The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

ZeroOne

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby ZeroOne » February 15th, 2013, 6:03 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:1500 to change cracked glass on the s3........

Wow!

yea sorry for fellas who have cracked screens :lol:

glass and silver bezel cost half the price of the phone we.

Postby Stephon. » February 15th, 2013, 8:08 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
honda hoe wrote:i doh want no rubber case

girl in work has a cool looking metal looking case on her iphone

might look into 1 of those

for some reason, i read that as "girl in school has a metal looking case"

:| :| :| :| :|

*mindfucked* I read the same exact thing

Postby Ted_v2 » February 15th, 2013, 8:53 pm

Besides the note 1/2 and the s2/s3
What other large screen phone can i get that uses android Os?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 15th, 2013, 8:55 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Besides the note 1/2 and the s2/s3
What other large screen phone can i get that uses android Os?

Too many to name. Best ones to consider right now, S3, Note II, One X isn't bad for the price they're selling at & the upcoming Xperia Z is awesome.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 9:01 pm

You only named Samsung products.

There's the LG line, the HTC line and the Sony (not Ericsson) Xperia line.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 9:02 pm

Jussayin' but this is a steal of a deal..

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=487211

Postby Stephon. » February 15th, 2013, 9:03 pm

interesting read...

Is the Galaxy S4 going to disappoint you?

Are you excited about the Galaxy S4? Yeah, me too. Are you picturing a super phone the likes of which we’ve never seen before? So am I, but there’s a niggly feeling that won’t go away – what if we’re all expecting too much?

Building expectations

The original Galaxy S was a decent smartphone, but it was the Galaxy S2 that really catapulted Samsung into the Android limelight. You might ask now if Samsung is helping or hurting Android, but in 2011 the South Korean manufacturer helped Google’s platform to capture an ever increasing market share. The Galaxy S2 was streets ahead of the competition (not just android but iOS included). Samsung looked at all the smartphones on the market and made sure its flagship was better in every respect. Powerful processor, big, high quality screen, slim form factor, microSD card slot, a quality camera, even 1080p video out.[/b]

Few people would argue that it was the phone of the year and it duly won the award at MWC in 2012. At MWC this year, in a few days’ time, it’s very hard to imagine any device other than the Galaxy S3 taking the title.

Samsung’s rise to glory with Android

For me the best phone of 2010 was the HTC Desire and it should have taken the 2011 MWC award, which went to the iPhone 4 instead. HTC did win manufacturer of the year, but Samsung was quick to take over as the Android poster boy with the Galaxy S2 and it hasn’t looked back. A recent report revealed that Samsung has 8 of the top 10 Android devices in use.

Samsung was the leading mobile phone manufacturer worldwide in 2012 with a 22 percent market share and if we just look at smartphone sales the share is even bigger. Samsung in the top spot sold 29 percent of all smartphones worldwide in 2012. Most of them were the Galaxy S3 or the Galaxy S2.

The success is well deserved. Samsung has improved in tune with the Android platform. The Galaxy S3 pushed on with the same strategy that had made the S2 so popular. Cutting edge specs, an even bigger and more beautiful display, a host of slight improvements to other features, and a commitment to the free spirit of Android with a removable battery and expandable storage. The S3 ticked everyone’s boxes.

If you had to criticize you’d point to the perception about poor build quality and plastic, but you could always counter with the fact that it’s lightweight and durable. Maybe you don’t like the TouchWiz interface or the bloatware? In truth it’s a mixed bag, some of Samsung’s tweaks are useful, some aren’t, but I’d still take the Galaxy S3 over the Nexus 4 or any iPhone for the expandable storage and the removable battery.

The next in line

We’ve seen the rumors on the Galaxy S4 and we can safely say it will sport an improved display. It looks like 1080p resolution is going to be the new standard for high end Android smartphones. Samsung can’t really increase the size much, if it goes over 5 inches then we’re heading out of smartphone territory and into phablet land.

Will it have an eight core processor? Probably not, but even if it does, we’re not seeing enough games that challenge the current quad-core offering and my S3 doesn’t stutter or lag so would it represent a big improvement? The camera is likely to be a bit better, but beyond that what are we getting? It’s not going to be a major departure with a flexible display or some revolutionary new feature.

The biggest improvement we’d all like to see is battery life and if Samsung can deliver a boost in this area thanks to a combination of more efficient components and a bigger battery then it will be appreciated, but it’s not enough to make an upgrade essential. It’s not like the phone will run without a charge for a week, it will probably go for a couple of hours longer than the S3.

Ever decreasing incremental improvements

The whole pattern with the Galaxy S series is starting to look familiar. The S3 offered a substantial improvement over the S2 which offered a huge improvement over the original Galaxy S. The S4 will offer a decent improvement over the S3, but the gap is getting smaller. The S4 doesn’t get handed the crown by default, Samsung has got to work at it. That’s exactly what many of us don’t like about the iPhone. Apple isn’t working to innovate and justify that top spot anymore and there’s an increasing reliance on the power of brand. It works because people still line up to buy the same phone every year.

Samsung has definitely been building a brand with the S series. The marketing budget for the S3 has clearly dwarfed every other Android smartphone on the market, but Samsung has backed it up with a device that’s worth shouting about. Is the S4 going to do enough to be your next Android phone or is it going to rely on that consumer awareness? The Sony Xperia Z definitely caught my attention, but I won’t get a new phone until I see what the S4 has to offer. Do you think the Galaxy S4 can improve on it in a major way? Will Samsung be content to rest on its laurels?

Competition is key

As much as I love my Galaxy S3 and I believe Samsung earned its dominant position with the S2 and S3, that dominance is a real concern. Historically major dominance in the smartphone market hasn’t fostered innovation. Look at the BlackBerry and then the iPhone. Samsung doesn’t have a great record on innovation already, is massive success going to drive it? Predictions that the S4 will sell 100 million before we’ve even seen it are cause for concern.

The failure of the rest of the Android manufacturers to put up a decent fight has been a real disappointment. We need competitors on the Android platform that can challenge Samsung. I won’t buy a new Android smartphone simply to support the underdog, they have to put up a credible contender, but I’m not going to pledge my undying loyalty for Samsung either. If the S4 doesn’t rise above the competition as an excellent smartphone then it’s time for me to move on, and I hope you’ll do the same.

Android Authority

Love the fact that he's encourage people to not line up and buy the same phone with a new name simply because you're a fan.

Android users, always the mature, more respected, level headed, non brain washed/sheep.

Sammy, her effect to get that smart level headed, sophisticated, crowd.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 15th, 2013, 9:05 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Jussayin' but this is a steal of a deal..

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=487211

Always liked that phone. That price is scary good tho :|

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 15th, 2013, 9:07 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:You only named Samsung products.

There's the LG line, the HTC line and the Sony (not Ericsson) Xperia line.

Well I honestly haven't fancied any of the previous Xperias other than the upcoming Xperia Z (well it LOOKS rly good) which is why I named only that and I named the One X as well.

Forgot LG has the Nexus 4..but can't think of anything else worthy. The nexus 4 is an amazing buy for the price though. SD card is the only reason I won't get one.

Postby Stephon. » February 15th, 2013, 9:08 pm

If he was selling it for 3000 you would have say it too high, best you just walk around with some quarters on you and get used to the payphone interface on independence square yes :lol:

justtttttttt kidding

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 9:11 pm

Stephon. wrote:If he was selling it for 3000 you would have say it too high, best you just walk around with some quarters on you and get used to the payphone interface on independence square yes :lol:

justtttttttt kidding

Lolwut

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » February 15th, 2013, 9:18 pm

Have a "me 2" S3 right now..i know ppl gonna rush for the S4.. I remember when i bought my Galaxy s1...beyotches be bawling oh it soo big..dat have bbm? Same sheit with meh s2..now everybody have an s3.. 3/4 dont even know of cutomization of the android os.. steupes..Long story short Xperia Z for it..

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 15th, 2013, 9:20 pm

F*ck s4

I'd like wifi :/

Postby Stephon. » February 15th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Stephon. wrote:If he was selling it for 3000 you would have say it too high, best you just walk around with some quarters on you and get used to the payphone interface on independence square yes :lol:

justtttttttt kidding

Lolwut

I was replying to Jonathan_337 saying the price scary cheap lol

Postby Ted_v2 » February 15th, 2013, 9:38 pm

This is my problem

I used to walk around with my galaxy y (for Tapatalk and YouTube occasionally) and my blackberry for bbm until I sold my galaxy y cuz of the tiny screen. Now I dunno what to do with my phone situation. Buy what?
Where I could get some prices? Digicel is overpriced imo

So far this looking like one of the best options. It has everything I will need and more. I played around with it and it works excellent. Really can't complain. The price is pretty good also but what about the brand?

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/view ... hp?id=7163

And no I don't want a used phone

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 15th, 2013, 9:45 pm

trinitachi wrote:Have a "me 2" S3 right now..i know ppl gonna rush for the S4.. I remember when i bought my Galaxy s1...beyotches be bawling oh it soo big..dat have bbm? Same sheit with meh s2..now everybody have an s3.. 3/4 dont even know of customization of the android os.. steupes..Long story short Xperia Z for it..

^x2. I know a ton of ppl with S3's/One X's etc. Dunno a thing abt it.

justtttttttt kidding

LOL I good with my S3!

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 10:08 pm

Alcatel yuh say dey?

Good luck choosing that over a used S2 :|

In other news, the guy sold the Sensation yes :|

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 15th, 2013, 10:11 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:This is my problem

I used to walk around with my galaxy y (for Tapatalk and YouTube occasionally) and my blackberry for bbm until I sold my galaxy y cuz of the tiny screen. Now I dunno what to do with my phone situation. Buy what?

So far this looking like one of the best options. It has everything I will need and more. I played around with it and it works excellent. Really can't complain. The price is pretty good also but what about the brand?

it not looking that bad, plus it upgradeable to ICS
go for it dude, put up a review when you're done.

i've been eyeing the sony xperia p for a while now...

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » February 15th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
trinitachi wrote:Have a "me 2" S3 right now..i know ppl gonna rush for the S4.. I remember when i bought my Galaxy s1...beyotches be bawling oh it soo big..dat have bbm? Same sheit with meh s2..now everybody have an s3.. 3/4 dont even know of customization of the android os.. steupes..Long story short Xperia Z for it..

^x2. I know a ton of ppl with S3's/One X's etc. Dunno a thing abt it.

Dude i know men running prepaid and never have money on it.. I know men who never experience 3g ( cause ttst and digi lying about 4g).. Its ridiculous.. Glitz and Glamour.. On that note.. A digicel inside source told me they've been setting up LTE equipment.. lewwe hope is just not a setup like their current "4g"

Postby Ted_v2 » February 15th, 2013, 10:43 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:This is my problem

it not looking that bad, plus it upgradeable to ICS
go for it dude, put up a review when you're done.

i've been eyeing the sony xperia p for a while now...

My bredren has one on ics. But idk, its the brand that bothers me. I guess I rather rock a brand name phone

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 16th, 2013, 10:38 am

Wanna turn your S3 into a Nexus 4? Flash Super Nexus 2.0 build 2. Smooth as butter. No bloatware whatsoever, completely stock 4.2.1 JellyBean (with the addition of performance mods)

Postby S_2NR » February 16th, 2013, 10:40 am

Or just flash cm10/10.1

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 16th, 2013, 10:42 am

S_2NR wrote:Or just flash cm10/10.1

Didn't try that yet..thinking to do it soon. Which is better in your opinion?

Postby Stephon. » February 16th, 2013, 11:15 am

You need root to do them thing??

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 16th, 2013, 11:16 am

Stephon. wrote:You need root to do them thing??

LOL yeah..and a custom recovery like CWM.

Postby honda hoe » February 16th, 2013, 11:16 am

It may seem petty/ricer-ish but I hated the back of my Samsung Galaxy nexus. The plastic backing made an otherwise solid build feel very cheap. I have the same complaint about the S3

Despite the fact that my nexus 4 doesn't have a removable battery (which is a moot point to me cuz I never keep phones long enough to have to change the battery) the back of the phone, with the solid gorilla glass, feels good in ur hand and doesn't not have that cheaply made/inferior feel of the S3/samsung galaxy nexus

Even tho I won't buy one.. I have always preferred to buy nexus models... I hope the S4 launches without any face buttons.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 16th, 2013, 11:18 am

honda hoe wrote:It may seem petty/ricer-ish but I hated the back of my Samsung Galaxy nexus. The plastic backing made an otherwise solid build feel very cheap. I have the same complaint about the S3

Despite the fact that my nexus 4 doesn't have a removable battery (which is a moot point to me cuz I never keep phones long enough to have to change the battery) the back of the phone, with the solid gorilla glass, feels good in ur hand and doesn't not have that cheaply made/inferior feel of the S3/samsung galaxy nexus

Even tho I won't buy one.. I have always preferred to buy nexus models... I hope the S4 launches without any face buttons.

Back never mattered to me because I put all my phones in a case anyway. The UAG case I have on my Titanium grey S3 makes it look very premium. No SD card slot on the Nexus 4 is the sole reason I didn't get one. The battery isn't a big deal.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 16th, 2013, 11:26 am

S2 men, what's a good ROM for battery life?

Postby Chimera » February 16th, 2013, 11:34 am

ZeroOne wrote:1500 to change cracked glass on the s3........

thats the whole front assembly including lcd or just the front glass (not lcd)

Postby Trini Hookah » February 16th, 2013, 11:54 am

That's incl LCD. Outer glass cheap for that