Hikers Missing?

Postby noshownogo » July 15th, 2008, 7:40 am

it have more scary tings out there..............like babooman......but seriously,

d amount of trap guns and boobie traps I does see in d forest..........I surprise hikers ent et kill by dem as yet.

I bounce up at least 10 on a busy trail in d northern range a few months ago.[/quote]

fur real ehh, i see level trap gun on de north coast in de back ah las cuevas. Never come off the trails up there unless you know the area...

Postby noshownogo » July 15th, 2008, 10:29 am

i hearing new reports that the young lady's body was found in wallerfield, cannot confirm though.

It is really tragic for the families directly affected but really, why go hiking in this weather? Experienced group or not, why risk it?

JM

Postby JM » July 15th, 2008, 10:36 am

But ent on the like the first page of this thread someone said both were found?!
how come news still saying the girl missing..
and now allyuh saying dey find she again...dead..again...?
What really going on..?

Yes these things coulda been avoided..but ppl dont realize how easy it is to lose a life..
From reckless/inconsiderate/frustrated/rushing to get home drivers...
to silly antics..

Postby noshownogo » July 15th, 2008, 11:02 am

de question is, why the hell you hiking in this weather :!: This hike took place Sunday right? As far as I am aware, it was raining throughout the country since Saturday morning. What will possess you to get out of bed to go hiking in weather like that?

The guide/s really has some explaining to do, such an unfortunate situation.

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2008, 12:17 pm

for sure them hiking groups gonna have indemnity forms to sign before you start

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » July 16th, 2008, 12:44 am

R.I.P boy Marcus, was a real quiet and cool fella knew him for 6years from lessons in SACC, horrific way to go, and to believe he didnt want to go on the hike,Rest In Peace partner. R.I.P Aniya

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 16th, 2008, 7:37 am

Email Sent to Trinidad Alumni Chapter of UoL

Good morning to all Alumni members. As you know; a hike was scheduled to Guanapo Waterfalls yesterday morning - Sunday 13th July. A total of 78 people (not including the hike leaders) ventured into the forest.

The hike started off well - beautiful sunny weather which was perfect for hiking. Upon arrival at the waterfall itself (some 4 hours later); sudden heavy rainfall caused flash flooding in the area. This confusion resulted in the group being split into two smaller groups. One group ended up with all of the hike leaders while the other group was forced to fend for themselves.

The group without hike leaders were stranded for approximately 2 hours before hike leaders located us at around 6.15pm. When we were found, we proceeded to hike back to the starting point despite being surrounded by total darkness. Search and rescue eventually found us at approximately 9.00pm and they assisted us out of the forest. A head count was done.

Two people were swept away in the waters. This morning, reports confirm that the body of the young man was recovered. They are still trying to locate the body of the young lady. Please note that these two persons were not members of the Trinidad Chapter. All of our members are alive and well.

Thank GOD that our lives were spared and that we got out in one piece. It is very unfortunate that such a fantastic hike was marred by this tragedy.

I will keep you all posted as I get information.

Have a great day and GOD Bless!

Postby equipped2ripp » July 16th, 2008, 8:02 am

HIGH RISK HIKING
Second body recovered
Joel Julien jjulien@trinidadexpress.com

Wednesday, July 16th 2008

grim find: Homicide detectives look at the body of Aiyanna Baksh, which was found submerged head first in some debris in a river at Lalla Trace Wallerfield, yesterday. Baksh, and her boyfriend Markus Smith were swept away by gushing water during a hike to the Heights of Guanapo on Sunday. -Photo: ABRAHAM DIAZ

SOME ten miles from where raging river water swept away Aiyanna Baksh, her body was discovered yesterday morning, bringing to an end a two-day search and washing away all hope for her safe return.

On Sunday, Baksh, 21, and her 22-year-old boyfriend, Markus Smith, were carried away by a swollen river, while on a hike to a waterfall in the Heights of Guanapo, off Arima.

The couple, who were both students of the University of the West Indies (UWI), were on a hike organised by Hike Seekers, and not the UWI Hiking Society, as previously reported.

Just after midnight that night, Smith's body, which was naked except for a sneaker on his right foot, was discovered stuck under a concrete bridge in the densely forested area.

And just after 6 a.m. yesterday, Pooran Mahabir Ram, a farmer attempting to clear a waterway used to irrigate a water cress field, discovered the second half of "the quiet couple".

Speaking with the Express yesterday, Ram explained that just after the break of dawn, he went to clear the man-made waterway of any debris that may have been stuck from the weekend's heavy showers.

And it was during this routine check, Ram said, he "saw two feet sticking out from some slush that had been deposited". He immediately believed it was "the girl from the news", Ram said.

Baksh's body was found some 50 metres away from the area known as "the double-bridge" on the Eastern Main Road just after the road used to get to the Heights of Guanapo.

Baksh's body was discovered behind the water cress plantation, which is located on Lalla Trace. She was dressed in red track-pants and a multi-coloured bathing suit top and a pair of sneakers.

And the heavy rains which triggered Sunday's double-tragedy, yesterday also threatened to stall the removal of Baksh's body from a watery grave, as the water level rapidly increased.

And while Baksh was being unearthed, her parents, Steve and Carol, who were oblivious to the discovery, continued their search in the forest and along the river bank for their firstborn. However, the search ended abruptly after news of the discovery spread. Baksh's uncle, Larry Mooteeram, identified the body.

In a telephone interview yesterday, Mooteram admitted although "the ideal thing was to find her alive", the family was grateful for the closure and "now have the ability to move ahead".

And with the circumstances surrounding the discoveries, the questions as to the responsibility for the duo's death began.

A member of one of the country's protective services who was on Sunday's fatal hike explained yesterday that the hike master Laurence "Snake" Pierre, from Hike Seekers, who led the hikers, "acted very responsibly".

Requesting anonymity, he said many of the people on the hike failed to follow instructions from either Pierre, the other hike instructors or himself.

When contacted yesterday, Pierre explained that while the group were at the waterfall, there was no rain at the time, but after hearing thunder, he signalled to the hikers that it was time to leave the area. He said many of the hikers refused this order to leave because they were in the water for only half an hour.

Pierre said he believes that delay cost the hiking party to lose two valuable lives and valuable time in trying escape the forest.

However, in a statement to the Express yesterday, former meteorologist Robin Maharaj questioned why a mountain hike was planned during July, one of the country's rainiest months for the year, in the first place.

And in the midst of the clouds hanging over responsibility for the deaths, Baksh's family were faced with another problem, as they were unable to complete her autopsy because of a mix-up with the location of the body.

The family were back and forth between the morgue at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex in Mt Hope and the Forensic Science Centre in Federation Park, Port of Spain.

The autopsy to determine the cause of Baksh's death is expected to be performed at Forensic Science Centre today.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161352872

squares

Postby squares » July 16th, 2008, 9:47 am

yea boy marcus RIP. was a real kool fella

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2008, 11:32 am

However, in a statement to the Express yesterday, former meteorologist Robin Maharaj questioned why a mountain hike was planned during July, one of the country's rainiest months for the year, in the first place.

This is my question too?

And...how could people jus be "swept" away by a river?

They didn't see it and walked into it?

they probably underestimated how fast the current was when they were crossing it

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 16th, 2008, 11:46 am

This is my question too?

And...how could people jus be "swept" away by a river?

They didn't see it and walked into it?

Think reports said she fell in and he jumped in to save her, he probably didn't know the depth of the river. He probably didnt really think twice about jumpin in the river as it was his girlfriend, when things like this happen in the momnet ppl dont think too straight........

r p m

Postby r p m » July 16th, 2008, 12:18 pm

Think reports said she fell in and he jumped in to save her, he probably didn't know the depth of the river. He probably didnt really think twice about jumpin in the river as it was his girlfriend,

The newsday sayin that he fell and she jumped in to save him..........her father even said that she was a good swimmer on the news papers that's y she went in to save him!

missy#1

Postby missy#1 » July 16th, 2008, 12:18 pm

Hmmm this is just sad!

riderz

Postby riderz » July 17th, 2008, 12:18 pm

W2J to answer your questions on the helicopters. They were not necessary.

Sunday I got the call and went up that hill to see what was happening. I spoke to the hikers that came out initially and the reports were conflicting. Calling out a chopper to search for someone who we were not sure was even missing at the time, in a large place was a waste of fuel and resources.

When we got the information to eventually work that 83 went in and 81 came out, it was already close to midnight. Nobody was taking the chance of walking that ground in the night. More causualties would have been imminent.

Monday 4am we went back in to catch first light. Using the copter then would have wasted it again because the jungle canopy would block it. So we deployed almost 100 people to find 2.

That continue till last light and then recommence next morning. By 8am she was reported found.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 17th, 2008, 12:48 pm

got this yesterday, someone that went wrote it

This tragic day could have been avoided if the hike seekers tour personnel was more prepared and executed their job more professionally. Being one of the hikers who was personally involved in the days events, I would be able to say what exactly happened and give the point of view from the true side of the story as the media was only given information from the tour masters side, who by the way manipulated to story in order to cast the blame of himself totally.
We commenced our hike at around 10:00 am but prior to starting the hike everyone met at the Arima Hospital and everyone drove to the trail together. But before we began the tour guide, Lawrence Pierre, merely introduced himself and his 5 “helpersâ€

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 17th, 2008, 12:58 pm

yea this really was sad....the girl was one of my bestfriends, met markus a few times...i knew her from way back and we've been good ever since...i laugh when my friend called me and told me and went back to sleep, cause this was absolutely the last thing i expected to hear....i heard she was in really bad condition when they found her...jus hope her family dealing with everything and stay strong.....

but so far i heard about 5 different versions of what went on, and all of them different.....who really has the real story!!!>??!

and yea pios, markus is ah kinda red/light brown fella.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » July 17th, 2008, 1:09 pm

her relatives are thinking about taking legal action. She is a close relative of a co-worker so may have to go to the funeral...but that is really sad! Her family spent those two day looking for her in the bush and they really hoped she wld be found alive. :(

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 17th, 2008, 4:47 pm

would kinda be hard to take legal action for that eh, cause at the end of the day, it was an accident and it wasnt intended....we all feel the loss...but it boils down to when god say is time for u 2 ride, is time...

plus from what i heard she jump in to save markus...thats one version of what i heard...

and when is the funeral

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 17th, 2008, 5:36 pm

So if this was so poorly planned why didnt people decide to pull out before the vehicles left the point of assembly? From what Halfbreed07 is saying the person wrote a lack of organisation is to blame. If before the tour started stuff was distributed and the entire group did not receive they should have told the organisers "no thanks but there is nowhere in hell I'm going on that hike without the proper protective gear". Would you go scuba diving without mask, flippers tank and so on??? and five leaders for a group of 80 is totally ridiculous for a hike with such a high level of difficulty. Also noone who was participating in the hike checked the forecasted weather condtions before leaving home?? I seriously believe that all parties are to blame for this no just the organisers because the clients should have let good sense prevail and refuse to hike without proper instruction and the lifejackets

Smokey

Postby Smokey » July 17th, 2008, 6:03 pm

hustla_ambition101, but you assuming these people knew what this hike entailed. Many were first time hikers apparently and didn't know any better. They put their trust into the hands of the 'professionals'.

Firstly though, if this is a hiking club, shouldn't there be beginner hikes and practice runs. When you going on a 4 hour trek through the bush, you can't assume everyone can make it especially first timers.

I have been on countless hikes and I would NEVER EVER take a first timer on a 1hr+ hike and a hike that involves crossing potentially dangerous rivers.

As for the rain though, I must admit, I have almost never been on a hike where it didn't rain. Weather in the northern range is different to the typical residential areas in trini. It rains almost every day up there. If it's rainy season, you have to assume you'll encounter rain.

RIP to this young couple. I hope all hikes from this club are canceled because these so called professionals need to be locked up for negligence.

All accidents (except freak accidents) are preventable. This was clearly not a freak accident, therefore it was definitely preventable.

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2008, 7:08 pm

10am is a very late start for any hike over 2 hours one way trip time
to get back out with good light
especially if people hope to spend some time eating and bathing

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 17th, 2008, 7:38 pm

wait wait wait.....is 2hours of walking through bush before u reach where u hadda go?? or thats d "tour" road?? like it have a way 2 reach there faster? or that was the only way 2 go to that place??

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 18th, 2008, 7:20 am

money is more important than lives for the HIKE SEEKERS COMPANY.

If before the tour started stuff was distributed and the entire group did not receive they should have told the organisers "no thanks but there is nowhere in hell I'm going on that hike without the proper protective gear".

Maybe the tour company said that the money paid was non refundable............so that's y the group went ahead anyway! :(

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 18th, 2008, 9:51 am

that is realll hours walking in the bush jed...i real sorry i cyah do tha na

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 18th, 2008, 1:00 pm

her father works on my floor , real sad story.
RIP i hope justice is served.

Re: Hikers Missing?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2021, 7:30 pm

Guys have yall hward about a hiker missing today

wing

Postby wing » March 6th, 2021, 7:44 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys have yall hward about a hiker missing today
Hiker disappears at Turtle Rock, authorities believe he drowned
http://www.looptt.com/content/hiker-dis ... he-drowned

Postby timelapse » March 6th, 2021, 10:53 pm

Sorry, but you hadda be a special kinda dumbo to attempt swimming by turtle rock

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 7th, 2021, 1:38 am

Did they say that they.went swimming or did they fall off the rock?

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2021, 1:46 am

I hear swimming on the radio
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Did they say that they.went swimming or did they fall off the rock?