When you take your car in for a "service"

Postby Greypatch » May 12th, 2009, 7:06 pm

pete you sure it came out of your car ?

In order to keep yuh "warranty" and DIY how much service can u miss ?

do the small ones yourself and go in for the big ones ?

Postby pete » May 12th, 2009, 7:22 pm

The wiper blades were definitely new.

Postby janfar » May 13th, 2009, 6:38 am

PreMieR wrote:ALL those firm does rip off ppl, so i dont even waste my time goin to drop it anymore.
Janfar- i dont even bother teachin my to change a tyre that in itself is a waste of time, she watch and tell me " ent i have cell, i go call yuh" :shock: :shock: women ent care to learn......

I think you have that wrong, you have a louse on your hands. My girls willing and able to learn. It seemingly is more technical that 'just a check' though.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 13th, 2009, 6:44 am

Greypatch wrote:pete you sure it came out of your car ?

In order to keep yuh "warranty" and DIY how much service can u miss ?

do the small ones yourself and go in for the big ones ?

The warranty generally may not be really worth it unless you get the "free service" package....and you kinda pay for that too in the price of the car (well for LM anyways).

.....i.e. for example if you bought your car w/o that "package"/when it wasn't offered, then the cost of the services over the said # of years would probably exceed the cost of parts having to be replaced anyways (what MAJOR things do you see going wrong in one year? two years?)

Postby Greypatch » May 13th, 2009, 9:22 am

sad too see no input from sales reps and dealership ppl on this thread

Anton

Postby Anton » May 13th, 2009, 9:35 am

^^ Yunno how long i trying to find out what i can do for myself viz the warranty with the yaris. TTTL always have some roundabout answer. Nothing concrete or on paper.
:? :?

Postby Greypatch » May 13th, 2009, 10:58 am

yep each person will say something different...and no written document wrt DYI

that way them can easily use the void warranty argument :idea:

shamefull really

G-T

Postby G-T » May 13th, 2009, 11:51 am

PreMieR wrote:ALL those firm does rip off ppl, so i dont even waste my time goin to drop it anymore.
Janfar- i dont even bother teachin my to change a tyre that in itself is a waste of time, she watch and tell me " ent i have cell, i go call yuh" :shock: :shock: women ent care to learn......

eh heh!!

My dad thought me everything, changing & pressuring tires. I don't just drop off my car to the mechanic, sometimes staying the entire day, making sure everything goes well.... really these days women should learn how do those things...get involve with all the nitty gritty stuff, not just drive it & assume brother, husband etc go tell them that the car needs an oil change.. :arrow:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 13th, 2009, 6:00 pm

as another tuner said most of these jobs can be done at home just using a jack and a wrench.... For the big jobs if u aren't comfortable with tackling it ur self i highly suggest finding a small reputable shop to do the job for u, as they are less expensive than the stealership. Another good point to note is that the cost of labor is relatively cheap when compared to the states, however parts on the other hand are quite the opposite and are very expensive when purchased locally, so best bet walk wit ur own parts.

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 13th, 2009, 6:35 pm

G-T wrote:

eh heh!!

My dad thought me everything, changing & pressuring tires. I don't just drop off my car to the mechanic, sometimes staying the entire day, making sure everything goes well.... really these days women should learn how do those things...get involve with all the nitty gritty stuff, not just drive it & assume brother, husband etc go tell them that the car needs an oil change.. :arrow:

Postby pete » May 13th, 2009, 9:06 pm

I did it already.. it's not too hard to change a HG..

Smokey

Postby Smokey » May 13th, 2009, 9:46 pm

Greypatch wrote:sad too see no input from sales reps and dealership ppl on this thread

well i asked my cousin at toyota earlier today.

Basically he said, at Toyota...moreless 95% of the tings they say they do, they actually do.

He said, they are senior supervisors/mechanics who double check the work and an accurate inventory of parts is also checked.

He also pointed out that in the past in toyota, there were instances of 'unreliable' mechanics, who either did not do what they were supposed to do, and were stealing parts on the side.

take it or leave it....my experience wit toyota so far has been excellent, and I do double check the simple tings as well as so far they seem to have done what they said they did.

Postby AllTrac » May 13th, 2009, 9:56 pm

pete wrote:I did it already.. it's not too hard to change a HG..

not true, i tried all day to figure out how to change the HG on a 2nd gen rx-7, up till this day i still cant figure it out, car is parked down until i can change it.

Postby buzz » May 13th, 2009, 9:59 pm

Postby Hook » May 14th, 2009, 5:47 am

pete wrote:
Hook wrote:hahahahahahahaha...Pete should know better than that...

we mekkin' a Papers Friday or wha?

One of my services at lifestyle they left the old wiper blades, air filter and spark plugs in the car for me.

wrong Pete :lol:

I was refering to THIS Pete

crazybalhead wrote:BTW Hook, argument was with Mitch and yuh cousin eh. :| :|

two ah dem SWEAR the mechanic does check everything.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » May 14th, 2009, 6:22 am

AllTrac wrote:
pete wrote:I did it already.. it's not too hard to change a HG..

not true, i tried all day to figure out how to change the HG on a 2nd gen rx-7, up till this day i still cant figure it out, car is parked down until i can change it.

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: