Laptop brand advice

Strauss

Re: Laptop brand advice

Postby Strauss » January 11th, 2012, 8:42 am

Crucial wrote:I currently own a Dell...
...CD/DVD+RW drive which reads CD's but refuses to read and write DVD's. But then again, the drive OEM is Sony...LOL.

This is a non-issue. Doh study it. No one uses CD/DVDs anymore.

Flash memory sticks hold way more than your DVD and soon will be on par with Blu-ray storage. Besides, you have cloud storage and broadband to make even flash drives bulky. iCloud FTW.

shaneelal

Laptop brand advice

Postby shaneelal » September 6th, 2012, 7:38 pm

copper_shot wrote:^ actually there are DELL business partners locally
just a couple

they can BEAT or match the online prices, provide software support and honour warranties

Could you inform me who are the local DELL business partners locally? Need to buy a laptop for cuz and exploring my options, warranty is important for her.

Thanks,
Shane
Last edited by shaneelal on September 6th, 2012, 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » September 6th, 2012, 7:55 pm

Have an ASUS ROG laptop 2 years now. Not a problem with it, still going strong and running games like a beast.

BlackDragon23

Postby BlackDragon23 » September 22nd, 2013, 10:28 pm

Try an MSI laptop...ive had mine for 4 years. Ive never had to change a part!! and its always on. i've been through 2 sony vaio's, 1 acer, 1 dell and a toshiba...nothing stands up to an MSI gaming laptop. Bought from Canada through eBay.

Postby DVSTT » September 22nd, 2013, 10:41 pm

BlackDragon23 wrote:Try an MSI laptop...ive had mine for 4 years. Ive never had to change a part!! and its always on. i've been through 2 sony vaio's, 1 acer, 1 dell and a toshiba...nothing stands up to an MSI gaming laptop. Bought from Canada through eBay.

I'd stick to my ROG, read some bad reviews wrt MSI rigs

Postby Trini Hookah » September 22nd, 2013, 11:03 pm

Lenovo iymc.

namrehs

Postby namrehs » September 22nd, 2013, 11:04 pm

If you gonna be gaming plenty go for these: msi, clevo/sager, asus, alienware

AKI

Postby AKI » September 23rd, 2013, 10:38 am

lenovo all the way :mrgreen:

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » September 23rd, 2013, 10:40 am

Dell all the way... the warranty is the best free parts if abything goes wrong dell sending technicans by ur house to change it free or charge been a dell user for a very long time.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 23rd, 2013, 11:33 am

Got a Toshiba Satellite almost 6 years now. .runs fine. .I only had to change the battery this year. . Fell down a couple times. .stepped on it a couple times. .got a few viruses over the years but still running. .

Postby Spitfir3 » September 23rd, 2013, 11:41 am

s.jaski wrote:Dell all the way... the warranty is the best free parts if abything goes wrong dell sending technicans by ur house to change it free or charge been a dell user for a very long time.

this..from my experience the cheaper hp laptops are the worst!!motherboard and screen problems like wow
as for dell they've really stepped their game up with the new inspirons because the old ones were sheit..the new line of laptops are also very aesthetically pleasing

Postby S_2NR » September 23rd, 2013, 11:56 am

cherrypopper wrote:Got a Toshiba Satellite almost 6 years now. .runs fine. .I only had to change the battery this year. . Fell down a couple times. .stepped on it a couple times. .got a few viruses over the years but still running. .

This

Lmao at ppl saying dell with warranty. U will ALWAYS be calling them to fix thing and their service is sheit

Postby Spitfir3 » September 23rd, 2013, 12:35 pm

^ Hp is worse in terms of warranty....as for toshiba i can agree they work really well ive only ever seen a harddrive problem with one but thats too be expected
the only laptop brand i don't have any sort of hands on experience with is asus but from what ive heard they are pretty good, might make my next laptop an asus

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2013, 1:22 pm

Say no to HP.

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » September 23rd, 2013, 2:27 pm

Apple macbook pro 15. Talk done

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 23rd, 2013, 2:56 pm

Altec55 wrote:If you don't use windows: Apple

otherwise:

1. Sony/Toshiba (poor local support, however chances of needing warranty is low) YEP!!!

3. Asus (dont know about local support, however never heard any bad reviews and they generally make great products)Bought 2 In recent times... great systems. Also a high rating on reliability

4. Dell (Great support locally, chances of needing warranty: DEFINITE (once in a while you may get one that doesn't break down too much though); battery will need to be replaced in 1 to 2 years) Or the board Fails...

5. HP (local support is ok, their last series of computers had problems, however they redesigned and should be fine now, however they may exit PC market or shoot it off as a separate company) All of them have poor battery life and many have cooling issues as well as multiple board failures... That said I also own one for the past 4 years but turns on once in a while.

However no matter what you buy, treat it properly and it should be nice to you.

1. Don't use it on ur bed or some squishy surface that won't allow heat to dissipate.
2. Keep it clean, dust is NOT ur friend (buy a can of air and blow out the vents every couple months)
3. Try to use it mostly in A/C areas. (if you're going out and not using your laptop, turn it off if it's not in a room with A/C)
4. Try not to use it for extended periods of time in humid areas.
5. Try not to walk about with it while the power is on. If you have to move it while its on, just don't shake it up too much.

Basically, keep it cool, clean and dry

U would not believe how many people don't think proper usage of a laptop is an issue... till it causes an issue.

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » September 23rd, 2013, 6:02 pm

Well said

BlackDragon23

Postby BlackDragon23 » September 23rd, 2013, 9:47 pm

Bunch of Dell fanboys in here!....No offense but i HATE DELL! I'll never buy a Dell PC/Laptop in my life again.
I had one Dell desktop and a laptop and i had soo many problems with them both.

I've had too many issues (Motherboard, battery, screen, hard drive) and you have to depend on their service for any repairs...

Just my personal experience.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:30 pm

Sony all the way for me. I love their design and ergonomics.

All the Sony laptops I had never gave me problems except for one I had to replace a battery after a few years and the other I broke the screen :(. This one i have for over 3+ years and the battery still holds charge for more than an hour and I use on the bed everyday,(regularly clean it) Use speedfan to monitor the temps tho. So I mean its your personal preference on what you would decide.

Had a dell it worked great but I sold it after a few months of use so I cant give u a review there.

My Hp overheated and stopped working.

Never had other brands, sticking with Sony.

Postby j.o.e » September 23rd, 2013, 11:11 pm

lenovo...Dell is toots

Postby Ted_v2 » September 24th, 2013, 1:56 am

No @hp and dell

Postby stev » September 24th, 2013, 2:24 am

u guys should post the model numbers of the laptops.

for instance, one guy above said he had a toshiba satellite for for 6 years...which is really good....but i had repair 4 toshiba satellites in the last 6 months....and they weren't that old.

satellite L305D - on board video card failure
satellite L305D - motherboard failure
satellite P845t - power button fault - guy using it without a proper power button at the moment :lol:
satellite p755 - wifi module just stopped working. had a spare so i replaced it for him.

all toshiba users i met so far complained about over heating.

Dell Studio 1535 - very reliable (4 years now) - except when i drop it and had to replace d screen. :lol:

Dell XPS 13 and 15 - never heard the users complain.

Dell Vostro 1000 and up - never heard the users complain about anything except weight and looks. lol

Dell Inspiron 1545 (and some others from the inspiron line) - week screen hinges. gets a lil hot even though its properly ventilated (single fan models)

Lenovo thinkpad and Ideapad - never heard users complain.

HP - never really dealt with many HP laptops....never came across any problems either. the only one was the small, swivel screen one which was noise and a bit shaky.....screen not that sensitive.

Dell Alienware - very expensive and also heavy depending on the model. not worth it if u not into heavy gaming (the price of an alienware can get u an average gaming PC and a tablet)

falcon northwest - one of the best i ever came across - but too dam expensive...a bit fugly too

razr blade - fancy but not as good as alienware (refer to alienware section)

dealt with a couple mac books....they were really good....battery life rel nice as well.....but thats if u dont mind a non-microsoft OS. lol. its easier to use actually.

was messing around with some of the new samsung series 3 15.6" notebook.....it was really light and seems to run very well. no complaining users as yet.

when i say "users" above, i mean both business and home users.

as mentioned b4....its all about how u treat / maintain ur laptop.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 24th, 2013, 7:51 am

Dell XPS ftw tho.

taurine

Postby taurine » September 24th, 2013, 2:49 pm

I have a toshiba, dell, hp, and Lenovo in my house so far my Lenovo is the best .. The dell has been through 2 batteries and a charger already .. The toshiba slow as a snail now .. And HP is brand new and pretty looking but I don't expect it to last very long .. The Lenovo works great and has all the essentials .. The only downfall is looks an das cuz they doe study that .. Whole ting plain and matte black

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 24th, 2013, 3:01 pm

Dell Inspiron 1100 - Hard drive failed after 3 years. Stopped working after 6 years. Not feasible from a financial standpoint to repair

Dell Inspiron 9400 - No problems at all after 6 years

Acer Aspire AS7740-6656 - No issues after 3 years. Sound quality from external speakers a bit low though.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 24th, 2013, 4:24 pm

stev wrote:u guys should post the model numbers of the laptops.

Fair enough... will post all I have worked on as well

HP 6730s - Battery & motherboard failure
HP DV4-2040 Battery & Board Failure
HP DV6110 Battery failure Sound board failure
HP DV5-1140 (my personal Laptop. Works perfect but only uses once in a blue moon. 4 yrs old)
HP425 (School laptop) Ironically pretty solidly built.

Asus A53U-EB11 - (1 yr old Purchased for family. No issues)
ASUS A53U-1BSX - (1yr old Purchased used from someone. NO issues)

Dell D630 (R872J board) GPU overheat failure

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 25th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Apple, HP, Dell and Lenovo would have good warranty/after sale support locally. Toshiba, Acer/Gateway, Asus, MSI, Sony, Samsung etc...I'm not sure if they have local support. One thing for sure, check Government Ministries, State Companies and the local private sector giants and you would see mostly Dell, HP and Lenovo.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » September 25th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Sony E-Series VPCEH - No problems. Bought June 2011. (I use it up to about 16hrs per day everyday).