Postby cinco » January 26th, 2010, 12:57 pm

plato and a platypus walk into a bar
Thomas Cathcart and Daniel Klein

devrat

Postby devrat » January 26th, 2010, 1:01 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
devrat wrote:Very much into Clive Cussler right now, just finished the "Skeleton Coast" and i am presently on "Plague Ship".
Dean Koontz has some good stuff but the stories lag.
I have a lot of Stephen King books including his short stories.
Robert Ludlum is a fantastic writer the "Bourne" series are a lot better in print although the movies were ok.

Yuh doh find plague ship is crap??? It so shallow and transparent!

The Cabrillo "Oregon files series" tend to be similar and yes you are right "Plague Ship" is a hard read. His Dirk Pitt "NUMA files" series is a lot better.

Postby janfar » January 26th, 2010, 1:14 pm

The Bourne Sanction by Eric Van Lust Bader. He wrote all the Bourne books after Ultimatum i.e. Bourne Legacy, Bourne Betrayal and Bourne Deception. Excellent books, easy to get into and makes you wanna run round and shoot yuh neighbour with pop gun when they in the latrine.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 26th, 2010, 1:29 pm

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson, available for free here:

http://www.brandonsanderson.com/book/Wa ... k-Download

*Audi14*

Postby *Audi14* » January 26th, 2010, 1:48 pm

V.S Naipaul - A House for Mr. Biswas and Road to El Dorado

Green Days by the river -Michael Anthony

A Brighter Sun - Samuel Selvon

A year in San fernando - a really great book, nice story. - Michael Anthony

All recently read, west indian Literature at its very best.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » January 26th, 2010, 1:50 pm

The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution by Richard Dawkins
http://www.amazon.com/Greatest-Show-Ear ... 106&sr=8-1

and

Confessions of an Economic Hitman by John Perkins...
http://www.amazon.com/Confessions-Econo ... 176&sr=1-2

Both very eye-opening books.. :shock:

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2010, 1:51 pm

Last novel: The Great Gatsby

Last best seller: Plato and a platypus walk into a bar

Current fodder: The Hot shoe diaries, The negative, PMP Exam Success series: Bootcamp manual.

Postby gt4tified » January 26th, 2010, 5:25 pm

The Cash Flow Quadrant - Robert Kiosaki

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » January 26th, 2010, 5:52 pm

a few yrs ago tho'(wifey did pregnant so i had nun to do)

after that,not a flikking book except the 'bible' for real,

devrat

Postby devrat » January 26th, 2010, 6:11 pm

Rahtid wrote:V.S Naipaul - A House for Mr. Biswas and Road to El Dorado

Hoss like you does have "nun to do" quite often :lol:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » January 26th, 2010, 6:18 pm

devrat wrote:
Rahtid wrote:V.S Naipaul - A House for Mr. Biswas and Road to El Dorado

Hoss like you does have "nun to do" quite often :lol:

dat was 6yrs ago jed,,afta that was only a few times :shock: :shock:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 26th, 2010, 9:24 pm

Legend - David Gremmel

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2010, 9:37 pm

nobody else ever read Dune? :|

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 26th, 2010, 9:48 pm

^^only saw the movies, but never got around to reading the books

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » January 26th, 2010, 9:50 pm

Just finished Open by Andre Agassi - quite interesting and full of insight.

Read Trinidad Noir last year if you looking for local authors - not bad but some of the stories kind of leave you like "huh?"

Before Open was Richard Hammond's "or is that just me" and "as you do"
quite funny really

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 26th, 2010, 10:16 pm

Mcallister - Materials Science n Engineering .. i'm on the equilibria chapt so if yuh like me and u wanna help a girl out .. pm meh with the subtitles to this book coz I LOSSSSS !!! but , like a good solider i trudging on

Recreational Reading , I've read for this past month : Vampirates ( awesom book ! ) , The book of years Vol 1 , The horse Lord , The demon lord ( its iffy but fascinating all the same ) , James patterson Max (bleh ) , Sherrilyn kenyon's Lords of avalon I read the 2nd book in the series ( luved it but then i love chic lit ,so relaxing ) , the last apprentice series 1,2,3,4 .
I read ah mills and boon also , but I can't rem the name :| a rell old school one also I felt so ashamed I hid it under my bed :|

yea I read alot :| I love books . :oops:

I would love to get my hands on Love in the time of cholera , I rell liked tht movie , i'm positive i'll love the book :| ..

my list for next month
Fin read my 3 text's
start acheron ( sherrilyn kenyon )
reread Zarek (same author )
read a book about gengis khan

anybody wanna recommend a book to me ?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 26th, 2010, 10:46 pm

MG Man wrote:nobody else ever read Dune? :|

Read it about 4 times

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » January 26th, 2010, 11:30 pm

Undersea Prison..........

axe

Postby axe » January 27th, 2010, 12:02 am

Wilbur Smith is excellent...i have a few of his books (A Falcon Flies, River God...etc)
James Michener is superb (mixes historical fact with fiction in order to recreate the past)...(Centenniel, Caribbean...etc)

Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum, Eric Lustbader (The Ninja, Angel Eyes), are good too

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 27th, 2010, 1:00 am

WOW! I'm surprised at how many actually responded in a literate manner to this thread.

I'm really shocked! Allyuh raise meh pause dey oui

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2010, 1:06 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
oh and before I forget, Lola Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii :mrgreen:

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 27th, 2010, 1:47 am

PERSEPOLIS - Marjane Satrapi

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 6:58 am

*Audi14* wrote:V.S Naipaul - A House for Mr. Biswas and Road to El Dorado

You should also try Like heaven by Niala Maharaj. A more modern twist on life in Trinidad. Racy, very interesting.

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 7:00 am

MG Man wrote:nobody else ever read Dune? :|

Read one of the books a looooooong time ago.

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 7:02 am

Anybody here read Pillars of the Earth and World without end by Ken Follett???? EXCELLENT books...when ah tell yuh bachannal in those books eh!!!!!!!!

Definitely recommended reading!

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 7:02 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:WOW! I'm surprised at how many actually responded in a literate manner to this thread.

I'm really shocked! Allyuh raise meh pause dey oui

Refreshing. YUHWUHSOMESORRELORWHA???

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 27th, 2010, 7:36 am

this was a good book:

Harlan Coben - Tell no One.
good thriller. there's a french movie out, and ah hear an english version is to be shot this year.

*Audi14*

Postby *Audi14* » January 27th, 2010, 7:36 am

*Audi14* wrote:

You should also try Like heaven by Niala Maharaj. A more modern twist on life in Trinidad. Racy, very interesting

Hey thanks, never heard about that one...

I also read Wide Sargasso Sea - Jean Rhys

very interesting book.

Postby RBphoto » January 27th, 2010, 8:28 am

Anyone here reads Daniel Pink's (Authour) work?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 27th, 2010, 9:51 am

I have a question ,

Do you all read same author's only ? or allyuh does mix it up ?! I'm not a big fan of following the same author over al ong peirod of time .

Coz sometimes I read 1 or 2 books by the same author and itsl ike nothing new same plot different name's locations etc ??

I dunno maybe its just me .