mr brooks wasnt really an action movie, more thriller/suspense really
but it was cool

another of the type was secret garden i believe with johnny depp

u all ever heard of one called XTRO 2
u can google it
one sick ass movie

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2009, 9:29 pm

^^ will do...

Body Of Lies was BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD!!!!! if you thought Syriana was good...then man oh man.... Leonardo and Crowe fit right in!!! To me was more realistic than Syriana...and highligthed the ueslessnes that the US is in the MIddle East..t.hey really dont know their ass from their elbo when it comes to "on the street" intel.

ALL TEN!!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 31st, 2009, 10:32 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:now finish watching HEAT.... reminded me of two Great icons going up against each other...Pacino and De Niro....one of the best action films ive watched...and it was set in 1995.

Best gun fight i've seen in a while as well. Kilmer KILLED them with that "balls to the wall" shooting...(true in real life there's no way a person cud shoot like that one handed...but still...)

if yu havent seen it....download and take in some good cineatography (sp).

one of my favorites rassey, almost real and di nero and pacino oh well :)

Xsiege

Postby Xsiege » August 31st, 2009, 10:59 pm

For any action movie fan it's critical that you get familiar with Mr. Woo... I recommend these as they are his best work.

Hard Boiled (imo his best movie !)
The Killer
A Better Tomorrow
A Better Tomorrow II
Face Off

I also highly recommend Reservoir Dogs....it is one of the best (if not the best) Quentin Tarantino flicks. On the same level as pulp fiction !!!

...and strangely tho...I don't think anyone mentioned Terminator 2: Judgment Day.
whats up with that ?!?!

its only one of the best action movies ever made ! Saw it in high def the other day and it still looks awesome !!!

There's also Con Air, The Rock, Speed, True Lies (the set piece with the bridge still impresses me to this day), Aliens etc...

...and yes..I do think late 80s to mid 90s were the best era of action movies !

oh an heat was classic !!!

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 31st, 2009, 11:09 pm

hmmm you saw all the bournes?

Postby Cjruckus » August 31st, 2009, 11:12 pm

Only mentioned once in this thread but ill say it again..

The Boondock Saints.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/lu0I2eWe_dY&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Then there is The Good the bad and the ugly, Reservoir Dogs..

And of course..

The Untouchables

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/xIF_WdPUBFo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2009, 11:42 pm

^^ im not a fan of Willem Dafoe....waaaaaaaaay too over rated as an actor...

Postby Cjruckus » August 31st, 2009, 11:46 pm

but the boondock saints is a good movie. Dafoe or not, its good.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2009, 11:48 pm

X_Factor wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:Mr Brooks

but it was cool

u can google it
one sick ass movie

Is XTRO 2 the movie where the dudes head "slimes" off and becomes a Spider?...that was set in 1983 right?...one of my first Horror type action clicks i saw....thing had me up for NIGhTS!!!....

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2009, 11:49 pm

Cjruckus wrote:but the boondock saints is a good movie. Dafoe or not, its good.

cool....trying to find an active Torrent for it....

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2009, 8:15 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
X_Factor wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:Mr Brooks

but it was cool

u can google it
one sick ass movie

Is XTRO 2 the movie where the dudes head "slimes" off and becomes a Spider?...that was set in 1983 right?...one of my first Horror type action clicks i saw....thing had me up for NIGhTS!!!....

yep, i believe thats it...if i remember right

Yep, BOdy of lies was awesome
another one to look into is Blood Diamond

Postby Monk BANzai » September 1st, 2009, 11:43 pm

^^^ yeah took in Blood daimond.... but yunno..if they updated XTRO2 and showed it in cinemas today.....ppl wudnt last that film......that sheit was gross...even the SAW series pales in comparison.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 1st, 2009, 11:45 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:hmmm you saw all the bournes?

the second one in that triolgy was best...the fight with the "Parkour" guy was epic! i think that re-defined close shot hand to hand combat.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 2nd, 2009, 5:43 pm

Zulu

and a true story to boot

gundelero

Postby gundelero » September 3rd, 2009, 2:50 pm

bump

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 3rd, 2009, 3:18 pm

Cjruckus wrote:but the boondock saints is a good movie. Dafoe or not, its good.

cosign.

Also:

Black Hawk Down
Behind Enemy Lines
The Hunt for Red October - not modern action, but great flick nonetheless
Die Hard (All)
Bourne (All)
Matrix 1
Fight Club
The Rock
Face Off

jeez too much to list.

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 3:22 pm

Layer cake

If yuh in the mood for utter insanity and you enjoyed shoot em up:

Crank
Crank 2
Transporter 3

Postby Monk BANzai » September 3rd, 2009, 4:38 pm

^^ Crank 2 was good...but PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZ dont make a third one!!...and T3 was sheit...sheit sheit....so much sheit eh.....that "Audi driing out of the water" scene was so....bah!!!

will d/l Layer cake and see what its all about..

Bondock Saints was good....suprised me....

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 3rd, 2009, 4:52 pm

Try:

The Professional
Blade Runner
North by Northwest (old Hitchcock movie)
Memento
LA Confidential (best film of 1997, screw Titanic)
Drunken Master 2
La Femme Nikita

Xsiege

Postby Xsiege » September 3rd, 2009, 7:07 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Only mentioned once in this thread but ill say it again..

The Boondock Saints.

<embed src='http://videomedia.ign.com/ev/ev.swf' flashvars='object_ID=26452&downloadURL=http://moviesmovies.ign.com/movies/video/article/102/1020626/boonsaints2_trlr_090209_flvlowwide.flv&allownetworking="all%"' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' width='433' height='360'></embed><div style='width:433;'><a href='http://movies.ign.com/objects/026/026452.html'>More Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day Info</a></div>

new redband trailer....looks good !

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 3rd, 2009, 9:06 pm

Pitch Black..

it on syfy now :lol:

Postby foss » September 5th, 2009, 2:57 am

bump

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2009, 7:47 am

so i was doin some research and these are what i remembered from back then that i dont mind taking a look at now

Assassins - banderas
Ballisti Ecks vs sever
desperados
once upon a time in mexico
blown away - an old bomber movie
new jack city
44 mins - hollywood shoot out ( true story)

Postby bluesteel29 » September 9th, 2009, 9:18 pm

Blood and Bone

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 9th, 2009, 9:36 pm

Layercake

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 9th, 2009, 9:55 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:Blood and Bone

It eh all dat but it was good.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2009, 3:23 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:REvolver....hmmm..one of Stratamns BETTER movies....wow.... top notch!! worth the Torrent!!!

Brett..REVOLVER.....he co-starred along-side Andre3000.....

Postby Monk BANzai » September 18th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Add These three to the "Good sheit" list...

Linewatch - Cuba Gooding Jr.
Killshot - Diane Lane/ Mickey Bourne
The Hades FACtor - Stephen Dorf/ Mira Sorvino.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » September 18th, 2009, 9:25 pm

The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Supremacy

The Bourne Ultamatium