Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2020, 8:59 am

Hmmmm

Ok

Is it the cup-type or wheel?

I have some permatex brake grease, i guess i can use some of that on the hub face
Dave wrote:I have a simple circular one that attaches to a drill to make the work quick and easy.
For the binding, I have always used a thin layer of heavy grease. Waterproof helps even better.

Postby Dave » October 27th, 2020, 9:52 am

Cup type steel brush.
I saw a kit that had a few different types, need to invest in that.
Leave your expensive brake grease for the caliper and pins.
Np hard grease is cheap and works excellent

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2020, 10:31 am

yes i wud advise a kit too with d different sizes & shapes , works out a lil cheaper too & they all come in handy for different situations

advise u wear safety glasses cause loose wire bristles from it will fly out ...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2020, 11:01 am

Yup

Rovin wrote:yes i wud advise a kit too with d different sizes & shapes , works out a lil cheaper too & they all come in handy for different situations

advise u wear safety glasses cause loose wire bristles from it will fly out ...

Postby Dave » October 27th, 2020, 11:31 am

Ditto on the loose steel bristles.
I already have eye wear lol

hindian

Postby hindian » October 27th, 2020, 11:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Image

where sells these type of magnetic bars locally?
Just saw that in bhagwansinghs trincity exact thing
Screenshot_2020-10-27-11-48-47.jpeg
Screenshot_2020-10-27-11-48-26.jpeg

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2020, 1:17 pm

i looked up that on amazon : Magnetic Tool Holder Bar

about us$20something for a 24" long bar so tt$200 local sounding about close

looks like a nice thing to have but i sure u will be needing more than 1 cause 24" will quickly full up , i eh feeling d price for only 2ft but dise jes me ...

Postby maj. tom » October 27th, 2020, 1:28 pm

Neodymium bar magnets same price.
https://www.amazon.com/Powerful-Neodymi ... B07DFZH4WT
24x60mm = 56 inches = 4.7 feet
At least 18 lbs per bar. Thicker neodymium bar magnets can hold 30 lbs. Installation is an iron bar/rail screwed into the wall.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2020, 2:42 pm

Rovin wrote:i looked up that on amazon : Magnetic Tool Holder Bar

looks like a nice thing to have but i sure u will be needing more than 1 cause 24" will quickly full up , i eh feeling d price for only 2ft but dise jes me ...

the 18" is 6 pieces for 40 usd

https://www.amazon.com/Goplus-Magnetic- ... 869&sr=8-7

i doing a setta renovations and trying to organise a new tool room to put everything

right now i cant find anything anywhere

considering those neodymium magnets but all the reviews saying how fragile they are.
saw some saying if you dont gently rest the tool against them , the magnets will crack/shatter

hadda check to see if they would still work properly if i glue some sponge or thin foam across the front.....

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2020, 3:06 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Rovin wrote:i looked up that on amazon : Magnetic Tool Holder Bar

the 18" is 6 pieces for 40 usd

https://www.amazon.com/Goplus-Magnetic- ... 869&sr=8-7

i doing a setta renovations and trying to organise a new tool room to put everything

right now i cant find anything anywhere

considering those neodymium magnets but all the reviews saying how fragile they are.
saw some saying if you dont gently rest the tool against them , the magnets will crack/shatter

hadda check to see if they would still work properly if i glue some sponge or thin foam across the front.....

this was a concerned of mine & was gonna research what on amazon later when i got time cause i do recall reading a while back that neo mags are a bit fragile

i store my tools on shelves in [2] 4x6ftx 20" deep steel cupboards on castors , made of 1x1 rhs & 20g steel sheets , i built 1 about 20yrs ago & made d 2nd about 3yrs ago , i dont roll them around cause they heavy so i carry what i need about 20ft away from my work table area ...

Postby adnj » October 27th, 2020, 5:06 pm

Sandwich small rare earth magnets between 1/8 inch carbon steel barstock If you want to build the magnetic strips yourself. Hold everything together with a few drops of CA glue.

I personally don't care for the induced magnetism that tools get from storage on magnetic strips.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2020, 6:10 pm

I now remember I have like 16 sheets of 4x2 metal pegboard....just hadda get hooks for that and forget this whole magnetic strip plan

Screenshot_20201027-181104_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2020, 7:50 pm

so i was by ramlagans today & saw they have this Mi-T-M [apparently pronounced Mighty M] brand of pressure washers , never heard of dat brand so i ask their employee if briggs & straton makes d engine he say no this company makes their own & its a good brand : FTfarfan is d distributor for it

anybody here ever used it ? ... good brand or no ?

https://www.mitm.com/about/history/

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2020, 7:56 pm

Seems like they would be good. Personally, i would buy their products after reading this article:
https://www.thehawkeye.com/news/20190810/peosta-manufacturer-enjoying-companys-massive-growth
https://web.archive.org/web/20201030235449/https://www.thehawkeye.com/news/20190810/peosta-manufacturer-enjoying-companys-massive-growth

Look at their catalogue on pg 7, 8. Those are using the Honda engines for the CV models.
https://www.mitm.com/files/pdf/2019_Residential_Commercial_Brochure.pdf

What were the psi specs and prices on the pressure washers?

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2020, 9:07 pm

was feeling lazy earlier to upload pics , didnt take notes of specific models

gonna do some research now to see what is d significant benefits of 200-400more psi & if it worth d cost difference ...

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 30th, 2020, 9:48 pm

Mi-T-M is a good brand. Allied sells them at competitive prices.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2020, 9:55 pm

the more important parameter is gallons per minute

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 30th, 2020, 10:27 pm

GPM and the type of pump used would account for the difference in price.

Triplex plunger type pumps are the most expensive and oriented toward heavier extended use.
Axial pumps are more homeowner light use and hence cheaper.

Mi T M is a quite good brand.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 30th, 2020, 11:08 pm

Absolutely.

I own one that I bought from Ramlagan's self about 3-4 years ago. 3200 psi, 2.7gpm.

It's a MiTM motor, not Honda or B&S, but it works great.

Go for it.... You will not regret that purchase.
Rovin wrote:so i was by ramlagans today & saw they have this Mi-T-M [apparently pronounced Mighty M] brand of pressure washers , never heard of dat brand so i ask their employee if briggs & straton makes d engine he say no this company makes their own & its a good brand : FTfarfan is d distributor for it

anybody here ever used it ? ... good brand or no ?

https://www.mitm.com/about/history/

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2020, 11:23 pm

^^^cool man thanks, everybody wud know B&S or honda engines for this stuff but i unfamiliar with anything else

we have a pressure washer that is over 20yrs old, iirc "BE" or something like that is d brand , B&S engine, 2400psi i think it is , bought in d usa at a time when stuff was built in d usa, still works fine but between it being by me in chaguanas or by my bro in south i was considering buying my own & power washing a bit more often instead of waiting til stuff gets really dirty , maybe a higher psi machine, so this is why i looking at whats d current brands out here these days

ramlagans have bunch of karcher too , all electric which i dont want - need more of a heavier duty so gas engine 2600psi minimum without a doubt , if i get chance tomorrow i will take a drive around chaguanas to see whats out there ...

carluva

Postby carluva » October 30th, 2020, 11:38 pm

Boy, don't waste your time shopping around.

It's unlikely you will get a similarly spec'd pressure washer cheaper than Ramlagan's. They even sell the same units cheaper that Ft Farfan, who is the agent. Same for Karcher.

I bought a surface cleaner attachment for mines, but bought it online. Maybe you can consider a pressure lower than 3200 and invest the savings in the surface cleaner. That's a life saver!!!!

Don't waste your time. Go buy it at Ramlagan's.
Rovin wrote:^^^cool man thanks, everybody wud know B&S or honda engines for this stuff but i unfamiliar with anything else

we have a pressure washer that is over 20yrs old, iirc "BE" or something like that is d brand , B&S engine, 2400psi i think it is , bought in d usa at a time when stuff was built in d usa, still works fine but between it being by me in chaguanas or by my bro in south i was considering buying my own & power washing a bit more often instead of waiting til stuff gets really dirty , maybe a higher psi machine, so this is why i looking at whats d current brands out here these days

ramlagans have bunch of karcher too , all electric which i dont want - need more of a heavier duty so gas engine 2600psi minimum without a doubt , if i get chance tomorrow i will take a drive around chaguanas to see whats out there ...

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2020, 11:44 pm

funny u shud mention that surface cleaner circle thingy cause i watched youtube where they said its a gamechanger & others said so too, ramlagans have it for 6oo something iirc

alot of ppl say d same thing about their prices & great minds think alike thats why today i didnt even bother to go busy montrose side traffic [or worse yet down south] & went up by them, couva actually had less traffic , i am all for shopping around but time = $ too & i cant leave my store to go all over for hrs ... may have to go bhags tomorrow for some mdf so as i there i will still watch what they have

same when i need appliances i go straight to sew rite in montrose , best stuff & bess price .... no time wasting driving all over d place

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2020, 1:51 am

have a good bit of pressure washing to do for divali
feel i gonna buy one of those surface cleaners as well

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2020, 5:11 am

ramlagans cheaper for everything in general
i see they open a medical center now

the surface cleaners work pretty well
also use a rotary spinning tip instead of the fan tip
fan tips squeeze the water stream so some pressure is lost.

karcher gives you rotary tips with their electric units which helps a bit power wise.

Postby X_Factor » October 31st, 2020, 9:45 am

i think i need a gas machine now as well, currently have a karcher electric k3 1800 psi
A friend came and used his old gas 2700 psi /2.5gpm and wow!!
apart from the obvious noise, work was done in probably 1/2 the time and used less water over all

definitely on my to 2021 to get list

Postby Rovin » October 31st, 2020, 10:57 am

spent a few hrs last night online reading up

about d surface cleaners i seen quite a fair amt of ppl online saying some of them stop spinning after some hrs , some say in 1 day some saying like 10-20hrs of use , some using under powered psi machines though too so that cud cause it

most ppl online highly recommend it but is on nice level looking concrete u seeing they using it on , so i wonder if it will work just as good too for not so perfect surfaces

eh have time to waste so i think i will go by ramlagans on monday to get either d 3000 or 3200 psi machine , buy something good n done ... not 100% sold on d surface cleaner as yet

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2020, 11:49 am

all the electrics tend to be under 2gpm
so no volume of water to push

once you cross 2.2gpm it’s a big difference even with lower pressure

X_Factor wrote:i think i need a gas machine now as well, currently have a karcher electric k3 1800 psi
A friend came and used his old gas 2700 psi /2.5gpm and wow!!
apart from the obvious noise, work was done in probably 1/2 the time and used less water over all

definitely on my to 2021 to get list

Postby *KRONIK* » October 31st, 2020, 12:17 pm

Fellaz

6ton jack stands....

Where have them reasonably priced?

Preferably in the east

carluva

Postby carluva » October 31st, 2020, 4:43 pm

Buh wda?!?

Ent I tell you so man??
Rovin wrote:spent a few hrs last night online reading up

about d surface cleaners i seen quite a fair amt of ppl online saying some of them stop spinning after some hrs , some say in 1 day some saying like 10-20hrs of use , some using under powered psi machines though too so that cud cause it

most ppl online highly recommend it but is on nice level looking concrete u seeing they using it on , so i wonder if it will work just as good too for not so perfect surfaces

eh have time to waste so i think i will go by ramlagans on monday to get either d 3000 or 3200 psi machine , buy something good n done ... not 100% sold on d surface cleaner as yet

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2020, 8:50 pm

where would i get this locally?

any hardware?