3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby RBphoto » February 26th, 2012, 9:57 am

Woah.... great eye shot. Kit lens yuh say?

Postby SMc » February 26th, 2012, 7:20 pm

^^ took that with the 18-55 EF-S that came with the Tii/550D I bought last month. Alot of people knock the 'kit' lenses, but for a novice like me I am happy to poke around with it and quite satisfied with some of the results I have gotten (people pics etc)

tdavies

Postby tdavies » February 27th, 2012, 2:51 pm

Postby sMASH » February 27th, 2012, 3:06 pm

i like the shell, but not feeling the others. is there a reason for that?

Cid

Postby Cid » February 27th, 2012, 3:39 pm

SMc wrote:Taken yesterday with my kit lense...

nicee...cau caut lookin bess...

the 18-55 that comes with the t1 is a really good kit lens , i used it for a few years then upgraded to the sigma 17-70

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 27th, 2012, 3:40 pm

sMASH wrote:i like the shell, but not feeling the others. is there a reason for that?

cus the others are just normal point and shoot photos....i like the shell too though

Postby tr1ad » February 27th, 2012, 4:04 pm

just a quick one....

how about posting shots without the post processing stuff....ie no lightroom, photoshop etc

so those can be critiqued

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 27th, 2012, 4:16 pm

tr1ad wrote:just a quick one....

how about posting shots without the post processing stuff....ie no lightroom, photoshop etc

OK here is one

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 4:55 pm

Was the shell pic edited? If not, how'd you set up the lighting for it?

Postby RBphoto » February 27th, 2012, 5:31 pm

Why should we? Simple things like chosing the color profile of your camera (portrait, neutral, vivid etc) can have more of an effect on the final look of your picture than simple processing to correct brightness, curves and saturation that we do post on a computer. White balance is a critical adjustment that I do post if I don't have time. If I have crappy mixed light, I shoot my grey card, leave WB in auto, and shoot away. When I get back to my computer, I open all of my files, even jpegs in one session, and correct WB in batches using that shot as reference. You can make many of these tweaks in camera as well. If you want yuh could bring your camera and check me after work and we could do those same tweaks on your camera so you never have to worry about doing them in post, just changing the profile whenever you shooting different types of subjects (like neutal or portrait for people, and vivid for motorsports/ cars). I also think that you should use a grey card to keep colors and light metering consistent without having to correct in post. If we all had time for perfect shot dicipline, we would not have to use the computer much.

Even if we get everything perfect, I still like to control my blacks (notsureifracist), do a small curves adjustment, and remove about 10 points of saturation from my portraits. I do not consider this photoshopping.

I zap acne with the healing tool if I can and brighten eyes if they get lost in the shadow of the brow. Sometimes I would dodge a whole face just to make it stand out. Sometimes I turn up noise reduction to smothe out skin then bring it back with the "clarity" slider to get back some detail. Sometimes I do even more. Yes, this is photoshopping. I think it is nessescary to make a flattering portrait and I don't feel like I am cheating.

For Landscapes, I believe that "photoshopping", over boosting colors and excessive dodgeing, burning, tone mapping/ HDR is dishonest, and I do detest some of the images I see, knowing that you could not get those colors/ lighting any way besides with photoshop. I shoot most of my landscape stuff with film to be as honest as possible, only "correcting" the scan rather than "enhancing" it. That said, one day I hope to trust my technique enough to graduate to slide film, which is the ultimate test of authenticity, as the transparency is a positive image, and is probably the only way to get an unaltered image out of a camera.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 27th, 2012, 6:10 pm

I would post up unedited stuff, but they'd te too horrible.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 27th, 2012, 7:15 pm

Actually thinking about it: that isn't a bad little idea for a challenge:

How about this:

For the month of March, everyone POST ONLY UNPROCESSED IMAGES

- Use ONLY your camera settings

- Cropping or Resizing is ok but NO PHOTOSHOP/ NO LIGHTROOM ETC FOR ANY POST PROCESSING

- Post the image REGARDLESS OF QUALITY WITH SETTINGS TAKEN.

That should prove interesting. Then that way we can critique to help better set cameras in a general situation

tdavies

Postby tdavies » February 27th, 2012, 7:40 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Was the shell pic edited? If not, how'd you set up the lighting for it?

edited a bit
exposure turned down a bit
and a hint of saturation

cant remember the lighting setup
but I bellieve 2 off camera flashes

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 7:44 pm

MISHI wrote:Actually thinking about it: that isn't a bad little idea for a challenge:

How about this:

- Cropping or Resizing is ok but NO PHOTOSHOP/ NO LIGHTROOM ETC FOR ANY POST PROCESSING

That should prove interesting. Then that way we can critique to help better set cameras in a general situation

Paint ftw for watermarks then :|

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 28th, 2012, 1:28 am

Yeah that is ok... logos allowed to be added but no color retouching, no contrast changes, exposue etc

Postby DVSTT » February 28th, 2012, 6:40 am

I have pics that straight from the camera. But i used PS to addd the logo

Lights of the night. by DHARIN, on Flickr
Petrotrin Refinery by DHARIN, on Flickr

Christmas lights by DHARIN, on Flickr

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 28th, 2012, 8:02 am

bb pic from the top of the mountain @ Macqueripe

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2012, 8:38 am

i like that idea mishi

crossdrilled
what about the older camera guys that used film, no post processing editing after.. and how did theirs look?

imo
everything can be done in camera, be it manipulation of light, rule of thirds etc
why use editing to enhance? if you need to enhance ....you're doing it wrong

no offence to those that use photoshop, lightroom etc

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2012, 8:44 am

... if i can use past pics, then i submit the orange sunrise with the dark silhouette of the foreground i posted a while aback.

if not, well, lets see...

Postby meccalli » February 28th, 2012, 9:18 am

tr1ad wrote:i like that idea mishi

crossdrilled
what about the older camera guys that used film, no post processing editing after.. and how did theirs look?

imo
everything can be done in camera, be it manipulation of light, rule of thirds etc

You must be dreaming, where do you think the term dodge and burn was coined? If anyone uses Ansel Adams as your inspiration for his great work in camera and that alone, you should find another role figure cuz he pretty much gave post processing it celeb status.Back then even natgeo demanded their kodachromes all sent in undeveloped so the ultimate chemistry and separation could be gotten out of their slides before making adjustments to the image, similar to shooting in raw.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 28th, 2012, 9:32 am

crossdrilled

imo

I often rely on em so if I could learn to do better I will.

Anyway: here's one I shot 4pm or about on a sunny afternoon: No flash, ISO 200, 1/320s, f8 on the 18-55 kit lens T1i

photoshop used only to rotate the image and add logo.

Postby RBphoto » February 28th, 2012, 9:44 am

crossdrilled

imo

Film lends itself to IMENSE amount of post processing!!! Check the book "The Negative" to see the amount of creative latitude you have. If not in the developing, post processing film (with chemicals), printing gave a lot of options. Most of the tools in Photoshop were named after the analogous tool in film printing, where you would mask, dodge, burn parts of the paper just as you can in photoshop. Slide film on the other had, has very little exposure latitude, so you get what you got, and is the ultimate test of a photographer to expose a single slide to make a stunning image on the film itself on a light table. Even then, many photographers bracket slide shots to make sure they nail the exposure. Instead of a commercial photographer labouring over photoshop, a lab would usually print and make adjustment according to his instructions. They had to take greater care with their photos, so I believe they got better images.

I don't see why I should not correct my picture for better ballance of tones and shades, bringing out highlights, recovering blacks, setting WB etc. Like I said, Come check me an evening, we can shoot together, the same thing perhaps (we both have D90's I presume), and I will show you that just by chosing a different camera profile, you will get a different image with digital camerras. Just as you have portrait films, saturated films, unsaturated films etc, your camera profile gives a different look to your image. I refuse to post flat (unsaturated), soft (unsharpened) garbage straight out of the neutral setting. Your image is "photoshopped" by the time you review it with digital cameras.... why not at least try to let it look its best?

Cid

Postby Cid » February 28th, 2012, 9:54 am

MISHI wrote:Actually thinking about it: that isn't a bad little idea for a challenge:

How about this:

this is a great idea....me likes..
perhaps next time we could do a before and after so users can see the difference a good edit makes.

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2012, 9:58 am

cd, you forget my D90 was stolen

at the end of the day it's just my opinion
if i think my shots are good enough straight off the camera... it's just my opinion

Postby RBphoto » February 28th, 2012, 10:18 am

So what you does be shooting rally wit nowdays? O_o

Postby SMc » February 29th, 2012, 11:57 am

Cau caut wasn't processed :( , but I did use elements to crop, compress(so it could be posted in the thread) and add the title. Tomorrow I'll add some I took yesterday...but still using elements for the previous tasks.

Warning! they will we animal based(but no spiders)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 1st, 2012, 12:01 am

crossdrilled wrote:^^I suggest you try out both focal lenghts instead of relying on anyone else to tell you where to spend your money. For all you know you might want a 85mm prime as your standard lens.

I'd like the Nikon cream-machine.

ONly a hardcore nikon guy would know what I mean there.... hee hee hee.

(for those who have no idea what the fack i tawkin bout... check this out!

And some sample shots taken by it...

Nikon 85mm f/1.4 AF-D. Wedding photographer's weapon-of-choice.

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 1st, 2012, 12:51 am

^ bokeh!

Postby MG Man » March 1st, 2012, 9:20 am

http://www.pricesmart.com/Local/Shop/Pr ... ategoryID=

what do you guys think of that camera for a point and shoot?

Postby RBphoto » March 1st, 2012, 12:51 pm

MG...NO. Pricesmart is 30day warranty, then you go to manufacturer warranty. If I have to deal with that kinda thing I buying online from Amazon. When you buy from a store locally, they shoud honor the warranty IMO. I can't seem to find reviews on the camera.

Lighthammer, I get pretty good background blurr with the 50mm f/1.4. However, the 55-200 gives very shallow DOF @ 200mm and f/5.6. Just the blurr is not as nice as my 50mm.