WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Re: WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 29th, 2012, 10:31 pm

How many of those will see simultaneous use?

You looking at one of the bigger Tempra models for that many outlets or two smaller ones.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2012, 10:37 pm

you need to work out how many hot water outlets would be on at the same time
and how far away the outlets are from where you think you might put the heater

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 30th, 2012, 9:10 am

went tank as space is no problem.... went tank as we ususally have two showers running with very hot water ( i lik ehot baths) at teh same time on weeeknds. after a ~20 mins of bathing :) the water temp drop sslightly. closer to 30 mins the water goes cold. i have the 40 gallon fat boy heater from bradford (sp and brand) paid 2700

keep in mind the lines have 45-50PSI at all times so thats alot of water before it goes cold. time to heat back up completly is 5-8 mins

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 30th, 2012, 9:17 am

last heater by inlaws in stjames like 13 years, replaced with new one and a damn surge and iffy supply at the time damage the circuit in side that turns on elements. swappe dit out for a new one for 200 and heater workign lik enormel. expect it to last another 13 years.

as maintainence on these units you must flush it out ever so often. by using hte valve at the bottom on it.

I flush out every 6 months or so to keep any sediment ect from settleing ect

TrinbagoMan

Stiebel Eltron Tankless Waterheater

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 25th, 2012, 10:16 am

Who are the local dealers for stiebel eltron waterheaters?

Dragist

Re: Stiebel Eltron Tankless Waterheater

Postby Dragist » April 25th, 2012, 10:18 am

Water Source I think .

cherrypopper

Re: Stiebel Eltron Tankless Waterheater

Postby cherrypopper » April 25th, 2012, 12:22 pm

rotoplastic

Around

Re:

Postby Around » August 7th, 2013, 11:55 am

kieron83 wrote:Bradford White Tank Heater
6 YR Warranty on Tank

20 Gal- 2150
30 Gal- 2350
40 Gal- 2450

Stiebel Eltron
1 YR Warranty from Roto.

DHC-8 - 1425 (1 bathroom)

DHC-10 2300 (2 bath + 1 kitchen) (digital control with temp. gauge)

Prices +VAT

Anybody change dey minds on tank or tankless...updates nah.
I (really .my queen) now thinking bout going tankless for 2 bathrooms.

the dhc 8 not stated as for baths on web site
http://www.stiebel-eltron-usa.com/chart_dhc.html
http://www.stiebel-eltron-usa.com/chart_dhc-e.html

update (sharing d info):just checked the water source, malabar staff was real helpful.
well rotoplastic/the water source, is the local distributor of stiebel, they offer 3 years warranty

1 bath -DHC-8 $1656
2 bath -DHC-E10 $2675 (Bhagwansingh's $2400, L's Hardware-2195)..has temp control knob
3 bath -DHC-E12 $35??.. something

they recommend a de-scaling of unit -1 per year aprox .$300-430.
power/electrical surges could damage electronics, which is rare, replacement board aprox. $500

happy choosing
Last edited by Around on August 8th, 2013, 11:54 am, edited 4 times in total.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 7th, 2013, 1:08 pm

"Around" how many outlets will you be requiring hot water for? Also how many of these outlets will be used at the same time?

hindian

Postby hindian » August 7th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Go tank better performance imho...my parents have a 15 gallon going on 12 years now with no problem. I have the Fame water heater type in my bathroom going on 3 years with no problem you just have to make sure you use the proper wiring and breaker size and it should last...jus dont switch the dial on top while the water is running because you'll prolly light up like a 100 watt bulb. I know a lot of people make that mistake.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » August 7th, 2013, 3:39 pm

Initially bought a tankless heater. But couldn't use it with my existing wiring. Electrician said that I would have to 6mm wires where as the wall had 4mm. Breaker would of been an easy swap from 30 to 50 amps.

Returned the heater to hardware and took a 30 gal AO SMITH. A little more work plumbing but a totally satisfying DIY job!

No regrets with the tank heater. Water stays warm for almost 2 days with the power off.

Around

Postby Around » August 7th, 2013, 3:44 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:"Around" how many outlets will you be requiring hot water for? Also how many of these outlets will be used at the same time?

2 bathrooms

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 7th, 2013, 5:19 pm

Around wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:"Around" how many outlets will you be requiring hot water for? Also how many of these outlets will be used at the same time?

2 bathrooms

If you really want to go tankless the model you want is a DHC E 10, that will handle two outlets comfortably. (notice I said outlets not bathrooms)

Read through this thread and take everything into consideration.

Remember if you're taking out a tank type to install a tankless the main change is the electrical (DHC E 10 needs a 50amp supply) .
Also the way the heater works is different, with a tankless it is advised to open the hot water first (if you have a single arm mixer, start on the hot side) to ensure that the heater comes on. These heaters come on once water is flowing through it.
Consider also that at the correct flow the highest temp you will get out of the tankless heater is 52 degrees Celsius, with a tank type however, @ any flow you will get whatever temp you have the thermostat set to.

With the tankless you will have an unlimited supply of hot water, and over time you will save money on your electricity costs as the tankless only runs while in use and only uses the amount of power needed to bring the water to the set temp.

There is a 3 year warranty on the Stiebel Eltron heaters but this warranty does not cover electrical damage. (it is recommended to install a surge protector for the heater).

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 7th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Stiebel Eltron

Around

Postby Around » August 7th, 2013, 11:27 pm

thanks wheelbarrow.... will consider..3Ntuner to d rescue

Postby nemisis » October 26th, 2013, 7:45 am

Anywhere selling natural gas water heaters

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 26th, 2013, 9:35 am

Cyar count the amount of tankless heaters and heater elements we went thru boy

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 26th, 2013, 10:10 am

I think people thinking of the white heater shower head you use to replace the shower head. I found one of these that work very well recently.

But the real deal is the Stiebel Eltron tankless system: works really really well supplying two bathroom.

Postby ronsin1 » October 27th, 2013, 10:35 am

I have Stiebel Eltron tankless in the House I recently bought works well so far. I Can't really compare to tank system I had in the last house but it seems efficient when I get the First Electricity Bill I should have an average of the cost of consumption as opposed to the heater with the tank for the two month period

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 28th, 2013, 10:58 am

nemisis wrote:Anywhere selling natural gas water heaters

Can't offer any assistance with local dealers (haven't come across anyone that does that anymore) for gas water heaters, but I can help you if you wanted a LPG Swimming Pool heater...

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2013, 2:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Cyar count the amount of tankless heaters and heater elements we went thru boy

u talking about the shower heaters or the ones for the whole house?

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2013, 4:05 pm

must be the Fame shower type, everytime I go in a hardware I see people asking for them.
they are disposable

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 28th, 2013, 4:48 pm

Have a Stiebel Eltron myself and no problems to date. Water is hot in just about 10-15 secs of turning on water. Saves electricity since it's not on when not in use. Also very compact and unlike tank heaters not susceptible to explosion .... yes I've seen the after effects of a tank heater exploding due to relief valve getting clogged with sediment over time.

Only use hot water to shower so prolly use it for 30 mins per day .... tank heater would be going all day. And there's no need to set the heater to max temp .... I have it set very low and still water can get hot enough to scald. Will use high current at startup but drops to about 20A or even lower as the hot water flows.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 31st, 2013, 6:07 am

Good info here : will look into the tankless (Stiebel Eltron )

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 31st, 2013, 11:38 am

sweeks wrote:Good info here : will look into the tankless (Stiebel Eltron )

Rotoplastics is the authorized dealer but the two outlet model is sold out and the price quoted was $2675

New stock should be available sometime next week or so.

Postby pete » October 31st, 2013, 11:45 am

Bhagwansinghs sells them as well. I hopefully have to buy one soon.

Postby teems1 » October 31st, 2013, 11:52 am

You also have to ensure that the wire used for the 220 outlet is of minimum diameter, i think 8mm, and the breaker is 50 amperes.

Postby pete » October 31st, 2013, 1:06 pm

The tank ones are 115v? My parents have a tank that like 20+ years old and I think it running on 115.

Antiviru$

stiebel eltron DHC tankless waterheater

Postby Antiviru$ » November 27th, 2013, 1:37 pm

so meh neighbour was trying a lil DIY bt ended up in a lil problem. Its a Stieleb electron tankless water heater, was looking for the reset button, pressed what appeared to be it, but is not... apparently its some sort of pressure relief mechanism, but for some reason it wont seal back and not leak... Does anyone here knows about it??? Below is a pic of where is leaking.. any assistance will be appreciated...

Re: stiebel eltron DHC tankless waterheater

Postby SMc » November 27th, 2013, 2:19 pm

Tell yuh 'neighbour' to get a proffesional to have a look at it as I doubt you wa..I mean, they want water to leak on to the electrical componants as it may damage the unit even further.