PRICESMART..... and no more bags...

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » January 21st, 2009, 8:42 pm

I went to PS at Movietowne before Christmas and they had no bags then, however, the difference was that at that stage they had not told anyone.l So, fill up cart, things like meat, cheese, vegetables etc, to reach the checkout and be told no bags. Ok no probs, except, have you ever tried packing bloody meat trays in simple boxes and then sat them in the back of your car? As others have put, it is a great move, however, for those people who did not carry their own bags for one reason or another, at least give them the option to buy at a minimal fee. The bags that they are selling are $28 or $38. (can't remember which) for 4. I did buy, but then when I went back after with them to shop a 2nd time, was wondering how I am going to prove that I bought them previously. I did not, thank goodness, have any problems but I am sure it is a situation that will arise, after all, this is Trinidad and after seeing in PS in Chaguanas them having to write the date on the drinking cups in the food area cos people bring thier old cups from previuos visits to fill up, what is to stop them picking up the bags and slyly taking off the tie?
Last edited by Yorkshirelass on January 21st, 2009, 8:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 21st, 2009, 8:44 pm

ray786 wrote:
wackaman wrote:
SR wrote:people need to take a look at drains and rivers when it rains jsut to see the amount of plastic bottles that are thrown in the road etc flaoting away and clogging in most cases

the fad of buying plastic bottled water while convenient for most installing a filtered water system in your hosue and carrying your own bottled water to work everyday will cut down on your own bills as well as damage to environment
I think you trying to make a point that everyone understands the thing is what pricesmart going to do with the money saved from the plastic bags? Do you think they would stop giving out the plastic bags if they were getting it free?

A few questions to be answered here....young man...

1. How u so sure that everyone understands what SR is saying.... do you?
2. Why you concentrating on the fact that PS is saving money, and what concern of yours is it what they do with the money saved.
3. How u know they gettin the bags free..... are u an employee of PS?
English is very hard language yes !

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 21st, 2009, 8:45 pm

ray786 wrote:
wackaman wrote:
SR wrote:people need to take a look at drains and rivers when it rains jsut to see the amount of plastic bottles that are thrown in the road etc flaoting away and clogging in most cases

the fad of buying plastic bottled water while convenient for most installing a filtered water system in your hosue and carrying your own bottled water to work everyday will cut down on your own bills as well as damage to environment
I think you trying to make a point that everyone understands the thing is what pricesmart going to do with the money saved from the plastic bags? Do you think they would stop giving out the plastic bags if they were getting it free?

A few questions to be answered here....young man...

1. How u so sure that everyone understands what SR is saying.... do you?
2. Why you concentrating on the fact that PS is saving money, and what concern of yours is it what they do with the money saved.
3. How u know they gettin the bags free..... are u an employee of PS?
English is very hard language yes !

Postby Team Loco » January 21st, 2009, 8:51 pm

Yorkshirelass, they will still continue to give out boxes.

Whenever I shop at jta, hilo or pricesmart, I always ask to get my items in boxes. Never accepted plastic bags unless necessary. If I do get plastic bags, I re use them for garbage. as for bottled water, I try not to buy as much as I can. I have two brita filters and a brita green re usable bottle that I fill water in.

As for charging a tax on bottled water, it will never happen in sweet tnt, since government ministers families have a stake in the bottled water biz.

To add to what sr said, look at our rivers and see the sea of plastic garbage. Probaly when diego martin and port of spain is covered in a sea of mud then the authorities may consider an enveronmental policy.

If you aiming towards vision 2020, then public education on the negative effects of littering and wastage should have already started

Michael Knight...

Re: PRICESMART..... and no more bags...

Postby Michael Knight... » January 21st, 2009, 10:59 pm

ray786 wrote::shock: :shock:
They SELLING a plastic bag for $30.00 to put u r groceries in.

I'm gonna go ahead and say this is SH!T. Why don't they lower their prices, make extra profits and go plant some trees in the Northern range. That I will understand.

Calculator

Postby Calculator » January 21st, 2009, 11:04 pm

Actually there was a food mart in Canada that gave no bags.. instead you would by a basket that resemples a laundry basket to put your stuff in.. and you'd bring this everytime you came shopping..

Postby Team Loco » January 21st, 2009, 11:29 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:

I'm gonna go ahead and say this is SH!T. Why don't they lower their prices, make extra profits and go plant some trees in the Northern range. That I will understand.

well this is what we were talking about- the trini mindset.

BTW, the bags being sold at pricesmart at 80% post consumable waste. its not that bad of an idea.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 21st, 2009, 11:32 pm

Good move on PS's part. Only downside to small household people like myself is that now we don't get to reuse the grocery bags for garbage.

Yorkshirelass, are you serious about PS Chag writing the date on cups?
That's sad! (Screw the naysayers, but I love the west)

Michael Knight... wrote:

You need to pull your head out of Kitt's tail pipe

noobie

Postby noobie » January 21st, 2009, 11:34 pm

HiLo has 'plastic' bags that are biodegradeable.
Couldn't pricesmart have done the same?

Postby SR » January 21st, 2009, 11:38 pm

plastic and biodegradable dont go hand in hand

Postby Team Loco » January 21st, 2009, 11:41 pm

noobie wrote:HiLo has 'plastic' bags that are biodegradeable.
Couldn't pricesmart have done the same?

read the earlier part of the thread. there is no such thing as a "biodegradable" bag. the ones at hilo simply disintegrate into minute pieces

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 22nd, 2009, 12:13 am

1. To become reduced to components, fragments, or particles.
2. To lose cohesion or unity: pressures that cause families to disintegrate
3. Physics & Chemistry To decompose, decay, or undergo a nuclear transformation

Plastic cannot ^

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 22nd, 2009, 2:32 am

Chemical Darryl wrote:Price Chopper & No frills in Canada do it. If you want bags it costs 5 cents.

Berkely and Jansen's AKA BJ's, another member's shopping outlet in the states, does not even have bags, they put the boxes form which the products they sell at the end of the cash lane for customers to pack their stuff in.

It's no surprise many Trini's would be opposed to progress.

altec

Postby altec » January 22nd, 2009, 5:41 am

they are just hiding behind the invironmental issue. They should come out and say is recession and they saving money. was in mousica P/mart weekend and the AC was turned down; so that was for environment too? I was sweating in there like the last stray dog in china( yeah i know dogs pant they don't sweat).

Postby Team Loco » January 22nd, 2009, 7:15 am

Well altec, there's always a hidden agenda behind things. The ac at chag has been turned down too. Probably to some a global recession may be a sort of blessing in disguise for the environment. This is simply a company strategy and there is nothing wrong with it

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 22nd, 2009, 7:40 am

Turning the AC down is a very unusual marketing strategy.
It's a well know fact that in cold climates, you warm up the store, and vice versa in a hot climate to keep people shopping.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 22nd, 2009, 8:04 am

Pshaawwwww!!
I'm so ahead of the game!! 0X

I already have my 'green shopping bag".. wonder if I carry it to PS if they will allow meh to use it seeing that it from Kroger and I only paid US$0.99 ?! :|

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » January 22nd, 2009, 8:33 am

i don't mind walking with my green bag when i go shopping, in fact its convenient to have your own bag..... it really is a trini mentality, they wld quarrel for something that wld help to save the environment but with crime out of control you not hearing a peep outta them :roll:

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 22nd, 2009, 2:09 pm

sensiman wrote:
Chemical Darryl wrote:Price Chopper & No frills in Canada do it. If you want bags it costs 5 cents.

Berkely and Jansen's AKA BJ's, another member's shopping outlet in the states, does not even have bags, they put the boxes form which the products they sell at the end of the cash lane for customers to pack their stuff in.

It's no surprise many Trini's would be opposed to progress.

They doing this in Xtra Foods in chaguanas for years now. Cardboard box IYMC :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 22nd, 2009, 2:23 pm

What next? Making us pump our own gas? :roll:

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 8th, 2009, 9:26 pm

it cost them cheaper to pordce those bags & sell em as well rather than to have kepp re-stocking those clear plastic bags over & over to give us who dont care much about it cause its free or course & then too those plastic bags were a waste of time! they thing weak & everybody could see wa yuh buy! steups... mammy done buy up some of d blue bags,, we using that since Jan..they real strong too! have bottle compartment & thing! it bess...