Having a macaw as a pet

devrat

Re: Having a macaw as a pet

Postby devrat » January 28th, 2010, 1:11 pm

ci crew wrote:
jsr wrote:Is there a legal way to have a macaw as a pet?

permits etc?

whats the process?

if u interested, 9 available, $5000.00 each

I'm interested in all 9, pm a location to meet, walk with the birds and you will get the cash. Come with the birds though or the deal is off.

jsr

Postby jsr » October 31st, 2011, 9:34 am

reposting this as i got info on the process of obtaining a wildlife permit
anyone has any?

Postby cinco » October 31st, 2011, 9:38 am

anyone have an idea on how to purchase a permit to have a macco as a pet?
seems it wud be more entertaining than a macaw

Postby dougla_boy » October 31st, 2011, 10:43 am

parrots are nice birds, my little brother got a parrot, and that bird is a handful! :-D , what toys can i get her? i find she is starting to bite.

jsr

Postby jsr » October 31st, 2011, 11:07 am

i called one of those pet shops and they gave me a price of $4000.

i believe that they have macaws legally

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » October 31st, 2011, 11:40 am

Some really sick bastards out there

If you were sat next to this airline passenger, you might understand why he was fidgeting around so much. This Dutch traveller was caught trying to smuggle more than a dozen live hummingbirds in special pouches sewn into the inside of his underwear at Rochambeau airport in Cayenne, French Guiana.

Given away by bird poop on his socks, fancy pants here was charged Tuesday in California with smuggling exotic Asian songbirds from Vietnam into the United States by strapping them onto his legs.

These guys died of soffocation

The eight gyrfalcons were discovered back on Nov. 21, at Moscow's Sheremetyevo International Airport, after a passenger bound for the Middle East checked two boxes containing the birds as personal luggage. She was removed from the plane and detained.

Re:

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 31st, 2011, 4:18 pm

d spike wrote:" Make sure you have a cage big enough for the bird to fully open his wings, plus plenty on toys ... "

This guy is right regarding the toys. Macaws are highly intelligent birds and need new and interesting stimuli to keep them happy. You will need to change his toys regularly. If you hear about pet macaws who have started biting, then you are hearing about a bird going mad due to lack of mental stimulation (yeah, they can go mad). Room to move about and things to manipulate make for an alert and happy bird. :D

ditto....tried all kinda thing so far...from bottle cap to plastic bottle, anything he could play up with..

the beyotch could make noise when he hungry though...

Rx

Postby Rx » November 1st, 2011, 2:03 pm

hmmm..... leave the birds in the wild

Yodins

Postby Yodins » November 1st, 2011, 6:19 pm

Rx wrote:hmmm..... leave the birds in the wild

agreed

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 1st, 2011, 6:50 pm

Get a corbeau

kl122

Postby kl122 » November 4th, 2011, 7:16 pm

once its not the scarlet you shouldnt have a hard time with game wardens, the blue and gold and green winged are very common and not endangered...you can apply for a permit and once the warden is please with the cage size u good to go...after much deliberation i chose not to get a pair....much prefer a yellow head vennie....the black market for exotic pets is a booming business here, 4000$ for a maccaw is maddness!!!

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2011, 7:40 pm

kl122 wrote:once its not the scarlet you shouldnt have a hard time with game wardens, the blue and gold and green winged are very common and not endangered...you can apply for a permit and once the warden is please with the cage size u good to go...after much deliberation i chose not to get a pair....much prefer a yellow head vennie....the black market for exotic pets is a booming business here, 4000$ for a maccaw is maddness!!!

buddy of mine bought two macaws for 10k each about 2 weeks ago.
Wasn't really taking him on when he was telling me what kind tho, all I hear is the 10k part lol

Postby sMASH » November 4th, 2011, 7:43 pm

Yodins wrote:

agreed
think about if u are made to stay in a 10 by 10 room with only a few toys, some body scratching ur head every now and again, and no partner...
dem ting design to live in the wild, not in a cage.

Postby SUPAstarr » November 4th, 2011, 7:53 pm

sMASH wrote:
Yodins wrote:

agreed
think about if u are made to stay in a 10 by 10 room with only a few toys, some body scratching ur head every now and again, and no partner...
dem ting design to live in the wild, not in a cage.

Unfortunately the few that has created this ignorant view, is what irks me. Why have a bird if you goin to put him in prison. My bird walks around house, follows mom around whole day, and is loved...i HATE to see imprisoned birds, i sometimes ask owners for them.

Sell_Out

Postby Sell_Out » November 5th, 2011, 12:03 am

the dude in valsayn breed these birds and let them back in the wild rite here in trinidad its a rotary club project

kl122

Postby kl122 » November 5th, 2011, 7:57 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
kl122 wrote:once its not the scarlet you shouldnt have a hard time with game wardens, the blue and gold and green winged are very common and not endangered...you can apply for a permit and once the warden is please with the cage size u good to go...after much deliberation i chose not to get a pair....much prefer a yellow head vennie....the black market for exotic pets is a booming business here, 4000$ for a maccaw is maddness!!!

buddy of mine bought two macaws for 10k each about 2 weeks ago.
Wasn't really taking him on when he was telling me what kind tho, all I hear is the 10k part lol

for that price it has to be scarlets, or someone made a hell of a profit on 2 green winged or blue n gold...lol...if he bought them directly from the "importer" he would have a 75% savings.

i agree having them caged is a cruel, right now i wanna set free a semp my father buy and have in a small cage...

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 5th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Contact Forestry Division, the permit is free.

Postby X_Factor » November 5th, 2011, 11:20 pm

i hate seeing birds in cages , they were given wings for a reason

especially those who say "ohh the bird singing"
how do u know the bird actually singing or singing something happy
for all we know, that could be what the bird does when its sad etc
or the parrot who "plays" with the toy...how do we know its playing with the toy and not taking out fustration

i always ask ppl, what if you can have the biggest house, anything you want, anytime you want it but you are not allowed to leave the house or hav anyone over..how long you think u can last

jsr

Postby jsr » January 5th, 2012, 9:33 am

anyone knows petshops selling macaws legally?

pm me
the ony one i found ut about was one in woodbrook

tariqokintawa

Postby tariqokintawa » January 5th, 2012, 4:03 pm

Looking for a few, about 10 lb will be good enough for me...

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » March 14th, 2012, 8:36 pm

looking for some exotic birds to buy and place on display home. Parrots, parakeets or Macaws. African Grey,Eclectus etc. Anybody knows any petshop where i can buy macaws legally? PM me asap plz

Postby DVSTT » May 24th, 2013, 3:17 am

Why can't we just leave the birds in the wild where they belong? Half of them that get kept as pets are confined to tiny prisons and live miserable lives. If the pet trade keeps up, soon enough we won't even have parrots and macaws in the wild.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 24th, 2013, 7:01 am

^You should take a look at the dates...

Milagroso

Postby Milagroso » November 16th, 2017, 10:28 am

Anyone have any idea on how to get a macaw legally? How to get a permit or anything?

Postby Rovin » November 16th, 2017, 12:00 pm

X_Factor wrote:i hate seeing birds in cages , they were given wings for a reason

or the parrot who "plays" with the toy...how do we know its playing with the toy and not taking out fustration

i always ask ppl, what if you can have the biggest house, anything you want, anytime you want it but you are not allowed to leave the house or hav anyone over..how long you think u can last

x100000000000

but if u try telling that to a bird lover u will get good cuss or some lame excuse or wais d difference with a dog,cat ,fish or other pets ..... stop clipping their wings to prevent them from flying off or open their cages & see if ur birds soooo love u if they will stay with their own free will like a dog or cat , i bet u 99% of d birds will rather their wild freedom & never come back ....... :|

link

Re:

Postby link » November 17th, 2017, 6:30 pm

wall wrote:
haydn28 wrote:it have ah wild one does come by my house for food and water , and i doh have no permit :lol:
how long this been happenin? i used to have a macaw a blue and gold that used to do the same thing for about a yr he used to fly from plamiste to bel air n evan made it as far as claxton bay one time where we ended up bringin him back home n letting him go again.

it's probably this bird that often visited our sapodilla and pommecythere trees in LaRomaine............
haven't seen it for quite a while, though...heard some imps caught the red macaw which use to pass through too...
steups

Postby RedVEVO » November 17th, 2017, 8:28 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:
X_Factor wrote:i hate seeing birds in cages , they were given wings for a reason

x100000000000

but if u try telling that to a bird lover u will get good cuss or some lame excuse or wais d difference with a dog,cat ,fish or other pets ..... stop clipping their wings to prevent them from flying off or open their cages & see if ur birds soooo love u if they will stay with their own free will like a dog or cat , i bet u 99% of d birds will rather their wild freedom & never come back ....... :|

During World Wars birds were used to send special coded messages ..

So they flew away and came back . Or vice versa.

PNM use to use Parrots and Macaws but they talked too much and were shot :D