Trinidad's National Academy for the Performing Arts

Postby equipped2ripp » November 10th, 2009, 3:49 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:There are some cars on the road that cost more than 2 mill.

and what does that have to do with the government?

people buying cars with their hard earned money, whether they obtained it legally or illegally.

What exactly are you trying to say here? :lol:

foot in mouth ftmfw!

wrapping coke is work too yuh know :|

and i deliberately stated it so, i wanted to see who would have questioned the way i made the statement :wink:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 10th, 2009, 7:22 am

equipped2ripp wrote:

people buying cars with their hard earned money, whether they obtained it legally or illegally.

foot in mouth ftmfw!

and i deliberately stated it so, i wanted to see who would have questioned the way i made the statement :wink:

So all dem INJUNS and dem dat does sell WRAP roti in the coke ting? :lol:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 10th, 2009, 8:16 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:

foot in mouth ftmfw!

So all dem INJUNS and dem dat does sell WRAP roti in the coke ting? :lol:

And all the BLACKS does buy de coke from de INJUNS? :lol:

Too easy sorry... :oops:

Postby UML » November 10th, 2009, 7:01 pm

so wat happen tuh Central Bank and Queens Hall.....ent these are for performing arts?!!!

and even recently renovated?!!!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » November 10th, 2009, 7:12 pm

Terran

Postby Terran » November 10th, 2009, 7:20 pm

No matter which way you look at it, building the centre is a case of damned if you, damned if you don't.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2009, 7:23 pm

if this is an "academy" then what kind of teaching going on here and who are the teachers or is that still to be decided or will uwi artsie program move there ?

Postby buzz » November 10th, 2009, 7:31 pm

ok ok ok

to be honest

its really REALLY impressive and a beaut to look @

and yes as a trinidadian you can be proud to have such a piece that can be compared to first world countries

BUT

there are other things to be done... priorities FTL

its like spending 15K on a paint job and yuh car shutting dong every monday morning :arrow:

Postby UML » November 10th, 2009, 7:31 pm

it eh even have ah car park!!! :lol: :lol:

rrballiram

Re: Trinidad's National Academy for the Performing Arts

Postby rrballiram » June 29th, 2011, 2:05 pm

I have a meeting to attend in NAPA.

However I dont know how to get there from city gate, i will be travelling. Can someone be nice and tell me where do i get the taxis going to NAPA?

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2011, 2:12 pm

rrballiram wrote:I have a meeting to attend in NAPA.

However I dont know how to get there from city gate, i will be travelling. Can someone be nice and tell me where do i get the taxis going to NAPA?

2 ways:

1) From city Gate - Walk straight up Frederick St until you reach Memorial Park. NAPA is on your left hand side.

2) Take a St. Ann's taxi at the corner of Frederick & Hart St (right outside subway) and tell the driver you coming out by NAPA. Either way, you can't miss it.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2011, 5:41 pm

i am against such superfluous endeavors borne by the public coffers, where only some small portion of the citizenry would be making use of it. think about it, the kinds of events, the numbers of persons who would attend and the amount of money spent. that is too much money for too little use.

but, a society should encourage various culture. this venture should have been a cumulative effort of the parties interested in the performing arts, probably with assistance from the government.

look at how many churches that are elaborately built, with financing from the church's own congregation. they made an effort towards their own interest.

but even self if the performing arts communities dont want to fund it them selves and the country could use it as an advertising point, they should have stuck with one. the usage does not justify the expenditure.

i, for one, would much rather to have my taxes put toward a fully functioning pediatrics ward or cancer ward in south than an ornate structure to benefit the minority only through entertainment.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2011, 6:27 pm

^ unfortunately for your ideals the govt funds are not one big pool that any ministry can draw from at any time. Budgets are set for each ministry and the ministry of culture had the funding acquired over the years to build the north and south NAPA buildings.

I'm proud to know that the NAPA building around the savannah is in T&T.

WRT to a few use it: there are roads that you have never or hardly ever drive on, yet it was very important to some people that such a road exists.

Trinidad is the land of steelpan, calypso and limbo - culture is very important to us and our income as a nation.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2011, 6:36 pm

but roads are for communication, or transportation as it were. these are for entertainment, when we have needs far more important.

there is one in port of spain, and that should have been enough. entertainment is an option, medical care is a definite.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2011, 7:05 pm

think about these scenarios. this elder person i know from the area, had a stroke some time ago. she was taken to sanfernando general hospital. but effective treatment had to be done at mt hope. so at the time she was taken there. after the initial treatment, she had to visit there regularly, and then intermittently until the condition was no more. good to say that she has no signs of any stroke.

she now has cancer and had to go to st. clair for treatment on a regular basis.their family is poor and my work schedule does not permit me to help. after the initial treatment, follow up treatments were weekly so she made the trek once per week. she is elderly and the treatment alone is daunting, but the rigors of traveling so far for so long at a time also stresses her.
the first discovery was cleared up, but after some time, it was discovered in another area. she seeks medical care at mt hope.
good to say there is a public transport facility for them to get to mt hope, where they use a bus from the sanfernando hospital, got mt hope, then are returned to sando hospital. but they need to get to and from sando, and that tends to be an additional hassle to the time spent during the long buss rides.

my cousin's recently deceased son and my lil brother were afflicted with heart conditions. their routine checks were done at mt hope. my cousin's son's condition was severe and his surgeries were done at mt hope soon after he was born up till he was five. while warded there, the family would need to make the treks to and from mt hope from new grant every day for that period.

because his condition was severe, he could not be aggravated too much, so when they were able to access public assistance, they could then hire a car to make the treks for routine check ups with out making him distressed too much.

when he passed away, it was due to preparation for a surgery at sando for a situation unrelated to his dominant condition. the doctors were not aware of his main condition, and only when ready to perform the surgery did they realize that he was different and sent him home. he needed specialist attention which was only available at mt hope. the doctors would have sent him to the specialists if it were closer, but the time from discharge to the time of death was just about the time it would have taken to reach mt hope any way.

tell me the benefits of having performing arts centers half an hour away from any where u live in trinidad and tobago.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2011, 7:22 pm

sMASH wrote:but roads are for communication, or transportation as it were. these are for entertainment, when we have needs far more important.

there is one in port of spain, and that should have been enough. entertainment is an option, medical care is a definite.
agreed but budgets dont work that way.

Would you take all your entertainment money and contribute it toward national healthcare? Or do you set aside money for charity, money to pay taxes and money for personal expenses as separate portions?

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2011, 7:44 pm

no, not all is for health care. but i have no health care issues that need attending to so no need to allocate funds towards my health care.

when i have a health care issue, i allocate funds towards it, see that it is sorted out to an acceptable state. even so, some money is still spent on entertainment, when that is done it has no impact on the funds required for my health care.

a significant portion of my income is dedicated towards medical insurance. the remainder surplus is used for the bills and monthly necessities. the remainder after that is then spent on entertainment, but sometimes saved or reinvested.

the funds towards entertainment, for the country should have been a lot less, and used as an assistance to what ever cultural arts community in doing what they want. if some pan people wanted pan then help them with their equipment and venue. if some people wanted calypso, then help them with a building. if some people wanted a dance place, then help them.

i understand how budget works and i say they budgeted wrongly.
there are more important things to spend so much money on before u spend it on big buildings to dance and play music.