Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » August 26th, 2013, 9:56 pm

link wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:Hey guys, I'm looking for a couple IBC tanks to set up a diy backyard aquaponics system. Can anyone help?

Sissons in Chaguanas by the hwy across frm pricesmart...bought some a couple of years ago for $150 VI...you had to pay there & carry away IMMEDIATELY...they never let u 'pick up later'...
rgds

Anyone know the prices of them now??

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 27th, 2013, 1:32 pm

wait nah.....we reach 200 pages!!! :shock:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 27th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Blademan, long time i ent see u on d forums...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 27th, 2013, 5:36 pm

Yeah boy Ryan...time. I get rel busy!!!!
How things?
I end up with one lil grimey Oscar & I does prob feed him once a week if he lucky.

kl122

Postby kl122 » August 28th, 2013, 6:38 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377686324.168428.jpg

DJ

Postby DJ » August 28th, 2013, 7:55 am

DJ wrote:Yea guys, I have a tank I want to get rid off, and it so happens it has some fish and stuff that will go with it. Its an IBC TANK that I cut to breed fish in...........and did they breed!!! I started with 10 big M. Auratus cichlids, and three months later, I now have about 100.

You are getting:
1) The IBC tank (with lock off valve)
2) A piece of curved drift wood approx. 2 yards long
3) A few rocks that the cichlids like to hide between
4) Approx. 100 M. Auratus Cichlids ranging 1" to 4" (there are about 13 big ones, and they are breeding rapidly.
4) Approx. 20 Powder Blue Cichlid (Pseudotropheus Socolofi)
ranging 1" to 4"
5) Approx. 20 Pink Zebra Cichlids ranging 1" to 4"

Note: NO FILTRATION IS INCLUDED. Sorry.

Price on package: $1000.00 Call DJ 722-1263.

Yeah fellas, I still have this, and I dropped the price to $600.00!!!!!
I gettin too much set up trying to accomodate some ppl. Anyone comes with cash offer getting it!!!! Need to get this off my hands ASAP. Fish gettin fella!!!

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 29th, 2013, 12:21 pm

Any body know any where in south that does sell frozen fish food want some for my discus

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 29th, 2013, 12:24 pm

Hmmm ... I only Chai's & thas east.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 29th, 2013, 5:05 pm

bir123 wrote:Any body know any where in south that does sell frozen fish food want some for my discus

check natures world in sando. They buy it from Raj.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » August 29th, 2013, 8:35 pm

bir123 wrote:Any body know any where in south that does sell frozen fish food want some for my discus

You can make your own. No need for beefheart. There are some good recipes to be found on simplydiscus.com forums. I make a shrimp mix with carrots, green peas, garlic, paprika, spirulina powder and a multivitamin tablet and the fish love it.

Also, using shrimp and whitefish in the mix does not foul the water as much as beefheart does. And beefheart is a royal pain in the arse to trim off all the fat.

You can make enough for a few weeks and store in the freezer. I use on of those mini food choppers to prepare the food..costs about $100-4120 for a cheap one in most appliance stores.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » August 29th, 2013, 8:38 pm

I forgot to add, some recipes use unflavoured gelatin as a binder. if you can find agar powder in a health/herb store, use that instead. From what I read, it is a better binder and more easily digested by the fish.

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 29th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Tried making one but my discus does not want to eat it thanks will try will recipe

Here is a pic of one of my discus the other pics worn't load
1377823630651.jpg

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 29th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Great idea 1NZ-FE
Plus the beef heart could also cause diseases n sickness & you'll hadda do alot more water changes.

But anyways.....seeing that allyuh on d topic of discus, post up pics of what you guys have nah!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 29th, 2013, 9:36 pm

Remember discus are finicky fish eh, they don't like changes, mine won't touch new food, after being on colour bits for years. So don't go trying the beef heart and mess up ya water chemistry eh.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 29th, 2013, 9:40 pm

The frozen food from Chai's not bad though....
I fed mines on colour bits for years & one day I dropped one cube of the frozen food from chai & they attacked it like wow!
They loved it, water was good & fish was happy...made me happy.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » August 29th, 2013, 9:55 pm

The "trick" with prepared foods as put forward by many discus enthusiasts is the addition of garlic, which they claim is an attractant.

With respect to discus and new foods, eventually they will accept new foods if it is the only alternative. Patience is the key. If you raise them from young with a variety of food, it is more likely to successfully accept new foods readily.

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 29th, 2013, 10:10 pm

I feed my discus with colour bits and a variety of flakes but want to introduce a wider variety of food and was thinking bout de frozen bloodworms .

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 29th, 2013, 10:30 pm

I have a young arro with mine and he gets krill, they watch it but don't really try it.

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 29th, 2013, 10:46 pm

When i had my oscar i tried feeding them krill but they never bothered with it and let it sink to the buttom

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 29th, 2013, 10:52 pm

My arro hides from the feeder fish. I think he's gay.

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 30th, 2013, 12:02 am

Lol something wrong with that fish

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 30th, 2013, 11:11 am

Ah next pic load
1377875447232.jpg

bir123

Postby bir123 » August 30th, 2013, 7:32 pm

More pic
1377905530350.jpg

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 1st, 2013, 5:38 pm

Any body know wa kind ah quality dr fish discus is .thinking bout buying some from him

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » September 1st, 2013, 6:03 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:My arro hides from the feeder fish. I think he's gay.

LOL! :lol:

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 1st, 2013, 7:55 pm

Some pics of my setup as of recently.

Symbiosis at its best. Baby Albino Bristlenose aka jumbie teta. paid 4 for $100 by fishy bizniz.

another baby

If you look closely you could see the eel's head

Odyssea twin T5 fluorescent lights. $50US on eBay

Ballast for the light I think. It has the on/off switch on it.

Here you can see how it can adjust from 36" - 40"

Lights on.

Lights off

when I just got them

Really nice to see how my tank setup has changed over the months...
First

Second [ driftwood added.]

Third. Had the most amount of plants here. Too bad not enough lighting to let them live.

Fourth and most recent.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » September 1st, 2013, 11:19 pm

bir123 wrote:Any body know wa kind ah quality dr fish discus is .thinking bout buying some from him

I suggest you make up your own mind about buying from him. I visited his place and was not impressed. However, my opinion may not be the opinion of others.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » September 1st, 2013, 11:50 pm

brought in some stuff from florida

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 2nd, 2013, 5:50 am

salvation4U wrote:Image

brought in some stuff from florida

Ok so does it mean it worked out cheaper than buying local or what?

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 2nd, 2013, 4:48 pm

K man might just check him