The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 1:12 pm

talknahs be like utt is pala degree and e no bodi wha higher dem graduants cus dem eh accreditation. i dunno wha really going on with ollur personal circle but i know ppl that have attended utt, graduated and are currently employed the respective fields. the previous pnm administration started a drive to build a knowledge-based economy (google it feggits) in tnt. after 2010 elections there has been a couple changes here and there but its appears to be still the objective of this pp administration. kudos to them

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 24th, 2013, 1:14 pm

pioneer wrote:Cya teally talk academics with habit7

He hadda go consult woodford square to get ah opinion

hahahahahahaha

Postby 16 cycles » October 24th, 2013, 1:23 pm

rfari wrote:Imo.growley is a no-nonsense person with low tolerance for bs and ppl cant accept that. He calls it as he sees it. Ppl that feel threatened by him prefer that he sugar coats what he says. I have to disagree with you on them (pnm) not loosing (sic) the next elections.

rowley will not tolerate bs when it suits his goals...

ain't fault him for that....

Postby Habit7 » October 24th, 2013, 1:27 pm

pete wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Well that's great for Elec Eng, UWI is obviously more admired than UTT. But not need to split hairs.

http://www.eng.uwi.tt/depts/elec/ic/utt.php

http://www.eng.uwi.tt/depts/elec/ic/Qua ... tation.php

That's B.Tech. Since then they switched it to B.Eng and now B.ASc.

even better, but does it reverse the accreditation of UTT?

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 1:32 pm

16 cycles wrote:
rfari wrote:Imo.growley is a no-nonsense person with low tolerance for bs and ppl cant accept that. He calls it as he sees it. Ppl that feel threatened by him prefer that he sugar coats what he says. I have to disagree with you on them (pnm) not loosing (sic) the next elections.

one example?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 24th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well that's great for Elec Eng, UWI is obviously more admired than UTT. But not need to split hairs.

"Split Hairs" you say?

All they did there is create a category of Qualification that falls under the level of an actual engineer.

They were forced to do this due to this same Lack of accreditation that I highlighted.

I think there is a major difference when someone is encouraged to do a engineering degree and at the end of it... they would be "something like" an engineer.

Here you are after going through this entire length of studies... you will be an Engineer Assistant but never be qualified to be an Actual Engineer.

You are saying that the working class people who have now gained some mature educational and focus thinking cannot study to achieve the status of an engineer rather to settle for an "Assistant"?

You call that something to boast about?

You block people with real potential from reaching the stars and make the clouds seem to be their ultimate destination.

And although after completion of these courses that you highlighted, these persons will have almost the same work as a Real Engineer but being paid about $10,000.00 less, without hope of promotion since their qualification can only take them that far!

Yet you disregard these and other issues and instead of taking a stance and admitting at least some shortfalls....you stand proud, ready defend your PNM till death.

Let me add another misguided word or phrase that exist in your mind:
"refute", "fact", "split hairs"...

Postby De Dragon » October 24th, 2013, 1:37 pm

rfari wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

one example?

Guanapo Heights church for the priestess

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 24th, 2013, 1:38 pm

rfari wrote:talknahs be like utt is pala degree and e no bodi wha higher dem graduants cus dem eh accreditation.....

And imagine this man was correcting me on a double negative!

Postby Habit7 » October 24th, 2013, 1:42 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

"Split Hairs" you say?

All they did there is create a category of Qualification that falls under the level of an actual engineer.

They were forced to do this due to this same Lack of accreditation that I highlighted.

Dude you win, although your above post contradicts your prior one it seems you in for a tit for tat. I could careless for your rants.

Postby 16 cycles » October 24th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says the People’s National Movement (PNM) is standing by former prime minister Patrick Manning’s claim about the construction of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s private residence in south Trinidad. Speaking in Parliament last Friday, Manning raised questions about the funding for the project and called on Persad-Bissessar to produce documents to show the property had all the required approvals. He said the property was built at a cost of $150 million.

150M???? - thaz not a BS figure?

https://guardian.co.tt/news/rowley-we-stand-manning

Postby 1UZFE » October 24th, 2013, 1:43 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

"Split Hairs" you say?

I think there is a major difference when someone is encouraged to do a engineering degree and at the end of it... they would be "something like" an engineer.

Here you are after going through this entire length of studies... you will be an Engineer Assistant but never be qualified to be an Actual Engineer.

You are saying that the working class people who have now gained some mature educational and focus thinking cannot study to achieve the status of an engineer rather to settle for an "Assistant"?

You call that something to boast about?

You block people with real potential from reaching the stars and make the clouds seem to be their ultimate destination.

And although after completion of these courses that you highlighted, these persons will have almost the same work as a Real Engineer but being paid about $10,000.00 less, without hope of promotion since their qualification can only take them that far!

Yet you disregard these and other issues and instead of taking a stance and admitting at least some shortfalls....you stand proud, ready defend your PNM till death.

Let me add another misguided word or phrase that exist in your mind:
"refute", "fact", "split hairs"...

how dare u make sense...
man talking bout aprenticship, ttec has its own EIT program, so as to make sure a trained person is hired. So with yuh utt degree and intership yuh will still be disregarded. UWI always get the nod...

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 1:47 pm

rfari wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

one example?

Guanapo Heights church for the priestess

:? wha about it?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2013, 1:50 pm

In on Page 200!!!

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 2:18 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
rfari wrote:talknahs be like utt is pala degree and e no bodi wha higher dem graduants cus dem eh accreditation.....

And imagine this man was correcting me on a double negative!

Like u feeling kinna how

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 24th, 2013, 2:19 pm

rfari wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:
rfari wrote:............
2. Pnm provided equal opportunity for upliftment to all citizens. Free education, scholarships etc. If the east pos residents failed to take advantage of it well then they only have themselves to blame.

I can't agree with you there!

Because if that same Government never guided to youths to learn the value of education then why would they even think that Free Education is something worthwhile?

Lack of community programs and youth facilities, etc, etc..

The youth boys are left to the block.. The older (vultures) pounce on these unguided youths and show them "easy money", why then come out of it?

The youth girls are left without proper Family Planning programs, guidance on S.T.D.s, value of education, etc. They are then influenced by the youth boys who can now "flash" money in their faces and show then an "easy" life. They take that influence, get pregnant in their teens, drop out of school, etc.

The community is then split into these groups:
(1) Those who stay in the criminal life
(2) Those who just settle for welfare and URP programs, and prefer to depend on the Government
(3) The less than 5% who fight to achieve further education - then approx. 1% might be strong enough to fight the fight and come out with something.

It was all a plan of past governments to keep these people dependent on them.
Accept it or Reject it.

So it is unfair for you to blame your own people for their situation when it is really your own (die hard) government who has them that way!

So in essence wha u really saying is that pnm should have showed ppl how to raise dey pickney dem? Ent? You and ur monkey-logic again

But strangely or conveniently enough, out of an entire country, you have a group of people that the PNM brought into this country, who are always making the news for crimes and gang violence on one side and on the other side always making news because their galvanize shack break down and they need the government to provide More Assistance since they have 10 children, etc, etc.

This same population was always dependent on the PNM government for their survival.

Especially since PNM gave them Trinidad as a refugee camp.

Since they are PNM "till dey ded" due to this… then why would PNM ever try (in the past) to help them get independent?

The PNM brought them here and initially these people had no rights to access resources as the average citizen and were basically forced (in the beginning) to be dependent on that government,

…..but they were then given the right to vote, strange?

A dependency syndrome developed and was encouraged by the PNM since they did nothing directly for that community to get them out of it.

If you think that the solution to the entire problem is just to teach "how to raise dey pickney dem"…

...then you clearly grew up as a "spoon fed" individual and not a man with "knowledge of the streets".

Postby RASC » October 24th, 2013, 2:37 pm

pnm supporter automatically equals sufferation, latrine and galavanise shack dwelling.

Yup accurate :lol: I living jus so jus so :)

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 24th, 2013, 2:46 pm

as far as I know this program is no longer offered. UTT virtually destroyed what the idea of TTIT. TTIT was created by industry for industry. A very comprehensive technical program, UTT was just a failed attempt to "change" what the Panday administration accomplished. This UWI-UTT program was the last attempt to maintain some substance in UTT. However, asoon as UWI realized what was going on down there they immediately cancelled the venture. When UTT came on accreditation went out the door and they have been struggling since......
Now industry does not want UTT

Postby pioneer » October 24th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Should replace the balisier with a sheet ah galvanize

Postby Habit7 » October 24th, 2013, 2:54 pm

eliteauto wrote:Image

Every love to blame PNM for every poor person T&T, while our wide middle class and significant upper class is like the result of ONR, DLP or KFC or something

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2013, 2:59 pm

200 pages??? And allyuh eh go for beers or nothing yet? Man a rumshop lime with all allyuh would be epic...till the bottle start pelting this is :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Rfari go pelt bottle first. You can't trust them pnm ppl

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2013, 3:03 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

you really feel so, I have bets on UML, he real volatile yuh know

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2013, 3:06 pm

eliteauto wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

you really feel so, I have bets on UML, he real volatile yuh know

oh ah forget about he, nah that's fight between he and rfari.

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 3:11 pm

My bets on uml too. I could vibes wid everyone contributing here except that uml guy. Personally i d'oh trust wife beaters

Postby A172 » October 24th, 2013, 3:17 pm

200 pages of legit lulz

and they say it ha nothing good local

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » October 24th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:

"Split Hairs" you say?

Dude you win, although your above post contradicts your prior one it seems you in for a tit for tat. I could careless for your rants.

My initial posts on the topic was refers…

…. to the fact that the All the UTT Electrical Degree Programs that should qualify a person as an Actual Engineer are not accredited, and students going through these (4) year programs are then rejected by major organizations.

…….while UWI (the only one recognized) only offers the Programs (to be an Actual Engineer) as Full-Time, causing a mass number of potential engineers to be "blocked" from proceeding with their goal.

UTT has no plans to work towards this accreditation in the near future, (spoke to members of the head).

The same exists for many other engineering programs in other categories offered by UTT, I just chose to use electrical as an example.

Not even their Diplomas are anything to boast about…

…since many lecturers lack the basics of lecturing, (like attendance and punctuality).

….since the programs are an everlasting "experiment", where every year modules are added or subtracted or manipulated.

….since internal disorganization is the order of every passing day

…..since lecturers give out answers to Tests/Quizzes to many individuals (Note: these Tests are part of the Final Grade).

…..since lecturers give out the entire Final Paper to many individuals, before the exam.

…..since many equipment are older than the school and even some of the lecturers

....since a lot of corruption exists for monies allocated for new equipment bought and never seen

…..since the standard and level of education varies through the different campuses

……since the organization boasts of a high failure rate of the courses (due to the above)

…..since they plan to increase the Program lengths from (4) years to (5) years for just a Diploma
(due to their high failure rate and the only solution that they put forward)

….. and if after enduring all the above, a person actually finishes the entire program, they then have to wait until the end of the next school year to get their Certificate in hand!

So approx (4) years to do a Diploma, then approx (1) year to wait for the certificate.

And if you are wondering about fact VS assumption:

I've been there, done that, was a student, seen it, was exposed to it, suffered from it, was a victim of it!

Myself along with over 50 other students (at that time) have written numerous of complaints, concerns, signed petitions etc to the Ministry....
....all futile.

I was also a student of UWI, SBCS, and Cipriani Labour College, so I think I can make a fair comparison.

So my point was…. don't claim to be informed, and ready to boast about an organization or PNM plan as though you hopping on hot coals. No Facts? No Argument! No Defense!

Postby Habit7 » October 24th, 2013, 3:23 pm

I glad to see the thread move from rejecting the election results to the usually anti-PNM rants. Back to square 1.

Postby pioneer » October 24th, 2013, 3:25 pm

Giant wall of text is giant

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2013, 3:29 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
rfari wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:
rfari wrote:............
2. Pnm provided equal opportunity for upliftment to all citizens. Free education, scholarships etc. If the east pos residents failed to take advantage of it well then they only have themselves to blame.

I can't agree with you there!

Because if that same Government never guided to youths to learn the value of education then why would they even think that Free Education is something worthwhile?

Lack of community programs and youth facilities, etc, etc..

The youth boys are left to the block.. The older (vultures) pounce on these unguided youths and show them "easy money", why then come out of it?

The youth girls are left without proper Family Planning programs, guidance on S.T.D.s, value of education, etc. They are then influenced by the youth boys who can now "flash" money in their faces and show then an "easy" life. They take that influence, get pregnant in their teens, drop out of school, etc.

The community is then split into these groups:
(1) Those who stay in the criminal life
(2) Those who just settle for welfare and URP programs, and prefer to depend on the Government
(3) The less than 5% who fight to achieve further education - then approx. 1% might be strong enough to fight the fight and come out with something.

It was all a plan of past governments to keep these people dependent on them.
Accept it or Reject it.

So it is unfair for you to blame your own people for their situation when it is really your own (die hard) government who has them that way!

So in essence wha u really saying is that pnm should have showed ppl how to raise dey pickney dem? Ent? You and ur monkey-logic again

But strangely or conveniently enough, out of an entire country, you have a group of people that the PNM brought into this country, who are always making the news for crimes and gang violence on one side and on the other side always making news because their galvanize shack break down and they need the government to provide More Assistance since they have 10 children, etc, etc.

This same population was always dependent on the PNM government for their survival.

Especially since PNM gave them Trinidad as a refugee camp.

Since they are PNM "till dey ded" due to this… then why would PNM ever try (in the past) to help them get independent?

The PNM brought them here and initially these people had no rights to access resources as the average citizen and were basically forced (in the beginning) to be dependent on that government,

…..but they were then given the right to vote, strange?

A dependency syndrome developed and was encouraged by the PNM since they did nothing directly for that community to get them out of it.

If you think that the solution to the entire problem is just to teach "how to raise dey pickney dem"…

...then you clearly grew up as a "spoon fed" individual and not a man with "knowledge of the streets".

and i ask again u wanted pnm to mind dey pickey??? Free everything for everybody in this country. If some ppm don't want to uplift deyself wha any govt could do?

Ah lemme guess.

Colour me orange and hoop of life ent????

Postby DFC » October 24th, 2013, 3:31 pm

pioneer wrote:Should replace the balisier with a sheet ah galvanize

I laugh out real hard in office just now.