Maha Shiv Raatri Tonight

Postby gt4tified » February 23rd, 2009, 11:32 pm

Erm, allyuh ease up nah....I have better ways of spending my holiday than read allyuh looooong posts. Anyway, is there anyone here who is Hindu enuff to clarify why the Shiva Dharam Sabha is celebrating ShivaRaatri tonite?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 24th, 2009, 3:15 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:sang me some chants/bhajans, gave my discourse, made my offerings..............time well spent.

Nice, now is time for rum.

lol, leh me give it a lil few days......still wallowing in the feeling......plus I brokes :oops:

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 24th, 2009, 6:25 am

gt4tified wrote:Erm, allyuh ease up nah....I have better ways of spending my holiday than read allyuh looooong posts. Anyway, is there anyone here who is Hindu enuff to clarify why the Shiva Dharam Sabha is celebrating ShivaRaatri tonite?

because they don't understand the significance of a time zone :S

Postby RBphoto » February 24th, 2009, 7:52 am

Sumana.00, what scenes gyul, ah could pass after wuk to get some sweets then? Jus drop some down the road, and tell them is for me..... and me alone :|

:D

Postby gt4tified » February 24th, 2009, 9:46 am

Sumana.00 wrote:
gt4tified wrote:Erm, allyuh ease up nah....I have better ways of spending my holiday than read allyuh looooong posts. Anyway, is there anyone here who is Hindu enuff to clarify why the Shiva Dharam Sabha is celebrating ShivaRaatri tonite?

because they don't understand the significance of a time zone :S

lolz...thanx.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 24th, 2009, 10:23 am

crossdrilled wrote:Sumana.00, what scenes gyul, ah could pass after wuk to get some sweets then? Jus drop some down the road, and tell them is for me..... and me alone :|

:D

:lol: :lol: wrong country :P & i real had satsang thursday yunno :oops:

Postby RBphoto » February 24th, 2009, 11:47 am

pioneer wrote:what did sat sing?

"When they drink they rum...."

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 24th, 2009, 12:02 pm

steups no parsad for u na :roll:

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 24th, 2009, 2:02 pm

i not 100% sure but most of the hindu religious festivals are based on the lunar calendar ( lent is the only christian one i think that works wit d lunar everything is solar) and it is easy to make a mistake in calculations...so maybe that's why they alone celebrating it??

Sundar

Re: Maha Shiv Raatri Tonight

Postby Sundar » March 4th, 2019, 12:56 pm

Happy Shivratri!!
IMG-20190304-WA0005.jpeg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 4th, 2019, 1:20 pm

Same to you Sundar and the rest of the tuner clan

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » March 4th, 2019, 1:49 pm

Thanks for the well wishes. Have a blessed one with you and yours.

Just leaving this here if anyone cares to vibes it.

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2019, 4:59 pm

Jah bless dem hindus. Hope the betis not in town

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » March 5th, 2019, 2:31 am

Just some points for consideration:

Hinduism does not explicitly prohibit eating meat, but it does strongly recommend ahimsa – the concept of non-violence against all life forms including animals. As a consequence, many Hindus prefer a vegetarian lifestyle, because they believe that it minimizes hurting other life forms.

The Vedic texts have conflicting verses with some suggesting ritual slaughter and meat consumption, while others suggesting a taboo on meat eating. The Upanishads and Sutra texts of Hinduism discuss moderate diet and proper nutrition. The Upanishads and Sutra texts invoke the concept of virtuous self-restraint in matters of food.

The Bhagavad Gita includes verses on diet and moderation in food in Chapter 6. It states in verse 6.16 that a Yogi must neither eat too much nor too little, neither sleep too much nor too little. Understanding and regulating one’s established habits about eating, sleeping and recreation is suggested as essential to the practice of yoga in verse 6.17.

At the end of the day whatever your religious persuasion/beliefs , its your life's journey however you choose to fulfill it.

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » March 5th, 2019, 2:36 am

Keeping with the Thread Topic :)
I-1.gif