Postby bumpie » November 4th, 2013, 10:23 pm

I want to go fishing on a kayack in d middle of
macquripe bay .anybody could tell me something
bout that.

troublemaker

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby troublemaker » November 4th, 2013, 10:24 pm

meccalli wrote:catfish makes the best fishpie :)

not according to a certain vendor in the cunupia area who uses cutlass fish in her pies :/

and no, i never eat her pies :lol: :lol:

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » November 4th, 2013, 10:26 pm

double post...forum playin up :roll:
Last edited by troublemaker on November 4th, 2013, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Well there must be a reason so many piemen use catfish
Either demand for it by customers or the supply of it

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Well there must be a reason so many piemen use catfish
Either demand for it by customers or the supply of it

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 4th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Catfish flesh is really nice. Onc u skin n debone it you can't tell its catfish. N yeh, lot of groceries pass it off as whitefish

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2013, 10:33 pm

But the bible say no eating of fish without scales and fowl with webbed feet

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 4th, 2013, 10:41 pm

More bake and shark and curry duck for me den.lol

30hz

Postby 30hz » November 4th, 2013, 10:57 pm

pugboy wrote:But the bible say no eating of fish without scales and fowl with webbed feet

i guess the price of kingfish, tuna, carite will drop if we could argue this

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2013, 5:12 am

haha that would be good, but they do have scales. All mackerel and tuna belong to scombridae and have fine scales. You never scrape a king under running water and see the cloudy milky colored run off. Its just they're realllllly small and loose. Remember those are fast fish so they need to reduce drag through the water. I know people who refuse to eat tuna and eat whitefish though lol.

Postby X_Factor » November 5th, 2013, 7:59 am

^many ppl dont know that you know
after you scrape the carite the skin gets sorta translucent

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2013, 8:50 am

Yep, majority of the 'sheen' comes off.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 6th, 2013, 7:33 am

Can anyone shed some light on how and where a bucktail jig is best used.

grad

Postby grad » November 6th, 2013, 8:15 am

kevin5211 i never had luck with lures in general, but alot of the guys on the forum do.

Also, i havent been fishing in a couple months, mite just go by the drain this evening and see if i can catch a few cuscarub (sp)

Postby meccalli » November 6th, 2013, 9:47 am

I think bucktails are THE best lures along with spoons in terms of flexibility, but the bucktail moreso in that you can fish it in almost any conditions provided you have a wide selection of weights and colors as the situation calls. You can vertical jig wit it, but i've mainly done shore casting with it, depending on your retrieve speed- you can fish high or low in the water column. If its one thing i know about bucktails is cavalli and tarpon inshore blow up on them.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 6th, 2013, 10:52 am

Bucktails were the first artificials i used on the north coast, fishing on the rocks for king, carite and cavalli. Very effective, just walk with a couple of markers in red or blue to put a stripe on the bucktail in order to match the colour of the bait the fish feeding on. Have so many variations in terms of head shape and colour etc, skirt material, weight. The diamond heads work real good but the hooks rust real fast. I used to use them on rod and reel, fishing 15 to 20 lb test with a 1 ounce jig. Used to rig the bucktails on a short wire trace, brown wire, about 40 lb strength and a tiny swivel. Just cast it out, let it sink and then fish it with a whipping motion, vary the retrieve speed. I see men on tv use them for bottom fish, but most fellas who fish them locally fish them for top water species. Bucktail fishing is plenty work though, not like banking, plenty of cast and retrieve.

Postby meccalli » November 6th, 2013, 11:40 am

here's a good example of how we usually rig it, same way like xfactor described it. Watching fish run and take a bucktail sinking is pure magic. I buy these jigs from monarchs, put a lil red nailpolish for eyes and you could tie on some pieces of red cloth.
Tarpon by meccalli, on Flickr

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 6th, 2013, 12:08 pm

meccalli wrote:here's a good example of how we usually rig it, same way like xfactor described it. Watching fish run and take a bucktail sinking is pure magic. I buy these jigs from monarchs, put a lil red nailpolish for eyes and you could tie on some pieces of red cloth.
Tarpon by meccalli, on Flickr

Nice!! that is the thing self

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 6th, 2013, 6:00 pm

U casting that wit ah hand caster??

Postby meccalli » November 6th, 2013, 6:18 pm

Well i use my rods, my father doing it with caster for donkey years.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 6th, 2013, 7:20 pm

The older fellas on the north coast rocks use hand caster too, but u need plenty room to drop nylon when u jigging with speed, and there is always the risk of nicking your line on the rocks, so was 40lb test and up. All the rod men used to keep a heavy hand line with a jig ready for when cavalli passing in band, 100lb test and heavier.

grad

Postby grad » November 7th, 2013, 12:54 am

so, went in the river along the field roads today. we caught about 5-6 cuscarub as big as ur hand, about ten smaller ones, and two sardines. kept them alive to put in a half of tank. so we will see how this goes. hopefully i dont see them all floating tomorrow. this is actually the first time im trying this. any advice on food and stuff? really trying to make it like a self sustainable ecosystem. looking to buy one of the solar pumps for the tank. oh one big guabeen got away, about a foot long.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 7th, 2013, 8:21 am

Fellas, what is the best bait to use to catch tilapia? Using traditional bamboo rod, cork and hook I mean. I've hear ppl say stale sada roti, shrimp, earthworms....which is the best?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 7th, 2013, 11:36 am

searchingone wrote:Fellas, what is the best bait to use to catch tilapia? Using traditional bamboo rod, cork and hook I mean. I've hear ppl say stale sada roti, shrimp, earthworms....which is the best?

I use slice bread and soak it a lil and stick it onto the hook.
Worked very good!

Making a spin manzanilla later to drag a lil sane!!!!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 7th, 2013, 11:47 am

Wat time so??
If i come back early i eh mind making a lil pass

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 7th, 2013, 11:54 am

*KRONIK* wrote:^^^
Wat time so??

Yeh! Buh u still hadda go town then south!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 7th, 2013, 12:57 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
searchingone wrote:Fellas, what is the best bait to use to catch tilapia? Using traditional bamboo rod, cork and hook I mean. I've hear ppl say stale sada roti, shrimp, earthworms....which is the best?

I use slice bread and soak it a lil and stick it onto the hook.
Worked very good!

Making a spin manzanilla later to drag a lil sane!!!!

thanks bro

Postby *KRONIK* » November 7th, 2013, 2:03 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:^^^
Wat time so??

Yeh! Buh u still hadda go town then south!

Steups....
I now come from town...
In cunupia in a funeral now....
Looks like i comin up the rd late...

:(