Mountain Biking

Postby AllTrac » June 10th, 2008, 10:01 am

good thread, keep it up fellas, as soon as my knee heals i'll be in (hiking accident)

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2008, 10:05 am

mid life crisis is the correct term
any past time where money, speed and ego involved bound to have that
if you were to add up the costs of the bikes in that group
you could probably reach a cool million and change on any given day

but for the most part it is a good way to get fit though once you can maintain
a certain level of fitness

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 10th, 2008, 10:45 am

Any of you guys (responsible people) will like to create a group to ride every saturday morning? Mountain bike (strictly)

There are a lot of nice places in the country to ride. I'm will to drive to anywhere for a good trail or Country side and hills. Obviously this will be for the fellas or gals that don't hangout on friday nights.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 10th, 2008, 2:05 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Have any of you bought from the bike inn in viatabella?

What is the avg. price of a good mountian bike?

ans to question 1 ... no

ans to question 2 ... depends.

If you are just road riding on your mountain bike (makes no sense to me) then really any cheap POS will do.

However if you are actually trying to use the bike like a mountain bike and ride off road, tackle drops and climbs while shifting comfortably and on a durable frame and dependable supportive fork, on a bike weighing less than your outside woman, then you need to spend.

An acceptable, usable mountain bike will run you 5000TT min .... give or take if you get a deal. This is a bike you can reasonably abuse and have fun with on the bike trails or with which you doing some cross country exploring.

If you want to pelt downhill, launch off drops and see everything as something to be ridden over rather than around, the price increases exponentially ...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 10th, 2008, 8:34 pm

Ok Ok i see ^

gencon

Postby gencon » July 15th, 2008, 2:42 pm

bump

gencon

Postby gencon » July 15th, 2008, 3:02 pm

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » July 15th, 2008, 3:13 pm

anybody interesed in road cycling?

join group on facebook

"Trini Cycling"

to see all info etc

Raziel

Postby Raziel » July 15th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Go Slow ..

My Jamis (bought at Bike Inn St James) in New York

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 15th, 2008, 11:24 pm

Very nice Raziel! But where's the mud?! :lol:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 21st, 2009, 8:21 pm

Are you guys still into the riding....??

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » April 21st, 2009, 8:24 pm

take moti on a date biking in the woods ;)

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » April 21st, 2009, 8:26 pm

i have another bike for sale if anyone interested. its a 08/09 fuji nevada 2.0. mint condition. only used it twice and never for offroad :fadein:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 21st, 2009, 11:45 pm

Great thread. I have a Nevada 4.0 my girl bought for me Christmas gone. Never had a chance to use it off Road, But i did a road race with it the other day, a Duathlon, GDF Suez Energy Sunday.
Really want to start some off road, hope i can find this thread when i finally bring my bike down south.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 22nd, 2009, 12:15 am

Today:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 22nd, 2009, 12:17 am

My riding partner 3 weeks ago:

Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on April 22nd, 2009, 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 12:21 am

moti coming? :shock:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 22nd, 2009, 12:31 am

My ex-riding partner 2 weeks ago, lol

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 12:34 am

wtf happened meng? :|

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 22nd, 2009, 12:41 am

buzz wrote:wtf happened meng? :|

We were riding Arena forest reserve, came out the forest on an old abandoned road and we hurtling down hill balls to the wall!

Well the wall hit my partner back, lol. he hit one massive pothole then another, then slideeeeeeeeeee ....

End result were the injuries above and ANOTHER warped wheel ...

good times!

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 12:45 am

:? :? :?

meh brudda used to do dem kinda sh1t

fly dong lopinot hill on a racing bike :?

the spedo recorded some epic speeds tho :shock:

that was the name of the game for him just to clock a faster speed @ all costs :?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 22nd, 2009, 12:56 am

damnnn, that's going to burn!

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 22nd, 2009, 12:19 pm

Starting back after the Fusion 2009. From middle of May back to the trails. Corkies 100 mile ride is coming up, first week in July. It's more like 124 miles. Takes about 7 hours.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 22nd, 2009, 1:15 pm

recently bought a Cannondale F7 with disc brakes.....almost all the components are shimano....wheels are WTB...fork is a RST 100mm travel.....its nothing too fancy...but God i love it :oops:
did a few rides with it.....last one was on sunday.....on the way to the trail stopped to adjust preload on the fork and one of the adjusters stopped working.....dropped the bike in since its under warranty.....
the trail was good though....some steep ass hills to climb(one is impossible to ride up....bikes had to be pushed), with some long gradual downhills........some of them with break neck speeds.......
its a road running through a teak plantation running parallel to the south coast....about 3 or 4 miles long........it eventually leads to the sea....but light was fading and punctures held us up a bit....so we didnt bother going down to the sea.......just made a turn off and went home :lol:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 22nd, 2009, 2:39 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:the trail was good though....some steep ass hills to climb(one is impossible to ride up....bikes had to be pushed), with some long gradual downhills........some of them with break neck speeds.......
its a road running through a teak plantation running parallel to the south coast....about 3 or 4 miles long........it eventually leads to the sea....but light was fading and punctures held us up a bit....so we didnt bother going down to the sea.......just made a turn off and went home :lol:

When you say "road" is it an actual road or are we talking singletrack trail??

Would be interested to ride this on your next outing ... depending ...

Postby wagon r » April 22nd, 2009, 2:54 pm

i'm glad this thread re-surfaced.....

...i ride a Fuji Nevada 1.0 bought it christmas gorne but have been riding the Chaguaramas trails since last Sept.

i and meh pallies stick to those trails in and around the golf course...and mostly Sundays, but have done the odd Saturday.

we always on the lookout for new trails....glad to hear that more fellas riding....

....i must say though....trails over road anyday.. :mrgreen:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 22nd, 2009, 3:02 pm

its not single track....its a logging road, but its very bad cuz heavy equipment passes through it during the rainy season it makes it a bit technical........its impassable by car, even 4X4's will not be able to pass through some of it. its not paved with tarmac....its loose gravel, most of the way, some of it packed gravel....some grassy roads....then onto a cane field road(very very bumpy dirt road)
because its soo bad, you have to ride on the "banks" that have formed cuz of the heavy equipment........
not sure when the next ride will be......more than likely it will be within the next month....
oh BTW a friend did it on a BMX........i'm still amazed at his abilities on that thing :shock:

all in all its a good mix of downhill and sort of cross country riding.......
we normally ride to the trail from my house.......about 3 miles on tarmac to the beginning of the trail..........
we'll be happy to have anyone try it out....i'm new to riding and quite slow, but i finish :P

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 22nd, 2009, 3:13 pm

wagon r, a former lecturer of mine is on a fuji, and his gf is on one as well.....both are nevadas. one is a 1.0 the other a 2.0. i was supposed to do the radar dome ride with them and some other ppl.
they ride the radar dome and other trails in chagaurams often.....i used to go to school in chagauramas........but i only got the bike a week after i finished school there :cry:
so i have to use whats available to me in south....

i dont mind the road riding.........i haven't gotten any bad experiences in the few beach runs i've done so far....all in south though...... :!:

Postby wagon r » April 22nd, 2009, 3:27 pm

i have never riden (dais ah word) the dome but i want to.....the guys i ride with all have done it......

...the trails in Chag are single track and great mix of everything.....speed, dips, jumps, mountain passes, river beds, fast downhills.....you name it.....it there.

i took my maiden fall christmas time.....was followin at speed thru a trail and meh pardna hit a bamboo branch and dropped a vine in front of me and it hooked my neck ......hangin me and fell & slide about 10ft...

...got up, dusted off, checked for blood...went riding for another hr.... :mrgreen:

few inches further right and the story would have been different.

there are quite a few people that ride on weekends but only a few are trailers....atleast from what i see when i'm there...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 22nd, 2009, 3:48 pm

^^ok cool

hey what type of protection do u all ride with? i dont have a helmet....or any type of protection for that matter..........i need to get a helmet....but note sure how much protection those things offer...since my entire face will be exposed......and i'm not sure of a full face helmet........even though its needed in some of the rides :|