Generating your own electricity is illegal

NY4PD

Generator

Postby NY4PD » November 7th, 2008, 10:26 am

klyman wrote:i dont think it is illegal so they wont seize it. To besides how big a house you talkin about.??

Its a big house, but I only want this to use the Fridge and some lights in the house, while the power is out. The Generator is a 4200 amp by sears, and maybe a TV ands couple fans till the power comes back on.....

This is all I need my generator for in Trinidad, not to make my bill any less.

I already bought the generator already so it will suck if I can't get into Trinidad, and do I have to get a License for this.????

klyman

Postby klyman » November 7th, 2008, 11:23 am

Purchasing the generator is not the problem. I was told by my supriors that the problem starts when you are ready to install and comission. As long as the generator is used to power the mains of the building it is required to get 2 license, one from t&tec and ministry of energy. you have to prove to them that whatever device you are using will ensure that there is not a repeat of the "pier one" incident.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 7th, 2008, 11:26 am

If its NOT connected to the MAIN grid then there should not be any legal issues and you should NOT have to consult with anyone!

if you intent to use it in conjunction with a T@tec connection then you will have to go through legal channels!

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » November 7th, 2008, 2:20 pm

klyman wrote:Purchasing the generator is not the problem. I was told by my supriors that the problem starts when you are ready to install and comission. As long as the generator is used to power the mains of the building it is required to get 2 license, one from t&tec and ministry of energy. you have to prove to them that whatever device you are using will ensure that there is not a repeat of the "pier one" incident.

I'm going to install a transfer switch so when the main current is gone, I only have to use the transfer switch so the current does not feed back into the main electricity on the local streets.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » November 7th, 2008, 3:15 pm

NY4PD wrote:
klyman wrote:Purchasing the generator is not the problem. I was told by my supriors that the problem starts when you are ready to install and comission. As long as the generator is used to power the mains of the building it is required to get 2 license, one from t&tec and ministry of energy. you have to prove to them that whatever device you are using will ensure that there is not a repeat of the "pier one" incident.

I'm going to install a transfer switch so when the main current is gone, I only have to use the transfer switch so the current does not feed back into the main electricity on the local streets.

Brought one of those switches back from the states myself. Haven't installed it yet though - and the installation will require approval from the relevant authorities.

In the mean time I'm using the method of extension cords and portable lights :lol: . No approval necessary lol!

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » November 7th, 2008, 3:32 pm

srnoth wrote:
NY4PD wrote:

Brought one of those switches back from the states myself. Haven't installed it yet though - and the installation will require approval from the relevant authorities.

In the mean time I'm using the method of extension cords and portable lights :lol: . No approval necessary lol!

Shoot that will work for me, That's all I need because it only temporary for power failure.....Thank you for the update on this.....

turbonator

Postby turbonator » November 8th, 2008, 1:49 am

pete wrote:Like ppl forget when the alleged illegal generator came on at pier 1 without being isolated from the "grid" and killed the T&TEC worker who was working on the pole outside.

Now that's the real reason why you have to get some sort of permission from T&TEC to generate your own electricity.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 8th, 2008, 4:38 am

MG Man wrote:and when u import it and customs hold it, what then?

Solar panel? What solar panel? That's high-quality honey-comb bristol board with heat conductive properties.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » December 27th, 2008, 9:27 am

Strauss wrote:
teems1 wrote:wait nah

den technically my scientific calculator illegal... ??

Just like if you don't have a pipe to your house, but getting water from a nearby ravine, you have to pay water rates.

apparently that applies to ketchin rain water too
now that just insane. Cyar ketch rain water. WDMC

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2008, 4:37 pm

pioneer, buddy, imagine in some places away, the extra energy that you generate can be sold back to the grid and then whatever extra energy you need you can buy it back

Yes i was watching CNN going green show.

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2008, 5:39 pm

lol i was eating food and the show was going on :lol:

but is true! we need a change in mentality and fast too

Postby ronsin1 » December 27th, 2008, 9:40 pm

turbonator wrote:
pete wrote:Like ppl forget when the alleged illegal generator came on at pier 1 without being isolated from the "grid" and killed the T&TEC worker who was working on the pole outside.

Now that's the real reason why you have to get some sort of permission from T&TEC to generate your own electricity.

when a generator is installed on your electrical system you must acquire a license to operate it from T&TEC in order to get this license you must provide a inspection certificate from the government electrical inspectorate stating that the Automatic transfer switch is in proper working order also a visit from T&TEC will have to be done before you get the license.

Postby ronsin1 » December 27th, 2008, 9:43 pm

MG Man wrote:and when u import it and customs hold it, what then?

say to customs: those are the new Carbon Fiber Material that you have exclusive right too