Core i7 VS Phenom II for Professional Work? Wat u guys think

nareshseep

Re: Core i7 VS Phenom II for Professional Work? Wat u guys t

Postby nareshseep » June 7th, 2010, 11:45 am

bushwakka wrote:so.....this thread has still not changed my mind about intel vs amd
i understand what the OP is saying, and that's great that AMD has managed to supercede intel this time (so competition would drive the need for development of tech).....

i'm not a pro user myself, neither a real hardcore gamer, but i chose the E8400 over its AMD equivalent which was half the price at the time, simply cuz i wanted to have an edge.....

and yes, 2fps does make me feel better and i'm proud to admit it

:pwned:

ok then hmm, maths was not a strong subject eh? :poke:

:elephant:

but I get what you saying is like a man buying a legacy rather than a r34 skyline. man just wanna be different. But to me its budget/performance that wins at the end of the day.

Postby bushwakka » June 7th, 2010, 3:31 pm

nareshseep wrote:
bushwakka wrote:so.....this thread has still not changed my mind about intel vs amd
i understand what the OP is saying, and that's great that AMD has managed to supercede intel this time (so competition would drive the need for development of tech).....

i'm not a pro user myself, neither a real hardcore gamer, but i chose the E8400 over its AMD equivalent which was half the price at the time, simply cuz i wanted to have an edge.....

and yes, 2fps does make me feel better and i'm proud to admit it

:pwned:

ok then hmm, maths was not a strong subject eh? :poke:

:elephant:

but I get what you saying is like a man buying a legacy rather than a r34 skyline. man just wanna be different. But to me its budget/performance that wins at the end of the day.

yea, thats what i'm saying....i want to hav sumn different rather than just another guy wit an sr20....except that an r34 skyline is not a 'b14' by any stretch of the imagination

the other reason is that the e8400 has 6mb L2 cache, whereas the AMD had only 2mb L2 cache for the same clock speed of 3.0 ghz......or 1/3 of the cache for 1/2 the price

now, i know those numbers cannot be directly translated into performance, but it made me feel better about myself when i hav 3 times the cache as the AMD....

and also when I told my AMD friends that I have 3x their memory lol

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » June 7th, 2010, 4:09 pm

Great thread as I've been meaning to research this processor for a new workstation build (Autodesk Maya for 3D and Nuke for compositing).

Please forgive the question because this isn't my field, but what are the motherboard options for a dual processor hexacore AMD setup...I render a lot so I want a lot of processor power.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 7th, 2010, 10:40 pm

^^^de man ask a honest question...and nobody answer de man az yet....jus so alyuh doh know nottin bout processors.....dat iz your fault R.Mutt......in this post yuh have to ask your question in de form of an argument for de AMD boys to understand.....say yuh gonna buy ah blue chip yuh go here them jus now!!!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 8th, 2010, 8:23 am

been sittin back and following this thread since i left it.. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND REALLY WHY PPL WANT TO COMPARE NIGHT AND DAY..
all i have scene are useless comments on those who " feel " they are right and not subject to correction. WITH THE USE OF SELECTED SCREENSHOTS FROM CERTAIN BENCHMARKS

again.. we are comparing a 6core to a 4 core.. that is totally useless..

as ro r.mutt. i will answer him cuz he needs honest help

i suggest u look into dual CPUs on the intel side.. check newegg for example.. they have some good prices as well as the processors for dual cpu boards ( server board ) are alot more stable than the regular ones..and dont cost that much more anyways..
i kno this because we had to do a bit of research wen buying our blades servers and ended up with intel due to its high recommendation in that particular area. ( dual cpus )
the fact that its supports alot of software out there. ( yes ppl, CPUs use drivers to that interact with software/hardware controlling devices )

with this..u will have the chance to used any amount of ram u wish..
Last edited by Chiney on June 8th, 2010, 8:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 8th, 2010, 8:27 am

here is an example:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... rchInDesc=

once u decide you are goin to go the dual cpu route....prepare to spend..

in the long run, there is no lookin back! i can tell u that much!!

but if u are goin to want to cut back on cost, well invest in a good intel 1366 motherboard and get the highest 6 core from intel, the 980x

i know for a fact that its gonna be everything u expect, this 6 core cannot compare to the AMD 6 core

but.. the price difference is night and day.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 8th, 2010, 10:34 am

Chiney thats a great idea, but I will think that for a typical home consumer, budget is always the limiting factor, so AMD will be the better choice and the fact that the OP needs a render farm, the more cores the better.

AMD server mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131643
449us

AMD Opteron 6128 8 core server cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product
305us
(if you put two of these that is 16 cores for 610us!!!)

and thats 10,000 TT already there.

For the benefit of the OP and others lets spec out two machines !!

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 8th, 2010, 11:02 am

Yet another smart guy....who actually did his homework great work Chiney.........unlike you AMD boys who jus type paint in de start menu & then draw pretty boxes & paint them & say benchmark...his quotes"we are comparing a 6core to a 4 core.. that is totally useless.." and "this 6 core cannot compare to the AMD 6 core
but.. the price difference is night and day."

Also he's talking bout skulltrail platform which is known to exceed expectations well said and good choice.......and the 980x woops ass over AMD's best ALL THE TIME....but unfortunately for you Mr china man ...those AMD fan boys will be gunning for your ass now they don't like guys who know what they talking about

p.s...they called me an ants murderer imagine what they'll call you

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 8th, 2010, 12:14 pm

^^ doesnt matter wat dey call me. at the end of the day.. i am not a fan boy for any brand
i go where the performance is! and i always open to correction, not ignorance..

unlike others here... who come and type stories for ppl to read, and in the end, dey star saying on this, then the at the end of the long useless post, it means another thing.. lol
yall crack me up here boy.. men live in a world of their own yes.. LOL!!!
good kicks guys..makin my day!

the skulltrail is exactly wat i speak of

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » June 8th, 2010, 2:54 pm

thanks for the info Chiney and nareshseep