the Rapid rail- is it On or off?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 10th, 2009, 12:57 pm

priority asssessment exercise currently being conducted as it pertains to all of the planned GOTT projects, however, as a stand-alone, rapid-rail is on hold for the time being.

KNT - 10 Sept 09 (CMMB Post-budget meeting)

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2009, 12:58 pm

Delayed (for now).

Allyuh mus' unnerstan' de PNM language.

xeon

Postby xeon » September 10th, 2009, 2:18 pm

money done....no more rapid rail.....fellas hadda rely on buses now :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 10th, 2009, 3:01 pm

it really canceled !? :shock: wtf

now wah going orn with d smelter - ent ramesh seeing about this ? ...

Postby M_2NR » September 10th, 2009, 3:14 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:ahmm i thought vinci was awarded the contract? along with the aranguez/el socorro interchange.. btw what goin on wit the next phase of the "nestle" interchange?

(minus d spelling errors)

tool-band

Postby tool-band » September 10th, 2009, 3:23 pm

design still going strong

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2009, 6:28 pm

Smealter on 100%, power plant is being finished as we speak.

Serious thing.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 10th, 2009, 6:52 pm

^^ correct is right

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 10th, 2009, 8:52 pm

xtech wrote:they watching what happening in Saudi Arabia. They just finished the first rail system in the middle east. In a country where everybody has a car. Nobody uses the trains

Our kind gov't will increase fuel costs to encourage the public to use the train ( if it ever comes).

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 10th, 2009, 8:52 pm

great cancer children nation here we come- vision 2020 where every other child has cancer

thanks pnm!

Sequel

Postby Sequel » September 10th, 2009, 9:57 pm

the rapid rail not going to be coming anytime soon. right it said to be put on hold. but we all know how Nidco does work. the govt does say one thing and dey does do what they want.

Either way I dont think we should expect it anytime soon. bc with this revenue shock in we tail. i highly doubt money coming anytime soon to be financing that!

nickytoco

Postby nickytoco » September 11th, 2009, 12:55 am

I honestly find is a nice setup, based on what I have seen so far from the design engineers, if all the players were to come on board, it would really benefit us. ...and as a man say earlier....when the pnm say something on hold, it just means it delayed for now...its only politics the pnm playing with the public, all the background work full throttle ahead for the rapid rail right now.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 11th, 2009, 2:53 am

it's a nice setup and idea.... but, the country has no $$$ for that right now. it isn't a priority.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 11th, 2009, 3:41 am

How much was spent on this project already? Either it's money down the drain or when the project is restarted, it's going to cost twice as much again!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 11th, 2009, 7:25 am

DTAC wrote:How much was spent on this project already? Either it's money down the drain or when the project is restarted, it's going to cost twice as much again!

shhhhshhh thats how they "reward" their stupid "followers" and backers!

kickbacks FTW! :roll: mean while the country suffers!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 11th, 2009, 9:24 am

doesnt matter if they are still proceding with the design phase. Bouygues will still be paid for this part.
The designs/routes can be used later on so I think that the project will be put on hold for a few years until it becomes feasible to start.

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » September 11th, 2009, 11:31 am

trinitrain consortium is the company in charge. and funding will be sourced externally

diamondtip01

Postby diamondtip01 » March 22nd, 2010, 11:28 pm

What is really going on with this rapid rail.
Central Trinidad has always been a significant contributor to the fresh food resources of this country. Take this away, and there will be a major shortage of produce in Trinidad and Tobago subsequently leading to further increases in the price of food on the market. A national domino effect.

Other jobs affected are maxi and taxi drivers since this project aims to replace small transport operations, car and vehicle dealerships thereby affecting auto sales shops, auto mechanics, service stations, tyre shops etc. While there may be job creation in the implementation of the rapid rail can it match, in the least, or exceed the number of jobs that it will replace? Can the incomes of these created jobs replace and match that of the ones that they will make nonexistent? Can it maintain the lifestyles of the people? Or is this another CEPEP like endeavour where there are no substantial employment opportunities being generated and the quality of life is based on a week to week basis? Is this first world mentality I ask?

Postby Maserati » March 22nd, 2010, 11:45 pm

^ you rather people be stuck in traffic for countless hours in the blazing sun or flooding hi-way or getting robbed on the beetham? The amount of hours and $ lost on the daily commute is ridiculous
Man stop being so short sighed.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 22nd, 2010, 11:49 pm

Maserati wrote:^ you rather people be stuck in traffic for countless hours in the blazing sun or flooding hi-way or getting robbed on the beetham? The amount of hours and $ lost on the daily commute is ridiculous
Man stop being so short sighed.
and this whole thing will be run by the ptsc u think it really going to be all that good after the 1st 6 years

Postby equipped2ripp » March 22nd, 2010, 11:51 pm

trains would breed crime gangs, people would use it and not pay for rides......

people who have friends as conductors and so on would also ride free as they would be given a "bligh" as to not presenting their tickets when on the trains.

and as everything PNM does in the country, they run it to the ground.

Postby Maserati » March 22nd, 2010, 11:51 pm

^good point on it being run by the PTSC..it is indeed doomed to fail then

xtech

Postby xtech » March 23rd, 2010, 1:07 am

equipped2ripp wrote:trains would breed crime gangs, people would use it and not pay for rides......

people who have friends as conductors and so on would also ride free as they would be given a "bligh" as to not presenting their tickets when on the trains.

and as everything PNM does in the country, they run it to the ground.

Maserati wrote:^good point on it being run by the PTSC..it is indeed doomed to fail then

have you guys ever been on a NY subway u cant get near a train without a pass........ there will be lots of vendors on board thats for sure an maybe a few Beetham bandits

Postby equipped2ripp » March 23rd, 2010, 1:08 am

no I never left Trinidad... tell meh how it is in fawrin nah :oops: :oops:

Vat19

Postby Vat19 » March 23rd, 2010, 6:57 am

rapid rail is on! so is Alutrin ... Gov hiding it but it is very much underway. The people of trinidad are being kept in the dark because our PM knows no one can do anything about it.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 23rd, 2010, 7:49 am

This is absoluye BS!

Since when does a government not have to account for ALL of its expenditure!?

Trinis really have NO BACK BONE!

STand up and BRING the country to a STOP! DEMAND accountability!

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 23rd, 2010, 8:05 am

From what i heard...Ramesh say they spent $500 million so far
on the rapid rail....that is just the research cost.... :(
Personally i doh think i gonna use no frickin train....jus gonna be
a waste...this ain't no continent...is a lil island...we have no need for
such foolish toys...that money could have been used to build more roads
and upgrade the highway's. $14 billion ....we could get bout 5 hospital with that. Bed's for all...medicine for all...food for all...what more important..
PTSC cyah even maintain a few buses you feel they go maintain a
train... :lol: .....when it breaks down and fails they should take it
and shove it up Imberts and Mannings ass...... :roll:

xtech

Postby xtech » March 23rd, 2010, 8:05 am

eh? :?

is 2010 ent we due for some national riots

<a href="http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=183649&highlight=riots">Riots.....TNT due for one? </a>

diamondtip01

Postby diamondtip01 » March 23rd, 2010, 11:14 am

Anybody have any idea actually where these lines going to run. I hear it runing east to west close to the Highway. So by every stop will we have taxi stands to carry persons to homes on the north of the highway

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » March 23rd, 2010, 11:26 am

they cant build the rapid rail because they have to finish the church first , so the prophetess wont get upset and then we would get rain again........... :twisted: