3ne2nr fishermen

kevin5211

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby kevin5211 » November 8th, 2013, 7:45 am

Didn't do any fishing yesterday but went caura and s aw a man spearfishing for taytas with a small fishgun. Probly was about 18" long , d fishgun eh.lol who duz eat taytas?

xapruda

Postby xapruda » November 8th, 2013, 8:33 am

have a pardnah wid one gonna taste it tonight self, i hear the meat sweet, who fishing for the weekend n where?

Postby joker » November 8th, 2013, 9:21 am

Tayta duz lash ....

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » November 8th, 2013, 9:41 am

joker wrote:Tayta duz lash ....

once yuh cook it properly wit enuff curry n pepper :-|

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 8th, 2013, 10:44 am

I might hit a DDI tomorrow, banking.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » November 8th, 2013, 11:03 am

^ Looking for a guy to hire to do a lil banking.

Bro in law from michigan here and wanted to carry him out for a lil fishing trip either banking or to drop of at a location. Havent decided as yet.

Do you guys have anyone you all would recommend? Would appreciate contact.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 9th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Did a lil banking DDI today, wasn't as good as it could have been. Went to a productive spot behind Gasparee and only managed to pull one good sized reds, our lines kept hanging up on something. Realized what it was when another boat pulled up and retrieved 4 fish pots right under our noses. Them men lick up a nice bank, I sure they dropping them pots everyday. Had to move around to put something in the cooler. Depending on where we were, the heavy North and Gulf breezes made the day a lil uncomfortable with all d rocking of d boat. Held most of these in Scotland and Teteron on the sides in the stony areas. Didn't feel anything in the deep muddy areas. excuse d pic qualities.
_MG_4376.JPG
_MG_4377.JPG
_MG_4374.JPG

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 9th, 2013, 10:33 pm

Heading ddi tmrw, intention is to go banking and light trolling.

Postby meccalli » November 10th, 2013, 5:38 am

So that's what it was, last time we went there for the holiday we kept getting hung up as well.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2013, 7:43 am

so how do the pot owners pull them up if you guys didn't see any buoys or markers ?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 10th, 2013, 8:16 am

U ever see the thick green line them Tobago men does use for deep banking? it is not nylon it's more like a thin rope. Well they attach an iron bar to that and drag it on the bottom in a zig zag pattern until they snag the fish pot cable. Then 2 big strong fellas with gloves start winching the pots in, plenty elbow grease.

Postby meccalli » November 10th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Yeah they drag with a kinda grapple for it, that's for men not to steal the pot lol. Father teach me that trick some years ago when we built one. Caught a bird the other day in a small one i have lying around.

reelman

Postby reelman » November 10th, 2013, 5:42 pm

power pro braid
saw this today ...is the 65lb test a good price

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... nt_count=1

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 10th, 2013, 5:45 pm

Yeah them pots heavy no ass, doh matter if they empty or full it is still backbreaking.

Postby meccalli » November 10th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Yep, mankees always have cheap prices, cheaper than bringing in certain items yourself most of the time. Powerpro not for me though but its a very good braid nonetheless. Yeah, them pots heavy but fatties like to sit down in them lol. Its a nice feeling to pull a pot when it bouncing, fish butting the pot.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 10th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Mankee hav sale on powerpro at the moment...cyah beat dem prices...

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 10th, 2013, 8:19 pm

Reel tackle does sell it by the yard, depending on how much ur reel holds, dey have d big bulk spools so they fill it with exactly how much line dat u need. I can't remember how much cents per yard but I know dat it was a good deal too.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 10th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Cents per yard u say dey? Is braid we talkin bout...mono does be ah few dollars per yard at reel tackle..

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 10th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Anyone ever fish here
1384137311187.jpg

bumpie

Postby bumpie » November 10th, 2013, 10:37 pm

2013-11-10 20.05.28.jpg
Went kayaking by ancorage around d
mountain an catch some reds .

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 10th, 2013, 11:47 pm

@Kevin...Been there done that. You get some nice reds there certain times of year. Other than that its lotsa eels n major loss of tackle. Good for topwaters when calm and you may get the odd cavali\tarpon\barracuda.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 11th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Nice info. Passed there yesterday an had a look.but water was rough as hell. All d little coves up dat side had rel muddy water.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 11th, 2013, 6:43 pm

Yea kevin but tarpon like those areas to feed wen all the food washes down into the sea...

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 11th, 2013, 6:45 pm

@ryan make a family run. Amd dey didn't was stop . Need to roll wit d crew to hit up dem spots

100%intense

Postby 100%intense » November 11th, 2013, 11:00 pm

Any suggestions where I can purchase 12 and 16oz leads at a reasonable price. Already checked mankee and general stores in south. I find myself losing a lot of these quite recently. At $25 per 16oz lead it adds up quickly..... Thanks in advance.

100%intense

Postby 100%intense » November 11th, 2013, 11:01 pm

Any suggestions where I can purchase 12 and 16oz leads at a reasonable price. Already checked mankee and general stores in south. I find myself losing a lot of these quite recently. At $25 per 16oz lead it adds up quickly..... Thanks in advance.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 11th, 2013, 11:01 pm

Make dem yourself...that will be the cheapest way....

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2013, 11:08 pm

the hardware in elsocorro sells lead the cheapest
i cant remember the price, but it was the cheapest when i called around

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 11th, 2013, 11:09 pm

How do you get the lead melted tho? I know you have to make a mold but wat kinda material can you use?

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2013, 11:24 pm

lead scraps from old batteries and rim weights
a ring stove or those torch they use to roast ducks
an old pot

old school way my father taught me

get an old card board box, fill with wet sand and a 1" wooden broom that i shaved the end like a cone

punch holes in the sand a few inches apart and bend cutlass wire to make the eyes

when the lead boils, pour it into the sand and use a pliers to put the wire in the molten lead

when it sets and gets fairly cool jus pull them out the sand and rinse them out

make sure you do it in an open yard or something and use a respirator if you have one
cause if you inhale the lead smoke you may not be around to use the sinkers

dunno if there is an easier way now