

Maximum 2 years. You can get a full 2 year contract, or 1 year and simply renew if you wish.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 21st, 2015, 12:50 pm

All Trade Unions go arkse for a 20% hike in salaries now. The benchmark has been set.

Postby 1UZFE » October 21st, 2015, 1:01 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:All Trade Unions go arkse for a 20% hike in salaries now. The benchmark has been set.

Y not.
Iz we time now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2015, 1:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How long these OJT contracts does be for? 1 year or they raise it now?

Maximum 2 years. You can get a full 2 year contract, or 1 year and simply renew if you wish.

That sounds pretty good, like a guarantee job after you finish yuh degree.

I assume after the 2 years you can never apply again?

Postby The_Honourable » October 21st, 2015, 1:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

That sounds pretty good, like a guarantee job after you finish yuh degree.

I assume after the 2 years you can never apply again?

Correct, after the 2 years you are on your own. Your employer can assimilate you into the company or you can try somewhere else.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2015, 2:39 pm

But what if the employer cannot pay the salaries OJT was paying??
I find this OJT programme is growing the entitlement syndrome that pervades the society.

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2015, 6:55 pm

Had some come to work by us.
One fat mama used to sit in she corner where nobody can see her to give her work, have ear phones in her ears and reading a story book. She get PC on her desk with unlimited internet access and was found to be shopping for sex toys online.

I was doing about three people work because we understaffed and in a hurry a day asked the girl to photocopy some papers for me. She come and throw it back on my desk with one set of talk about oh how I talking down to her, she eh no dog etc etc etc.
Soon after she was looking elsewhere for work.

Postby Hook » October 21st, 2015, 7:08 pm

Allyuh does get some beast, boy. Lol
Most of the ones we get have manners and good work ethic and are pretty normal. Once in a while we get a slacker.

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2015, 8:07 pm

We had gotten a small lil one that used to pull her weight but the clerks started palming off their work on her so they could slack off....more.
Glad she hot through as a lil clerk eventually.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk