ABA Trading LTD wrote:acesinghit wrote:Chemical, let us not forget that there is a GOD.
Yeah, use that excuse for everything that you can't do anything about.
Let us know how that works out.
crossdrilled wrote:I would invite him in, probably offer him some cookies and dates (what I usually have in the fridge), and gatorade/ milk/ water (whatever he preffers), have a sit down and talk about his macro and micro economic polcies. We would have cheerful banter about the Udecot and other supposed scandals (and stifle my scoffs, for the sake of civility), so I can get his perspective on the situations in the media. After our discussions, I would break out the bottle of hennessy I had under the bed for about a year now, and we could crack that and have a drink for the road. After all this, I would invite him to take a picture with me, one for the media, and one with my SLR so I can document the occasion I got to meet the prime minister. If I get to record video of the event with my P&S camera, I would post it on you-tube, link to tuner and put up pics.
I would be proud to say the prime minister of the country visited my house and wanted to have an audience with me..
Really, allyh think you all would do anything alyuh saying allyuh will do, regardess of your poltical affiliation (I would never vote PNM...just for the record)? Then what? Become a blip in the media that just creates more hype over Manning? Or actually try to learn smething (even if it is just getting his perspective) from the most powerful man in T&T? Never know what you can learn.
PM: Man who blocked me lives in Canada
Ria Taitt Political Editor
Saturday, March 20th 2010
Prime Minister Patrick Manning last night revealed that the 81-year-old pensioner from Real Street, San Juan, who attempted to deny him (the PM) entry onto his property, does not reside in Trinidad and Tobago.
Manning’s disclosure, which came during a debate on the Supreme Court of Judicature Amendment Bill in the House of Representatives, was made after the matter was raised partly in jest by Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal.
Pulling out a piece of paper from which he read, Manning declared: ’It turns out, Madam Deputy Speaker, that the 81-year-old gentleman is a resident of Winnipeg, Canada.’
’Or-horrrr!’ Government MPs chorused.
Manning continued with great emphasis: ’And who returns to Trinidad and Tobago to spend the winter.’
Flashback: An angry Real Street, San Juan, resident prevents Prime Minister Patrick from entering his premises during Manning's walkabout in the area on Monday. The pensioner refused to give his name to the media. -Photo: CURTIS CHASE
’Is true, is true,’ Government MPs chimed in.
’He (the old man) don’t live here,’ Works Minister Colm Imbert chirped.
Moonilal rejoined: ’You know what is fascinating about all of this is that the Prime Minister of a country gone and check out the man who tell him not to come in his yard ... (the Prime Minister) went and investigate ... He pull out a slip of paper from his pocket, I thought was the election date ... and he says the gentleman, who is 81 years old and threaten to cause him grievous bodily harm, is a resident of Canada who comes here in the winter.
’Madam Deputy Speaker, he (the old man) could be a resident of Tokyo, if he is there and occupying there (the house) in whatever legal capacity and he tells you ’please don’t come in my property and you are trespassing, to go’. It is frightening that you would use immigration, the customs, the authority of the State to find out where this man living. This poor fella may now have to flee back to Canada before the winter finish.’ This comment caused loud chuckling and laughter.
Manning rejoined that he did not have to use immigration or customs.
’I just have to use the machinery of the People’s National Movement,’ he declared.
There was thunderous deskthumping on the Government’s side.
But Moonilal was determined to have the last say.
’That gentleman along with thousands of others will respond to the machinery of the People’s National Movement ... on the next election day,’ he countered to loud deskthumping on the Opposition side.
Moonilal, responding to the Attorney General’s statement, had said earlier that it was improper in the first place for police, in a bureau under the office of a political officer, to be investigating corruption in the state sector. Responding to statements that it was Tabaquite MP Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj who set up the Bureau, Moonilal said: ’And if the UNC did that, 10, 20 years ago or whenever ... the public has pronounced on that. You need to respond to the public of today, not the public of 1999.’
He said he wanted to indicate that the Government has admitted in the Parliament that the Attorney General is ’in touch, in communication and receiving information on an ongoing criminal investigation into UDeCOTT and Calder Hart’.
Manning rose to ask whether Moonilal was saying that the method of organisation is acceptable if the UNC did it, but is not acceptable if the PNM follows the UNC’s lead.
Moonilal said he could go back in the Hansard and find statements from Manning condemning the placing of the ACIB under the AG while he was Opposition Leader.
’He condemned it then and then went into power, kept it and used it. And I want to tell you, if we believe it is wrong now, it was wrong then. The UNC did some very good things but there may have been policy decisions that were wrong. Ten years later we know,’ he said.
’You went into somebody’s yard last week trespassing. You could say you were wrong and sorry. It is wrong, wrong,’ he said, adding as he saw Manning rising to speak: ’You going and read now from a text.’