What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

RadeonHD

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panason

Postby RadeonHD » May 17th, 2010, 11:07 pm

BTW: I had a 6500 BTU LG window Unit a Time. I bought it in Pricesmart.

Now people does say its to much trouble to burst the wall to put in a big window unit. However we have those American windows the ones that can push up. Its designed for window unit AC.

But let me tell you something. After a few years I developed some ear problems because of the stinking noise from the compressor also window units has both evaporator and condenser fans built in so both noise is on your room. So its dreaded fan and compressor noise.

I consider myself a tough person. I don't like to make anything a problem, I do not buy bottle water I see that as something worthless when wasa water is free. The only thing I am picky about I will admit is my Audiophile hobby because I like my music and well my video games and stuff. But apart from that for everything I make do.

But that noise from that window unit was sooo terrible I had to use ear plugs. I started to hear ringing noise in my ear drums. The ability of my ears to detect 19khz frequency had dropped. My head was hurting something never happened to me before.

When night time reached and I was sleeping, that stinking window unit would wake me up everytime the compressor turned back on its a disgusting hum. Live with it 24/7 and I assure you sooner or later a window unit will send you mad which is why I don't recommend it even though my house is perfect for them.

My last advice spend the money on a good Split like the LG or Panasonic.
BTW: I think PEAKE is extra sh!t. Even their big split Unit Compressor when mounted on to your wall sounds like a atomic bomb in your room when it turns on and also it breaks down some tough concrete walls over time.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 17th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Very good info... thanks man.

Lol @ the half bottle of jonny :lol:

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 17th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Btw I have the 6500btu pricesmart unit too and yeah the noise is very bad. The first bracket I made to hold it in place used to flex and vibrate when the unit was on... amplifying the noise even more. Eventually I had to reinforce the bracket with two pieces of 2x4 AND bolt the unit directly to the 2x4. Vibration is a lot less now (trust me... that unit can't move a millimeter lol) but it still can be noisy (I run it on the low fan setting during the day so it's not as distracting).

Oh on top of that, after a couple months the front panel starting making this terrible vibrating noise... the plastic front was vibrating against the metal frame. Ended up taking the front off and installing foam strips around the circumference of the frame so that the front panel couldn't vibrate. Still does every now and again but a good cuff usually solves it!

I got my window unit when it was $1200 and also didn't have to run any new wiring so it's dam worth the price. But the silence of those split unit ACs really has me tempted.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 17th, 2010, 11:21 pm

tnthoneybee wrote:hussy and i own our own company and i would recommend the toshiba, miller or york any day, carrier also but it a little more expensive than the others. daikin really good too but twice as expensive as the others. even the lg depending on the supplier but u have to be very careful for the back up service for availability of parts. so go with the first three i recommended

NO

Miller and York is now made by the same factory in China that makes 90% of the world's split AC

the old YORK is king but new ones is the same sticker brand sh!t.

You are correct on the Toshiba. They make good AC

Daikin is king of AC if you can afford it yeah.

There is an Ad in today's newspapers express selling Panasonic at killer prices

you know what? better yet let me POST this info on tuner so in many years to come when I have to buy another split AC I will be able to find it.

Here it goes taken directly from the express newspapers

Monday 17th May 2010 page 2 of health and lifestyle section

BM Electronics (Exclusive distributor)

674-8727

Panasonic systems Available at Standards Stores and many others including king cool in Barataria damn is a lot of places jed. I cah type all this nah, but I seeing steves and associates, etc

I seeing Inverter models Panasonic here for $6000 for a 9000 BTU

Expensive yes but it uses 50% less electricity.

You may save $200 a cycle for light bill. If you run it a lot. Thats either $1200 or $2400 a year in current Bill depends on the size of the AC.

Lets just look at $2400 a year for a good size thats $16,500 in 7 years which would be the average life span of Panasonic. so on average you saving $16,500 in 7 years on your electric bill.

if you use it 5 hours a day it will last you 10 years or more.
Last edited by RadeonHD on May 17th, 2010, 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 17th, 2010, 11:23 pm

BTW you can also get the regular Panasonic 9000 BTU for $3500 and 12,000 BTu for $4000

Damn bess price YO!!!!

geodude

Postby geodude » May 18th, 2010, 3:48 am

allu fellas does do real research dread,
well you live and you learn lesson here doh buy 3 ac units when you mammy send you pricesmart for a cake,

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 18th, 2010, 4:11 am

^ LOL

you eh see nothing yet. If you was asking about audiophile headphones then I might cause tuner server to crash :lol:

Well glad I could help out man. Hopefully you will learn from my mistakes, when I go on Amazon to buy something and I see reviews of people who buy rubbish I say to myself thank god was not me and these guys educated me first.

But I will leave you with this much.

If you think pricesmart food is good well think again, even that is inferior rubbish. they sell bumble bee sardines and its usually many tiny sardines that hard like ass, and has a set ah hard scales and tastes like sh!t. Also its lighter than the brunswick so they giving you less hence why it so cheap.

Everything inside there fails. Its a latin american dump portal. I glad they operate here so it forces other stores to drop their prices so I could now afford real sh!t from other stores.

One thing though is their customer service is 10000% superior to anyother store in Trinidad. If something defective within 30 days they give you a full refund they were even offering me a full refund on the AC but I say small thing I done pay to install it and everything I go let them fix it.

Works flawless ever since.

Have not turned it off in 2 months. sweetness of silent cold breeze I just want to experience what heaven is incase I die by accident anytime soon nah. :lol:
Seeing heaven and hell is imaginary I guess a silent AC is the closest thing you will ever reach to what heaven is. Well that and p.u.$.$.y but you know nah.

One thing about a Split AC it actually enhances the looks of your house. Its a sexy appliance compared to ugly @ss window units no doubt. Hell instead of making a bracket I bought the original white factory ones just so it will look nice.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 18th, 2010, 4:29 am

srnoth wrote:Btw I have the 6500btu pricesmart unit too and yeah the noise is very bad. The first bracket I made to hold it in place used to flex and vibrate when the unit was on... amplifying the noise even more. Eventually I had to reinforce the bracket with two pieces of 2x4 AND bolt the unit directly to the 2x4. Vibration is a lot less now (trust me... that unit can't move a millimeter lol) but it still can be noisy (I run it on the low fan setting during the day so it's not as distracting).

Oh on top of that, after a couple months the front panel starting making this terrible vibrating noise... the plastic front was vibrating against the metal frame. Ended up taking the front off and installing foam strips around the circumference of the frame so that the front panel couldn't vibrate. Still does every now and again but a good cuff usually solves it!

I got my window unit when it was $1200 and also didn't have to run any new wiring so it's dam worth the price. But the silence of those split unit ACs really has me tempted.

Yeai paid like $1300 I believe, it worked really well but I sold it cause I wanted a split.

I also use Hunter Ceiling Fans. Those things are dead silent and due to the its deep pitch blade it pushes a great amount of air compared to other ceiling fans.

Nice thing about hunter fans is they are built to last 25 years.

I wish AC units were built that well.

To save current you can also combine a split ac with a ceiling fan. the wind chill effect of the ceiling fan and circulating of stagnant cold air will greatly improve effeciency and dry out moisture on your skin making the place feel a lot cooler.

Not sure if electricity is your problem but its something I like to keep to a minimum. A large AC can sky rocket your electric bill if you not careful.

Peripheral

Postby Peripheral » June 1st, 2010, 4:18 pm

so does anyone know what's the average increase in the electricity bill for an 18000 BTU unit (regular not inverter) running from 5pm to 7am Mon-Thur, and all weekend long from 5pm Fri to 7am Mon?

geodude

Postby geodude » July 24th, 2010, 3:50 am

well guys installed the Frigidaire units from price smart about a month ago, i am quite impressed with htne and so to everyone else that has seen them the 24 k BTU is extremetly silent in my view and the 12 k well i need to look at the LCD display sometimes to figure out if they are on or not. Had a small prob with the 24 k and pricesmart sorted it out without any hastle .

i hope they have a good lifespan though.

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2010, 10:07 pm

I just got a Pioneer... :rofl:
Same as Peakes.
REL quiet.

Peripheral

Postby Peripheral » July 24th, 2010, 10:16 pm

can anyone give me an average increase in the electricity bill with the addition of a split unit?

geodude

Postby geodude » August 4th, 2010, 10:25 am

just bumping this for the guy that was looking for info on Ac options,

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 10:40 am

M_2nr wrote:I just got a Pioneer... :rofl:
Same as Peakes.
REL quiet.

nothing name pioneer does be reel quiet

from dem deck in them b15 to the user

just did 2 innovair units
1 12kbtu and an 18kbtu
very silent works well so far

good warranty on it

made in PRC :)
People republic of china

basically all the units out of china are almost the same jsut a different name tag stamped on it so my main choice was based on what my ac man recommended as at the end of the day is his ass to catch if it gonna give trouble

Postby X_Factor » August 4th, 2010, 10:43 am

anyone ever heard about hisense a/c units?

geodude

Postby geodude » August 4th, 2010, 12:22 pm

i keep seeing Carrier split units on offshore installations, so i am thinking these things must be the sheit yo,
anyone ever used them

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 23rd, 2010, 10:49 am

Any info on those Pioneer units? I'm looking to purchase 4 units
for my house.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » October 9th, 2010, 9:30 am

Anyone use Genesco ? Any feedback ?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 9th, 2010, 9:50 am

Peripheral wrote:can anyone give me an average increase in the electricity bill with the addition of a split unit?

What is the most efficient a/c units out there

Postby ronsin1 » October 9th, 2010, 2:43 pm

a 12000 BTU unit uses about 5 amps running

Voltage X amps = Wattage
this unit works with 220v

220V X 5 amps = 1100 Watts
1100 watts = 1.1 Kilowatts

electricity bills are tabulated in Kilowatt hours

lets say your electricity rate is 23 cents per KWH

so the approx cost per hour running the unit is 1.1 KW X 1 hour X 23 cents = 25.3 cents per KWH
if you run your unit at leas 10 hours per day it is basically $2.53 a day

shady23

Postby shady23 » October 9th, 2010, 3:44 pm

I just put in a Westinghouse 12000btu in my room. Got it from Climate Control.

Its very quiet and works good so far. Got 5yrs warranty on the compressor. Not that I expect the entire unit to last that long.

Peripheral

Postby Peripheral » October 9th, 2010, 7:02 pm

ronsin1 wrote:a 12000 BTU unit uses about 5 amps running

Voltage X amps = Wattage
this unit works with 220v

220V X 5 amps = 1100 Watts
1100 watts = 1.1 Kilowatts

electricity bills are tabulated in Kilowatt hours

lets say your electricity rate is 23 cents per KWH

so the approx cost per hour running the unit is 1.1 KW X 1 hour X 23 cents = 25.3 cents per KWH
if you run your unit at leas 10 hours per day it is basically $2.53 a day

excellent info man, wanted to know about this for some time now.

Postby sharkman121 » October 9th, 2010, 7:09 pm

shady23 wrote:I just put in a Westinghouse 12000btu in my room. Got it from Climate Control.

Its very quiet and works good so far. Got 5yrs warranty on the compressor. Not that I expect the entire unit to last that long.

i bought a 18000 btu KATASHI 4yrs now still goin strong. never expected it to last that long either.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » October 9th, 2010, 10:13 pm

i know someone who have a Daikin for about 25 yrs no problems and still runnin quieter than a peake and another person with one about 9 yrs. Yes they are expensive but if u can afford it ill go for it, the new ones with the inverter tech. they say consumes less power than a fan and the infra-red thing real bad. People say the Panasonic with the inverter good too and it cheaper i lookin to get one myself. I prefer to pay a little more for a unit than to pay a lot more on the electricity bill. The inverter ones are the way to go instead of buying those cheap ones that significantly sends up your bill.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » October 10th, 2010, 1:01 am

maybe its me but peaks gives too much trouble,
panasonic working good, so far.

Postby M_2NR » October 10th, 2010, 3:34 pm

SR wrote:
M_2nr wrote:I just got a Pioneer... :rofl:
Same as Peakes.
REL quiet.

nothing name pioneer does be reel quiet

from dem deck in them b15 to the user

just did 2 innovair units
1 12kbtu and an 18kbtu
very silent works well so far

good warranty on it

made in PRC :)
People republic of china

basically all the units out of china are almost the same jsut a different name tag stamped on it so my main choice was based on what my ac man recommended as at the end of the day is his ass to catch if it gonna give trouble

we have an innovair here as well, it's a little noisier but once it is maintained it should be good to go.

just over two months now with this pioneer and it surely is quiet. Thank God yes

Postby sharkman121 » October 10th, 2010, 6:14 pm

^ have an Innovair installed in the bedroom as well.. only about two months now but i like the way it operates.

4everstock

Postby 4everstock » October 10th, 2010, 9:35 pm

I work ABS (Abel Building Solutions)...We sell the Carrier and Katashi Systems...very good systems.....very good price....very good warranty!!!!!.......

you hit the nail on the head ronsin1.........but people, this is provided it's sized correct, used properly, and serviced regular!!!!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 10th, 2010, 10:16 pm

so guys what would you recommend for a room that is 17x17x10 ?
that inverter tech sounding very interesting

Postby ronsin1 » October 11th, 2010, 5:55 am

4everstock wrote:I work ABS (Abel Building Solutions)...We sell the Carrier and Katashi Systems...very good systems.....very good price....very good warranty!!!!!.......

I would not doubt that both works well.

To be honest Carrier is one of the better brands in T&T

I will always say though any system works good with a proper maintenance plan