Do they still teach english in school?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2007, 11:06 am

JWT wrote:english is alive and well but we trini write how we speak now

well same point I was making to AP -
if I typed "yuh mechanic" then that is trini dialect.

but what is "ur mech"? I doubt they talk like that.

JWT

Postby JWT » May 2nd, 2007, 12:25 pm

duane you need to spend time in a secondary school then you will kicks

if you ask a student how are things

students says "ting normal normal"

Postby RASC » May 2nd, 2007, 12:31 pm

NORMAL NORMAL :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thats a new one tho...probably in the last 5 years///

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 2nd, 2007, 1:03 pm

lol ok im guilty here...I do this...but i speak proper english in person,and correct most people....its just most of us are accustomed 2 msn so we type like this<<

Ps.....i got a A in cxc english understanding and a D in expression....that means i speak correct grammer,but I am horrible with essays lololz

Postby wagonrunner » May 2nd, 2007, 1:16 pm

kitkathy wrote:Bad spelling and grammar are pet peeves of mine so it actually hurts me to read some posts. Dont feel it's limited to here only. Ever noticed the bad spelling on those stickers some cars sport? And I'm always lucky enough to be behind them in traffic for them to raise my blood pressure. :|

3NE-2NR in dat too?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 2nd, 2007, 1:46 pm

"Yes, most certainly. English is still being taught in schools today." :mrgreen:

Postby Greypatch » May 2nd, 2007, 2:02 pm

we loosine we identity....

nuthing wrong with trini dialect or even a little from our caribbean brothers.

but when dem go hard core me eh bothering to read sheit.

damm n00bs richie where de spray hoss ?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 2nd, 2007, 2:41 pm

This english thing gone clear long time.
My mom is an english teacher.The kinda crap(grammar and spelling) that she shows me from time to time is mindboggling at best.

Again...So as not to turn this into a political rant of sorts, I'll speak on this no more.

If it's rotting at from the head, you cannot expect any less..

Werd yo!

Postby r3iXmann » February 9th, 2010, 10:20 am

bump :|

Postby wagonrunner » February 9th, 2010, 10:42 am

reiXmann wrote:bump :|

yuh wah sam noob spay bai?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 9th, 2010, 11:01 am

its a mix of trini slang & jamaican music that causing us to speak & type that way ....

Postby r3iXmann » February 9th, 2010, 11:03 am

man..it's the seemingly simple grammatical issues that get me

people dunno when to use 'to' and 'too', 'will' and 'would' etc

:x :x :x

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 9th, 2010, 11:13 am

i had a excellent teacher back in standard 5 & he used to beat proper english into to us so even now i can remember exactly what i learn from back then even though u will often see me posting in local dialect

often in usa car audio forums too u see ppl type "their" to mean d word "there" or "their's" to mean there's

up to now u still see politicians & ppl in public life say "we will try and see what we could do" ....u do NOT try and , u try to see what we could do

d internet has caused alot of everyday words to be mutated too ...

Postby Sky » February 9th, 2010, 11:18 am

Small things like that slip through the cracks, like "have got" instead of "have gotten".
They show a lack of a higher education, or lack of attention when going to an institute of higher education.
We have our dialect and that's ok, but to put on paper is another thing.
This kid i know PI$$ES ME OFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF WITH THE SLANGS!!!
Somehow now it's cool to defile the english language online, and not even for shorthand's sake.

Boi...Boi? WTF it's still 3 letters, wtf the I doing there!?!?!?!?!

Postby Hook » February 9th, 2010, 11:34 am

reiXmann wrote:man..it's the seemingly simple grammatical issues that get me

And then there's the use of "could of" instead of "could have" or "could've"...and "sorry for your lost"...and of late "bunnet lucks"

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » February 9th, 2010, 11:44 am

dis iz ur gual fadda ride

And another thing, the letter substituting. In "iz", a z for an s? Really? That did not even save a character.

Postby buzz » February 9th, 2010, 11:47 am

zodiaque wrote:
dis iz ur gual fadda ride

And another thing, the letter substituting. In "iz", a z for an s? Really? That did not even save a character.

its lol talk man

cuz its kewlz sometimes

Postby Hook » February 9th, 2010, 11:54 am

Soundwave wrote:
Hook wrote:

And then there's the use of "could of" instead of "could have" or "could've"...and "sorry for your lost"...and of late "bunnet lucks"

boi youv'e lossed me their, start bak nah...

am nut shor wher did I lost u frm?

Postby A172 » February 9th, 2010, 11:54 am

Hook wrote:

add "loose" and "lose", "worse" and "worst" to that lineup

:x

Postby buzz » February 9th, 2010, 11:54 am

what about "bess" :|

Postby Hook » February 9th, 2010, 12:21 pm

buzz wrote:what about "bess" :|

What about it?

d spike

Postby d spike » February 9th, 2010, 12:21 pm

Suzuki Sportsman wrote:"Yes, most certainly. English is still being taught in schools today." :mrgreen:

Ummm... technically speaking, teaching only occurs when learning takes place. (An' dem dam' scamps eh learnin' nuttin'...)

Also, many teachers can't even speak properly. Please bear in mind that until recently, the only requirement to become a primary school teacher was 5 O' levels...

What is considered acceptable speech has changed radically in the last 50 years. Now, anything goes. My grandfather, who is in his 90's, told us that early in his primary school days he was asked by his teacher where one of his fellow pupils was. He responded, "I can't say, sir."
The teacher remarked, "You can't say? Is it a military secret? You mean, 'you don't know,'" and gave him some sweet strokes. Grampa maintained that cut-arse is what encouraged him to be very careful in his speech ever since... :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » February 9th, 2010, 12:23 pm

wham to him? he was in TTCG last time i hear from him :|

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » February 9th, 2010, 12:23 pm

Hook wrote:

What about it?

yes really wat about it?

bess is ah bess word dey

Postby buzz » February 9th, 2010, 12:26 pm

^Pretty^ wrote:
Hook wrote:

What about it?

yes really wat about it?

bess is ah bess word dey

sorry nah :|

1bessbackpeddle

Postby buzz » February 9th, 2010, 12:56 pm

reiXmann wrote:

wham to him? he was in TTCG last time i hear from him :|

sh1t ah now ketch it :oops: :lol:

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 10th, 2010, 2:46 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:A little off topic here, but its a bit related.
the amount of people who leave secondary school and still CANNOT read or write is amazing.
How the fleck they pass through the system?

Our education system is going down the drain slowly but surely

I eh looking for trouble but ent they lower the grades or something or the sort?

MonsterPower wrote:i took this from a website where some members here belong to also ...

see if any of u older and more "educated" heads can decipher this :

D talk yh squaking ain't from aroud dese hoods solidia so roll yh bombomclath from araung here and bless jah 4 all d greatest ting dem
teach yh! Bless jahhh!! Wan love, wan unity!

i literally read it bout 5 times before i get the gist of wah he waant to say yes... if this is teh state of trini's schools ..

i think its teh american culture and lingo as well as teh radio pple who believe they just migrate from jamaica .. freshwater jammaicans if u wanna call them that

Dread Imagine doing Jamaican Linguistics!!! *shakes head, not me and that lol

But honestly people are speaking just as they are texting, I have heard it and witnessed it on Home Work sheets. I tutor a few kids 13-22 in Geography and if you see the words they use, my word you wonder what really going on!

Simple words they can't spell, the context of the words...jeez dialect/slang use is different from a crumbling....um what the word I'm looking for here???? LOL

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2010, 2:57 pm

RASC wrote:I was thinking this exact thing a while back...
I mean we all talk in slang everynow and then, but sometimes I really think this is how some of them speak on a day to day basis-so they really do not have a point of reference :| Speaking like that is all they know-so they type as they speak :!:

like I always say............amazing how they can be computer literate and yet be illiterate.................

as for typing the way they speak, nothing proves it more than:
dryshaft
sumpan
bugwana
rota
etc
and yes, there is a strong correlation among this, south people and 120Ys

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 10th, 2010, 3:55 pm

well our Local ministry wanted to replace Shakespear and English Literature books books with Ti-jean and local books!

what else did you expect to see ?